12 stadia to make up Ireland's 2023 RWC Bid

Replying To Soma:  "Can anyone remember what the tourism figures were like in 1999 when Ireland hosted a group and quarterfinal? Or what the attendances were at them games?"
was at all the games in ireland bar aus v rumania in ravenhill -
about 35k for ireland v rum and usa , filled it for ire v aus , couple of thousand for usa v rumania , filled thomond for aus v usa - around 13k

not a lot of tourists at it , few hundred aussies went to limerick ok

biggest thing we got out of is was that thomond was developed , the grass banks and boths gotten rid of and a new terrace on the cheap side,

could have 40000 welsh and english coming over for this - they all gotta travel, stay somewhere eat drink , lotta money for the local economies

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 16/11/2016 19:18:29    1934798

where will the quarter finals be held - semis will be croke park , final in croke park , 3rd place game in aviva
croke park and aviva likely to get one each, and probably pairc ui chaoimh and casement park getting other two. dont rule out cardiff or murrayfield getting quarter final action
Either way very dissappointing that the city that give the greatest support per head of population wont get a quarter final , wont even get a big game , gaelic grounds should be used , if need be use it over thomond, but i think very possible to use both

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 16/11/2016 19:24:02    1934801

im honestly not too sure we could afford this?...hosting these events is rarely good for the host nation..look at how much money brazil wasted

would be in favour if we could but we are the last country that should be getting carried away hosting events

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 16/11/2016 19:36:59    1934807

Replying To janesboro:  "was at all the games in ireland bar aus v rumania in ravenhill -
about 35k for ireland v rum and usa , filled it for ire v aus , couple of thousand for usa v rumania , filled thomond for aus v usa - around 13k

biggest thing we got out of is was that thomond was developed , the grass banks and boths gotten rid of and a new terrace on the cheap side,

could have 40000 welsh and english coming over for this - they all gotta travel, stay somewhere eat drink , lotta money for the local economies"
great and all but are we going to be able to afford it?..why should i as a taxpayer have to pay for an event we could do without?..if i dont then its fine of course

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 16/11/2016 19:37:49    1934809

Replying To Soma:  "Can anyone remember what the tourism figures were like in 1999 when Ireland hosted a group and quarterfinal? Or what the attendances were at them games?"
the quarter final in lansdowne between france and los pumas got about 40k , it was sold out but most peoplethought it would be an ireland v france game , so there was a lot of no shows and tickets around , different time then though it was at a time before munster had made the breakthrough and big crowds were still going to ail matches

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 16/11/2016 19:38:39    1934810

Replying To janesboro:  "where will the quarter finals be held - semis will be croke park , final in croke park , 3rd place game in aviva
croke park and aviva likely to get one each, and probably pairc ui chaoimh and casement park getting other two. dont rule out cardiff or murrayfield getting quarter final action
Either way very dissappointing that the city that give the greatest support per head of population wont get a quarter final , wont even get a big game , gaelic grounds should be used , if need be use it over thomond, but i think very possible to use both"
munster cant even fill their own ground these days so i wouldnt be getting too carried away about how good the support is down there..i suppose bandwagons are huge down there though and the world cup would be that

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 16/11/2016 19:38:57    1934811

where will the quarter finals be held - semis will be croke park, final in croke park, 3rd place game in aviva
Either way very dissappointing that the city that give the greatest support per head of population wont get a quarter final , wont even get a big game, gaelic grounds should be used , if need be use it over thomond, but i think very possible to use both
janesboro (Limerick) - Posts:880 - 16/11/2016 19:24:02
I will rule out Cardiff and Murrayfield as everything is leaning towards a solo bid. England only added Murrayfield as they lost out on the use of some of the soccer stadiums.
Limerick simply doesn't deserve a quarter final based on those factors.
Sure look at the 2011 world cup. They had all knock out games in just 2 cities. Limerick doesn't deserve it as it doesn't have the stadium for the knock outs. Its not possible to use both as the IRFU clearly have looked into the best stadiums to use and are not doing it.

im honestly not too sure we could afford this?...hosting these events is rarely good for the host nation..look at how much money brazil wasted
would be in favour if we could but we are the last country that should be getting carried away hosting events
alano12 (Dublin) - Posts:949 - 16/11/2016 19:36:59
Based on what? A soccer world cup is completely different and how many of those Brazilian stadiums were redeveloped specifically for the world cup. This will not be the case for this event.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 16/11/2016 19:44:19    1934817

munster cant even fill their own ground these days so i wouldnt be getting too carried away about how good the support is down there..i suppose bandwagons are huge down there though and the world cup would be that
alano12 (Dublin) - Posts:951 - 16/11/2016 19:38:57

last 3 home games have been sell outs-
crowds have been down coz the team aint winning - same as happens in gaa -the last time dublin lost a leinster championship game they had 22000 the next day v tipperary , by the semi that year they had around 60k at it -, this year v laois - only 16k from dublin at first round look at the crowd dublin hurlers got for 2013 semi final - look at crowd we got v clare the following week - bandwagons are in all sports including gaa and rugby including dublin and limerick

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 16/11/2016 19:52:37    1934818

Replying To janesboro:  "was at all the games in ireland bar aus v rumania in ravenhill -

could have 40000 welsh and english coming over for this - they all gotta travel, stay somewhere eat drink , lotta money for the local economies"
Thanks Janesboro. Them attendances were smaller than I was expecting, there will be 4 times as many games to sell tickets for in 2023 and the tickets tend to be fairly expensive. On an island of 6 million it's inevitable that attendances wouldn't be huge I suppose. The bulk of those who visit will be from England and Wales, keeping them for a number of nights rather than just the night of the game would be key in trying to balance the books.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 16/11/2016 20:00:17    1934823

of course if the gaelic grounds was to get some games - they would ahve to turn on the lights in the toilets un the uncovered stand - was there for all the county hurling knockout games and no lights in the jacks , was gas to see guys using torches in their phones as they aimed at the armitage. getting to the stage where i may have to consider using wellies!!!

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 16/11/2016 20:01:42    1934824

Replying To alano12:  "munster cant even fill their own ground these days so i wouldnt be getting too carried away about how good the support is down there..i suppose bandwagons are huge down there though and the world cup would be that"
That's right. Rugby in Munster is a bandwagon sport. I think no-one in Munster heard of rugby before the Heineken Cup. Sure no-one outside of Munster in World Rugby ever heard of Thomond Park, no Munster players ever went on a Lions tour, Munster weren't the first team from The Republic to win the biggest prize in European club rugby, that game against The All Blacks in '78 never happened. Munster rugby fans on a bandwagon fosho.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 16/11/2016 20:23:16    1934831

Replying To hill16no1man:  "strawberries only sell at the other foreign sport tennis
maybe if they put in a bid for wimbeldon next he be in buisness, could even rent the old house at na fianna again haha
caulfilowers would be more a rugby mans meal hahahaha"
Ah c'mon Hill, we do a lovely line in strawberries. Don't tell me you haven't bought the odd few on your way down to the holidays in Curracloe?!

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 16/11/2016 20:24:33    1934832

Soma as well as the new terracing for the 1999 world cup thomond park got
--new electronic scoreboard -previous one was manual
-- a new pitch relaid - theyhad huge problems with the drainage the year before -had no munster hcup games and shannon had to play their ail matches in clanwilliam,
-- the telecoms transmission systems in the ground was upgraded

-- we also got toilet facilities on the terraces - prior to this you just went to the back of the terrace while ensuring you did not get nettle rash -primitive eh? Felt like we were in the lap of luxury to get toilets with handwashbasins and imagine this...hot water!!

probably similar and other improvement work will be done with all the stadia if the bid is successful which will have long lasting effects for the GAA , we could have maybe got a roof on the uncovered terrace in the gaelic grounds

the train station in milstreet was well upgraded prior to hosting eurovision in 1993 -against another long lasting effect

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 16/11/2016 20:25:55    1934833

Replying To GreenandRed:  "That's right. Rugby in Munster is a bandwagon sport. I think no-one in Munster heard of rugby before the Heineken Cup. Sure no-one outside of Munster in World Rugby ever heard of Thomond Park, no Munster players ever went on a Lions tour, Munster weren't the first team from The Republic to win the biggest prize in European club rugby, that game against The All Blacks in '78 never happened. Munster rugby fans on a bandwagon fosho."
hey we were regularly getting 10k for club games before the heineken cup started ,
dont forget we beat the wallabies four times as well 1967,1981, 1992 and 2010

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 16/11/2016 20:46:18    1934834

The bulk of those who visit will be from England and Wales, keeping them for a number of nights rather than just the night of the game would be key in trying to balance the books.
Soma (UK) - Posts:1657 - 16/11/2016 20:00:17 1934823

yeah good point id go along with that - the scots and french will travel as well not to the same extent

remember that rumania v usa game in 1999 -was the same night ireland played macedonia in euro 2000 qualifier and got done with last minute goal - nearly had the stadium to my self - like a club game you could hear the players , -mind you meant lot to the rumanians

for a bit of worthless trivia rumania had a scrum half petre mitu- 9 years later he scored the first h cup points in the new thomond park for montauban

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 16/11/2016 20:52:04    1934839

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Will this be the first time a major world sporting event will be hosted by a different sport???"
Of the thirteen venues in England last year, two were dedicated rugby union grounds (Kingsholm Stadium and Sandy Park), two were national rugby stadia (Twickenham and the Millennium Stadium), two were multi-purpose stadia (Wembley Stadium and Olympic Stadium), and the remainder were association football grounds.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7842 - 16/11/2016 20:52:56    1934840

Replying To janesboro:  "munster cant even fill their own ground these days so i wouldnt be getting too carried away about how good the support is down there..i suppose bandwagons are huge down there though and the world cup would be that
alano12 (Dublin) - Posts:951 - 16/11/2016 19:38:57

last 3 home games have been sell outs-
crowds have been down coz the team aint winning - same as happens in gaa -the last time dublin lost a leinster championship game they had 22000 the next day v tipperary , by the semi that year they had around 60k at it -, this year v laois - only 16k from dublin at first round look at the crowd dublin hurlers got for 2013 semi final - look at crowd we got v clare the following week - bandwagons are in all sports including gaa and rugby including dublin and limerick"
Ah now janesboro come on trying to use a defeat in front of 60 thousand to Meath and comparing it to a qualifier against a then lowly Tipperary of 22thousand which is probably one of the biggest crowds at a qualifier is bit mad. Dublin always have huge support in fact in them years between 95-2002 there was more going to Leinster championship games than currently is it's not down to winning. Also your assumption that 16thousand on a bank holiday Saturday night with no accommodation available in Kilkenny and less than 300 of that attendance was from the opposition and add in the fact dublin were around 1/100 favourites haha.
it's sad to say but munster last few games getting crowd's were down to the tragedy.
the last day against the Maori was a one off type game were a lot of people actually thought it was the real new zealand they were playing.
Munster have been loosing millions on gate receipts in the last 5 years they are in huge debt currently and needed a write off of this years loan repayment to help them cope. They needed to sell the naming rights to Musgrave park and unless they get a cash injection have stated they will have to sell the naming rights to thomond park.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 16/11/2016 20:53:29    1934841

Replying To Bain:  "I'm all for it, as long as it doesn't cost the gaa a cent and the taxpayers of Ireland a cent. If the irfuu want to host it, stump up all the cash. The country needs other things urgently like broadband nationally. The health services, infrastructure. I don't want absolute millions of euro given over just so a few suits in the Irfu can feel proud for a few weeks. Also I see they haven't included Cardiff in the bid. No World Cup has been held this side of the world without the Welsh getting their pound of flesh. Be interesting to see how they'll pull that stroke off when it's in Japan. Knowing rugby this part of the world, they'll get their way."
Was about to say the same. France travelled to Wales when France were hosts of the 2007 RWC! Lansdowne Road and Thomond Park hosted RWC in 1999. Murrayfield might get a look in as well.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7842 - 16/11/2016 20:58:50    1934843

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "Ah c'mon Hill, we do a lovely line in strawberries. Don't tell me you haven't bought the odd few on your way down to the holidays in Curracloe?!"
Curra where????
is that the island across the sea from lanzarote hahahaha
Holiday in Ireland haha what's the point I get the same weather
not a strawberries guy myself, now if ye start up a good doughnuts hut like the strawberries huts along the roads il give you some buisness

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 16/11/2016 20:59:48    1934844

Replying To cuederocket:  "Great to see GAA & Rugby relations are so good.I must be living under a rock as i never noticed it.

What the GAA powers-that-be decide is good enough for me.I don't agree with it but until we find a better alternative to democracy,i will accept whatever outcome arrives."
The GAA are likely to get investment in their grounds. They are shrewd when it comes to things like that.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7842 - 16/11/2016 21:00:40    1934845