12 stadia to make up Ireland's 2023 RWC Bid

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "Absolutely but why couldn't have both Grounds in the bid? Gaelic Grounds would fill for games involving the top sides and Thomond for the other matches.
Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts:1388 - 16/11/2016 16:00:26
You already have 2 cities with multiple venues. A third city with more than 1 venue is over kill
Limerick isn't big enough to cater for 2 stadiums and its better for games to be spread out more across the country
How many world cups in soccer/rugby recently have used 2 or more stadiums in 2 or more cities in the one competition?"
I think Limerick could handle two venues but I take your point about spreading it around the country.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 16/11/2016 22:17:49    1934895

Replying To GreenandRed:  "That's right. Rugby in Munster is a bandwagon sport. I think no-one in Munster heard of rugby before the Heineken Cup. Sure no-one outside of Munster in World Rugby ever heard of Thomond Park, no Munster players ever went on a Lions tour, Munster weren't the first team from The Republic to win the biggest prize in European club rugby, that game against The All Blacks in '78 never happened. Munster rugby fans on a bandwagon fosho."
Munster have been selling out games over the past 6 weeks. I think every home game was a sellout.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 16/11/2016 22:19:59    1934896

Replying To alano12:  "dublin are the best supported team in the country and it isnt close...munster crowds have fallen off completely dont deny it..sell outs have been due to the tragedy...if the support was that good then munster wouldnt be in the trouble they are in..fans turned their backs on them once they werent in the heineken cup semi final or higher every year"
They'd be down in Leinster and Connacht too. Much more of a bandwagon element to their support than in Munster I reckon. I agree their attendances are down but they still have a good extremely knowledge hardcore base of supporters.

Connacht's support base would noticeably decline if there was no success as it's a small fanbase to start with.

I live in Leinster. Fair play to Leinster Rugby marketing, a lot of people wearing Leinster merchandise but I know a lot that have limited knowledge of the game. But they're doing a good job widening their fanbase. I like the way they plug Pro 12 games on the radio close to to try and fill seats something the GAA could learn from.

I saw them play Cardiff in the Heineken semi in '95, a Cardiff team with plenty, if not all, international players. Rolland No. 9. Less than 8,000 for the European semi final, the dawn of professionalism. Decent enough crowd at Christmas for a tournament few knew about and no English clubs. Most Leinster support from around Dublin then so they've spread their fanbase well since then.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 16/11/2016 22:21:37    1934897

Replying To GaryMc82:  "I understand that Gary but I think having Martin McGuinness involved in the bid surely helped like Kenny for Castlebar?
Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts:1388 - 16/11/2016 16:03:14 19

I would assume that with McHale Park being by far the largest venue in Connacht, It was probably going to be considered on that basis alone. Now had there been a rival Stadium of equal size in a more International friendly location, such a ground might have got the nod ahead of McHale Park.
Keep in mind that County or Provincial GAA Stadiums don't generally host International events, and to host Rugby World Cup matches, there are a lot of different needs to consider than what GAA matches generally require.

Derry is the 4th largest City on the Island of Ireland, and arguably the fastest growing at present, so I could see them consider Celtic Park on that basis. In truth, I don't know if McGuinness had any real Input, I think Derry City Council were the ones who actually pushed for it to be considered.

I think every major location pushed politically for their Town/Stadium to be considered, with Killarney being Included no doubt due to the Healy Raes, despite Munster already having 2 other locations included. I believe Kilkenny canvassed both sides of the border for their Inclusion, rightly so, nice place and Nolan Park is nice ground too. There are other major towns and Cities that could rival many of those on the list, but I actually like the way they actually spread the grounds out, as original speculation suggested games would be clumped in 4 or 5 places."
Don't get me wrong I think it's good Derry is included. I hope the roads from Derry to Dublin and Belfast are upgraded because of this.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 16/11/2016 22:22:59    1934898

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Curra where????
is that the island across the sea from lanzarote hahahaha
Holiday in Ireland haha what's the point I get the same weather
not a strawberries guy myself, now if ye start up a good doughnuts hut like the strawberries huts along the roads il give you some buisness"
Ah I bet you've been there Hill but I can't really argue with your sentiments. I'm also not a fan of soft fruits, apart from cherries. You can't beat a decent cherry pancake with plenty of double cream.

Moving onto doughnuts, have you tried the krispy kreme chocolate covered one with the custard filling? Fill your boots man, you won't look back!

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 16/11/2016 22:23:50    1934900

...Munster weren't the first team from The Republic to win the biggest prize in European club rugby...

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts:2991 - 16/11/2016 20:23:16

Cavan, Donegal, Monaghan....surely Ulster were the first rugby side from the Republic to win the European cup?

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 16/11/2016 22:25:53    1934903

Lads, back to the topic at hand. Anything off topic will simply be deleted.

Admin.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 16/11/2016 22:26:02    1934904

Should Connacht Rugby be up in arms that they are not getting an 18,000 capacity stadium like the RDS and Ravenhill as part of a bid?

It must be disappointing for them especially after winning the Pro 12 against the odds. Remember the IRFU wanted to wind down Connacht Rugby within the last ten years.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 16/11/2016 22:26:36    1934905

Should Connacht Rugby be up in arms that they are not getting an 18,000 capacity stadium like the RDS and Ravenhill as part of a bid?
It must be disappointing for them especially after winning the Pro 12 against the odds. Remember the IRFU wanted to wind down Connacht Rugby within the last ten years.
Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts:1393 - 16/11/2016 22:26:36
What do Connacht need an 18000 capacity stadium for? They need 10000 max
IRFU wanted to wind down Connacht pro set up as it was a complete loss maker

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 16/11/2016 22:41:24    1934914

Don't get me wrong I think it's good Derry is included. I hope the roads from Derry to Dublin and Belfast are upgraded because of this.
Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts:1393 - 16/11/2016 22:22:59

I welcome the RWC bid, even if Derry doesn't end up staging a match. But having regularly witnessed Ireland's biggest Halloween street festival every year, and big events like the City of Culture in 2013, Fleadh Ceoil, Clipper race, I know Derry City would do a great job as hosts.

Well the A5 dual carriageway is going ahead in stages, and will link Derry City to Monaghan eventually, for now its looking like the Derry-Strabane section is going ahead very soon, as it didn't have objections like the outskirts of Omagh did. So the route will definitely Improve, but It will be a slower process and some parts will remain single lane until this mess is sorted. I think a the majority of the funding is still there for the whole A5 project.

I think farmers near Omagh wanted more money per acre, comparable to prices in England. And when they were refused, some rare snail or slug was found on a bush or grass near some river, it was highlighted to the environmental group who halted the project, saying a proper environmental study wasn't carried out. A lot of people privately suspect this was all a ploy, but proving that is difficult.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 16/11/2016 22:57:59    1934916

Replying To extranjero:  "...Munster weren't the first team from The Republic to win the biggest prize in European club rugby...

Cavan, Donegal, Monaghan....surely Ulster were the first rugby side from the Republic to win the European cup?"
I wouldn't agree.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 16/11/2016 23:02:22    1934917

Replying To alano12: "dublin are the best supported team in the country and it isnt close.

in football they are and with a population of 1.3millions they should be in hurling too

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 16/11/2016 23:03:53    1934918

Replying To GreenandRed:  "They'd be down in Leinster and Connacht too. Much more of a bandwagon element to their support than in Munster I reckon. I agree their attendances are down but they still have a good extremely knowledge hardcore base of supporters.

Connacht's support base would noticeably decline if there was no success as it's a small fanbase to start with.

I live in Leinster. Fair play to Leinster Rugby marketing, a lot of people wearing Leinster merchandise but I know a lot that have limited knowledge of the game. But they're doing a good job widening their fanbase. I like the way they plug Pro 12 games on the radio close to to try and fill seats something the GAA could learn from.

I saw them play Cardiff in the Heineken semi in '95, a Cardiff team with plenty, if not all, international players. Rolland No. 9. Less than 8,000 for the European semi final, the dawn of professionalism. Decent enough crowd at Christmas for a tournament few knew about and no English clubs. Most Leinster support from around Dublin then so they've spread their fanbase well since then."
do you think i dispute there is a bandwagon to connacht at the minute?..leinster have a solid base in fairness to them now..the reality is munster were by far the loudest about how great their support is

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 16/11/2016 23:12:04    1934925

Replying To janesboro:  "why do u need the money if the support is anywhere near as strong as you claim?...surely munsters gate receipts must be huge selling out every game unless your admitting you made a silly point without any context?
alano12 (Dublin) - Posts:956 - 16/11/2016 21:45:4

because we dont ahve anything like the tv money french and english clubs have - of course support is down and its affecting gates, we also dont havce generous benefactors like some french and english clubs do -so we need every bob we can get --- thus we cannot attract the top players like we did before - bear in mind we won europe in 2006 on less attendances than we do now - but the english and french clubs have more money pro rata than 10 years ago - and this changeabout from the hcup to champions cup only increased the gulf

question for you did dublins support not drop in 2010 - would you view this as fans turning thier back on the team ?"
no its because munster are nowhere near as successful...dublins attendances during our long wait for sam speaks for itself..look at the crowds we drew in the 00s..the crowds are smaller in the leinster champ now because its become so straight forward but there is a more harcore base of support now...munster have serious debt because they can no longer fill their stadium

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 16/11/2016 23:14:19    1934927

Replying To janesboro:  "why do u need the money if the support is anywhere near as strong as you claim?...surely munsters gate receipts must be huge selling out every game unless your admitting you made a silly point without any context?
alano12 (Dublin) - Posts:956 - 16/11/2016 21:45:4

because we dont ahve anything like the tv money french and english clubs have - of course support is down and its affecting gates, we also dont havce generous benefactors like some french and english clubs do -so we need every bob we can get --- thus we cannot attract the top players like we did before - bear in mind we won europe in 2006 on less attendances than we do now - but the english and french clubs have more money pro rata than 10 years ago - and this changeabout from the hcup to champions cup only increased the gulf

question for you did dublins support not drop in 2010 - would you view this as fans turning thier back on the team ?"
you rarely want to concede that the support is nowhere near what you claim..i am well aware a certain element of munster love their rugby but you cannot deny there is a massive bandwagon element to it and the support is nowhere as large as what you claim..what is it with people from munster always trying to big up how big their support is?...the support the dubs get speaks for itself

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 16/11/2016 23:16:57    1934928

alano no its because munster are nowhere near as successful..
of course it is as i stated in a previous post
crowds have been down coz the team aint winning - same as happens in gaa, janesboro (Limerick) - Posts:897 - 16/11/2016 19:52:37   19

limerick v clare and cork v dublin hurling semis got 60k each in 2013 by 2015 the same 4 counties played a double header in thurles in front of around 20k. WE even got 8000 to mullingar for an under 21 football final in 2000 .
theres a bandwagon in all sports not just rugby and gaa

dublins attendances during our long wait for sam speaks for itself..

please dont say 16 years is not a long wait -yous havent a clue!!!!!!
come down here its 43 years since we won liam and theres going to be a few more years added on to that , we are pining for the thing here .im at the stage where im hoping to be alive to see it and id like to see a winning all ireland team pic for my county where the keeper has a different jersey its been that long

Dublin big up their support as well while ye do get fine support (and i supported the dubs and went to games when i lived there- still support them but in front of the tv) you have to remember the population of dublin is around 1.3million,

Limerick would get around 12k for a first round championship hurling game -some of us being deluded enough to think one day we will win the thing.
pro rata thats the equivalent of Dublin bringing 80 k for first round , plus ye dont have to travel so much, now i understand there will be a higher proportion of non nationals and non dubliners , but pro rata Dublins support is probably no better or worse than anybody else

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 17/11/2016 00:03:52    1934938

Replying To GreenandRed:  "They'd be down in Leinster and Connacht too. Much more of a bandwagon element to their support than in Munster I reckon. I agree their attendances are down but they still have a good extremely knowledge hardcore base of supporters.

I saw them play Cardiff in the Heineken semi in '95, a Cardiff team with plenty, if not all, international players. Rolland No. 9. Less than 8,000 for the European semi final, the dawn of professionalism. Decent enough crowd at Christmas for a tournament few knew about and no English clubs. Most Leinster support from around Dublin then so they've spread their fanbase well since then."
I saw them play Cardiff in the Heineken semi in '95, a Cardiff team with plenty, if not all, international players. Rolland No. 9. Less than 8,000 for the European semi final, the dawn of professionalism. Decent enough crowd at Christmas for a tournament few knew about and no English clubs. Most Leinster support from around Dublin then so they've spread their fanbase well since then.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts:2993 - 16/11/2016 22:21:37

i was at munsters first ever european game v swansea in 1995 - 6000 ON A WEDNESDAY AFTERNOON - had no floodlights then

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 17/11/2016 00:06:56    1934939

Replying To janesboro:  "alano no its because munster are nowhere near as successful..
of course it is as i stated in a previous post
crowds have been down coz the team aint winning - same as happens in gaa, janesboro (Limerick) - Posts:897 - 16/11/2016 19:52:37   19

limerick v clare and cork v dublin hurling semis got 60k each in 2013 by 2015 the same 4 counties played a double header in thurles in front of around 20k. WE even got 8000 to mullingar for an under 21 football final in 2000 .
theres a bandwagon in all sports not just rugby and gaa

dublins attendances during our long wait for sam speaks for itself..

please dont say 16 years is not a long wait -yous havent a clue!!!!!!
come down here its 43 years since we won liam and theres going to be a few more years added on to that , we are pining for the thing here .im at the stage where im hoping to be alive to see it and id like to see a winning all ireland team pic for my county where the keeper has a different jersey its been that long

Dublin big up their support as well while ye do get fine support (and i supported the dubs and went to games when i lived there- still support them but in front of the tv) you have to remember the population of dublin is around 1.3million,

Limerick would get around 12k for a first round championship hurling game -some of us being deluded enough to think one day we will win the thing.
pro rata thats the equivalent of Dublin bringing 80 k for first round , plus ye dont have to travel so much, now i understand there will be a higher proportion of non nationals and non dubliners , but pro rata Dublins support is probably no better or worse than anybody else"
im not here to big up dublins support..i am aware of all the advantages we have..but there is no need for this 'look how great our support is' nonsense when it comes to munster rugby..the last 5 years have shown just how big a bandwagon element there was to it

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 17/11/2016 00:40:15    1934943

Replying To alano12:  "im honestly not too sure we could afford this?...hosting these events is rarely good for the host nation..look at how much money brazil wasted

would be in favour if we could but we are the last country that should be getting carried away hosting events"
This tournament is the cheapest men's international event going and will cost less than the cost over run on the new Luas line.

When they cut the list to 10 you can kiss goodbye to the rds and Kilkenny. If they cut to eight then The derry and Killarney are gone too. As long as Kenny is Taoiseach then Castlebar is in.

If they cut to eight they won't win the bid as the organisers like to have a good spread of venues.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1105 - 17/11/2016 06:23:04    1934949

Replying To GreenandRed:  "
Replying To extranjero:  "...Munster weren't the first team from The Republic to win the biggest prize in European club rugby...

Cavan, Donegal, Monaghan....surely Ulster were the first rugby side from the Republic to win the European cup?"
I wouldn't agree."
...you wouldn't agree Cavan, Donegal and Monaghan are in the Republic of Ireland?

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 17/11/2016 07:31:39    1934954