Pairc Tailteann

Replying To Royalio11:  "I agree, Pairc Tailteann is a beautiful place in the sunshine.

The hair stood on the back of my neck with the roar from the stand when Mickey Burke kicked his point. I hadn't heard such a shudder since Brian Farrell knocked over the winner against Galway in 2011 !!

I hope the redevelopment begins as soon as the club scene comes to an end. I really couldn't accept more false dawns on this project"
Couldn't agree more, I am fairly young so first time going to a Meath game in Navan was 06 against Laois and Munnelly scoring two goals. Almost all of my formative GAA memories came in that ground, from freezing O'Byrne Cup and league nights to scorching Summer Saturday's for qualifier games standing on the O'Mahony's end before it was closed. Also loads of club games in both hurling and football. I was even lucky enough to play in and win two competitions at underage on the pitch (albeit Mickey Mouse comps). I really hope we can see progress pretty quickly and I have a little bit of hope as once Dunganny's clubhouse started (took a while) it was done fairly quickly. I hope the new stadium has the same spirit and beautiful carpet pitch of the old one, just without the pain in the arse from the wooden benches and the brutal obstructions caused by the pillars and maybe some improved results. A 21,000 all-seater Navan packed to the rafters for a Super 8 game is something I think all of us dream of

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1454 - 11/06/2018 20:22:19    2110216

Would be nice to have div1 football to bring to the new stadium aswell, saturday night under lights against the big boys.

For all we've achieved down the years since its last redevelopment, it probably deserved a better send off, although not for the lack of effort.

Here's hoping we get a few more lsfc home games in the future aswell.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 11/06/2018 21:17:56    2110241

Here ye are lads, look st this gem, Meath v Roscommon in 1982 in the old old Pairc Tailteann, Jesus if you think it's bsd now.........

https://youtu.be/0sVDEBCrEvw

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 18/06/2018 20:26:24    2112824

Replying To Richieq:  "Here ye are lads, look st this gem, Meath v Roscommon in 1982 in the old old Pairc Tailteann, Jesus if you think it's bsd now.........

https://youtu.be/0sVDEBCrEvw"
Jesus I was at that match. Wow , I remember the games when it was been redeveloped been in Kells. Some great games there.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2018 22:12:42    2112902

Replying To royaldunne:  "Jesus I was at that match. Wow , I remember the games when it was been redeveloped been in Kells. Some great games there."
Yes remember some fiesty encounters in Kells alright, only vague recollections if the pre '88 PT but wouldn't Joe Cassels hairstyle do ya good just looking at it.......

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 18/06/2018 22:26:15    2112914

Replying To Richieq:  "Yes remember some fiesty encounters in Kells alright, only vague recollections if the pre '88 PT but wouldn't Joe Cassels hairstyle do ya good just looking at it......."
I had that hairstyle. Oh the embarrassment.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/06/2018 12:27:32    2113025

Replying To Richieq:  "Yes remember some fiesty encounters in Kells alright, only vague recollections if the pre '88 PT but wouldn't Joe Cassels hairstyle do ya good just looking at it......."
that was my introduction to Meath senior matches being from Kells. Remember the teams used to come up the hill and through the tree's to come in the little gate. You'd hear the teams before you'd see them. Many a great afternoon there seeing the corks, kerry's and dublin whilst PT was being redeveloped. Remember making that run with pride when i would've played there during schools matches when we used that pitch in Kells rather than our school pitch.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 19/06/2018 14:37:53    2113073

Replying To brian:  "that was my introduction to Meath senior matches being from Kells. Remember the teams used to come up the hill and through the tree's to come in the little gate. You'd hear the teams before you'd see them. Many a great afternoon there seeing the corks, kerry's and dublin whilst PT was being redeveloped. Remember making that run with pride when i would've played there during schools matches when we used that pitch in Kells rather than our school pitch."
Those were great times tbh. Anyone remember the draw for the turkey at halftime? (To those younger league started before Christmas)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/06/2018 07:59:48    2113258

Replying To royaldunne:  "Those were great times tbh. Anyone remember the draw for the turkey at halftime? (To those younger league started before Christmas)"
I thought I was the only one who remembered the turkey draw.

Justin1 (Meath) - Posts: 9 - 25/06/2018 15:53:40    2114756

Replying To royaldunne:  "Those were great times tbh. Anyone remember the draw for the turkey at halftime? (To those younger league started before Christmas)"
I have a vague recollection indeed :-), incidentally has anyone heard any definitive news ad to when work is due to start? I'm presuming after the county final in October

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 27/06/2018 22:28:02    2116193

Replying To Richieq:  "I have a vague recollection indeed :-), incidentally has anyone heard any definitive news ad to when work is due to start? I'm presuming after the county final in October"
Richie it's all gone very quiet.

Should be no reason for works to begin the week after the County Final.

It will be very disappointing to hear/see any delays. I'm certain all Meath Gaels are anxious for work to start

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 27/06/2018 23:31:15    2116228

Replying To Royalio11:  "Richie it's all gone very quiet.

It will be very disappointing to hear/see any delays. I'm certain all Meath Gaels are anxious for work to start"
As far as I know it has already gone out to tender with a November start

longroadback (Meath) - Posts: 324 - 29/06/2018 09:22:38    2116596

Replying To Royalio11:  "Richie it's all gone very quiet.

It will be very disappointing to hear/see any delays. I'm certain all Meath Gaels are anxious for work to start"
I will only believe it when the job is done, wrecking ball arriving will be no guarantee that it will be completed on time.

I am suspicious ever since the floodlight fiasco.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1061 - 29/06/2018 10:16:50    2116610

Replying To MillerX:  "I will only believe it when the job is done, wrecking ball arriving will be no guarantee that it will be completed on time.

I am suspicious ever since the floodlight fiasco."
In fairness, the flood light fiasco was down to previous regimes, the current development committee were responsible for getting Dunganny dressing rooms etc done, they managed to do it on time and within budget. they managed to secure quite a bit of funds to do so. While PT is obviously a much bigger project, they seem to be on top of it. Confident that the diggers will be in by year end and we will have a ground to be proud of within the next couple of years.

longroadback (Meath) - Posts: 324 - 29/06/2018 11:32:50    2116641

Might get one of these Round 4 qualifiers next weekend, apart from Cork/Tyrone you could argue Navan would be suitable for any of the other three fixtures??

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 02/07/2018 12:04:02    2117634

Replying To Richieq:  "Might get one of these Round 4 qualifiers next weekend, apart from Cork/Tyrone you could argue Navan would be suitable for any of the other three fixtures??"
No chance we get any game, there are numerous other venues that are far better equipped and developed to host a game,

longroadback (Meath) - Posts: 324 - 02/07/2018 14:23:29    2117721

Replying To longroadback:  "No chance we get any game, there are numerous other venues that are far better equipped and developed to host a game,"
I take all that back, Monaghan and Laois fixed for Sunday at 2 in Navan

longroadback (Meath) - Posts: 324 - 02/07/2018 15:10:49    2117744

Replying To longroadback:  "I take all that back, Monaghan and Laois fixed for Sunday at 2 in Navan"
And Fermanagh v Kildare at 7pm in the Saturday!!! Bumper weekend for Navan town and the County Board, and with the weather forecast giving good we might even see a grass bank or two being opened, great to see in fairness nice boost for the town

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 02/07/2018 16:14:06    2117783

Replying To Richieq:  "And Fermanagh v Kildare at 7pm in the Saturday!!! Bumper weekend for Navan town and the County Board, and with the weather forecast giving good we might even see a grass bank or two being opened, great to see in fairness nice boost for the town"
Does there be a neutral venues for the super 8 also Richie ? Be grand to get a couple of those games in navan ..but probably croke park will be the neutral venue

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 875 - 02/07/2018 17:22:17    2117819

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "Does there be a neutral venues for the super 8 also Richie ? Be grand to get a couple of those games in navan ..but probably croke park will be the neutral venue"
It's listed as one home, one away and one in Croker, unless your Dublin of course :-), so these two games will represent the last senior intercounty action of the year at PT

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 02/07/2018 17:30:39    2117826