Austin Gleeson Potentially the Greatest

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Arock give me a name at 21 that is/was better? He only went 21 in July. One name please ? All round hurler now."
I'd still throw Canning in there. Will never be seen as an all-rounder as he is too dangerous between midfield and full-forward to be played at corner or full back (although I think his ball winning ability and power would see him do OK there!), but the things he was doing on the pitch at 20/21 years of age were incredible!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 15/08/2016 08:15:01    1901098

he can play a bit

just_the_facts (Cavan) - Posts: 163 - 15/08/2016 09:13:47    1901107

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Tommy Walsh won 9 All-Stars in four different positions."
Winning all-stars or medals when your team is in the AI final doesn't mean you're a better hurler. It means you were part of a great team. That's not to diminish TW or HS in any way. I'm just pulling you up a bit on your Kilkenny bias. Was Brian Hogan a better half back than Brian Whelehan because he has way more medals? Lionel Messi never won a World Cup medal but Nobby Stiles did. Etc etc.

The post clearly states "potentially". So the answer to that is yes! And that could be true if he never wins an All-Ireland.

1914 (Clare) - Posts: 92 - 15/08/2016 10:45:10    1901152

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Talent wise he is country mile ahead of McGrath Browne and Flynn , please Flynn had unbelievable talent but he'd be lost at centre back. What part of "potentially" are posters failing to understand? cockney they didn't win cause sadly they've only one Austin Gleeson but give it time they'll get there eventually I'm convinced of that."
The problem is you started saying potentially and then ended by saying we are looking at the greatest hurler of all time!

That's quite a jump.

To be honest his potential is scarily good but what other people see as a virtue that he can play in any position could be something that works against him in the long term if he is continually being shifted in to various positions. If he is constantly adapting to different positions he may never fulfill or master that one position which could make him a true great constantly having to adapt.

For me he has all the potential in the world to be a true great and centre back or midfield.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1328 - 15/08/2016 11:22:30    1901175

He is a fine talent.Sad he's not in the final but he will be at some stage no doubt.

The best ever is a bold claim but hard to believe he's so young so he can only get better I suppose.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 15/08/2016 11:31:31    1901181

Jesus you have to be exactly right on here are your pulled up on it. I meant to say "potentially the greatest hurler" that time as well but left it out. I've since said "potentially" a million times but you hold me to the one time I left it out.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 15/08/2016 11:58:21    1901198

his downfall might be his greatness, will he ever have a settled position?

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 15/08/2016 13:15:42    1901239

He has outstanding potential and I've never seen a hurler leap that high for catches. I think he tries to take on too much sometimes, he goes on solo runs down cul de sacs and is forced to get rid of the ball in a hurry - he hit a few loose balls on Saturday night either out of play or straight to Kilkenny players. Needs to learn that no matter how good you are (and he is very, very good) you can't do it all yourself all the time.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 16/08/2016 08:48:56    1901583

Ballydalane he took two poor shots but my god the runs he made before shooting were unbelievable. I've never seen any player this young this good that can play anywhere yes Joe Canning is class but he's a forward and that's it, he wouldn't have the speed or athleteism of Gleeson to play in defence.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 16/08/2016 11:08:43    1901668

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Yeah Tommy Walsh was unbelievable, but I think Gleeson is more talented than Tommy Walsh. I don't remember Tommy dominating games for Kilkenny at 21 like Gleeson does. At 21 was the manager of the opposition telling the keeper to keep the ball away from Tommy ? I don't think so , Tommy was great up front but not like Gleeson, this kid is frightening I've never seen anyone this good at this age. He's only going to get better and he will win Waterford an all Ireland I've no doubt about that."
Tommy walsh scored 3 points in the 2003 all ireland final and was only 19-20

222 (UK) - Posts: 691 - 16/08/2016 12:52:01    1901745

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Ballydalane he took two poor shots but my god the runs he made before shooting were unbelievable. I've never seen any player this young this good that can play anywhere yes Joe Canning is class but he's a forward and that's it, he wouldn't have the speed or athleteism of Gleeson to play in defence."
Look, he was immense on Saturday, no doubt. He's an incredible talent. But two incidents that stand out for me (maybe this is what you're referring to) was in the second half, a solo down a cul de sac followed by a very, very poor shot wide from an impossible position. Ok, no harm done. But in the first half, he hit a crossfield ball completely blind, straight to TJ Reid, last year's hurler of the year, who happened to be in acres of space, where he could have inflicted serious damage on Waterford (I think they got away with it that time).

What made Shefflin great wasn't bags of natural talent (although he had plenty more natural talent than people give him credit for) but the fact that he always took the correct decision when he had the ball and he knew he was just one cog (albeit a very important cog) in a greater machine. Gleeson, for all his immense potential, is not at that stage yet (nor would I expect a 21 year old to be).

Talent and greatness are two different things.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 16/08/2016 22:10:25    1902054

It's your opinion Ballydalans but I completely disagree , if your pulling up a lad on two mistakes (every hurler from Henry to tj makes mistakes) then I don't think you know your hurling. In two games he absolutely destroyed Kilkenny you's had no answer to this kid. Cody dropped his all star centre back cause of the roasting Gleeson gave him. This kid is special I've never seen anything like him in my life.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 17/08/2016 10:30:11    1902129

Super player no doubt. But part of the debate seems to be now pushed to the "Joe Canning/Henry Shefflin couldn't play wing back etc. If were going that route firstly nobody here knows how players like those would do if placed back at wing or centre back we've never seen it. I for one suspect they'd be outstanding. Secondly if were going by the "can play anywhere" argument lets weigh it up against players who have like Austin played all over the field..Tommy Walsh for instance, Brian Corcoran another. Now how does he weigh up against those 2 at that age?? Closer to home Ken McGrath. Theres an interesting one for Waterford people if you cold have 1 from McGrath or Gleeson in your team who would it be?

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 17/08/2016 13:36:49    1902280

Replying To clondalkindub:  "It's your opinion Ballydalans but I completely disagree , if your pulling up a lad on two mistakes (every hurler from Henry to tj makes mistakes) then I don't think you know your hurling. In two games he absolutely destroyed Kilkenny you's had no answer to this kid. Cody dropped his all star centre back cause of the roasting Gleeson gave him. This kid is special I've never seen anything like him in my life."
He's a special talent, no doubt, but he has a self-indulgent streak which he needs to rein in if he's to become truly great. Richie Hogan was similar coming out of underage where he was invariably miles better than all of his teammates - trying to do too much himself, attempting low percentage solo runs and shots, probably not fully trusting his teammates. It took a few years for Richie to iron that out but once he did he became a far more effective hurler.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 18/08/2016 08:02:05    1902569

The Austin Gleeson Show is about to start on TG4 get watching people.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/08/2016 16:07:12    1903579

Ah here lever bleeding outt Austin what a score.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/08/2016 16:09:05    1903582

He went off injured in the under-21 semi-final today. Any word on the injury - is it serious?

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 20/08/2016 19:28:16    1903643

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Ah here lever bleeding outt Austin what a score."
Translator please.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 20/08/2016 19:42:50    1903647

Replying To moc.dna:  "Translator please."
What a player.Maith an imreoir.Do you want it in French or Latin as well.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2155 - 20/08/2016 20:23:38    1903661

Settle down lads. Holy jaysus.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2209 - 21/08/2016 03:04:35    1903718