Twas the night before Sunday........

I hope Mayo get stuffed!!

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 17/09/2013 13:40:28    1483610

Wally

I hope Mayo get stuffed!!

I guess that's why you're called 'Wally' !

MaigheoAbu (Mayo) - Posts: 343 - 17/09/2013 14:24:47    1483649

Choose a house in Ballycullen, Carpenterstown, Lucan
yew_tree
----------------------------------------

Yes, indeed, and lets hear it for Lucan as South County Dublin Tidy Towns winner yet again!!!.....Is it any wonder all the culchie blow-in's and Dub blow-out's '''choose''' to live in Irelands most beautiful village of this countrys greatest military hero!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 17/09/2013 14:39:26    1483666

had to shorten this a bit...
The pilgrims still travel from way out in the west,
To watch Mayos heroes to prove theyre the best.
More often than not they return cursed and damned,
But they never waver in the quest to win Sam.

For thirty eight years with no final in sight,
They wintered with sad tales and keened o'er their plight.
Then out of Belmullet came the great Willie Joe,
No more bending the knee for the gallant Mayo.

As a thirteen year old gasur I went up with the crowd,
The west was awake. Of this team we were proud.
Finnerty drilled one of the finest goals seen,
And the width of a post from a second flag green.

Pushing cars round McHale Park, McDonald, Jack O'Shea,
Maughan took over a county in complete disarray.
Horan's goal from O'Connell Street, the great Kingdom slain
Was '96 the year we'd bring Sam to the plain?

That bleak awful day we were almost out of sight,
But came back two weeks later and were enthralled by a fight.
The ref picked unkindly on Coyle and McHale;
Royal ribbons on Sam and another sad tale.

Next year on the Canal End rain left no man dry,
Offaly dispensed with; the Brits mourned Princess Di.
The final though sparkled with glamour and glitz,
As we gasped at the wizardry of the great Maurice Fitz.

We looked after the champions in 2004,
The Fermanagh men fell but that was more of a chore.
Sam went to the Kingdom to winter that year,
The scars of that battle only drove us to beer.

The semi v Dublin would be my greatest thrill,
When Heaney and Nallen drove the Dubs from the Hill;
An epic match followed and the memory will linger,
When Ciaran Mac pointed then in the air rose his finger.

In the final we faltered and were bet out of sight,
When only O'Neill gave the Kingdom a fright.
That day wasn't great, nor would it be the last
Procession up Clonliffe with our faces downcast.

For six more long years our boys knocked on the door,
While we spent cold, dark winters dreaming of days of yore.
Men like Carney and Langan, Mulderrig and Wynne,
Gilvarry and Flanagan; Forde , Mongey and Quinn.

James Horan then declared that the curse was a crock,
And is hell-bent on a miracle like the Airport near Knock.
A namesake of the legendary Partry born priest,
No more would we go to Croke Park to get creased.

A woeful bad start sent Sam off to the Hills,
Sure 'twould be enough to test the steeliest of wills.
A son of Bonniconlon then lifted Sam high
And spoke Ulster Gaelige with a tear in his eye.

Galway dispatched then the Rossies rolled over,
Cillians hat-trick beat London and now we're in clover.
Tir Chonaill came next ,the proud holders of Sam,
The Machine was dismantled, by a point for each man.

Tyrone was a battle; we were right at the cliff,
But up stepped new heroes, Freeman, Barrett, Cunniffe.
This years road to Croker has been one to remember,
And there's nothing to fear the 22nd September.

Let our great gallant warriors just go play their best,
And with a rub of the green we might get Sam to the West.
The Dubs will be tough. They play with gusto and pride,
But as it says on our shirts we have God on our side.

Remember that great day we clashed on Jones Road,
In the Game of the Century each man shared the load.
We shaded that game ,for once luck was a lady
When Whelan floored McGarrity then hid from David Brady.

On match day we'll travel to the Dubs own home field.
But not for a moment will our courageous men yield.
Our crusaders are those who would fight any foe,
For the Green and the Red and the pride of Mayo.

From Killary's fjord to Killala's blue bay;
Broadhaven to Urlaur and each town on the way.
As Autumn leaves fall under September skies,
We'll rejoice to see Andy lift the ultimate prize.

ceefarr (Mayo) - Posts: 39 - 17/09/2013 18:22:55    1483872

Lads Lads Lads.........this was only meant to be a bit of craic.....take it easy!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 18/09/2013 08:53:09    1484099

What Manner of Men (- by Snufalufagus)

What manner of men are they, who wear the Navy & Blue.
Born to a town resolute, her warrior poets made.
Tough streets give way to a pasture, gentles all.
The weight of an ancient city on their shoulders rests softly.

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 18/09/2013 16:22:01    1484530

whats Santa bringing ye all so !!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 03/12/2013 10:18:55    1520031

Liam,

A fantastic job. It has got the old creative juices going

There was a young man from Tir Conaill................

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 03/12/2013 11:30:28    1520068

There was a young man from Tir Chonaill
Who hid all his beer in a Tunnel
Told the boys, Have no fear,
If the cops I do hear,
I can down it in one through a funnell!!

* this limerick is based in Chicago during the years of prohibition......!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 03/12/2013 12:01:48    1520084

Just for the weekend thats in it lads.........

Mon the DUBS :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 15/09/2016 18:12:17    1914774

Think this is appropriate for us.

The men from the Glen
Better watch do not blink, or
We are gone again!

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4193 - 15/09/2016 21:30:07    1914849

Eerrrr....C,mon Mayo.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 15/09/2016 22:07:06    1914870

'Twas the night after Sunday and all through the town,
No one was sleeping, no one was down,
A town in Dublin, a town in Mayo?
Was the happy man James, or was he Jayo?

The children were delirious, still talk of that score
Did you see how he took it, did you hear half the Hill roar.
When up in the distance, we could see the coach lights
The beam as it cornered, lighting up the dark night

Then all of a sudden, there arose such a clatter
The excitement was palpable, to the point of fecal matter
The doors they swung open, the crowd gave out a shout
For their heroes were coming, they were on their way out

And the days that were coming, in honour of Sam
Must ring the boss now, book a rehabilitation program!
But what colour were the ribbons, Green/Red or Blue?
I'm afraid I can't tell you… (Though think Russia as a clue)

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 15/09/2016 22:11:00    1914874

Twas the night after Sunday and all through the land
Half the people agreed, yer man should be banned
But what of that red card that wasn't
Who now believes that ref's honest?
And yet it was decided, as most of them are
By the team putting away chances... near & far!

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 16/09/2016 09:01:11    1914947

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "'Twas the night after Sunday and all through the town,
No one was sleeping, no one was down,
A town in Dublin, a town in Mayo?
Was the happy man James, or was he Jayo?

The children were delirious, still talk of that score
Did you see how he took it, did you hear half the Hill roar.
When up in the distance, we could see the coach lights
The beam as it cornered, lighting up the dark night

Then all of a sudden, there arose such a clatter
The excitement was palpable, to the point of fecal matter
The doors they swung open, the crowd gave out a shout
For their heroes were coming, they were on their way out

And the days that were coming, in honour of Sam
Must ring the boss now, book a rehabilitation program!
But what colour were the ribbons, Green/Red or Blue?
I'm afraid I can't tell you… (Though think Russia as a clue)"
I have to say, that's the best poem I've ever read that contained the words fecal matter!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5009 - 16/09/2016 15:53:49    1915151

We prayed to our Lady of Knock
A miracle for us 'old stock
but the woman in blue
Being a fan of U 2
Brushed us off , not with Sam
But a crock

37sowhat (Sligo) - Posts: 752 - 16/09/2016 16:25:53    1915159

Replying To cavanman47:  "I have to say, that's the best poem I've ever read that contained the words fecal matter!"
Brown noser

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4193 - 16/09/2016 17:45:25    1915185

Gotta love all this doggerel. NOT!

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 16/09/2016 19:59:47    1915220

Replying To Wally:  "I hope Mayo get stuffed!!"
Wally, Where's Tyrone?

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 16/09/2016 20:01:04    1915221

Jesus that must have took some time to write

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 16/09/2016 20:56:41    1915232