Best hurling supporters

Hill16no1man and hurlingdub I agree I must've just been unlucky in where I was sitting, I should have added I was at the 2011 final and there was no such behaviour.
Still not up for them, though. Tbh as a neutral I think they'll have to climb 2 or 3 gears to beat yourselves, especially on that Leinster final performance. If ye meet again not only will they be better but so will ye.

an tseabhac (Kerry) - Posts: 441 - 24/07/2013 12:42:32    1440956

I've found KK fans to be bad when they're winning, and terrible when they're losing. I've seen bad behaviour from Tipp & Cork fans on terraces as well, but then you'll get that.

I was at the Munster final in Cork a couple of years back when Tipp put 7 goals in past Waterford. A Waterford young lad lobbed a plastic bottle in the direction of Tipp supporters below him in total frustration. Another group of Waterford men saw it happen and left him under no illusion that if he did anything like that again, he'd be in trouble with them. Needless to say there was no repeat behaviour. It reminded me of the Irish fans in Poland - on the rare occasion someone got out of line the Irish fans would turn on them first as they didn't want the reputation tarnished.

ringo (Wexford) - Posts: 384 - 24/07/2013 12:52:19    1440974

janesboro

my point is in relation to being the best supporters in the country which your county are proffessing themselves to be.
you cannot be that if most of your support would choose another sport over hurling depedning on the time of the year

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/07/2013 12:54:20    1440980

And! In the midst of all these yahoos last year there was a mother with her young son in front of us in Cill Chainnigh jerseys who were lovely; she was explaining to him why he shouldn't cheer the opposition wides, so now that I think about it I shouldn't have written anything negative.

The most extreme case I ever experienced was the 2008 semi draw between ourselves and na Réabhlóidigh; in the area of the Hogan where we were there were 4 unadulterated lunatics. 3 were wearing the blood and bandages, but they were only semi-crazy in comparison to the one absolute bona fide nutjob in green and gold. The most astonishing thing was that none of them knew each other; they must be kept in separate wings of the asylum. The stewards were down twice and the Gardaí once; IIRC ultimately the Ciarraíoch was asked to depart.

The funny thing was that their presence was a source of unity. Fans from both sides all around us ceased to care about the progress of their teams after about 5 minutes. Instead, we were all praying for wides, because as soon as one was kicked all eyes swivelled to watch the mouth-foaming dance and chant of glee from the looper(s). Maigh Eo lads beside us, who came to watch their minors, said they'd never been so entertained at a match. The thing was that everyone around felt a class of affinity in sanity; d'you know, 'twas great for the community as a whole!

an tseabhac (Kerry) - Posts: 441 - 24/07/2013 12:59:00    1440988

banner_boy
County: Clare

Tiobrad, don't ever mention 1998 without prior warning - it still gives me the chills followed by a bout of uncontrollable wailing.

Bannerboy...just let it go, its time to move on! Seriously though, were you at that game? Its a game that over all the games i've been at..has left the biggest impression on me. Wasnt a high scoring game and I dont think there were any goals but the atmosphere was unbelievable

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 24/07/2013 13:14:52    1441014

Pinkie
County: Wexford

I remember being in Thurles last year and the Limerick fans were singing "The fields of Athenry", I think the reaction from all around me was "Why exactly are they singing that at a GAA match"?

A GAA match is exactly where it should be sung, in the old ballad form, as it used to be by Athenry and Galway fans. It's a joke anthem now and its embarassing that Limerick fans were singing it. Such a pity that Munster, Celtic and Liverpool fans have ruined that great song

jafallon (Galway) - Posts: 489 - 24/07/2013 14:16:35    1441128

Agree with you there jafallon. I have grown to loathe the song. It is staple of tourist trap Temple Bar pubs which seem to play that, Dirty Old Town, Galway Girl and I'll Tell Me Ma endlessly. I knew a woman who worked in one of them and she said she becomes almost physically ill when she hears some of them!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 24/07/2013 14:48:05    1441180

The worst part is that the famine reference is all in the verses, which these anthem chanters dont know the words to. So these Munster, Celtic etc are just chanting a verse they have no connection to. The song is nice when its sung fully

jafallon (Galway) - Posts: 489 - 24/07/2013 14:57:48    1441194

Waterford by a mile, they'd follow that team to hell and back

jimmy90 (Kildare) - Posts: 160 - 24/07/2013 14:58:57    1441198

Always rated Cork fans. Waterford and Wexford fans go in numbers and are always good craic. Clare wouldn't be my favourite.

Side note: Monaghan football fans are the best ive had the pleasure of sharing a stadium with

miketyson (Limerick) - Posts: 2748 - 24/07/2013 20:58:28    1441600

I guarantee you're wrong hill16no1man. Even if it was the middle of the rugby season, the hurling fans would still be out in the same numbers as they are. You seem to have a disliking for Limerick or their fans. Pity about that

pj_mcmanus (Limerick) - Posts: 431 - 24/07/2013 21:17:18    1441636

Jafallon,
Going a wee bit off topic but the fields is wonderful song and as a song about the famine/emigration is very relevant to Celtic and Celtic fans many of whom are descended from these people..In fact it was Celtic fans who started singing it first until it was hijacked by rugger boys.

juniorbsub (Wexford) - Posts: 646 - 24/07/2013 21:30:15    1441654

I think its very hard to answer. From Tipp there are some very loyal and passionate fans who support the team through thick and thin but then there are some very arrogent fans who'll slate the team at every oppertunity. I find that these are usually people who have never played the game. I presume that its the same in most counties.

If pushed however I would say Waterford. Any time Iv gone to see them play in Thurles Iv found myself shouting for them (obviosuly not against Tipp) because they create such a buzz around the place. They're also great craic after the match!!

The worst are Kilkenny fans, hands down. You saw that in Nowlan Park as they cheered when Lar got injured.

Joe_Bloggs (Tipperary) - Posts: 186 - 25/07/2013 12:33:06    1441970

Joe_Bloggs
County: Tipperary

I think its very hard to answer. From Tipp there are some very loyal and passionate fans who support the team through thick and thin but then there are some very arrogent fans who'll slate the team at every oppertunity. I find that these are usually people who have never played the game. I presume that its the same in most counties.

If pushed however I would say Waterford. Any time Iv gone to see them play in Thurles Iv found myself shouting for them (obviosuly not against Tipp) because they create such a buzz around the place. They're also great craic after the match!!

The worst are Kilkenny fans, hands down. You saw that in Nowlan Park as they cheered when Lar got injured.

I'd disagree I think the worst are the lads that have played the game! The most high profile being Babs but he's not on his own either trust me and in fairness Tipp hurling does deserve a bit of slating from time to time from i'm hearing that goes on anyway

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 25/07/2013 13:27:26    1442057

pj_mcmanus
County: Limerick

I guarantee you're wrong hill16no1man. Even if it was the middle of the rugby season, the hurling fans would still be out in the same numbers as they are. You seem to have a disliking for Limerick or their fans. Pity about that

no dislike for limerick whatsoever im there as already stated quite alot of the time,i know the place really well thats why i can give an honest opinion on sport in the county.
just telling the truth,if it was amunster or limeick match every single pub would have munster match on tv and the city would be decked out in munster flags and as light follows day the supporters would go to the rugby over the hurling.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/07/2013 15:00:31    1442186

pj mcmanus

also i dont see you responding to jafallons point of limerick supporters singing the fields of athenry.
if anything that would just prove the point its mostly the rugby supporters carrying it over from singing it at munster matches
( even though its a galway anthem)

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/07/2013 15:03:24    1442188

Has to be limerick fan's there surely the best

upthetreatyboys (Limerick) - Posts: 104 - 25/07/2013 15:32:52    1442238

Cork without a doubt and the Deise too always travel in massive numbers.The worst are my own fellow people im sad to say.

crossfieldball (Galway) - Posts: 650 - 25/07/2013 18:30:47    1442525

I'm sorry this post should be who has the best championship supporters as Cork have a very poor NHL and minor/u-21 support

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1671 - 25/07/2013 19:08:44    1442560

For the Limerick posters shouting they have best supporters just stop and think before writing. Like every other county ye have about 5 to 8 thousand very loyal supporters anything over this and it's pure bandwaging stuff and that goes for every county.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 25/07/2013 20:10:55    1442623