Division One 2013

So semi finals must be Dublin v Mayo, and Tyrone v Kildare?

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 07/04/2013 18:29:42    1362450

Expect the Donegal PR machine to go into overdrive this week. By the middle of the week I'm sure we'll be hearing stories about how they were running up and down Everest as a warm down after their incredible sessions. Their bigger and stronger than ever we'll be told if the media are true to form. Dropping a lead in last few minutes to one of their biggest rivals at home is ideal preparation and all part of Jim's master-plan...

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 07/04/2013 18:35:36    1362459

tyroneed

1362444 Thought Marty Duffy had a great game for Kerry. Gave good protection to Cooper and Donaghy. Even intercepted a first half Tyrone pass. Also managed to blow the game up when Tyrone had a possible chance of getting an equaliser.

Cooper went down for the ball and took a knock to the shoulder and was rewarded with a free same with Donaghy. Both were hard knocks and were able to continue. 4 minutes of injury time was spot on and he played the amount that was stated. The ball was kicked out and it broke around midfield then the whistle was blown.

Jackos_Wacko (Kerry) - Posts: 417 - 07/04/2013 18:42:37    1362469

doublehop

Expect the Donegal PR machine to go into overdrive this week. By the middle of the week I'm sure we'll be hearing stories about how they were running up and down Everest as a warm down after their incredible sessions. Their bigger and stronger than ever we'll be told if the media are true to form. Dropping a lead in last few minutes to one of their biggest rivals at home is ideal preparation and all part of Jim's master-plan...

First ashure, now doublehop. What is your fascination with Donegal's welfare? I would have thought that as a Kildare man it would be more in your line to address your own team's brutal performance.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 07/04/2013 18:54:28    1362484

Great performance in Cork by Mayo. League specialists indeed. Pity we cant show the same doggedness grinding out a result in the Champoinship.
Thanks to Dubs for the helping hand.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 07/04/2013 18:56:12    1362487

Nothing personal MuckrossHead and I'm really not trying to put the boot in when ye're down. Donegal have an unbelievably talented bunch of players but there has been some seriously exaggerated stories and myths about McGuinness, this team and their preparations.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 07/04/2013 19:17:32    1362521

Doublehop,

Well JMcG can't help what people write but the main problem for us at the moment is that while we are a match for anyone at full strength we don't have the replacements to bring in to replace them. We were missing 5 of our key players in the second half and that is too much for us.
Teams like Dublin have great depth but we don't. Having said that we have 7 weeks to get them fit and ready so don't write us off yet. Despite going down we had a better scoring difference than Kildare, Cork, Kerry & Down & a kick of a ball in any of 3 games would have made all the difference.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 07/04/2013 19:27:05    1362538

Fair play to Dublin. They battled well. Young Mannion had a great few points. Donegal fitness finally starting to get there. Pity Murphy's point wasn't seen by the
Umpires!!!!! Roll on 26th of May.

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 07/04/2013 19:33:26    1362543

Hi guys,

Tactical analysis of Kerry's win over Tyrone here http://action81.com/blog/?p=7057

Emmet

emmetryan (Dublin) - Posts: 154 - 07/04/2013 19:37:56    1362548

Dont give up the day job Emmett!!!!!!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 07/04/2013 19:42:31    1362554

Good man doublehop, we gave upa lead against what is the best team in the country at the minute by a mile, whether or not they will be in September we shall see, have to say I enjoy your comments about Donegal being stronger and fitter than everyone else is laughable, we all thought that was Kildare until Meath and cork got a hold of yous last year, if you want to build JMG up to be some sort of messiah, tats fine, because you know what he just might be unlike some other ulster managers out there who doesn't need 6 years to try and win a title of any sorts apart fom a division 2title

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 07/04/2013 19:52:20    1362569

Emmet, these tactical analyses are excellent, thanks.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 07/04/2013 20:00:49    1362582

actually thought that emmetryan analysis wasn't bad...some good points. Anyway, I am pleased that Kerry did the Houdini and managed to survive Div 1. Also, Donegal's focus (so Jim said) is the championship and here we will see if they are one of the rare teams to get a back to back. Dublin have the depth and of course handsome and brilliant Bernard (did you know his mother is from Kerry), Cork have a great back line but there is still some problems tying it altogether (as of course, have Kerry). Down are down......Kildare are fortunate to be in the semi-final, I was expecting more off them in play. Maybe they will up the game from now on. Mayo, OMG, Mayo..........will you for God sake go out and win the league. And Tyrone..........well what can I say....you heard it hear first.....prepare for another Kerry v Tyrone Croke Park fixture. I just love Tyrone!!!

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 07/04/2013 20:08:04    1362590

actually thought that emmetryan analysis wasn't bad...some good points. Anyway, I am pleased that Kerry did the Houdini and managed to survive Div 1. Also, Donegal's focus (so Jim said) is the championship and here we will see if they are one of the rare teams to get a back to back. Dublin have the depth and of course handsome and brilliant Bernard (did you know his mother is from Kerry), Cork have a great back line but there is still some problems tying it altogether (as of course, have Kerry). Down are down......Kildare are fortunate to be in the semi-final, I was expecting more off them in play. Maybe they will up the game from now on. Mayo, OMG, Mayo..........will you for God sake go out and win the league. And Tyrone..........well what can I say....you heard it hear first.....prepare for another Kerry v Tyrone Croke Park fixture. I just love Tyrone!!!

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 07/04/2013 20:14:12    1362596

Great game in Ballybofey , I think a draw was a fair result . It should have been a free for the Donegal midfielder but not a peno he was outside the box tv highlights clearly show that. What's wrong with Murphy doesn't look himself at all lately I thought he was poor today but young Paddy in the corner was very dangerous. I've seen it first hand today Donegal have no problems they just don't have as big a panel as everyone else but when everyone is back fit they will take serious beating. Cooper,Philly,Mccraffrey, O Sullivan, Andrews and Mannion very good for Dublin today. Roll on next Sunday against a very good Mayo team who I think are nearly favourites for Sam this year.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 07/04/2013 21:09:55    1362670

County: DublinPosts: 3290

…..a very good Mayo team who I think are nearly favourites for Sam this year.

Go easy clondalkin....some of us might take you seriously!!

beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 07/04/2013 21:26:58    1362692

Sons.of.erin ..UK .. Please tell me what County you would happen to be from ???

topdownfan (Down) - Posts: 555 - 07/04/2013 21:37:43    1362705

Great game in Ballybofey , I think a draw was a fair result . It should have been a free for the Donegal midfielder but not a peno he was outside the box tv highlights clearly show that. What's wrong with Murphy doesn't look himself at all lately I thought he was poor today but young Paddy in the corner was very dangerous. I've seen it first hand today Donegal have no problems they just don't have as big a panel as everyone else but when everyone is back fit they will take serious beating. Cooper,Philly,Mccraffrey, O Sullivan, Andrews and Mannion very good for Dublin today. Roll on next Sunday against a very good Mayo team who I think are nearly favourites for Sam this year.

In full agreement Clondalkin. Dublin looked very good, even with players missing and were far & away the best team I've seen this year. I thought Mannion in particular was very impressive.
You've hit the nail on the head about our panel, we just don't have the depth to handle injuries, which we didn't have last year. At full strength we are contenders, otherwise........

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 07/04/2013 21:47:16    1362719

Beal yous have a very good team even without Moran but if he's back to full fitness what a bonus to Mayo this summer. Honestly before I never thought Mayo were good enough but this year I think they have a great chance. At times against us in Croker this year in the league some of the football Mayo played was the best I've seen from any team this year.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 07/04/2013 21:48:59    1362720

Doublehop- Jim has had more success in last two years than McGeeney will get for 20. Why are people so obsessed with the league. A kick of a ball put us down. We could not have been more unlucky. As I stated on another forum, peak time is the summer, not when Cadbury's cream eggs are still available for purchase

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 07/04/2013 21:58:49    1362732