Could the GAA go professional?

Once again you put words in my mouth.When did I say it wasnt clever?Its a smart move but it is still being a mercenary.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 08/04/2012 20:42:08    1146584

ormondbannerman
County: Clare

No its not, a pro player has to think about himself first and get the best deal he can get for himself. That isnt being a mercenary, are you a mercenary if at work when your contract is being renewed you look for the best offer you can get from ye're boss
Moving somewhere where you are guaranteed to play isnt being a mercenary. Thats being smart.
Moving somewhere where quality of life is better is being a mercenary??? Dont be stupid of course its not. Its actually very clever and se's you are looking to your future

All of the above is exactly what a mercenary does.

A mercenary thinks of him or herself first and foremost. This is what all professional rugby, soccer, basketball etc do.

What's your issue with mercenaries? There's nothing wrong with it, seeing as all professional sportsmen are, as we all are in our professions to a degree.

If the clubs not right for them they will move on, regardless of whether or not it's their first or 'hometown' club. Their loyalty only goes so far.

You're here throwing insults at people telling them not to be stupid as well which there is no need for.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 08/04/2012 20:45:56    1146590

08/04/2012 20:42:08
TheRoad

1146584 Once again you put words in my mouth.When did I say it wasnt clever?Its a smart move but it is still being a mercenary.

Wasnt putting words in your mouth at all.
Moving to somewhere where you are being guaranteed to play in more games is not being a mercenary, generally if you are moving clubs as you cant get gametime in your current club you will more than likely on a lower pay than your current contract. So how is that being a mercenary

Everyone doesnt have to stay playing with the same team in the same club/region for their entire career

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 08/04/2012 20:47:36    1146594

Lets just agree to disagree on the definition of mercenary.Dont want to become involved in a long winded 20 post debate.Im off out.Chat to yiz all 2moro.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 08/04/2012 20:48:18    1146595

08/04/2012 20:45:56
MesAmis

1146590 ormondbannerman

No its not, a pro player has to think about himself first and get the best deal he can get for himself. That isnt being a mercenary, are you a mercenary if at work when your contract is being renewed you look for the best offer you can get from ye're boss
Moving somewhere where you are guaranteed to play isnt being a mercenary. Thats being smart.
Moving somewhere where quality of life is better is being a mercenary??? Dont be stupid of course its not. Its actually very clever and se's you are looking to your future

All of the above is exactly what a mercenary does.

A mercenary thinks of him or herself first and foremost. This is what all professional rugby, soccer, basketball etc do.

What's your issue with mercenaries? There's nothing wrong with it, seeing as all professional sportsmen are, as we all are in our professions to a degree.

If the clubs not right for them they will move on, regardless of whether or not it's their first or 'hometown' club. Their loyalty only goes so far.

You're here throwing insults at people telling them not to be stupid as well which there is no need for.

Im not throwing insults at people at all. My problem with the use of the word mercenary is that as a result of the assumption that a mercenary is essentially motivated by money, the term mercenary usually carries negative connotations and many of ye here are using the word in a very negative way.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 08/04/2012 20:51:43    1146602

ormondbannerman

Its not a negative term. Merely factual. I'll repeat, for about the fourth time, there is nothing wrong with it. It's what happens in a professional sport.

Also you're the one who has brought up money. Myself and the Road have constantly said that money isn't the only motivating factor but you keep coming back to it.

Rugby is a professional sport. This is how professional sport works.

Every single professional rugby player (or any other professional sportsperson) is a mercenary. They will go where it's best for them. They won't stay at a club out of loyalty if it's not in their best interests.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 08/04/2012 21:08:41    1146630

Could you take yer egg chat off somewhere else ormand!
Its becoming tiresome.

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 08/04/2012 21:30:26    1146664

08/04/2012 21:08:41
MesAmis

Every single professional rugby player (or any other professional sportsperson) is a mercenary. They will go where it's best for them. They won't stay at a club out of loyalty if it's not in their best interests.

They do go where its best for them but that doesnt mean someone is a mercenary. Take Felix Jones he moved from Leinster to Munster in 2009 as he was so far down in the pecking order in leinster. He had only played 1 game for leinsters 1st team. Is he a mercenary due to his move to Munster where he eventually broke through to the 1st team???
Of course people wont stay at a club if theyre not getting enough out of the club as to what they deserve but because they move clubs doesnt make them a mercenary.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 09/04/2012 21:24:53    1147463

Ormomd

That is exactly what a mercenary does.

Again there is nothing wrong with it.

It's the natural way of it in professional sports.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 09/04/2012 21:47:42    1147499

Just quit now Mesamis.He'll keep this going for a week.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 09/04/2012 21:51:26    1147503

09/04/2012 21:47:42
MesAmis

1147499 Ormomd

That is exactly what a mercenary does.

Again there is nothing wrong with it.

It's the natural way of it in professional sports.

But my point is, not everyone in pro sport is a mercenary in cases like i have mentioned
09/04/2012 21:51:26
TheRoad

1147503 Just quit now Mesamis.He'll keep this going for a week.

Whats wrog with keeping it going for a week if the debate is constructive and the post is attacked and the reasons behind the posts are discussed and not who the poster is

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 09/04/2012 21:55:58    1147507

No, Too many players not enough revenue streams.

Southsham (Limerick) - Posts: 738 - 10/04/2012 11:25:57    1147638

TheRoad

Just quit now Mesamis.He'll keep this going for a week.

Sometimes education can just come down to perseverance.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 10/04/2012 12:36:24    1147751

the problem is ormond you never give it a rest and ruin every debate

shermaninator (USA) - Posts: 285 - 10/04/2012 12:41:48    1147765

remember lads this is only a debate with him because you dared to mention rugby in any sort of negative way even though it actually wasn't negative at all

shermaninator (USA) - Posts: 285 - 10/04/2012 12:44:51    1147771

Whatever about generalization, you only have to look across the Irish Sea to see what money does to loyalties. Rooney would not be the only example; He was recently willing to transfer to United's "hated" rivals, City, for more money. United simply paid him more and within a week he was kissing the United jersey again and vowing his eternal hatred to City. I would not like it if "pride of place" could be bought and sold like that, and what would it be worth to anyone to support such people?

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 643 - 10/04/2012 12:57:48    1147793

10/04/2012 12:41:48
shermaninator
County: USA

1147765 the problem is ormond you never give it a rest and ruin every debate
10/04/2012 12:44:51
shermaninator
County: USA

1147771 remember lads this is only a debate with him because you dared to mention rugby in any sort of negative way even though it actually wasn't negative at all

You are fascinated with me. Whats your problem. Why mention me at all here?? And i dont ruin every debate. I dont post total untruths, and dont abuse other posters. I attack peoples posts not the posters

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 10/04/2012 13:47:17    1147891

because you are ruining the debate with the rugby stuff as usual and overreacting to them being called mercenaries..so what if they are called mercenaries whats wrong with that

shermaninator (USA) - Posts: 285 - 10/04/2012 14:03:49    1147937

Crib as much as you like ormandbannerman,
they are still mercenaries!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 10/04/2012 14:35:33    1147997

the country has not got the population to support it... stadiums need to be full everyweek for at least 30 weeks of the year!!

wise_guy (Tyrone) - Posts: 1584 - 10/04/2012 15:22:10    1148057