Strangest Refereeing Decision Ever??

If Sludden had have awarded a penalty to Joe Sheridan denying Louth a Leinster title it would still be a massive mistake and talking point.

There's no way in the world that it was a penalty.

It's easily still the worst decision I've ever seen in any sport to award that goal.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 08/09/2017 10:39:19    2044094

Replying To royaldunne:  "Hate to be pedantic about it. But couldn't have been a try no matter what sport. As ball wasn't grounded. What about the free for nothing Dublin got v Kildare few years ago? Surprised you didn't mention that one."
Well if Joe was rugby tackled then so was Brogan.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 08/09/2017 11:03:41    2044104

Ye the Louth fans really ruined that day for us in 2010...coming on to the pitch and attacking the poor ref and him after making a mistake.

And then to have the cheek afterwards pressurizing Meath in to offering a replay as a result of Sludden's mistake ???

Unbelievable.

Laytown Legend (None) - Posts: 424 - 08/09/2017 11:06:43    2044105

Replying To royaldunne:  "No you are correct he was going to award the penalty as Joe was dragged (by more than one player) in the square . He let advantage though (which wasn't in rules at time) but common sense refs often let advantage occur. Pity he didn't just award the penalty."
Its a pity he didnt award a free out out against Seamus Kenny for being in the square before the ball

JR_Iarmhi (Westmeath) - Posts: 40 - 08/09/2017 11:40:32    2044122

We were getting hammered once in an underage gaa foootball game.
I got into the square and lost control off the ball and made a fairly humourous dive and screech. Peno given and I just got up and split my arse laughing.
Next thing I know the ref changes his mind and gives a free out!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 08/09/2017 12:44:46    2044153

Replying To woops:  "We were getting hammered once in an underage gaa foootball game.
I got into the square and lost control off the ball and made a fairly humourous dive and screech. Peno given and I just got up and split my arse laughing.
Next thing I know the ref changes his mind and gives a free out!"
That could be classed as one of the best decisions as he seen he made a mistake and acknowledged it and done the right thing, something to many refs fail to do at inter county level.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/09/2017 13:30:56    2044167

Replying To MesAmis:  "If Sludden had have awarded a penalty to Joe Sheridan denying Louth a Leinster title it would still be a massive mistake and talking point.

It's easily still the worst decision I've ever seen in any sport to award that goal."
Agreed. It's very unseemly to see a few Meath fans genuinely claim it was legit in any way.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 08/09/2017 13:40:00    2044169

Back in 1991 when i was 15 our senior club ladies team played a challenge against our U16 football team. The ladies had won an all-ireland club and several Leinsters. The game wasn't as developed as today.

Anyway this lady and Laois Senior star in her late 40s at the time got to grips with me when i was on the ball. We ended up rolling on the ground and she was hitting me boxes and clatters at the same time. I gave out to the ref that she was bating the sh**e out of me and she was thick saying i was a dirty player. The ref decided to throw up the ball, a clubman, and he had a smirk on his face. I was tall and light at the time, about 6ft 2in and she was maybe 5ft 5in. I caught the throw in. Anyway i had the ball and was moving forward when i felt this hand on my backside grab my togs and all. She had a powerful grip and pulled down the togs and jocks and all!! This with a group of under 16 boys and ladies aged 16-50!

For whatever reason i didn't get too embarrassed and let a string of curses at her. She didn't seem to notice at all that i was temporarily in the nip and cursed back. My memory of the ref was him doubled over laughing and he nearly swallowed the whistle! He said when he came too, 'i think i'll throw it up again'!! I said you can feck off, just give her the ball!!

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 08/09/2017 13:43:36    2044174

Replying To MesAmis:  "If Sludden had have awarded a penalty to Joe Sheridan denying Louth a Leinster title it would still be a massive mistake and talking point.

It's easily still the worst decision I've ever seen in any sport to award that goal."
Ah now. . .crazy decision but the worst in any sport ever!??

How actually tried to kick the ball over the line which would've made it a legitimate goal. He didn't make contact and so of course it shouldn't have stood.

But there have been far worse in other sports.

One that immediately spring to mind was in the English football championship a few seasons back (think Charlton or reading may have been involved) when the linesman gave a goal because he was certain the ball had fully crossed the line.
The ball had indeed crossed the line but it was about a metre wide!! The goal was given!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 08/09/2017 13:51:06    2044177

That's the one. Was Watford v reading. Crazy decision. .whatever about where the linesman thought the ball was, surely he could see the player who cleared it was outside the goalmouth!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 08/09/2017 13:55:24    2044178

Replying To cavanman47:  "Ah now. . .crazy decision but the worst in any sport ever!??

How actually tried to kick the ball over the line which would've made it a legitimate goal. He didn't make contact and so of course it shouldn't have stood.

But there have been far worse in other sports.

One that immediately spring to mind was in the English football championship a few seasons back (think Charlton or reading may have been involved) when the linesman gave a goal because he was certain the ball had fully crossed the line.
The ball had indeed crossed the line but it was about a metre wide!! The goal was given!"
I think what makes it the worst for me is a combination of just how bad the decision was and what was at stake.

Those Louth players were about to become a legendary group in terms of Louth football.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 08/09/2017 15:10:09    2044206

Replying To MesAmis:  "I think what makes it the worst for me is a combination of just how bad the decision was and what was at stake.

Those Louth players were about to become a legendary group in terms of Louth football."
That really was an incredible incident. The Louth midfielder made what would have been one of the greatest blocks of all time to stop the initial shot. Then 2 Louth defenders went to catch the same ball and it ended up with both of them dropping it to allow Sheridan carry it over the line. Like the referee i am sure both them Louth defenders would have done things differently had they a chance again but for some reason its only Sludden who gets all the blame.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 08/09/2017 15:38:38    2044215

Replying To Soma:  "That really was an incredible incident. The Louth midfielder made what would have been one of the greatest blocks of all time to stop the initial shot. Then 2 Louth defenders went to catch the same ball and it ended up with both of them dropping it to allow Sheridan carry it over the line. Like the referee i am sure both them Louth defenders would have done things differently had they a chance again but for some reason its only Sludden who gets all the blame."
Agree. I've always said that Paddy Keenan would've gone down in history for that block, if it wasn't for what followed.
Such a shame for him.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2037 - 08/09/2017 17:22:57    2044245

Senior championship game about 4 years ago (not in Cavan if it makes any odds) , ball kicked out to midfield, tall guy catches it get tackled. He turns around and clocks the tackler, Proceeds to stand with a south paw stance and clocks another lad beside him too. This is all in front of the stand. At this stage there is about 3-4 lads standing around him, none of them brave enough. Ref breaks it up has a verbal argument with the tall guy and give him a yellow card... tall guy was an ex county player

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 08/09/2017 20:01:37    2044266

Replying To ponger:  "Senior championship game about 4 years ago (not in Cavan if it makes any odds) , ball kicked out to midfield, tall guy catches it get tackled. He turns around and clocks the tackler, Proceeds to stand with a south paw stance and clocks another lad beside him too. This is all in front of the stand. At this stage there is about 3-4 lads standing around him, none of them brave enough. Ref breaks it up has a verbal argument with the tall guy and give him a yellow card... tall guy was an ex county player"
A similar curse happens to county players in Monaghan also, our current and former captains seem to play a strange version of the rules where they get to take 10+ steps.

Iamlegion666 (Monaghan) - Posts: 285 - 08/09/2017 21:46:31    2044276

Johnny Maher's rampage in the last few minutes of the 2012 Galway County hurling final that went unpunished by the ref:link
He struck two players with the hurl and then kicked a third, all under the ref's nose, and the ref did absolutely nothing. In fairness to the ref, he had reason to expect a few belts himself if he took any action.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 08/09/2017 23:51:37    2044298

Replying To hill16no1man:  "A foul off the ball is hardly one of the strangest decisions of all time"
Clearly pulled back, you Dubs are kidding yourselves that was a ridiculous decision. To decide a game with the last kick where even replays couldn't pick up a foul was absolutely a con job, a but shur it's the Dubs.

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 09/09/2017 01:27:41    2044305

Replying To Laois76:  "Back in 1991 when i was 15 our senior club ladies team played a challenge against our U16 football team. The ladies had won an all-ireland club and several Leinsters. The game wasn't as developed as today.

Anyway this lady and Laois Senior star in her late 40s at the time got to grips with me when i was on the ball. We ended up rolling on the ground and she was hitting me boxes and clatters at the same time. I gave out to the ref that she was bating the sh**e out of me and she was thick saying i was a dirty player. The ref decided to throw up the ball, a clubman, and he had a smirk on his face. I was tall and light at the time, about 6ft 2in and she was maybe 5ft 5in. I caught the throw in. Anyway i had the ball and was moving forward when i felt this hand on my backside grab my togs and all. She had a powerful grip and pulled down the togs and jocks and all!! This with a group of under 16 boys and ladies aged 16-50!

For whatever reason i didn't get too embarrassed and let a string of curses at her. She didn't seem to notice at all that i was temporarily in the nip and cursed back. My memory of the ref was him doubled over laughing and he nearly swallowed the whistle! He said when he came too, 'i think i'll throw it up again'!! I said you can feck off, just give her the ball!!"
Is that what passes for foreplay in Laois?

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 09/09/2017 09:35:57    2044321

Replying To ballydalane:  "Is that what passes for foreplay in Laois?"
It was as close as i got to it for a while!!

Ah no if that was her idea of foreplay she'd kill me with the real thing..death by bongo as a fella at home says!

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 09/09/2017 11:34:31    2044340

Sunday 11th of July 2010 is one day I will not forget in a hurry. It was a day that I did not think I would see. My beloved Wee County had reached their first Leinster final since 1960. They last won it in 1957. In 1990's Louth lost six Leinster semi-finals. Living in Drogheda I am right on the border with Meath so them two weeks leading up to the final was something special. Louth were 66/1 at the start of 2010 to win the Leinster Championship and 4/1 beat Meath. Louth missed three goal opportunities in the first half and were behind 0-08 0-05 at half time. Louth came out in the second half and scored the first four points to be leading 0-09 0-08. When JP Rooney scored that wonderful goal with seven mins left I was starting to dream. Louth had the chances to win the game but they did not take them. Brian White had a nightmare of a match. He missed frees that he would normally kick over. I could sense that Meath would grab a winner. Colm Judge got send off for Louth and JP Rooney stupidly kicked the ball away so the ref added on time. I was sitting in the Cusack Stand so it was only after the match that my friend rang me and said that a Meath player threw the ball in the net. I could not believe it when I seen replays of it in the pub after the match. It is still so surreal even seven years after it. Paddy Keenan's block alone was something else. One of the best players to wear the Wee County jersey and the most unluckiest captain ever. Aaron Hoey who was with Louth 13 years when he came on as a sub during the match summed it up when he was asked what his greatest moment was playing football? He said the Leinster final. What was his worse moment? He said the Leinster final. It will be on the opening scene of Reeling in the Years 2010.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 09/09/2017 13:27:34    2044372