Strangest Refereeing Decision Ever??

Replying To yew_tree:  "joe sherdian decision was the strangest decision i ever saw."
You are right. It was the clearest penalty ever. Slideen said after that he was going to award penalty but did not see the effort Joe made to kick the ball after been rugby tackled to the ground. Clearest penalty ever.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/09/2017 17:37:16    2043912

Replying To gigoer:  "I see a few of you are mentioning Martin Sludden again. As a matter of interest, I read somewhere in the aftermath of that fiasco that Sludden's report stated that he was about to award a penalty when Sheridan was dragged down but when the ball was in the net, he decided to simply award the goal instead - but that in itself is a contravention of the rules, it's either a goal or it isn't, it's either a penalty or it isn't, a penalty doesn't automatically result in a goal.

But that could have been just internet BS or propaganda I was reading, either way, it belongs way up there in the list of strange refereeing decisions."
No you are correct he was going to award the penalty as Joe was dragged (by more than one player) in the square . He let advantage though (which wasn't in rules at time) but common sense refs often let advantage occur. Pity he didn't just award the penalty.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/09/2017 17:41:14    2043914

Replying To gigoer:  "I see a few of you are mentioning Martin Sludden again. As a matter of interest, I read somewhere in the aftermath of that fiasco that Sludden's report stated that he was about to award a penalty when Sheridan was dragged down but when the ball was in the net, he decided to simply award the goal instead - but that in itself is a contravention of the rules, it's either a goal or it isn't, it's either a penalty or it isn't, a penalty doesn't automatically result in a goal.

But that could have been just internet BS or propaganda I was reading, either way, it belongs way up there in the list of strange refereeing decisions."
It was a good try all the same - pity it was the wrong sport.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 07/09/2017 18:16:04    2043927

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Twas far from the strangest call he made that day. At least ye got a free in out of it :)"
;)

Missing too many steps is worse than giving a free in for a penalty offence? Sorry but steps are missed in every game

But that's the first time I've ever seen a ref make such a bizarre call under these circumstances..

That was an incredibly fortunate decision that went your way.

And it's been lost and conveniently forgotten about by many with a very self serving focus

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 07/09/2017 18:28:27    2043931

Replying To arock:  "It was a good try all the same - pity it was the wrong sport."
So tough on Louth.They may not be as close again to winning a senior Leinster title for the next 50 years.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 07/09/2017 19:13:30    2043936

I once played in a club game where a half back broke a high ball down into his path and then raced 30 or 40 yards up the field bouncing the ball basketball style without actually catching it at any stage. Opposing players were screaming at the ref and he eventually called him back and gave a free, against him, from close to where he originally broke the ball down. Was the ref correct?

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 07/09/2017 20:16:13    2043963

Replying To endgame:  "So tough on Louth.They may not be as close again to winning a senior Leinster title for the next 50 years."
Ah don't mention the war. I'm still getting therapy for it.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 07/09/2017 20:36:51    2043971

I remember a strange incident from a Cork/Galway football league match played at the old Athletic Grounds back in the sixties. Galway committed a foul on the 20 meter line and the ref awarded a free. A Galway player kicked the ball away and the ref advanced the free to the 14th. He said to the Galway player who had kicked the ball away, "If you do that again, it will be a penalty."

After the point was scored and the ball kicked out, the goalkeeper said to the umpire, "He couldn't do that." The umpire said, "He could."

I often wondered.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 643 - 07/09/2017 20:43:46    2043974

The decison to award Carlow a sidelineball in this years championship game that lead to the Connolly linesman debacle.
the Carlow keeper kicked the ball directly over the sideline uncontested by any player and bizarrely they decided to award the sideline ball to Carlow, how they could actually come to that conclusion is a mystery and well what followed will probably make realing in the years in time.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/09/2017 21:19:16    2043983

Replying To hill16no1man:  "The decison to award Carlow a sidelineball in this years championship game that lead to the Connolly linesman debacle.
the Carlow keeper kicked the ball directly over the sideline uncontested by any player and bizarrely they decided to award the sideline ball to Carlow, how they could actually come to that conclusion is a mystery and well what followed will probably make realing in the years in time."
"Make reeling in the years" jaysus I know you Dubs LOVE to have a victim complex but even your fellow Capital men will have to acknowledge there's something not right in your head.

Iamlegion666 (Monaghan) - Posts: 285 - 07/09/2017 21:59:44    2043999

Replying To arock:  "It was a good try all the same - pity it was the wrong sport."
Hate to be pedantic about it. But couldn't have been a try no matter what sport. As ball wasn't grounded. What about the free for nothing Dublin got v Kildare few years ago? Surprised you didn't mention that one.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/09/2017 22:12:19    2044004

Replying To royaldunne:  "Hate to be pedantic about it. But couldn't have been a try no matter what sport. As ball wasn't grounded. What about the free for nothing Dublin got v Kildare few years ago? Surprised you didn't mention that one."
Brogan is clearly tugged back as he is beginning his run.

The fact that the ball was going nowhere near him is neither here nor there. :)

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 07/09/2017 22:39:09    2044013

The free given to Galway to draw the 1998 Connaught final v Roscommon when they should have been beaten and went on to win the replay and All Ireland.....i think it was awarded against Clifford McDonald the then Roscommon no.6....was strange back then and still not a free imo all these later....the margin hey!!

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1080 - 07/09/2017 23:57:47    2044032

I remember an Ulster final or semi -final in the 80s, Tyrone v someone. May have been Monaghan. Tyrone were a couple of points down in injury time. Noel McGinn I think it was scores a goal to go 1 up with seconds remaining. Had his jersey tugged, very lightly, as he burst through on goal. Noel was a strong lad and I don't think he even noticed the jersey tug; it certainly didn't impede him or slow him in any way. But the ref, who shall remain nameless, he wouldn't have been much of a Tyrone fan (putting it mildly), disallowed the goal anyway, called the play back and gave Tyrone a useless free in for the jersey-pull. Free was scored, but so what, we now a point down and lost the game. Of course, technically there wasn't any advantage rule then. I remember an elderly Tyrone fan, good Sunday suit on him, white hair, mad angry, saying all sorts down at the wire. I still remember the incident, so it definitely ruined that weekend anyway!

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 08/09/2017 00:16:25    2044036

I had a goal disallowed against my club team at u12 because the lad scored with his head.
Surely that's allowed......isn't it??

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 08/09/2017 09:52:13    2044074

Replying To essmac:  "I remember an Ulster final or semi -final in the 80s, Tyrone v someone. May have been Monaghan. Tyrone were a couple of points down in injury time. Noel McGinn I think it was scores a goal to go 1 up with seconds remaining. Had his jersey tugged, very lightly, as he burst through on goal. Noel was a strong lad and I don't think he even noticed the jersey tug; it certainly didn't impede him or slow him in any way. But the ref, who shall remain nameless, he wouldn't have been much of a Tyrone fan (putting it mildly), disallowed the goal anyway, called the play back and gave Tyrone a useless free in for the jersey-pull. Free was scored, but so what, we now a point down and lost the game. Of course, technically there wasn't any advantage rule then. I remember an elderly Tyrone fan, good Sunday suit on him, white hair, mad angry, saying all sorts down at the wire. I still remember the incident, so it definitely ruined that weekend anyway!"
I think you are referring to the 1988 Ulster Final. Monaghan were leading by 2 points. Noel McGinn was 'tackled' in the square, got up and drove the ball wide. Tyrone demanded a penalty but to no avail. The full time whistle was blown before the kick out. Monaghan won by 2. I just viewed the highlights on You Tube.

I am from Monaghan. Therefore my opinion on whether Tyrone deserved a penalty might be biased.

My favourite analysis of the incident was in the Monaghan paper, the Northern Standard. The writer was, as I recall, Seamus McCluskey, a big Monaghan fan. Seamus conceded that it should have been a penalty but was confident that Paddy Linden would have saved it!

tommy58 (Dublin) - Posts: 169 - 08/09/2017 10:03:45    2044080

Replying To royaldunne:  "You are right. It was the clearest penalty ever. Slideen said after that he was going to award penalty but did not see the effort Joe made to kick the ball after been rugby tackled to the ground. Clearest penalty ever."
You might need to watch it again, as it's certainly not "the clearest penalty ever". In fact it would have been a very dubious penalty, if awarded. After Paddy Keenan blocked the first shot, the rebounded ball is contested by two Louth players who end up fumbling it on each other. Joe then comes on to the ball, throwing himself towards the goal with ball in hand. He's not wrestled or rugby tackled as you said. He jumps towards goal with the ball. Nobody pulled him to ground. Colm O'Rourke was on the Sunday Game panel for that game and stated that it definitely wasn't a penalty.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2040 - 08/09/2017 10:09:08    2044083

Replying To neverright:  "I once played in a club game where a half back broke a high ball down into his path and then raced 30 or 40 yards up the field bouncing the ball basketball style without actually catching it at any stage. Opposing players were screaming at the ref and he eventually called him back and gave a free, against him, from close to where he originally broke the ball down. Was the ref correct?"
If its in the last few years then the player had every right to do that and it shouldn't have been a free as long as he didn't catch it before the bouncing.
Until you catch the ball you can bounce it as many times as you want. I have never seen what you suggest but its common enough for players to do 2 or 3 to get out of contact before catching it in order to pass.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 08/09/2017 10:23:53    2044086

Replying To Iamlegion666:  ""Make reeling in the years" jaysus I know you Dubs LOVE to have a victim complex but even your fellow Capital men will have to acknowledge there's something not right in your head."
Yeah it's called a joke
pity you can't spot it
Don't take it everything so serious my friend

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/09/2017 10:32:01    2044090

Replying To royaldunne:  "Hate to be pedantic about it. But couldn't have been a try no matter what sport. As ball wasn't grounded. What about the free for nothing Dublin got v Kildare few years ago? Surprised you didn't mention that one."
A foul off the ball is hardly one of the strangest decisions of all time

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/09/2017 10:34:39    2044093