100+ things culchies love!

Summer is not complete till the turf is home the silage is made and you have gone to knock for a day.

xxx (Mayo) - Posts: 1275 - 15/06/2009 15:07:20    311942

Nice one Hllbilly boi. You forgot to say "Know-all dubs".

RAM85 (Westmeath) - Posts: 978 - 15/06/2009 15:25:37    311991

funny as hell monkey
i have a dublin list somewhere ,i'll put it up just in the interest of fairness
that descibes me da down to a tee

b.mullins (Dublin) - Posts: 1413 - 15/06/2009 15:46:41    312057

101. Fixin cars
102. Fishin

johnjoseph (Derry) - Posts: 158 - 15/06/2009 17:07:31    312251

Heres a few.
Calling rugby,golf,soccer foriegn sports and nobody in the local community plays any.
Getting served in local pubs when your 16.
Stare at a car for the day if it has a yellow reg.
Not goin on any abroad holidays infact only leaving the county for a mart,galway races or if the gaa team gets a run out in croker.
Not going doctors.
Driving at under 30km everywhere.
Having to put a cattle grid in.
If you dont drink Smithicks,Guinness or whiskey you dont drink at all.
Calvita cheese.
Refusing to buy dish washers,washing machines etc.
Wearing a tweed hat.
If a car is in the 2000's its brand new.
drinkin bottles of scor.
going to ceiles in local parish hall.
not having a computer.

I know not up 2 standard with rest of them but just some of my past experiences.

scutchim (Westmeath) - Posts: 22 - 18/06/2009 02:17:12    315542

Number 13: "Gettin' Clattered in Muck" struck an emotional chord with me!

ClatteredInMuck (Antrim) - Posts: 11 - 18/06/2009 15:19:11    316015

- instead of getting a job in a shop or restaurant for the summer @ 16+, they stay at home and farm or draw in silage.
- mass @ 8pm on a saturday evening is a revolution, as they can go straight to croker when the milking is done.
- buying a car but making sure it has a hitch.
- complaining about the weather, good or bad. it always too wet or too hot.
- never buying groceries in lidl or aldi, just sticking 'with what they know'!
- shopping for clothes once a year or only for an 'occassion coming up'!

pridengalway (Galway) - Posts: 327 - 18/06/2009 15:53:00    316065

Quinns first... then onto coppers with a quick stop-over in Flannerys along the way :)

Was the wavin pipe mentioned?????!

BigSam (Kildare) - Posts: 266 - 18/06/2009 16:11:43    316089

One word lads.. Boxty.

Jecht (Cavan) - Posts: 150 - 18/06/2009 16:47:58    316149

You's all got to love the cultchies

Doireegurlie (Derry) - Posts: 337 - 18/06/2009 20:31:53    316419

them stupid monkey hats with the bobbles on them that your ma made you wear when you were 5
listening to damien rice
scruffy manky ancient white runners and jeans that are about 10 sizes too big for you that for some stupid reason yiz cut the end of them.
benson and hedges
saying the word "fierce"
wearing your club training tops around dublin ,lads we never heard of your club and we dont care,now go off and buy a ben sherman shirt will ye.
staring at the junkies,lads its not the zoo,move on
its pronounced ireland,not arland
being proud to be from laois.

finglas full ba (None) - Posts: 636 - 18/06/2009 22:01:22    316515

Parking about 3 miles away from the pitch so that it'll be a quicker getaway after the match, hang sangwitches, country buther and hairy bacon and cabbage!

Ram.Robber (Roscommon) - Posts: 8 - 18/06/2009 23:02:20    316576

"yiz"?

BigSam (Kildare) - Posts: 266 - 18/06/2009 23:15:54    316592

Massey 35's, barely hilt together

Gortnagarn (UK) - Posts: 112 - 19/06/2009 12:27:25    316923

Ye forgot bringing home Sam every September.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 19/06/2009 12:30:40    316929

"Red Diesel" Classic

wixim (Carlow) - Posts: 9 - 19/06/2009 20:24:19    317421

DUBS Just thought of it .

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 19/06/2009 23:09:26    317525

Things the Jackeens (Dubs) love: Aslan Saying 'Yaknowwhorrameyan?" Shamrock Rovers Pop Idol Wearing belly tops over their pale, flabby stomachs Calling people 'Bud' who are not their bud Compo Calling people 'Pal' who are not their pal Shortening words and adding the letter 'o' (Anto, Decco, Corpo) Calling people 'Boss' who are not their boss John Player Blue Burberry Fair City Celtic shirts 'Taches Fireworks every night for the entire month preceeding Halloween Sky Digital Saying "I didn't bleedin' do tha'!" Travelling in packs Moochin' Getting their mot's preggers Champion Sports Christmas Lights you could see from space Skippin' school Giving their kids Monster Munch and Maltesers for breakfast on the bus Standing in queues outside the dole office Funtasia Iceland - the food chain, not the country Man U Saying, "That's not my bleedin' job!" Pushing prams while smoking Earrings (for guys) Earrings a chimpanzee could swing off (for girls) Saying "He didn't do nothin'!" when he clearly did do something Baseball caps Adrian Kennedy Phone Show Picking up unfinished cigarettes dropped on the street by someone else just after coming out of a medical centre (as God is my witness) Tamangos Not payin' the bus fare Curry Chips and a burger Leaving their kids play outside on a busy road while they get hammered on a Sunday afternoon Always following the word 'rich' with the word '******' Pulling their hoodies over their heads as they're led away from the Four Courts Eschewing peaceful solutions to conflict when Violent Senseless Mayhem will suffice Being an authority on everything Smiley Bolger Getting their hair cut so tight they look like a matchstick with ears from the back Not readin' bukes That sums them up!

gaillimh15 (Galway) - Posts: 214 - 20/06/2009 13:17:45    317695

bumped for cranky

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 13/10/2009 18:13:30    453333

57 Having a shower with Lynx instead of using water

Always thought that was called a Knacker Shower

MitchelsonTour (Kerry) - Posts: 25 - 13/10/2009 20:03:55    453485