The Next MAJOR Change In The GAA Will Be...

Matches in empty stadiums? Women in Men's sports such as a goalie in Hurling or Football? Paying the players? GAA sports in the Olympics? Instant replay? Female Managers over Men's football or hurling teams? Pay per view finals? Any of the above or come up with your own.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 02/05/2020 18:38:14    2277310

No

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 02/05/2020 18:59:52    2277316

Replying To Trump2020:  "Matches in empty stadiums? Women in Men's sports such as a goalie in Hurling or Football? Paying the players? GAA sports in the Olympics? Instant replay? Female Managers over Men's football or hurling teams? Pay per view finals? Any of the above or come up with your own."
If gaa want some games to go ahead this summer that may see games go ahead in empty stadiums

No women wont play in mens sport.

Players wont ever be full time unless happy to accept relatively low wages but some could go semi pro if you got right people to work as development officers for their county board and work in schools 20-25 hours a week and could be pro beyond that....

Gaa should never go into the Olympics.

A video ref would be helpful but how much is it needed when you have Hawkeye. Would giving linesmen and umpires more power and train them more be better than a video ref.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 02/05/2020 19:46:00    2277319

GAA Now to let you stream live games in Ireland that aren't live on terrestrial TV. Say €25 for any 5 games then €4 a game after that if you want more games, regardless of it being provincial league or All Ireland final.

On display of TV licence number online full access to GAA archive games from whatever channel it was broadcast on. Where possible to include analysis and interviews.

A GAA podcast app to include the various podcast apps including those that might not always have good things to say about GAA. Could give us a listen to characters like Cheddar Plunkett or the late Weeshie Fogarty, who'd not be heard of in a club or county podcast.

Funded by advertisements rather than ripping off viewers who already pay for a TV licence but have no say in how that licence fee is distributed.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 02/05/2020 20:19:59    2277324

Replying To GreenandRed:  "GAA Now to let you stream live games in Ireland that aren't live on terrestrial TV. Say €25 for any 5 games then €4 a game after that if you want more games, regardless of it being provincial league or All Ireland final.

On display of TV licence number online full access to GAA archive games from whatever channel it was broadcast on. Where possible to include analysis and interviews.

A GAA podcast app to include the various podcast apps including those that might not always have good things to say about GAA. Could give us a listen to characters like Cheddar Plunkett or the late Weeshie Fogarty, who'd not be heard of in a club or county podcast.

Funded by advertisements rather than ripping off viewers who already pay for a TV licence but have no say in how that licence fee is distributed."
RIP to Weeshie, no one like him. Can you escape the TV license by watching all your content on a large computer screen?

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 02/05/2020 20:48:29    2277325

Replying To KillingFields:  "If gaa want some games to go ahead this summer that may see games go ahead in empty stadiums

No women wont play in mens sport.

Players wont ever be full time unless happy to accept relatively low wages but some could go semi pro if you got right people to work as development officers for their county board and work in schools 20-25 hours a week and could be pro beyond that....

Gaa should never go into the Olympics.

A video ref would be helpful but how much is it needed when you have Hawkeye. Would giving linesmen and umpires more power and train them more be better than a video ref."
Just for argument sake are you saying if there was an outstanding female goalie for example, whether football or hurling, she wouldn't get a tryout not now but in the future? With the changes in Ireland fairly recently is it really so far fetched? I agree with you about the refs but with drone technology and helmet cams, etc is not an option just to get things right in the event of a very big game changing foul or out of bounds ball, etc? Would a Puc Fada kind of thing not work as an Olympic event?

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 02/05/2020 20:55:13    2277326

Replying To Trump2020:  "RIP to Weeshie, no one like him. Can you escape the TV license by watching all your content on a large computer screen?"
Not anymore it seems. I meet Weeshie once. Was walking out the back of the Mackey Stand after we lost the 2014 replay and I saw a man sitting on an upturned bottle crate. He looked familiar but I couldn't place him until a few Kerry supporters called out to him. The most serene contentest looking man in Limerick that night. I shook his hand, he had big bear hands and wished him luck in the final. A gentleman. RIP.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 02/05/2020 22:41:00    2277331

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Not anymore it seems. I meet Weeshie once. Was walking out the back of the Mackey Stand after we lost the 2014 replay and I saw a man sitting on an upturned bottle crate. He looked familiar but I couldn't place him until a few Kerry supporters called out to him. The most serene contentest looking man in Limerick that night. I shook his hand, he had big bear hands and wished him luck in the final. A gentleman. RIP."
I have no problem believing that. Never met him myself but friends of mine were friends with him and all said the same as you said. Pure gentleman. RIP.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 02/05/2020 23:04:13    2277332

Replying To Trump2020:  "Matches in empty stadiums? Women in Men's sports such as a goalie in Hurling or Football? Paying the players? GAA sports in the Olympics? Instant replay? Female Managers over Men's football or hurling teams? Pay per view finals? Any of the above or come up with your own."
A couple of things come to mind

All major ground have to go to allocated seating only - now it depends I suppose on how long COVID is with us but I cannot see Hill 16 surviving or being used for some time. All other grounds the same. If you cannot have an allocated seat where they can trace who was where then they won't be used.

One organisation that covers both GAA, Camogie and LGFA which will result in the GAA becoming affiliated to the olympic movement. What most people don't realise is that their is a big difference between affiliation and being an olympic sport. This would allow many overseas organizations to apply for local government funding or support. One day we could see 7s as part of the regional games, being part of the olympics itself would be difficult as Ireland would have such an advantage over the rest of the world.

Major games to be played outside of Ireland. League Finals All Ireland Semis etc.

Minor games won't be associated with the adult competition

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1804 - 03/05/2020 11:18:11    2277347

Replying To Trump2020:  "Just for argument sake are you saying if there was an outstanding female goalie for example, whether football or hurling, she wouldn't get a tryout not now but in the future? With the changes in Ireland fairly recently is it really so far fetched? I agree with you about the refs but with drone technology and helmet cams, etc is not an option just to get things right in the event of a very big game changing foul or out of bounds ball, etc? Would a Puc Fada kind of thing not work as an Olympic event?"
Without being to harsh, an outstanding female goalkeeper wouldn't be that much better than your average male inter-county goalie. Not so much that you'd break boundaries to include her in the squad anyway.

That scenario has the potential to get messy as you can't have women playing in the men's game. I mean if lads who weren't quite making their own county panel decided to join the women's squad instead (where they would automatically be the best player), it would rightly be regarded as ludicrous.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1417 - 03/05/2020 11:44:55    2277350

Replying To Trump2020:  "Just for argument sake are you saying if there was an outstanding female goalie for example, whether football or hurling, she wouldn't get a tryout not now but in the future? With the changes in Ireland fairly recently is it really so far fetched? I agree with you about the refs but with drone technology and helmet cams, etc is not an option just to get things right in the event of a very big game changing foul or out of bounds ball, etc? Would a Puc Fada kind of thing not work as an Olympic event?"
No we wont see any women playing in Male sports even as a goalie. Wouldnt even get a try out. It's completely far fetched. Sure look even girls stop playing with lads after under 14s.
Puc foda wouldnt work in Olympics. People in 90% of the world havent heard of gaa so nothing from it will ever get near consideration for the Olympics.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 03/05/2020 11:48:34    2277351

Replying To zinny:  "A couple of things come to mind

All major ground have to go to allocated seating only - now it depends I suppose on how long COVID is with us but I cannot see Hill 16 surviving or being used for some time. All other grounds the same. If you cannot have an allocated seat where they can trace who was where then they won't be used.

One organisation that covers both GAA, Camogie and LGFA which will result in the GAA becoming affiliated to the olympic movement. What most people don't realise is that their is a big difference between affiliation and being an olympic sport. This would allow many overseas organizations to apply for local government funding or support. One day we could see 7s as part of the regional games, being part of the olympics itself would be difficult as Ireland would have such an advantage over the rest of the world.

Major games to be played outside of Ireland. League Finals All Ireland Semis etc.

Minor games won't be associated with the adult competition"
Imagine Hill 16 with everyone masked.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 03/05/2020 12:16:57    2277352

Replying To beano:  "Without being to harsh, an outstanding female goalkeeper wouldn't be that much better than your average male inter-county goalie. Not so much that you'd break boundaries to include her in the squad anyway.

That scenario has the potential to get messy as you can't have women playing in the men's game. I mean if lads who weren't quite making their own county panel decided to join the women's squad instead (where they would automatically be the best player), it would rightly be regarded as ludicrous."
Good points. Basically looking for the next MAJOR change in the GAA and that would be very major.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 03/05/2020 12:27:17    2277355

Female referee and officials yes but players no.
It hasn't happened in professional sports and won't in the GAA either imo. It could happen in darts and snooker or even golf perhaps but not in a sport involving high level physical contact.

Tmo perhaps and mike up the referees might be considered at some point.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 03/05/2020 12:27:33    2277356

Replying To KillingFields:  "No we wont see any women playing in Male sports even as a goalie. Wouldnt even get a try out. It's completely far fetched. Sure look even girls stop playing with lads after under 14s.
Puc foda wouldnt work in Olympics. People in 90% of the world havent heard of gaa so nothing from it will ever get near consideration for the Olympics."
Yeah but many sports are not very big in the rest of the world than their originating country. Take CURLING for example. And while I agree with you about some of this being "Far Fetched" you could say the same thing about some of the Social Changes in Ireland as compared to 30 or more years ago. Imagine talking about Gay Marriage in the 1970s or even Abortion, etc. it would be quite Far Fetched at the time.

But basic I'm looking for the next MAJOR change in the GAA even if it's not this.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 03/05/2020 12:31:57    2277357

Not sure which is worse, someone suggesting GAA in the Olympics or people replying to that suggestion.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7891 - 03/05/2020 14:39:29    2277363

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Not sure which is worse, someone suggesting GAA in the Olympics or people replying to that suggestion."
So we all have to abide by what you say is right.....

It's ridiculous to say you cant have this discussion.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 03/05/2020 15:44:22    2277365

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Not sure which is worse, someone suggesting GAA in the Olympics or people replying to that suggestion."
So we all have to abide by what you say is right.....

It's ridiculous to say you cant have this discussion.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 03/05/2020 15:44:23    2277366

Replying To Trump2020:  "Yeah but many sports are not very big in the rest of the world than their originating country. Take CURLING for example. And while I agree with you about some of this being "Far Fetched" you could say the same thing about some of the Social Changes in Ireland as compared to 30 or more years ago. Imagine talking about Gay Marriage in the 1970s or even Abortion, etc. it would be quite Far Fetched at the time.

But basic I'm looking for the next MAJOR change in the GAA even if it's not this."
Curling is an international sport and was first played at the Olympics in 1924 . To suggest Hurling could be part of the Olympics is ridiculous.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2460 - 03/05/2020 16:07:42    2277368

Hurling in the Olympics ?
This puts some perspective on the views that can be expressed on this site. Jaysus above , is there no end the daftness.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 03/05/2020 16:48:25    2277371