The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I'm in the IT game myself so an app such as the one you outlined would not be difficult to develop at all given the technology is already there. It would just need some small refinement to cater for the particular industry it was tailored for. QR scanning is the best way to go about it with regard to GDPR compliance as well.

Look, the thought of a structured pub experience might not appeal to people. But it could be a long time before we ever get back to being able to enjoy a traditional night out. "New normal" is a phrase being bandied about a lot currently. We might just have to make-do with temporary arrangements such as these. Pubs that have large beer gardens might have an advantage over others?"
I hear you on the structured pub Lockjaw but sure you and me are from Donegal and Mayo and the thought of a civilised pub without some mayhem and messing doesn't appeal to me. It's a big thing for tourists too especially the music and impromptu singsong. Sounds a bit like some shiny Southside Dublin pubs or American bars where they think you must be drunk when some craic arises. No offence to Dubs, ye have some great pubs besides that type. Publicans might go for an older or couply crowd the first few months but for younger single people they might need to transfer licences to bigger premises like town halls or sports clubs to get more customers in, never mind the shift!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 12/05/2020 17:07:55    2278028

Replying To theyoungbuck89:  "Be some championship in club next year with over a year off and no collective training there will have to be some amount of laps ran! If we can't play or train In October/November won't be much difference next January/February so how do we just go back to it then do we just start to ignore the virus or what!"
Jesus you are painful. I am talking about a half baked thrown together championship coming into winter, that is some joke considering most players won't be motivated to go hard at that time of the year, especially when they have no idea now when we are coming into what is usually club championship season.

You can have a proper plan in place for next year, your desperation for some sort of GAA is hilarious, regardless of how well organised it is. How old are you? I must be talking to a teenager or someone in their early 20's? Do you play GAA, I doubt it otherwise you would have highlighted how it is frustrating for you.

I played to a decent level, and managed a senior club for 3 years before I started travelling with my work. The players i know from back home and the managers I am still in touch with are planning for no championship this year and a thrown together one coming into the winter is not something they have a huge appetite for.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 12/05/2020 17:32:25    2278032

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yep. But the difference is SARS was relatively well contained, so the urgency to develop a vaccine wasn't the same.
As you say, with Covid-19 being a worldwide pandemic, it hopefully means more of the world's brightest minds are working on a solution.

You would like to think that the threat to humanity would be a big enough driving force. But the cynic in me thinks that it's the massive payday for whoever comes up with a vaccine first, coupled with the greed of capitalism makes me confident they will get there."
To add to that regarding SARS:

For Sars in 2003, it took four months before the genome sequence of the coronavirus was available to develop antigens that could be used for animal and cell culture trials.
The first human trial of a possible Sars vaccine was conducted in Beijing in December 2004, but by that time the epidemic was over, and research into other diseases was given priority so it was shelved.

Less than two months after the new strain was identified on January 7, several institutes in China, the United States and Europe have already begun animal trials.
According to the World Health Organisation (WHO), five vaccine candidates have reached the preclinical stage, which involves cell culturing and animal trials to find out if they can induce immunity.

Moderna [US] said it planned to start human trials in April, while a research team at Imperial College London indicated they hoped to begin human trials in summer.
China meanwhile announced on Friday that it aimed to conduct clinical tests on humans by mid- or late April. Xu Nanping, vice-minister of science and technology, said Chinese vaccine researchers had made progress at a similar pace to their international peers.

The speed is unprecedented - in the past, it would have taken a couple of years to get to the human trial stage. And previous attempts to find a coronavirus vaccine had only reached that stage, a meeting of the WHO in Geneva was told earlier this month.
Of the 33 vaccine candidates for Sars, only two reached clinical trials on humans, the rest stopped at the preclinical stage. For Mers, just three of the 48 vaccine candidates went to clinical trials on humans while the others only made it to the preclinical stage.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2447 - 12/05/2020 17:44:11    2278033

We need to start thinking about the 97% of us who are left and wondering less about whether we'll be in the 3%.

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 192 - 12/05/2020 16:36:55

3% of the Irish population is 150.000. So you're alright with that amount of deaths, as long as you can go and kick or puck a ball around for fun, or go watch someone else do it. As well as that hospitals will be overwhelmed with the amount of cases, mortuaries will be full, and graveyards unable to bury the dead quick enough

But so what; you and the 97% will be able to enjoy your sport.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2447 - 12/05/2020 17:55:48    2278034

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Jesus you are painful. I am talking about a half baked thrown together championship coming into winter, that is some joke considering most players won't be motivated to go hard at that time of the year, especially when they have no idea now when we are coming into what is usually club championship season.

You can have a proper plan in place for next year, your desperation for some sort of GAA is hilarious, regardless of how well organised it is. How old are you? I must be talking to a teenager or someone in their early 20's? Do you play GAA, I doubt it otherwise you would have highlighted how it is frustrating for you.

I played to a decent level, and managed a senior club for 3 years before I started travelling with my work. The players i know from back home and the managers I am still in touch with are planning for no championship this year and a thrown together one coming into the winter is not something they have a huge appetite for."
https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2020/0507/1137119-tony-kelly-relishes-winter-championship-prospect/

Must be a bit soft up in Mayo. Us Clare lads would relish a thrown together winter championship. Hon the banner

Dec82 (Clare) - Posts: 242 - 12/05/2020 19:10:46    2278035

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Jesus you are painful. I am talking about a half baked thrown together championship coming into winter, that is some joke considering most players won't be motivated to go hard at that time of the year, especially when they have no idea now when we are coming into what is usually club championship season.

I played to a decent level, and managed a senior club for 3 years before I started travelling with my work. The players i know from back home and the managers I am still in touch with are planning for no championship this year and a thrown together one coming into the winter is not something they have a huge appetite for."
Irony of this post when you criticise so many for doing similar.
And come up with something more original than painful.
Everyone is "painful"
An inter county championship in winter would be far from half baked considering the circumstances of why it's being held in winter.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3499 - 12/05/2020 19:22:39    2278036

Replying To updwell:  "Have read a lot of the posts here and the amount of amateur health experts, amateur lawyers and amateur fortune tellers is amazing especially the ones with the definitive position who are all knowing. Look it's 20 weeks to the first of October and it's less than 10 weeks since Covid arrived here-if the country changes half as much before October as it has since the start of March who knows where we will be or what we will be aloud to do or not. So leave it up to the experts they DO know more than us."
I don't consider myself an expert on vaccinology but I do read from trustworthy and reputable sources like Lancet and the WHO. I won't apologise for it. This is the biggest challenge to mankind since the last World War in my opinion. So I reckon it's in all our interests to be read up on it and try at least to understand some of the complexities of it. If that annoys folk on an anonymous GAA forum then I think I'll still sleep soundly enough tonight.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 12/05/2020 19:38:35    2278037

Replying To KillingFields:  "Irony of this post when you criticise so many for doing similar.
And come up with something more original than painful.
Everyone is "painful"
An inter county championship in winter would be far from half baked considering the circumstances of why it's being held in winter."
I have a young lad saying why would next Spring be any different to winter. I explained why. The reason I said painful was his smart ass comment about tonnes of laps etc and how hard it would be to get lads fit. As if everyone is gonna be a mess and not able to regain fitness.

We are not just talking about inter county, he mentioned clubs as well. The smart money says no championship this year. Do you want to come back with a valid point? Apart from the sentiment from most people saying it would be better than nothing. I would love it but it has to be realistic.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 12/05/2020 19:49:54    2278040

Replying To Dec82:  "https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2020/0507/1137119-tony-kelly-relishes-winter-championship-prospect/

Must be a bit soft up in Mayo. Us Clare lads would relish a thrown together winter championship. Hon the banner"
Yeah well done. Bravo. You must have missed all the posts where I defended the idea of a championship behind closed doors if it gave us a chance of having one. Are we just all ignoring what John Horan said and the advice of doctors. That is what I am basing my prediction on. Not whether or not die hard GAA fans want a championship.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 12/05/2020 19:56:06    2278041

Currently playing at a fairly decent standard and managing and training 2 underage teams! The players from my club and I have spoken to most of them would take your hand off for even a knockout game in September/October even a training session! I spoke to one of the top Hurler's in the country on Monday and he said he would take a behind closed doors knockout game in Oct over nothing at all !We can put a plan in place between oct and January but not between May and October! What if there's another wave in the winter months we are in the same boat again next year and the Gaa have made it clear that there will be no games/training while social distancing is in place!

theyoungbuck89 (Galway) - Posts: 59 - 12/05/2020 19:58:52    2278042

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Yeah well done. Bravo. You must have missed all the posts where I defended the idea of a championship behind closed doors if it gave us a chance of having one. Are we just all ignoring what John Horan said and the advice of doctors. That is what I am basing my prediction on. Not whether or not die hard GAA fans want a championship."
Was only winding you up. To be honest, I'm not sure what I remember at this stage, I've read so many comments and articles that I'm really confused now.

I think lads need to relax a bit, there's nothing anyone can do only wait and see what happens. Nothing wrong with lads having different opinions, there's no experts here.

Dec82 (Clare) - Posts: 242 - 12/05/2020 20:20:40    2278044

Replying To theyoungbuck89:  "Currently playing at a fairly decent standard and managing and training 2 underage teams! The players from my club and I have spoken to most of them would take your hand off for even a knockout game in September/October even a training session! I spoke to one of the top Hurler's in the country on Monday and he said he would take a behind closed doors knockout game in Oct over nothing at all !We can put a plan in place between oct and January but not between May and October! What if there's another wave in the winter months we are in the same boat again next year and the Gaa have made it clear that there will be no games/training while social distancing is in place!"
I have already said I supported the idea of a behind closed doors championship. I am simply predicting the likelihood of no championship. Based on what the GAA have said and the medics. Players will always say they will bite your hand off, that's the nature of the beast, but once this goes on week by week the reality will set in.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 12/05/2020 21:02:53    2278046

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I don't consider myself an expert on vaccinology but I do read from trustworthy and reputable sources like Lancet and the WHO. I won't apologise for it. This is the biggest challenge to mankind since the last World War in my opinion. So I reckon it's in all our interests to be read up on it and try at least to understand some of the complexities of it. If that annoys folk on an anonymous GAA forum then I think I'll still sleep soundly enough tonight."
I'm not looking to offend you Lockjaw and you're right to be read up on the virus but even some of the greatest experts in the world in this field are contradicting each other. Even experts on the neutral side with no agenda( like rushing to open up industry or wanting to lock down a country )have different views on how to deal with the virus so I don't think anyone on here has the answers either or the roadmap ahead for us. Sleep well!

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 12/05/2020 21:03:35    2278047

Replying To theyoungbuck89:  "Currently playing at a fairly decent standard and managing and training 2 underage teams! The players from my club and I have spoken to most of them would take your hand off for even a knockout game in September/October even a training session! I spoke to one of the top Hurler's in the country on Monday and he said he would take a behind closed doors knockout game in Oct over nothing at all !We can put a plan in place between oct and January but not between May and October! What if there's another wave in the winter months we are in the same boat again next year and the Gaa have made it clear that there will be no games/training while social distancing is in place!"
If there's another wave then things will be exactly as we have them now. Lockdown, restrictions and absolutely no chance of contact sport. Unless of course a vaccine has become widely available. Failing a vaccine, perhaps some medication will have been discovered which can lessen the impact of Covid.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 12/05/2020 21:18:45    2278050

Replying To updwell:  "I'm not looking to offend you Lockjaw and you're right to be read up on the virus but even some of the greatest experts in the world in this field are contradicting each other. Even experts on the neutral side with no agenda( like rushing to open up industry or wanting to lock down a country )have different views on how to deal with the virus so I don't think anyone on here has the answers either or the roadmap ahead for us. Sleep well!"
No bother lad & I don't mean to come across as a patronising twat. But I think it's obvious from reading some comments on here, and elsewhere in fairness, that some people still aren't grasping the gravity of the situation. Almost the old Irish, ah sure lookit, it'll be grand, attitude.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 12/05/2020 21:23:25    2278054

Replying To GreenandRed:  "I hear you on the structured pub Lockjaw but sure you and me are from Donegal and Mayo and the thought of a civilised pub without some mayhem and messing doesn't appeal to me. It's a big thing for tourists too especially the music and impromptu singsong. Sounds a bit like some shiny Southside Dublin pubs or American bars where they think you must be drunk when some craic arises. No offence to Dubs, ye have some great pubs besides that type. Publicans might go for an older or couply crowd the first few months but for younger single people they might need to transfer licences to bigger premises like town halls or sports clubs to get more customers in, never mind the shift!"
lockjaw, perhaps you could lend your IT skill to the HSE, this as its the most critical aspect right now. At the point where the numbers of new cases are, we are they should not focus on the R number rather on test, contact trace and isolate. This is a shambles and I know that a lot of people don't think that we can have GAA without a vaccine but for me this is the critical issue. The lockdown has done its job - this is whats required to finish it off. If we don't have this is the right shape and from this even the HSE admit its not, then there is no chance of a lot of things getting back up and running. Its a lockdown at present, how difficult is it to contact trace now as opposed to normal times!

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/technical-issues-and-errors-slowing-down-covid-19-testing-and-tracing-in-ireland-1.4251980

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1800 - 13/05/2020 08:24:17    2278056

Replying To GreenandRed:  "I hear you on the structured pub Lockjaw but sure you and me are from Donegal and Mayo and the thought of a civilised pub without some mayhem and messing doesn't appeal to me. It's a big thing for tourists too especially the music and impromptu singsong. Sounds a bit like some shiny Southside Dublin pubs or American bars where they think you must be drunk when some craic arises. No offence to Dubs, ye have some great pubs besides that type. Publicans might go for an older or couply crowd the first few months but for younger single people they might need to transfer licences to bigger premises like town halls or sports clubs to get more customers in, never mind the shift!"
Ha you're probably right. I've seen a buck in our local have to be brought to the doctors because he was bitten by a piranha! True story. The owners kept piranhas in a fish tank behind the bar. One day the owner was transferring them to another smaller tank from the bigger one and one of them flapped out onto the bar. Before she could do or say anything one of the older lads went to grab it and throw it back in. Well you can guess what happened next...

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 13/05/2020 08:54:26    2278057

Replying To zinny:  "lockjaw, perhaps you could lend your IT skill to the HSE, this as its the most critical aspect right now. At the point where the numbers of new cases are, we are they should not focus on the R number rather on test, contact trace and isolate. This is a shambles and I know that a lot of people don't think that we can have GAA without a vaccine but for me this is the critical issue. The lockdown has done its job - this is whats required to finish it off. If we don't have this is the right shape and from this even the HSE admit its not, then there is no chance of a lot of things getting back up and running. Its a lockdown at present, how difficult is it to contact trace now as opposed to normal times!

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/technical-issues-and-errors-slowing-down-covid-19-testing-and-tracing-in-ireland-1.4251980"
I actually shudder to think what kind of legacy IT systems the HSE must still be using. I remember visiting a sick relative in hospital last October and noticing that most PCs in use were still Windows XP, which Microsoft waved goodbye to updating and supporting 6 years ago!

That could just be the tip of the iceberg. Different hospitals using different IT systems makes it a big challenge to try to effectively collate and consolidate the data. That's only one challenge. Challenge two would be to leverage some sort of automation tool to expedite the process and ensure that the data being collected is 100% accurate. I've seen some brilliant examples of RPA drastically improving old manual processes.

Unfortunately a fair bit of time and a lot of money would be needed to deliver it. Neither of which are in great supply.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 13/05/2020 10:00:41    2278058

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "We need to start thinking about the 97% of us who are left and wondering less about whether we'll be in the 3%.

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 192 - 12/05/2020 16:36:55

3% of the Irish population is 150.000. So you're alright with that amount of deaths, as long as you can go and kick or puck a ball around for fun, or go watch someone else do it. As well as that hospitals will be overwhelmed with the amount of cases, mortuaries will be full, and graveyards unable to bury the dead quick enough

But so what; you and the 97% will be able to enjoy your sport."
Your glass is always half empty, so it is.

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 13/05/2020 11:35:07    2278060

Replying To zinny:  "Did he make a statement of fact? the same ones you are repeating and repeated by others that ends up putting at target on peoples backs. The facts that you have come up with are no better than your mates. The last global pandemic was in 2009 (more commonly know as swine flu) originated in the US and spread globally. It was officially a pandemic so therefore the world after 2009 should have already been aware of how to react to these viruses. The fact that many Asian countries reacted differently does go back to SARS (which reached 30 countries but not a global pandemic) and from that time on that if you were sick you should wear a mask so as to help prevent passing it onto other people. This is even in the WHO guidelines along with all the other things you should do to prevent the spread of viruses. So while people in Asia were wearing masks out of respect to other people and not giving them their sickness, in the west what were they doing? There have been warning for years that this type of pandemic could happen (Netflix were even on the case) but despite this nobody was prepared.
By the way Bird Flu has never been a pandemic as passing it from birds to humans is rare and still even rarer from human to human. Avian flu is a global flu in birds nothing specific to Asia or China. The fear with Avian flu is that because its so widespread within birds that if a strain that could be easily transmitted to humans occurred, then it would be impossible to stop. Again nothing to do with China as that could start anywhere.
1956 - you have to be kidding, its the year that Wexford beat Ring's Cork in the All Ireland, some would say one of the greatest Hurling teams ever however it was 1956 and as no impact on what is happening today.
My advice for you is take your head out of fox news and you might develop a balanced view of the world."
Fox News ...where did you pluck that one out of! ....good one lad, but a bit presumptuous.

Purpleandgold72 (Wexford) - Posts: 186 - 13/05/2020 12:10:12    2278064