The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches

Replying To theyoungbuck89:  "And what will change in 2021 or 2022 if there's no vaccine! What if someone who goes to the pub or the shopping centre gives it to you when the reopen again ?"
People aren't hugging and messing intoxicated in a shopping centre. Look what happened in Souel...over 2,000 bars and nightclubs forced to close as soon as they opened due to a huge spike in new cases.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 10/05/2020 16:16:55    2277879

Replying To TheFlaker:  "The same fans wanting it to go ahead are the same ones who will insist it can't go ahead behind closed doors."
At this stage it shouldn't go ahead at all..call it off. Imagine winning an All Ireland with no fans at it...soulless and pointless. No homecoming, no party, no out pouring of joy and raw emotion....seriously what would a winning team do...? All head home and have a zoom party?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 10/05/2020 16:18:53    2277880

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Missing the point totally. The first few months are the most important. Regardless of there being a vaccine next year. Christ lads it's painful even pointing out this obvious stuff."
I'm not really missing the point if we can't play in October what's going to be different next Jan-Feb when teams be going back to their pre seasons or the leagues be starting up! There's going to have to come a time where people decide if they want to play or attend games or if it's too risky u can't stop all activity forever because one person is or is in contact with an at risk person! Why did the government lay out the July 20th date if there is no chance of any games without a vaccine! By October we will be 7/8 months into so if it's not improving by then we are in trouble

theyoungbuck89 (Galway) - Posts: 59 - 10/05/2020 16:34:28    2277882

October is when the flu season kicks off. Good luck with playing Inter County.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 10/05/2020 16:44:39    2277883

Replying To TheFlaker:  "You can't get HIV from touching the same surfaces, shaking hands etc. Jesus the attitude on here is baffling. I want a road map, a clear picture, I have 3 kids, 2 of them under 6 who are meant to be at school. You think I don't want things to get back to normal.

It isn't as simple as stopping old people interacting with people who want to go to games. The lack of intelligence on this is frightening. Do you think the government of all countries are closing things for the craic like? Nobody wants this."
I was agreeing with the person "talking sense" in relation to the link with HIV being insane. I think you should read the articles that are being replied to.

rossno1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 294 - 10/05/2020 17:31:58    2277884

Replying To rossno1:  "I was agreeing with the person "talking sense" in relation to the link with HIV being insane. I think you should read the articles that are being replied to."
Apologies. I am actually frustrated by the people on here with a Donald Trump attitude to all of this .

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 10/05/2020 18:05:12    2277886

Replying To theyoungbuck89:  "I'm not really missing the point if we can't play in October what's going to be different next Jan-Feb when teams be going back to their pre seasons or the leagues be starting up! There's going to have to come a time where people decide if they want to play or attend games or if it's too risky u can't stop all activity forever because one person is or is in contact with an at risk person! Why did the government lay out the July 20th date if there is no chance of any games without a vaccine! By October we will be 7/8 months into so if it's not improving by then we are in trouble"
You are not only missing the point, you are absolutely clueless on the matter being discussed. Things will have to move on, life will go on, we no that. But the initial lockdown period is the most important thing to slow the spread down in case you haven't been following the figures from around the world. We may not have a vaccine in place by the end of the year but countries may have found a treatment that is successful in combating those who are infected.

They may also have figured out other ways of keeping the spread of the virus down to the bare minimum. Why did the government set dates? They set dates for everything, to give people hope, not to say there is no chance of anything coming back. If you tell people everything is cancelled until next year they will change their habits quickly and start moving around as they wish. Giving people hope is the best way of keeping people in a positive mindset.

Sure anyone with half a brain knew the schools were not coming back, and there would be no exams, but they didn't say that until the last minute. The only way there will be a championship is if players, managers, families etc . have been given the green light by the top medical people in the land. And if they are it will take place behind closed doors. But you keep living in dreamland chief.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 10/05/2020 18:14:44    2277887

Replying To Talking_Sense:  "There was a girl aged 17 died in Mayo. Do you not understand. If you got to a match and bring it home to elderly people that is massive risk. That is the human cost of playing . What value do you put on life, zero it seems. De Gascun who is one of the chief medical people says he won't be sanctioning team sports"
She had a heart condition. RIP. Extremely rare that a healthy 17 year old will die from COVID. But we have to be wary and paranoid for now. Talk of reopening schools too on a phased basis. Good luck to them on their task in organising that. Would nearly need to test all children and those they live with before letting them go to school and possibly spreading it unbeknownst that an elderly relative or parent in front line has passed it on to them. In a strange way we're the lucky ones, healthy and can debate about it here. Boredom and minding children isn't always great but there's worse off. Young children think it's mighty when Mam or Dad are at home more and if it's both they think it's Christmas!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 10/05/2020 18:55:45    2277893

Replying To rossno1:  "I was agreeing with the person "talking sense" in relation to the link with HIV being insane. I think you should read the articles that are being replied to."
Except that you said "I agree with the HIV comparison" in reply to the statement "comparing it to HIV is insane" .........which implied that you disagreed that "comparing it with HIV is insane"!

Not surprised that your ambiguous opening words were interpreted differently to the way you apparently meant them!

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 10/05/2020 19:47:39    2277895

speaking of hiv, where is that gone? they told us in the early 90s that within 10 years everybody in ireland would know someone affected by it, 30 years later i myself do not, you?

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 10/05/2020 19:56:04    2277896

Replying To Talking_Sense:  "There was a girl aged 17 died in Mayo. Do you not understand. If you got to a match and bring it home to elderly people that is massive risk. That is the human cost of playing . What value do you put on life, zero it seems. De Gascun who is one of the chief medical people says he won't be sanctioning team sports"
Not downplaying the virus or situation in any way but the mortality rate of cases in under 55s is 1 in 300, 2 thirds of the deaths are over 80s which would link in with the scenario in nursing homes.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 10/05/2020 20:20:17    2277897

Replying To TheFlaker:  "You are not only missing the point, you are absolutely clueless on the matter being discussed. Things will have to move on, life will go on, we no that. But the initial lockdown period is the most important thing to slow the spread down in case you haven't been following the figures from around the world. We may not have a vaccine in place by the end of the year but countries may have found a treatment that is successful in combating those who are infected.

They may also have figured out other ways of keeping the spread of the virus down to the bare minimum. Why did the government set dates? They set dates for everything, to give people hope, not to say there is no chance of anything coming back. If you tell people everything is cancelled until next year they will change their habits quickly and start moving around as they wish. Giving people hope is the best way of keeping people in a positive mindset.

Sure anyone with half a brain knew the schools were not coming back, and there would be no exams, but they didn't say that until the last minute. The only way there will be a championship is if players, managers, families etc . have been given the green light by the top medical people in the land. And if they are it will take place behind closed doors. But you keep living in dreamland chief."
I didn't say there would be a championship I said what's the difference going to be between October and January/February next year you still haven't answered that question! And I was talking more about club than county I think the ship has sailed for an all Ireland! The 1st reported cases were in December 5/6 months ago They havemy found treatment yet who's to say they will by this time next year that's another year written off hopefully there Is a vaccine or treatment available but who's to say there was no vaccine for sars with is a similar less deadly virus ! So the government are just giving false hope on everything so the dates for bars and restaurants and shops are all just to give us hope too! I hope you're making your expertises on this matter available at this time you seem to know exactly how all this works you would be an asset to the government! There's Gaa teams back training in Shanghai china But you're ruling it out in Ireland till at least this time next year! What will the county managers do next summer ring around a few lads after a year away and say will ye come back to training there lads!

theyoungbuck89 (Galway) - Posts: 59 - 10/05/2020 20:21:10    2277898

Replying To theyoungbuck89:  "I didn't say there would be a championship I said what's the difference going to be between October and January/February next year you still haven't answered that question! And I was talking more about club than county I think the ship has sailed for an all Ireland! The 1st reported cases were in December 5/6 months ago They havemy found treatment yet who's to say they will by this time next year that's another year written off hopefully there Is a vaccine or treatment available but who's to say there was no vaccine for sars with is a similar less deadly virus ! So the government are just giving false hope on everything so the dates for bars and restaurants and shops are all just to give us hope too! I hope you're making your expertises on this matter available at this time you seem to know exactly how all this works you would be an asset to the government! There's Gaa teams back training in Shanghai china But you're ruling it out in Ireland till at least this time next year! What will the county managers do next summer ring around a few lads after a year away and say will ye come back to training there lads!"
Restaurants and bars are a lot different to GAA matches. That is livelihoods at stake, thousands of jobs at risks. The government will always give hope, but dates and projections change. And you specifically mentioned proposed dates and I responded saying dates mean very little in this current situation. What happened with the schools will give you an indication of that.

Who said I was ruling out this time next year? I said if anything goes ahead it will be behind closed doors. And now you are saying you meant club more than county? Of course you did. Not trying to say I know it all, I travel all over for my work and employ almost 20 people full time who are still fully paid through all of this. So when it comes to business and how all this is being laid out by governments then yep I reckon I know a lot more than you and I will stand by that .

So now that you are claiming you were strictly talking about club, when do you see club returning?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 10/05/2020 21:00:01    2277899

15 minutes to The Sunday Game. No games for a while yet but a good distraction on a Sunday night for now.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 10/05/2020 21:18:13    2277901

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Restaurants and bars are a lot different to GAA matches. That is livelihoods at stake, thousands of jobs at risks. The government will always give hope, but dates and projections change. And you specifically mentioned proposed dates and I responded saying dates mean very little in this current situation. What happened with the schools will give you an indication of that.

Who said I was ruling out this time next year? I said if anything goes ahead it will be behind closed doors. And now you are saying you meant club more than county? Of course you did. Not trying to say I know it all, I travel all over for my work and employ almost 20 people full time who are still fully paid through all of this. So when it comes to business and how all this is being laid out by governments then yep I reckon I know a lot more than you and I will stand by that .

So now that you are claiming you were strictly talking about club, when do you see club returning?"
Yeah but schools and colleges are due to reopen in sept or is that ruled out now too! I was talking about club games if u look at my earlier comments on this post I was saying sept/Oct if it's safe to do so its not much more of a risk than if the pubs reopen picture the first weekend everything reopens in big cities social distancing will go out the window! Fair play to you and best of luck with your business a lot of people are employed full time in this country by the Gaa and in businesses that rely on sport too don't forget! I'm just fed up of people writing up park all gaa for 2020 like there's going to be a vaccine readily available straight away then and we can start in 2021 the risks could be the same! I work in a company with over 1000 employees a good number of including myself have been working all through this and we have had 1 confirmed case of someone who hadn't been on site for a few weeks before that! The number of new cases in Galway have been in single digits every day for over a week now so who knows what it will look like in 5 months time when I'm talking about maybe playing

theyoungbuck89 (Galway) - Posts: 59 - 10/05/2020 21:28:44    2277904

Replying To GreenandRed:  "link

Or even two championships in 2021! Could be mighty. 2000-style knockout championship first. Provincial winners in the semis. Have the early provincial games under lights in February, local rivalries, Saturday nights. Sure a man can dream!"
u miss the point, there will be no games for at least a year to 18 months, none, noone will insure the players to start withm im guessing there will be nothing till 2022

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2840 - 10/05/2020 21:53:40    2277905

Think John Horan gave a good road map on the Sunday game. Simply not going to be GAA this year if social distancing is still in place. So in reality we are now in May and hopefully there is a serious suppression of the virus in Ireland by July and then as he said himself dates could be possibly brought forward or pushed out to get some competition played this year ( club scenes ). Therefore it's a case of seeing how this evolves over the coming months but as for now the priority is adherence to the phasing plans set out by the health experts and respecting the guidelines to combat covid 19.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1078 - 10/05/2020 22:19:50    2277906

Replying To moros:  "Think John Horan gave a good road map on the Sunday game. Simply not going to be GAA this year if social distancing is still in place. So in reality we are now in May and hopefully there is a serious suppression of the virus in Ireland by July and then as he said himself dates could be possibly brought forward or pushed out to get some competition played this year ( club scenes ). Therefore it's a case of seeing how this evolves over the coming months but as for now the priority is adherence to the phasing plans set out by the health experts and respecting the guidelines to combat covid 19."
Think John Horan and the Heirarchy of GAA know all to well that there will be no GAA this year with likelihood of social distancing been in place rest of year. Look at Bundesliga. There back one week and Dynamo Dresden have 4 players now with Covid 19 and whole team is now having to isolate for 2 weeks and it's screwing up fixtures. Not allowed train or play game a for at least 2 weeks. It's complete folly to think we can have games at county or club.

Best see this out to 2021

Talking_Sense (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 10/05/2020 22:44:22    2277907

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "
Replying To GreenandRed:  "link

Or even two championships in 2021! Could be mighty. 2000-style knockout championship first. Provincial winners in the semis. Have the early provincial games under lights in February, local rivalries, Saturday nights. Sure a man can dream!"
u miss the point, there will be no games for at least a year to 18 months, none, noone will insure the players to start withm im guessing there will be nothing till 2022"
Why are you so certain? You could be right but you also be wrong, we're all guessing nobody knows how this will evolve or develop.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 10/05/2020 22:47:31    2277908

This year is over. There will be no resumption of GAA activity until social distancing is not required. Social distancing will be required until we have a vaccine/treatment so we are in for a long haul here lads no two ways about it.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 10/05/2020 22:49:22    2277909