The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches

Replying To Douglas_44:  "And what about when those players that he has now infected go back into the dressing room with the rest of their teammates? Or when they go home to their parents? We need to be very careful. If even one such scenario develops when games resume, it will create uproar, games will be stopped again and god knows when they would then be allowed to come back again."
There won't be football until there is a vaccine. Away too risky

Talking_Sense (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 09/05/2020 22:14:05    2277838

Bundesliga: Dynamo Dresden's entire squad in isolation just a week before restart

Dynamo Dresden, who play in the second tier of German Football, have put their entire squad and coaching staff into two-week isolation after two players tested positive for coronavirus. The Bundesliga and Bundesliga 2 are due to restart on Saturday, 16 May.

"The fact is that we can neither train nor participate in a game in the next 14 days," said Dynamo.
BBC

All it needs is one or two players testing positive, then the whole house of cards collapses.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2447 - 09/05/2020 22:40:36    2277840

Replying To Talking_Sense:  "There won't be football until there is a vaccine. Away too risky"
iv said that ages ago, there will be no league next year either, might be a championship

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2840 - 09/05/2020 23:16:18    2277842

Replying To Talking_Sense:  "There won't be football until there is a vaccine. Away too risky"
So this is it! the end of the world, pack away your hurls, footballs, sit at home and wait for Godot!! Bizarre, there will be no vaccine we all assume there is a vaccine for say HIV but there is not, there is a treatment but no vaccine and this virus is way more complicated. Sitting at home and rotting your life away is not an option. Life must go on, life is for living first and foremost and life will go on. Training of sorts will start from May 18th, training as a new normal will resume from end of July. Club competition will happen in the autumn, if you do not want to play, go take up something else that is the way it is going to be for better or worse, the current situation is unsustainable.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 10/05/2020 00:07:42    2277844

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "iv said that ages ago, there will be no league next year either, might be a championship"

Or even two championships in 2021! Could be mighty. 2000-style knockout championship first. Provincial winners in the semis. Have the early provincial games under lights in February, local rivalries, Saturday nights. Sure a man can dream!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7336 - 10/05/2020 01:46:15    2277846

Replying To FoolsGold:  "China has had had plenty of viruses in the past, and are more use to dealing with pandemics. Things like wearing masks, they have went through all the procedure before.
This is a new phenomenon to Europe and definitely Ireland. More akin to the WW"
And what would all those pandemics have been? I am sure you were the type of person who when this virus first emerged that you though its just another thing that happens over there and will never impact us as somehow people in the west know better and would be immune to this virus.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1800 - 10/05/2020 07:13:45    2277847

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Bundesliga: Dynamo Dresden's entire squad in isolation just a week before restart

Dynamo Dresden, who play in the second tier of German Football, have put their entire squad and coaching staff into two-week isolation after two players tested positive for coronavirus. The Bundesliga and Bundesliga 2 are due to restart on Saturday, 16 May.

"The fact is that we can neither train nor participate in a game in the next 14 days," said Dynamo.
BBC

All it needs is one or two players testing positive, then the whole house of cards collapses."
Nobody said it would be easy and straight forward, the same will happen in general workplaces etc. however hopefully the lessons they learn will be useful to the rest of us when we start back up. Its learning from others who take the first steps is what is important.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1800 - 10/05/2020 07:23:12    2277848

Replying To arock:  "So this is it! the end of the world, pack away your hurls, footballs, sit at home and wait for Godot!! Bizarre, there will be no vaccine we all assume there is a vaccine for say HIV but there is not, there is a treatment but no vaccine and this virus is way more complicated. Sitting at home and rotting your life away is not an option. Life must go on, life is for living first and foremost and life will go on. Training of sorts will start from May 18th, training as a new normal will resume from end of July. Club competition will happen in the autumn, if you do not want to play, go take up something else that is the way it is going to be for better or worse, the current situation is unsustainable."
ARock we may not see any GAA this year. I hope we do but it's 50/50 at this stage. A year without GAA is manageable rather than a half baked thrown together champoinship. There is so much to consider.

And a rambling comment about HIV? What are you talking about? I would expect it from an auld lad in the pub after too many pints.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 10/05/2020 11:29:48    2277853

Replying To TheFlaker:  "ARock we may not see any GAA this year. I hope we do but it's 50/50 at this stage. A year without GAA is manageable rather than a half baked thrown together champoinship. There is so much to consider.

And a rambling comment about HIV? What are you talking about? I would expect it from an auld lad in the pub after too many pints."
Another year so lad without Sam.
Mayo for Sam 21 so ? Jays above no wonder ye never won nothin.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 10/05/2020 11:58:26    2277857

Replying To arock:  "So this is it! the end of the world, pack away your hurls, footballs, sit at home and wait for Godot!! Bizarre, there will be no vaccine we all assume there is a vaccine for say HIV but there is not, there is a treatment but no vaccine and this virus is way more complicated. Sitting at home and rotting your life away is not an option. Life must go on, life is for living first and foremost and life will go on. Training of sorts will start from May 18th, training as a new normal will resume from end of July. Club competition will happen in the autumn, if you do not want to play, go take up something else that is the way it is going to be for better or worse, the current situation is unsustainable."
There will be a return at some stage but lay off the hysterics to make your point
We cant say at all that training and playing as normal will resume by end of July as cases could easily rise again once everything starts opening up again.
The current situation cant at all be compared to HIv and its idiotic trying to compare it.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3496 - 10/05/2020 12:21:06    2277860

Replying To catch22:  "Another year so lad without Sam.
Mayo for Sam 21 so ? Jays above no wonder ye never won nothin."
No wonder we have won nothing? Because someone said the season might not go ahead. Brilliant logic there.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 10/05/2020 13:36:00    2277863

Still chuckling at the HIV comment. Reminds me of Dr Phil on Fox recently blabbing about other non relatable diseases and insisting everyone needs to stop over reacting.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 10/05/2020 13:38:52    2277864

What if a player gives to me and I give to my elderly parents. There is a serious human cost to what your saying. Comparing it to HIV is insane. Your living in cloud cuckoo land of you think training will start May 18th. You watch this space it won't start at all in 2020

Talking_Sense (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 10/05/2020 14:00:55    2277865

The same fans wanting it to go ahead are the same ones who will insist it can't go ahead behind closed doors.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 10/05/2020 14:22:58    2277868

Replying To Talking_Sense:  "What if a player gives to me and I give to my elderly parents. There is a serious human cost to what your saying. Comparing it to HIV is insane. Your living in cloud cuckoo land of you think training will start May 18th. You watch this space it won't start at all in 2020"
And what will change in 2021 or 2022 if there's no vaccine! What if someone who goes to the pub or the shopping centre gives it to you when the reopen again ?

theyoungbuck89 (Galway) - Posts: 59 - 10/05/2020 14:55:00    2277871

The pubs will be a lot different with the guidelines they have in places, 6 seated to a table and paying at the table. Security at toilets.

Even with that, it's a big ask if pubs will open. Big pubs in Dublin might be be able to pay for additional security, small pubs won't. And people with alcohol on board could be hard to social distance. It would be surprising if pubs open this year.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 10/05/2020 15:21:02    2277872

Replying To theyoungbuck89:  "And what will change in 2021 or 2022 if there's no vaccine! What if someone who goes to the pub or the shopping centre gives it to you when the reopen again ?"
Missing the point totally. The first few months are the most important. Regardless of there being a vaccine next year. Christ lads it's painful even pointing out this obvious stuff.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 10/05/2020 15:51:40    2277875

Replying To Talking_Sense:  "What if a player gives to me and I give to my elderly parents. There is a serious human cost to what your saying. Comparing it to HIV is insane. Your living in cloud cuckoo land of you think training will start May 18th. You watch this space it won't start at all in 2020"
I agree with the HIV comparison. None of us really know what is going to happen next week, never mind at the end of July in terms of this virus. So those on here who are saying that there will be no GAA this year or that there will be GAA are completely guessing as are those that say there must be a vaccine before we play GAA. My personal opinion is that we follow the advice of the health experts, they will carry out the necessary risk assessments and based on the current roadmap their advice is that GAA will resume on July 20th. I for one look at the bigger picture, I see that statistics on the average age of depth show the number under 44 is less than 30. I am not sure why they don't show the numbers under this for example under 10, 20, 30, 40 but I believe that the numbers under 35 are very small. I believe that GAA will return this year with the correct measures in place assuming the key indicators are at the correct level and remain so and based on the advise of the medical experts. I believe life will resume without a vaccine but I also believe we have to look after the elderly and those with underlying conditions. This is just an opinion and like I said above I don't really know. When GAA resumes on July 20th, if I was in my 80's I don't believe I will go to the games even though I would want to at least for this year, if I was in my 50's and living with my father who is in his 80's, I believe I would not want to go to the games.
But this should not mean there is no GAA for the vast majority this year, this is people applying common sense to allow us to get back to normal.

rossno1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 294 - 10/05/2020 15:56:56    2277876

Replying To rossno1:  "I agree with the HIV comparison. None of us really know what is going to happen next week, never mind at the end of July in terms of this virus. So those on here who are saying that there will be no GAA this year or that there will be GAA are completely guessing as are those that say there must be a vaccine before we play GAA. My personal opinion is that we follow the advice of the health experts, they will carry out the necessary risk assessments and based on the current roadmap their advice is that GAA will resume on July 20th. I for one look at the bigger picture, I see that statistics on the average age of depth show the number under 44 is less than 30. I am not sure why they don't show the numbers under this for example under 10, 20, 30, 40 but I believe that the numbers under 35 are very small. I believe that GAA will return this year with the correct measures in place assuming the key indicators are at the correct level and remain so and based on the advise of the medical experts. I believe life will resume without a vaccine but I also believe we have to look after the elderly and those with underlying conditions. This is just an opinion and like I said above I don't really know. When GAA resumes on July 20th, if I was in my 80's I don't believe I will go to the games even though I would want to at least for this year, if I was in my 50's and living with my father who is in his 80's, I believe I would not want to go to the games.
But this should not mean there is no GAA for the vast majority this year, this is people applying common sense to allow us to get back to normal."
There was a girl aged 17 died in Mayo. Do you not understand. If you got to a match and bring it home to elderly people that is massive risk. That is the human cost of playing . What value do you put on life, zero it seems. De Gascun who is one of the chief medical people says he won't be sanctioning team sports

Talking_Sense (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 10/05/2020 16:15:53    2277877

Replying To rossno1:  "I agree with the HIV comparison. None of us really know what is going to happen next week, never mind at the end of July in terms of this virus. So those on here who are saying that there will be no GAA this year or that there will be GAA are completely guessing as are those that say there must be a vaccine before we play GAA. My personal opinion is that we follow the advice of the health experts, they will carry out the necessary risk assessments and based on the current roadmap their advice is that GAA will resume on July 20th. I for one look at the bigger picture, I see that statistics on the average age of depth show the number under 44 is less than 30. I am not sure why they don't show the numbers under this for example under 10, 20, 30, 40 but I believe that the numbers under 35 are very small. I believe that GAA will return this year with the correct measures in place assuming the key indicators are at the correct level and remain so and based on the advise of the medical experts. I believe life will resume without a vaccine but I also believe we have to look after the elderly and those with underlying conditions. This is just an opinion and like I said above I don't really know. When GAA resumes on July 20th, if I was in my 80's I don't believe I will go to the games even though I would want to at least for this year, if I was in my 50's and living with my father who is in his 80's, I believe I would not want to go to the games.
But this should not mean there is no GAA for the vast majority this year, this is people applying common sense to allow us to get back to normal."
You can't get HIV from touching the same surfaces, shaking hands etc. Jesus the attitude on here is baffling. I want a road map, a clear picture, I have 3 kids, 2 of them under 6 who are meant to be at school. You think I don't want things to get back to normal.

It isn't as simple as stopping old people interacting with people who want to go to games. The lack of intelligence on this is frightening. Do you think the government of all countries are closing things for the craic like? Nobody wants this.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 10/05/2020 16:16:47    2277878