Timekeeping

Replying To cuchulainn35:  "I listened to this yesterday evening and this morning, if this was any other county would there be comment.
Offaly didn't gain promotion yesterday because of the referee, Kerry beat them
I'm sickened by this bull that Offaly need to be in div 1, all counties could say that
What was the attendance in Tullamore yesterday.
I was in Carrickmore yesterday and I would say the referee should have added more time on, but he didn't , Donegal won and fair play, no mention on national TV or radio , I would expect that there may have been twice the crowd at Armagh v Donegal but let's talk about Offaly"
i wonder what michael duignan will say if a player in an offaly club match verbally abuses a referee.
he is now in a position where he should be above that sort of comment in my opinion

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 09/03/2020 13:21:48    2273014

Replying To Bellewest:  "Offaly fans whinging doesn't take away from the actual facts in O' Connor Park today. Antrim had nothing to play for, Antrim played to the final whistle plus in other matches Offaly got one point from their two crucial matches in this division, they were extremely lucky to beat Meath in Birr after Meath missed a sitter in last minute. They still have an inflated sense of their standing nationally. Supporters expected to cruise through division two. Duignan's verbal attack on David Hughes afterwards is not befitting a county chairman. He's not a pundit when it comes to Offaly matches."
All well and good but if it was Westmeath who were in the situation would you not be complaining about the 8 mins extra time! So we can look forward to no county giving out about the ref in the future if he has a poor game? just get on with the poor standard of refs and say nothing is that it?

ke40 (Kildare) - Posts: 209 - 09/03/2020 14:54:53    2273046

Replying To perfect10:  "i wonder what michael duignan will say if a player in an offaly club match verbally abuses a referee.
he is now in a position where he should be above that sort of comment in my opinion"
Wasn't he himself suspended for abusing an offical a few years ago?

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 09/03/2020 16:03:30    2273068

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Suppose you're right, to hell with Offaly, what does it matter if they are deprived of promotion because a referee added more time than was legitimately appropriate."
The problem is no one knows if it was too much or too little. Take the time out of refs hands it is becoming impossible to officiate a game.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 09/03/2020 16:47:19    2273080

Replying To ke40:  "All well and good but if it was Westmeath who were in the situation would you not be complaining about the 8 mins extra time! So we can look forward to no county giving out about the ref in the future if he has a poor game? just get on with the poor standard of refs and say nothing is that it?"
Do you have any specific reasons why you feel 8 minutes was too much extra time?

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 09/03/2020 19:16:30    2273122

Replying To Ban:  "Do you have any specific reasons why you feel 8 minutes was too much extra time?"
Six minutes was indicated by the Offical on the line, the six minutes were up and then there was an additional 2 minutes added where I couldn't see why he added this. There was 1 minute added in the first half when I think it was indicated that 2 minutes was what the Offical on the line put up! Really doesn't matter at the end of the day I suppose, it's Antrim v Kerry good luck to both in the final.

ke40 (Kildare) - Posts: 209 - 09/03/2020 19:39:34    2273128

Why don't they just introduce a countdown clock for the extra time only, then there would be no arguments after

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 09/03/2020 20:05:48    2273130

Tim keeping controversy in the year of our Lord 2020 is a joke. May be they should go back to the sun dial as the traditionalist are so again the basic technology that exist to get it correct.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 09/03/2020 21:19:26    2273147

Replying To Canuck:  "Tim keeping controversy in the year of our Lord 2020 is a joke. May be they should go back to the sun dial as the traditionalist are so again the basic technology that exist to get it correct."
But sure it was raining yesterday how would that work lol

ke40 (Kildare) - Posts: 209 - 09/03/2020 21:34:04    2273151

Replying To thelongridge:  "That 's your opinion. I was at yesterday's game, so I don't agree with you at all. Offaly were by far the better team yesterday, but were caught at the very end.
As for the Kerry game , Offaly were a man down, and playing into a gale that day.
We can all speculate behind a keyboard, but nothing beats seeing things first hand."
Thats ok..but simple is the facts Antrim didnt have to win yesterday so they were probably playing within themselves. Ido think Offaly have a lot of work to do, Antrim seem to be gone ahead of them now and a new wave of optimism is creeping in up there. Offaly will win the Christy Ring Cup though...no doubt about that. Thats more or less a guaranteed. But playing in first division hurling could be one or two years away yet

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 10/03/2020 01:05:15    2273175

Replying To Canuck:  "Tim keeping controversy in the year of our Lord 2020 is a joke. May be they should go back to the sun dial as the traditionalist are so again the basic technology that exist to get it correct."
Fair enough but I also feel that teams who lead going into the additional time period have become hyper cynical. An example is this years Club Football Final. Corofin took "tying to see the game out" to a totally new level. Sure there was hardly any play in the time announced. The referee played what seemed like a crazy amount of additional time but taking all things into consideration, I thought he did the right thing.

Regardless of the referee's decision on time, as its already been said here - you play to the death. Why play hard for 70 minutes and then start looking over your shoulder. Its a mental weakness and blaming a referee is not likely to fix it.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 10/03/2020 08:26:00    2273179

Replying To preddan:  "Thats ok..but simple is the facts Antrim didnt have to win yesterday so they were probably playing within themselves. Ido think Offaly have a lot of work to do, Antrim seem to be gone ahead of them now and a new wave of optimism is creeping in up there. Offaly will win the Christy Ring Cup though...no doubt about that. Thats more or less a guaranteed. But playing in first division hurling could be one or two years away yet"
Reaching Division 1 is at least two years away, but Offaly have to learn from last Sunday. Christy Ring up next, have to go and win that on the playing field.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 10/03/2020 10:49:59    2273198

Introduce the clock, the ref has control when he can start and stop it.

He is in control of the time always as he is in charge of the game.

You can never take control of the time away from the referee.

Only he knows why it has to start and stop and any speculation of is it 2 mins, 4 or 25 mins is not for the management, media or supporters to speculate on from the stand.

The ref blows the whistle and knows what the stoppages are.

Agree or disagree on the time concerned. The only way to stop this silly debate, as it will affect most teams at sometime, is to display the time played or left for all to see.

3feetoftimber (Meath) - Posts: 113 - 10/03/2020 11:43:02    2273205

Replying To Ban:  "Fair enough but I also feel that teams who lead going into the additional time period have become hyper cynical. An example is this years Club Football Final. Corofin took "tying to see the game out" to a totally new level. Sure there was hardly any play in the time announced. The referee played what seemed like a crazy amount of additional time but taking all things into consideration, I thought he did the right thing.

Regardless of the referee's decision on time, as its already been said here - you play to the death. Why play hard for 70 minutes and then start looking over your shoulder. Its a mental weakness and blaming a referee is not likely to fix it."
No blame on the referees Ban. They do not have the tools to officiate the game as played today. Just because you took an axe to chop down a tree 100 years ago does that mean you should not use a chainsaw today. There are also unsightly behaviours from the players also in today's game. Like trying to get opponents sent off by embellishing injury or undoing the strap of their helmet and simulating it is pulled off. Before anyone shouts at me Gleeson did pull off his opponents helmet but another player got caught in an unstrapped helmet and the player did a jig on the side line.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 11/03/2020 14:57:18    2273402

Replying To Canuck:  "No blame on the referees Ban. They do not have the tools to officiate the game as played today. Just because you took an axe to chop down a tree 100 years ago does that mean you should not use a chainsaw today. There are also unsightly behaviours from the players also in today's game. Like trying to get opponents sent off by embellishing injury or undoing the strap of their helmet and simulating it is pulled off. Before anyone shouts at me Gleeson did pull off his opponents helmet but another player got caught in an unstrapped helmet and the player did a jig on the side line."
Maybe worth considering the rugby approach. Stop the watch for certain situations. Its all transparent and as you said, one less thing for the ref to deal with.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 11/03/2020 16:09:51    2273419

Ol Bab's will be upset!

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 11/03/2020 18:45:53    2273451