NFL Division 1

Replying To festinog:  "I hope the Mayo posters are enjoying the spectacle of Meath lads complaining about dirty play costing them a win."
Bigger worries of our own right now

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 01/03/2020 18:48:32    2271275

Pulling and dragging has been endemic in the game for years. I can understand Royal frustrations as certainly it was a game Meath could have won. Often we have been regarded as 'too nice' but the pulling and dragging can be as much down to the interpretation of a fussy ref. For instance I came away from Salthill in our first match frustrated with the 2nd half performance of ref Deegan notwithstanding Monaghan kicked some really impressive points from distance in that game. Then against Kerry there was the faux pas by the ref in not letting our sin binned back in and Kerry got the winner in the time in question. Maybe these things balance out but as I said in another post the conditions did not help today.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 01/03/2020 18:48:51    2271277

Replying To yew_tree:  "Bigger worries of our own right now"
Make time in you life for laughter YT.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 01/03/2020 19:05:20    2271289

Good win, probably the most significant so far since PJ took over. The loss of 2 players of such importance right before the throw in upset the game plan but character shown to turn it around was fantastic. 4 wins against div 1 teams and an unlucky 1 point loss in Tralee is an impressive start considering the change of style that had to be implemented. Meath are really unlucky to be going down and I expect to see them in the super 8, they are improving all the time. Huge game in Salthill now. Mayo had by far their best spell of the league in the second half today and are starting to settle. They will be going 110% to try and win this. We need as much experience as possible against top teams and would really benefit from getting to a league final. Remember we have 2 games against div 4 teams prior to a Connacht final if all goes to plan. Looks like Ross are promoted fair play to them too.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1222 - 01/03/2020 19:14:46    2271292

Very good second half from us but I feel the goal from Ward in the first half was the key, it was an atrocious first half and to go in so far ahead after being very slow and wasteful was a big boost. Have to say I thought Monaghan were very poor after being impressed so far this year, it seemed like the sort of day where the pitch sapped all energy outta the legs and that seemed to hurt Monaghan more than us. On top of that Beggan really struggled with a tough breeze in that first half, missed 2 kickable frees that would have kept them in touch.

From our own POV, Ward was the loose man a lot and he did great with the ball I thought. But Michael Langan had a real towering performance, dominated the middle third. Also impressed with Mogan and it was great to see McBrearty swing over some trademark scores.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 01/03/2020 19:16:41    2271294

Replying To katser:  "Division 1 football doesn't really suit Meath unfortunately?"
Yeah well I'm that case it certainly doesn't suit galway. Joyce lived up to his name today, Galway purists of football my ass.
The better team LOST today and you can thank the ref for that.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/03/2020 19:39:07    2271310

Replying To Saynothing:  "How do you know who sends who out to do what? Do you be in the dressing rooms to hear all this? These boys are big enough to do their own things and that's on all teams. From what I hear there was a lot of pulling and hauling today in Salthill. Did Joyce send them out to do it? Who is Holier than thou now?"
Not from Tyrone and not that wise either.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 01/03/2020 19:40:23    2271311

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yeah well I'm that case it certainly doesn't suit galway. Joyce lived up to his name today, Galway purists of football my ass.
The better team LOST today and you can thank the ref for that."
Meath making a sour exit, very unbecoming, sad to see but concentrate on Leinster

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 01/03/2020 19:58:03    2271314

If I was to have a criticism of Meath players today is that they try to play within the rules.
Can you only imagine if that was a graham geraghty , mick or Pauric Lyons , Gerry mcentee today the lad who was dragging them would still be picking up their teeth from the pitch.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/03/2020 20:02:25    2271318

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yeah well I'm that case it certainly doesn't suit galway. Joyce lived up to his name today, Galway purists of football my ass.
"Lived up to his name"???

Explain. Please.

streaker (Galway) - Posts: 497 - 01/03/2020 20:03:52    2271320

Think Andy puts it right. It's not Galway who should be blamed. It's the so called officials https://mobile.twitter.com/LMFMRADIO/status/1234196767933128704

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/03/2020 20:07:47    2271324

Get over yourself.. 2001 the day joyce destroyed and finished Darren Fay and Meath seems to have stayed with you..
Galway deserved the win despite missing a few of their big players and coming from 1 6 to 0 1 down to win..
Stop blaming the ref

Galwaymaster9 (Galway) - Posts: 397 - 01/03/2020 20:09:56    2271325

Replying To Saynothing:  "How do you know who sends who out to do what? Do you be in the dressing rooms to hear all this? These boys are big enough to do their own things and that's on all teams. From what I hear there was a lot of pulling and hauling today in Salthill. Did Joyce send them out to do it? Who is Holier than thou now?"
If there was pulling and dragging in Salthill today, it'd be fairly harsh to lay the blame at Joyce's door given that he was 120 miles away with a different game on his mind. A badly needed win for the hurlers it was though.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2040 - 01/03/2020 20:10:02    2271326

Eight up and you choked. Make sure you don't do consecutive relegations you might just win the Tailteann Cup.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 721 - 01/03/2020 20:13:31    2271329

Replying To Galwaymaster9:  "Get over yourself.. 2001 the day joyce destroyed and finished Darren Fay and Meath seems to have stayed with you..
Galway deserved the win despite missing a few of their big players and coming from 1 6 to 0 1 down to win..
Stop blaming the ref"
Cue the Darren Fay fan club rushing to tell us that it was actually Mark O'Reilly that Joyce destroyed. The All-Ireland still stands though, as far as I'm aware...

streaker (Galway) - Posts: 497 - 01/03/2020 20:16:47    2271334

What name are you talking about?

Padraic joyce is one of the classiest and entertaining forwards to ever play the game and he stuck playing with his county long after the good times were over and indeed his club were able to call on him if they were ever in real relegation trouble

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 01/03/2020 20:35:25    2271345

He destroyed them all...

Galwaymaster9 (Galway) - Posts: 397 - 01/03/2020 20:47:01    2271352

Replying To streaker:  "Cue the Darren Fay fan club rushing to tell us that it was actually Mark O'Reilly that Joyce destroyed. The All-Ireland still stands though, as far as I'm aware..."
Shane Walsh is very much carrying Galway. Although must say Paul Conroy was excellent when introduced. Individual errors on the ball cost Meath badly but should have at least worked a draw. When it comes to it can see both teams on the fringes of the super eights this year. Meath at least improving as the league goes on and getting important players back. Galway keeper issues do not look totally resolved and of the teams Meath have played so far Galway have looked easiest to get at.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 509 - 01/03/2020 20:49:58    2271354

Replying To moc.dna:  "These cynical events are planned & one holier than thou figure is responsible for instigating the thuggery all the time. It's sickening listening to individuals lecturing on morals & then sending lads out to commit acts of thuggery on & off the field.
As for the supporters who jumped in, just like the club final they won't be identified or punished & fellas will take it further & further each time as there is no deterrent. The only time the GAA will take action is when somebody gets seriously injured or killed or when public images of kids getting entangled in a melee appear. In other sports the punishments are instant & very severe, but then in other sports that are even more physical, players can line up & shake hands directly with their opponents & walk up & down tunnels without any incident. But it doesn't happen in GAA as the level of hate & spite that is there is massive.
Some day very soon kids who line up to welcome teams on to the field or playing in bands are going to be entangled & injured by people who can't control themselves & are egged on by managers who drive the cynicism & hate."
The level of hate and spite? Are you not the poster who has said he will never give another cent to the GAA and now only goes to watch rugby games due to some slight in the past? And its not just in the GAA sadly where there are issues with supporters, I'm fairly certain the gardai have recently announced they are at the point where action will have to be taken at schools rugby games due to the behaviour of those attending.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 01/03/2020 20:55:36    2271357

Replying To royaldunne:  "If I was to have a criticism of Meath players today is that they try to play within the rules.
Can you only imagine if that was a graham geraghty , mick or Pauric Lyons , Gerry mcentee today the lad who was dragging them would still be picking up their teeth from the pitch."
Cormac Murphy or Coyler were the men for that.

However, the ref would have had sufficient respect for that Meath team to not let it get that far.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 01/03/2020 21:08:22    2271365