NFL Division 1

Replying To greatpoint:  "As you said yourself he must hold the record for the most sendings off in All-Ireland finals. Do you think this might have anything to do with the articles being written? Come on now Jackeen."
Perhaps and I take your point. The narrative around Small however, to me, is different to any other player at the moment. It's just an opinion.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/02/2020 20:23:36    2269870

Replying To letterkennyGuy:  "My point exactly jackeen. Dublin do not get vilified for it where they should and i for one was in shock when rte broadcast this on sunday night because they get away with alot more than other countries do especially small!!!"
Did you not see the live Dublin Mayo match half time analysis? Brolly led the witch-hunt on Small alleging that he dived when clothes lined by the Mayo player. In fairness to Tomas O'Se he called it, a high dangerous tackle. If the HT performance during the Mayo Dublin match was not vilification then I don't know what is. So Small gets his fair share of it, some justified some not perhaps but he's seen the line more times than any player I can remember in a blue shirt and I'd be including Keith Barr and Eamon Heary in that number.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 24/02/2020 20:42:04    2269877

Replying To yew_tree:  "I'm well aware of our all Ireland failure and it's an asbysmal record but you gotta keep at it.

But to develop players you need to be playing the best and in division 1...we are in transition with a raft of new players who will need time...you need them playing in division 1. An all Ireland winner will not come from division 2."
Y-T, I feel your pain having endured Galway at times struggle in Div 2 over the last 10 years. Inclusion in Div 1 has to earned, and if you have a team that's in transition with a bunch of new and young players, maintaining Div 1 status at the same time is a huge ask. Especially as you're looking at a division where the majority of the teams are either in mid-cycle, or coming out of transition and approaching their best. Arguably Mayo could have done a little more to begin the transition more gradually two years ago when the writing was on the wall for some of the senior players, which would have kept the team at an higher level of skill and experience, but that's water under the bridge.

As you point out, Mayo have had 24 years in Div 1, but the Holy Grail has eluded you. Who knows, perhaps a stint in Div 2 rebuilding might give ye the edge ye've been missing?

And I say all this with the caveat that I never rule Mayo out until the final whistle has blown. Who knows what might happen in the next few games, so all this talk of relegation could be very premature. Touch wood!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 24/02/2020 21:05:23    2269882

Replying To Jackeen:  "Jesus you're precious. Obviously we have more, Connolly....remember him??? Keegan does! Cooper & whoever else you deem fits the bill."
Not at all, just making the point that you go out of your way to name three Mayo lads while ignoring the fact that we have been vilified in the past, obviously to good effect. If your definition of 'precious' is setting the record straight then rock on. Who I deem fits the bill doesn't really matter as I haven't cast any aspersions on Dublin players, but then of course you know that. Precious indeed!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 24/02/2020 21:16:47    2269885

Replying To sligo joe:  "Same Michael Murphy that gave Fenton a closed fist shot to the jaw, all-ireland q/f 2016, when Dublin were out the gate, mis-timed shoulder???"
The assault on him at the end was shocking as it was a preordained and rehearsed end of game Dublin tactic (like 2017 final systematic take down of Mayo players). Small came in from behind and worse again Brian Howard came in from behind and whilst he was on the ground. And then Small junior came in later for a go. So cynical and blemish on our game.

DonegalAtlantic (Donegal) - Posts: 111 - 24/02/2020 21:19:22    2269886

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Not at all, just making the point that you go out of your way to name three Mayo lads while ignoring the fact that we have been vilified in the past, obviously to good effect. If your definition of 'precious' is setting the record straight then rock on. Who I deem fits the bill doesn't really matter as I haven't cast any aspersions on Dublin players, but then of course you know that. Precious indeed!"
I didnt go out of my way at all it all came quite easily to me! The lads I mentioned are the lads that have a reputation on the Mayo team. I said Small and others on the Dublin team.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/02/2020 21:28:45    2269889

Replying To Joxer:  "I would have been happy enough to see him walk after 3 mins to be honest as I thought he was outstanding after that. He makes up for his lack of mobility in fielding, pinpoint distribution and accuracy between the posts. A class act."
There is no comparison between the opprobrium Tyrone have been subjected to over the years versus Dublin. Zero.

DonegalAtlantic (Donegal) - Posts: 111 - 24/02/2020 21:40:11    2269892

Replying To Jackeen:  "I didnt go out of my way at all it all came quite easily to me! The lads I mentioned are the lads that have a reputation on the Mayo team. I said Small and others on the Dublin team."
Oddly enough the names of McMahon and Cooper didn't come as readily to your mind. I wonder why! I wouldn't mention Connolly in the same breath as he was never an overly cynical player. Neither would I regard Diarmuid O Connor as being overly cynical. Can't see how you can lump in Dublin with Tyrone in terms of bad press as the Dubs have been treated very leniently by the press in general. It took two northern lads to show a bit of courage and go against the flow.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 24/02/2020 22:42:33    2269915

Wouldn't be writing anyone off bar Meath at the moment, table is all still very tight and a good result changes everything.

I think at this stage last year we gave Mayo a fair hiding in Croker and they went on to win the thing, after staying up on a last minute score the year before.

Plenty of time for table changing results.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 24/02/2020 22:46:38    2269918

Replying To Joxer:  "I would have been happy enough to see him walk after 3 mins to be honest as I thought he was outstanding after that. He makes up for his lack of mobility in fielding, pinpoint distribution and accuracy between the posts. A class act."
Lack of mobility? There's hardly anyone who covers as much ground as him. Pops up everywhere, deceptively fast too

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 24/02/2020 23:11:52    2269926

Replying To TheUsername:  "Wouldn't be writing anyone off bar Meath at the moment, table is all still very tight and a good result changes everything.

I think at this stage last year we gave Mayo a fair hiding in Croker and they went on to win the thing, after staying up on a last minute score the year before.

Plenty of time for table changing results."
I still believe mayo will stay up....we are in transition though...doesn't mean we can't progress and still have a decent season.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 24/02/2020 23:33:50    2269934

Replying To TomReilly:  "Good win for Galway, but not AI contenders by a long way yet , in my opinion, Tyrone very poor, threw the towel in.
Galway are a division 1 team, but nothing more."
Refreshing to see another team primed to break into the top 4. Very little has changed in the past 4-5 years with Dublin, Kerry, Mayo and Tyrone in top 4 and Donegal, Monaghan and Galway leading the chasing pack. Armagh are moving well towards becoming a Super 8 team. Always bring a big and colorful support.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 24/02/2020 23:41:19    2269936

Replying To Greengrass:  "Bang on the money ."
Linesman no more than 5 metres away if referee (also close) was unsighted.

Shocking decision.

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 502 - 25/02/2020 08:37:37    2269957

Even when it comes to pantomime villains Dublin are miles ahead of the rest as we have a rotation system in place.

We give you a new one every 2 or 3 years.

From Cooper who passed the mantle to Philly who passed it on to Diarmo who has passed it on to Smallie.

I think RTE should do a Prime Time on this!

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 25/02/2020 09:22:32    2269968

Replying To Joxer:  "Did you not see the live Dublin Mayo match half time analysis? Brolly led the witch-hunt on Small alleging that he dived when clothes lined by the Mayo player. In fairness to Tomas O'Se he called it, a high dangerous tackle. If the HT performance during the Mayo Dublin match was not vilification then I don't know what is. So Small gets his fair share of it, some justified some not perhaps but he's seen the line more times than any player I can remember in a blue shirt and I'd be including Keith Barr and Eamon Heary in that number."
He gets sent off so much because of the way he plays. Do you think he deserved to last until the 74th min on Sat night for example? Should of been black carded just before half time for a deliberate pull down right in front of the linesman...you have to wonder what these officials be looking at.. He was hanging off Murphy for the majority of the game and then there was the Ryan McHugh incident when he pretended it was an accidental clash but saw a chance to take out one of Donegal's main men and you have to remember he was already on a yellow card. The point I'm making by the time he does get sent off it's well overdue but as you said earlier I'd love him in the Donegal team. The McGee brothers done plenty of this sort of work for us in the past but I think because Neil has been around so long now I don't think he can get away with as much as he used to but he still tries.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 25/02/2020 09:30:50    2269972

Replying To yew_tree:  "I still believe mayo will stay up....we are in transition though...doesn't mean we can't progress and still have a decent season."
I cant remember the last time Mayo had a full deck to play with, very unlucky in the championship with injuries last year and still missing key players this spring, Boyler is a massive loss and really sad about that what a warrior. That said you wont learn anything in flogging the same players around since 2012 in the NFL.

So can see were Horan is coming from. One of the depleting factors for Mayo when they have gotten very close to the line most years, is the ability to sustain the intensity and having the depth in the squad to support that. The only way to do that is give oppurtunities and blood players after decent showing in the underage grades in the last couple of years.

Are Mayo capable of results against Kerry, Galway and Tyrone, absolutely. In a lot of ways Mayo are better when their backs are against the wall. I wouldn't be putting money on them going down.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 25/02/2020 10:18:26    2269985

Replying To Mobot:  "He gets sent off so much because of the way he plays. Do you think he deserved to last until the 74th min on Sat night for example? Should of been black carded just before half time for a deliberate pull down right in front of the linesman...you have to wonder what these officials be looking at.. He was hanging off Murphy for the majority of the game and then there was the Ryan McHugh incident when he pretended it was an accidental clash but saw a chance to take out one of Donegal's main men and you have to remember he was already on a yellow card. The point I'm making by the time he does get sent off it's well overdue but as you said earlier I'd love him in the Donegal team. The McGee brothers done plenty of this sort of work for us in the past but I think because Neil has been around so long now I don't think he can get away with as much as he used to but he still tries."
No I thought he should have been black carded before the end. That's not the point I'm making of course. Somebody tried to claim that Dublin players are never vilified. Look at the HT analysis in Mayo v Dublin game and that was after Small was clothes lined. Connolly received 3 months for finger prodding a lines man and after SG panelists called for his head. So I just wanted to put to bed this myth that Dublin players are not called out. They're under the microscope just like all others.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 25/02/2020 10:32:40    2269988

Replying To TheUsername:  "I cant remember the last time Mayo had a full deck to play with, very unlucky in the championship with injuries last year and still missing key players this spring, Boyler is a massive loss and really sad about that what a warrior. That said you wont learn anything in flogging the same players around since 2012 in the NFL.

So can see were Horan is coming from. One of the depleting factors for Mayo when they have gotten very close to the line most years, is the ability to sustain the intensity and having the depth in the squad to support that. The only way to do that is give oppurtunities and blood players after decent showing in the underage grades in the last couple of years.

Are Mayo capable of results against Kerry, Galway and Tyrone, absolutely. In a lot of ways Mayo are better when their backs are against the wall. I wouldn't be putting money on them going down."
Mayo falling short has had much to do with Dublin's vastly superior bench....contributing 1-7 in finals alone from the bench while Mayo's subs contributed 0-1. In one point games that's your difference. It's more than a 15 man game now.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 25/02/2020 10:40:13    2269992

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Just heard Meath could be without 8 first team starters for Sunday.
Michael Newman , Seamus Lavin , Padraig Harnan, Shane McEntee and Ethan Devine are definately out.
But Cillian Sullivan is a doubt. So is Bryan McMahon and so is Shane Gallagher. And I heard Donal lenihan might be injured also. But he should be contention if he is not which bring it up 9..
That would Meath would be without three first choice defenders , the whole half forward line , best forward from last year and last years midfielder . 8 is allot to be missing , 9 would be mad. If we could get Gallagher back and one of the half forwards eg Sullivan and McMahon. I think we could be okay. But if we have 8 or 9 first team starters injured that is very worrying. I thought we would have Gallagher , Sullivan , McMahon and lenihan back. Only til we the team at 2.00 will see what shape Meath team is in. I think having to peak twice last year has meant players were training full on all season long. And 6 players with surgeries in last few weeks is an indication of this."
Meath at home, and with their backs to the wall, will beat Galway.

PopeFrancis19 (Galway) - Posts: 45 - 25/02/2020 13:24:48    2270060

Replying To PopeFrancis19:  "Meath at home, and with their backs to the wall, will beat Galway."
If that is to happen i hope the reaction won't be knee jerk. We are better than even 9 months ago but there are no dead certs in this division going by most of the results. Most Galway folk are measured after Sunday and certainly those i have been speaking with. Like with other counties when the full deck is at our disposal you would hope the squad has the necessary impact over the Summer. I do sense the gap is closing between the chasers and Dublin albeit slowly.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 25/02/2020 15:12:24    2270090