NFL Division 1

Replying To lilylanger:  "I've just been on Twitter and Small is trending and I hope he isnt looking at the comments tonight. He gets vilified more than most in fairness. Donaghey is spot on with what he says re GAA forums etc."
I wouldn't agree with over the top personal attacks or name calling...when a player does something wrong call them out on that incident but that's as far as it should go.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 23/02/2020 08:03:42    2269192

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Come on Jackeen, no 1, biggest Dub fan in the world, you can disagree with the Twitter army.

So John Small has never ever partook in the dark arts??

Where's the Tyrone outrage from lad week?

Ger Brennan on the Wooly show critiquing the D.Clifford incident involving Tyron.....don't make me laugh.

Wonder if he will come out and critique Small?? Highly unlikely"
Well I'm not on twitter so I dont know what you're on about. I've watched it several times including live as it happened as I was at the match and can't see how Small is bring blamed. I never once said he hasnt partaken in the dark arts. I am well aware of what he can do in that respect.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 23/02/2020 08:43:32    2269196

Anywhere you have the option for people to criticize or bully individuals you will get people criticized and bullied.
That's the unfortunate truth of human nature.
The problem is the Jeanie is out of the bottle and ain't going back in any time soon.
Anytime anyone suggests a measure to curtail these outlets you have the civil liberties and nanny state argument being trotted out.
This state is becoming a haven for the perpetrator and not the victim.
Lowlife individuals being allowed to play on the " I know my rights " line and the law backing them up.
Social media is just another manifestation of the slump in standards that is being allowed to take hold.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 23/02/2020 09:09:12    2269200

Replying To lilylanger:  "I've just been on Twitter and Small is trending and I hope he isnt looking at the comments tonight. He gets vilified more than most in fairness. Donaghey is spot on with what he says re GAA forums etc."
Why would any sane person go onto a forum to read the ramblings of cranks, loners, drunks and mostly idiots having a go at them? I would say Small is having a laugh reading them.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 23/02/2020 10:08:16    2269210

Replying To yew_tree:  "Debate the game at hand....I've seen this tactic before to belittle our opinions and bring up a past incident in another game.

If you can't debate it then you know your man was wrong."
If your starting point is "if this was Tyrone blah blah" then you are on a loser straight away. I was at the match so will have to watch it back but looked like a clash of heads to me if this is the incident being referred to. Looked like McHugh who went don't also holding his head, presumably because he banged it against Small's head. Any comment on McHugh's early dive off the ball on Fenton when he threw himself to the ground or does that not count? I did have a clear view of that one. If you're going to question Small and doing this all the time then you must answered the question did he dive v Mayo or was he taken out?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 23/02/2020 10:50:10    2269218

Replying To catch22:  "Anywhere you have the option for people to criticize or bully individuals you will get people criticized and bullied.
That's the unfortunate truth of human nature.
The problem is the Jeanie is out of the bottle and ain't going back in any time soon.
Anytime anyone suggests a measure to curtail these outlets you have the civil liberties and nanny state argument being trotted out.
This state is becoming a haven for the perpetrator and not the victim.
Lowlife individuals being allowed to play on the " I know my rights " line and the law backing them up.
Social media is just another manifestation of the slump in standards that is being allowed to take hold."
Good point unfortunately its a reflection of our society now
Where crime violence intimidation bulllying is everywhere
I dont know where our beatifull country is going but its sad

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 23/02/2020 10:50:48    2269219

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Come on Jackeen, no 1, biggest Dub fan in the world, you can disagree with the Twitter army.

So John Small has never ever partook in the dark arts??

Where's the Tyrone outrage from lad week?

Ger Brennan on the Wooly show critiquing the D.Clifford incident involving Tyron.....don't make me laugh.

Wonder if he will come out and critique Small?? Highly unlikely"
In fairness he was publicly lacerated by Brolly and team v Mayo when he was clothes lined only later for people to agree that he was taken out. Give a dog a bad name and all. No doubt if he's caught sometimes he'll make the most if it.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 23/02/2020 10:54:15    2269220

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "John Small didn't lose us that game. Fact is we are a young inexperienced team that is nowhere near savvy enough to see games out against teams like Dublin.
Take Murph out of the Donegal team & it's hard to see where wins come from."
It's a while since I've since Murphy in the flesh Muck but he was outstanding, without question the best forward on the pitch last night. That nonchalant style that he has when stoking a ball over from 40-50m is still one of GAA's great sights.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 23/02/2020 11:10:10    2269223

Replying To Joxer:  "If your starting point is "if this was Tyrone blah blah" then you are on a loser straight away. I was at the match so will have to watch it back but looked like a clash of heads to me if this is the incident being referred to. Looked like McHugh who went don't also holding his head, presumably because he banged it against Small's head. Any comment on McHugh's early dive off the ball on Fenton when he threw himself to the ground or does that not count? I did have a clear view of that one. If you're going to question Small and doing this all the time then you must answered the question did he dive v Mayo or was he taken out?"
Small was guilty of an illegal screen . It's a tactic Dublin use and get away with . Watch Brian Fenton on Killian Spillane to release Murchan for the goal in the replay of the All Ireland final last year . It's not Dublin's fault . The refs are not wise to it . Look at the inconsistency in the time keeping too. Brannigan added three minutes on to six minutes of injury time two weeks ago and Dublin equalised . Deegan only added one minute on to seven minutes of injury time this week despite the fact that there was an injury and a melee and Dublin win by a point . It's not Dublin's fault and this is not a conspiracy theory . It's just to say that the refs are poor.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 23/02/2020 11:34:17    2269231

On the timekeeping...7 minutes were signalled just around the 70 mark. No play from 70 til 71.10 due to injury and free, 2 minutes 10 stoppage to sort out melee. 1 substitution. And the ref plays 78 mins. 1 extra minute for all that. Any wonder players managers and supporters are confused.

conordee (Galway) - Posts: 440 - 23/02/2020 12:04:35    2269238

Replying To conordee:  "On the timekeeping...7 minutes were signalled just around the 70 mark. No play from 70 til 71.10 due to injury and free, 2 minutes 10 stoppage to sort out melee. 1 substitution. And the ref plays 78 mins. 1 extra minute for all that. Any wonder players managers and supporters are confused."
Needs to be taken out of referees' hands. 10m extra time in total for a 70m game points to real problems. That's like having 13m extra time in a soccer match.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 23/02/2020 12:29:53    2269251

Replying To Joxer:  "It's a while since I've since Murphy in the flesh Muck but he was outstanding, without question the best forward on the pitch last night. That nonchalant style that he has when stoking a ball over from 40-50m is still one of GAA's great sights."
He's one of those players' that seems to have an extra second no matter what. I could wax lyrical about him all day long. I know it's controversial considering the great Dublin team in this period but as an individual player I do genuinely believe he's been the best, most consistent and most complete footballer of the last 10 years.

If he stays injury free again this year we will have a chance in every game, it really is time for the supporting cast to step up at this stage. As I said, our chance conversion has been really poor - people have pointed out a soft underbelly/weak defence, poor mentality etc., in losing leads but I think we are doing enough to win these games but are missing easy chances and are not clinical. Mayo we got sucker punched with 2 goals but should have been much farther ahead than we were. Last night we missed 2 golden chances for goals that you simply have to take - good saves from Comerford but poorly executed from us. When you consider who still has to come into our defence I am actually very happy with where we're at from 1-9, it's the final third where we are creating good opportunities but not taking them that is a real issue for me.

Take Michael Langan who is undoubtedly one of our best players now. He is still very young and it's exciting to think where his ceiling might be. On the one hand he will be absolutely majestic in fielding and taking a score, a minute later he may drop a simple shot into the keepers' hands. Compare to Fenton (maybe unfair but that's the gold standard) who scored 2 beauties last night under pressure. That's where he needs to get to for Donegal to be winning an All-Ireland soon. All of our fans acknowledge one thing anyway, Murphy won't be at this level for much longer and when he's gone, our All-Ireland chances will take a huge dive.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 23/02/2020 12:31:09    2269252

Replying To conordee:  "On the timekeeping...7 minutes were signalled just around the 70 mark. No play from 70 til 71.10 due to injury and free, 2 minutes 10 stoppage to sort out melee. 1 substitution. And the ref plays 78 mins. 1 extra minute for all that. Any wonder players managers and supporters are confused."
I agree with the stoppages in injury time I was full sure he would have played to the 80th min and would have been justified in doing do.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 23/02/2020 13:15:12    2269261

Enjoyable game of football. Thought conceding the goal from the high ball was the losing of the game for Donegal and was a bit surprised that the keeper/fullback did not punch the ball, although Dublin was always going to come back as experience team does.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 23/02/2020 13:34:11    2269269

I am happy with our showing. I am happy that we had to go to Croke park needing a win, even if we didn't get it. What used to really bug me was going to Croke park 3 or 4 years ago looking for a morale boosting 2 point defeat in a low scoring borefest. Despite dropping points last night, we know exactly what we have to do now in order to convert performances into points against the top teams.

Team effort is there 100%.
We have worked well on our defence and midfield despite a mistake yesterday.

Where we need to iron out the errors is in the forward lines. We have to take the goal chances. I have no doubt that if we had scored one other goal we would have won. The goals are there as we saw in the meath match.

Roll on Monaghan. I believe that we can win that game and if we do, we have a great chance of staying up.

On a side note, we can criticise individual players for their behaviour on the pitch but if they get away with it, it is the ref and the consistent enforcement of the rules that needs scrutiny. A number of people after the Mayo game suggested we should have gone into black card territory in order to run down the clock. The same people no doubt are full of opinion about behaviour of certain players that did exactly that last night in Croke park to secure the win.

Just saying.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 23/02/2020 13:46:14    2269272

Replying To Greengrass:  "Small was guilty of an illegal screen . It's a tactic Dublin use and get away with . Watch Brian Fenton on Killian Spillane to release Murchan for the goal in the replay of the All Ireland final last year . It's not Dublin's fault . The refs are not wise to it . Look at the inconsistency in the time keeping too. Brannigan added three minutes on to six minutes of injury time two weeks ago and Dublin equalised . Deegan only added one minute on to seven minutes of injury time this week despite the fact that there was an injury and a melee and Dublin win by a point . It's not Dublin's fault and this is not a conspiracy theory . It's just to say that the refs are poor."
It was the Kerry player that held Fenton & the other Dublin player in the final. Colm O'Rourke spoke about it on the Sunday Game. Moran was then supposed to catch the ball but he punched it for some reason. Backfired completely on Kerry.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 23/02/2020 14:07:08    2269275

Well now, enjoyable fair in Croker last night on a soft fresh evening under the lights.

The Dubs continued to give opportunities to some young and new lads with. Cillian O Shea, Seanie Bugler and from no where, blast from the past Craig Dias coming in for the Dubs.

Donegal looked strong enough, but a better trained eye then mine on Donegal football will know better, a very young team at the best times and some of the best players in the country for my money, in Patton EBG, Thompson, McHugh and of course probably the best player in the country Murphy.

The Dubs started poorly again worryingly. Donegal roared out of the traps and were cutting through the Dubs almost at will, worryingly we were leaving miles of space through the central channel from midfield back, Donegal took full advantage with quick transition, good kick ball and bit of imagination and pace and beasted us int he first quarter at one point 1-5 - 2 points.

Dublin were making hard work of it, slow in transition, not winning our own ball, turning possession into 50/50 ball and taking on low percentage hail Marys. We were also turned over quite a bit and looked second to everything. At times we were just bullied by Doengal who looked hungrier and first to everything.

Donegal were doing a terrific job containing the Dubs with a decent enough blanket system, looking to break and the Dubs were struggling being outnumbered in advanced positions and were caught almost every time on the break.

The second quarter Seanie Bugler and Ciaran Kilkenny decided it was time to stamp a bit of individual quality on the game and began to break lines and drive and Donegal and Dublin started to tack on a few with Rock and Howard joining in although were wasteful enough with a few bad wides. Dublin finished the second quarter outscoring Donegal 4-1 to be going in at half time to make it a two point game.

Costello replaced Dias at half time and despite an initial surge from Donegal. Dublin started to claw there way into the game. Showing increased intensity, better marking and closing up space. Very hard to keep up the blancket and break game for 70 mins and Donegal started to drop intensity and gaps started to merge and Dublin smelled blood. In truth i thought Donegal tried to manage the game a bit to early trying to break momentum, keep possession. In the end the game changer was lucky goal for Mannion a hail Mary ball - that Mannion just about got a lucky contact with and the immaculate Patton will be really dissapointed.

Both teams traded scores and we saw Small on Murphy get the line and Dublin snuck out very lucky winner in the end.

Over all reflections on the game, not very happy with Dublin performance, playing very open, especially through the center, lacking intensity, lacking any decent support play that is such a huge feature for Dublin and in all honesty we have been very lucky to have the results and be in the position we are in the league. If you asked me now are we winning an All Ireland this year i have my doubts. But as was said to me last night, this time last year we had been beasted by Monagan and Tyrone at the same stage, so everything in context.

Donegal will feel massively unlucky deserved something out of the game. we were very lucky again. They have some incredible players, but its hard to play the system they do for 90 mins. Can see them going far this year and i think there are worse teams in the league them them so fully expect them to stay up. Can feel very hard done by the ref, a lot more time should have been played in injury time in my opinion. I think Patton is just fantastic, think he will be one of the best keepers ever, his kicking is sublime.

I see there is a bit going on about the Murphy and Small reds, Small is no angel and is well versed in dark arts id wholly acknowledge that, i love Michael Murphy as a player, i think he is the best in Ireland but i have zero sympathy for him with the red to be honest after the elbow on Davey Byrne in the first half, could and maybe should have been a red in the first half in my opinion. So i think if you are going to dish it you have to take it.

From a Dublin perspective some very good news stories, Seanie Bugler is the real deal - absolutely class and we have another brilliant quality player on our hands. Even Comerford was class last night, really becoming a quality goal keeper, saved two certain goals, he needs to work on his kicking, but to be fair to him our team isnt helping at the moment and Dessie seems to be trying out things in the middle at the moment. Collie Basquel came on and had a huge positive impact again, Aron Byrne must have been reading my posts last week when i said he was poor defensively because he turned over a ball with five minuted to go in the corner back position, brilliant stuff ive been really impressed with him. The Criag Dias thing didnt come off and hemade hard of work of it, i was surprised to see him there and no Darren Gavin on POCB. Think Mannion is going through a patch of bad form as well. While i think we need to look at our defensive system and going back to a sweeper.

All is all though its hard to have many complaints, our performances haven't been great and we have miles to go, we look a bit vulnerable at the moment through out the team and will cough up chances. That said i believe we have played 27 players over the 4 game so far, so we are experimenting a lot and giving oppurtunites, we have found some players and no mistake that are gong to be added to championship panel without a doubt. So everything in context and we haven't seen, Cluxton, Cooper, O Sullivan, Jack, MDM, POCB, Gavin, Dermo, or King Con yet, so despite being very lucky in results we are in a good spot in the table and Div 1 with two tough games in Omagh and Salthill to come.

Next up our home away from home Healy Park.

As Always Up The Dubs.

P.S. How gutting was the Hurling.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 23/02/2020 14:49:31    2269280

Galway 2-25 Tyrone 0-12
Congratulations Galway absolutely outstanding!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2192 - 23/02/2020 15:40:52    2269285

Does today's runaway win by Galway send out a warning to the rest - or would be reading too much into a Feb game?

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 23/02/2020 15:45:09    2269288

Replying To essmac:  "Does today's runaway win by Galway send out a warning to the rest - or would be reading too much into a Feb game?"
Oh they are contenders for sure. Some fabulous play. However they had a numerical advantage so i daresay thats why it was a rout.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 23/02/2020 15:54:05    2269298