NFL Division 1

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "That some nonsense of a post."
Agreed. Donegal have played a nice style of football since Bonner took over. We've thankfully become a lot more positive in our game since Joyce has taken over. Both teams tried to move the ball quickly when possible today, in very difficult conditions. This Letterkenny jinx is turning into the Mayo curse. I'd say even Murphy is starting to believe it after the last free today.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2037 - 09/02/2020 20:47:42    2266563

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Division 1 is really sizzling up with 7 counties in contention. it's great despite the crazy new rules. Please scrap the mark as the poor refs have their hands full and how about we get a clock and buzzer system. I mean its 2020."
Ya, but sure Tis still 1900 in the GAA.
At what point can you implement something that is progressive ?

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 09/02/2020 20:54:58    2266572

The free against Robert Finnerty (Tribe) today for not putting his hand up was comical. He didn't ask for a mark.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 09/02/2020 20:57:40    2266575

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Division 1 is really sizzling up with 7 counties in contention. it's great despite the crazy new rules. Please scrap the mark as the poor refs have their hands full and how about we get a clock and buzzer system. I mean its 2020."
Yea its looking like 6 points required to guarantee safety, Cork were relegated on 6 though. It's too tight for it to be decided by controversial refereeing decisions that's for sure. Seems to be a lot of that at the moment with things so tight and new rules, interpretations etc. We have 3 of the 4 remaining games at home so its in our own hands essentially. From a small county point of view it is a massive advantage playing in this league if you can stay in it. Would like to see it expanded to 10 somehow

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 09/02/2020 21:15:30    2266580

Replying To Joxer:  "I should have known Llaw. The good people of Mayo wouldn't complain about the Dubs getting a few extra minutes from a ref. Sure we've never needed an extra 3m to beat Mayo :)"
Never! Surely you can't deny us our victory in 2012. It's the only memory we have to get us through the long winter evenings. Have you no soul!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 09/02/2020 21:19:41    2266583

Replying To maroondiesel:  "The free against Robert Finnerty (Tribe) today for not putting his hand up was comical. He didn't ask for a mark."
Whatever you think about the rules I think finnerty kind of messed that up on himself. You're right he didn't want to take the mark so why stop. He moved initially and then stopped because i think he had a change of mind. I don't think the ref blew the whistle so it becomes overcarrying.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 688 - 09/02/2020 21:23:05    2266586

Replying To maroondiesel:  "The free against Robert Finnerty (Tribe) today for not putting his hand up was comical. He didn't ask for a mark."
That was a joke alright, there are just far too many rules and its causing confusion. The black card for the Galway keeper looked harsh, Brennan sold him a dummy but he was already committed to the tackle. The sub goalie made a far worse tackle in tbe second half and only got a yellow. I feel really sorry for refs, nearly impossible to ref games in bad weather.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1873 - 09/02/2020 21:29:41    2266591

Our young Jordan Flynn must be looking on is bemusement this weekend. I counted four head high tackles in Division 1 games all of which resulted in yellow cards. Kind of blows the "refs clamping down" theory out of the water. Consistency anyone!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 09/02/2020 21:31:04    2266592

Wooly wasn't wrong about Ryan McHugh!

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 282 - 09/02/2020 21:36:17    2266595

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Agreed. Donegal have played a nice style of football since Bonner took over. We've thankfully become a lot more positive in our game since Joyce has taken over. Both teams tried to move the ball quickly when possible today, in very difficult conditions. This Letterkenny jinx is turning into the Mayo curse. I'd say even Murphy is starting to believe it after the last free today."
With the forward talent Galway have it's logical to play offensively. They applied a lot of pressure on the ball today and Donegal found it hard to get out of defense on a number of occasions. The concern you might have is that when you do get the ball up the field the defence gets exposed. Mogan really should have scored another goal and there was another scramble off the line in the first half. Comer did very well around the middle in the second half and Walsh had some great moments.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 688 - 09/02/2020 21:58:22    2266603

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Our young Jordan Flynn must be looking on is bemusement this weekend. I counted four head high tackles in Division 1 games all of which resulted in yellow cards. Kind of blows the "refs clamping down" theory out of the water. Consistency anyone!"
That's a fair point. I don't like the head high challenges and don't really have a problem with "clamping down" on them though that doesn't look to be the case now. Hard luck Jordon Flynn.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 688 - 09/02/2020 22:08:04    2266608

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Our young Jordan Flynn must be looking on is bemusement this weekend. I counted four head high tackles in Division 1 games all of which resulted in yellow cards. Kind of blows the "refs clamping down" theory out of the water. Consistency anyone!"
That's a fair point. I don't like the head high challenges and don't really have a problem with "clamping down" on them though that doesn't look to be the case now. Hard luck Jordon Flynn.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 688 - 09/02/2020 22:08:14    2266609

And all yellow in one game a player was clothesline and still yellow.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 09/02/2020 22:15:31    2266613

Replying To candlewax:  "Wooly wasn't wrong about Ryan McHugh!"
In what sense?

DonegalAtlantic (Donegal) - Posts: 111 - 09/02/2020 22:23:24    2266618

He's always been brilliant, but Shane Walsh has taken his game to a new elite level this year so far under Joyce, looking an absolute wizard, if he keeps this up he's in the conversation for the best player in the country,

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 10/02/2020 00:59:50    2266655

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Galway play better football than Donegal but are not as clever as them with the way the rules are. Football won today at least."
Whats this about. Donegal are a decent team. Why u having a dig??? They are not overly negative in any sense.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 10/02/2020 09:17:40    2266685

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "I wouldn't read too much into a one point win on a day like that."
I'd read a lot. We showed character which is often critcised in Galway. Even though we played well in Kerry we lost, how well we played would have been forgotten if we lost again. We are building and giving some young lads games. Wins help, gives an extra bounce in training so to speak. Doesn't mean we will win the AI but it helps!

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 10/02/2020 09:21:11    2266687

Donegal will win if the teams meet again in the championship with the likes of Mc Menamin, Mc Brearty, Jason Mc Gee, Gallan etc to come back into the starting 15. Saying that Galway are a really good side and can see them beating anyone on their day.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1139 - 10/02/2020 09:31:27    2266691

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Well done to Galway they deserved the win, they are turning Gaelic football into a clusterf*ck with their stupid rules and abysmal refereeing, God help us it's getting hard to watch."
Rules are tough for the officials but some of the decisions made by Joe McQuillan today were baffling. He wasn't great to either team but I suppose when the game was in the melting pot I felt Donegal got a raw deal with some decisions. The disallowed point from Murphy was borderline because if it was clear and obvious the Umpires would of dealt with it a lot quicker than they did but fair play to the Galway players as they seemed to pressure the Umpires into changing their mind. Then shortly after that McQuillan decided to pull back a quick free kick taken by Ryan McHugh with Murphy boring down on goal....ridiculous stuff. He also didn't even give a foul to Eoghan Ban Gallagher after he was hit late with a head high tackle. Should of been a black card minimum and likely red which would of left Galway down to 13 players for the last few minutes either way. Maybe it's all just part of the Letterkenny curse when you factor in Murphy's missed free at the end.

The ref gave some strange decisions against Galway too but I suppose the ones that happen towards the end of a tight game live longer in the memory.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 10/02/2020 09:48:12    2266696

Meath look as good as gone, Losing to basically Mayo's B team is a bad result. They dont have one top class forward and you need at least two at this level. They seem to be badly managed as well.
Be interesting to see who else end up in the relagation fight.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 10/02/2020 10:08:35    2266704