Best Young Talents 2020

Replying To Kerry15:  "No he's no where near appearing this year. He's not even the best forward on the u20 team. I always thought he was a bit overrated due to his hair and that another player on that minor team Paul O'Shea was better than him. It will be at least 2 years before Walsh gets Senior game time. No u20 will play for the Seniors this year unless Donal O'Sullivan tears up the u20 championship but I think this year will be too soon for him and anyway full forward is our most competitive line."
100% kerry15 Paul Walsh is a long way off senior football from what iv seen of him anyway.

he's grand for a few close in frees and penaltys but he's only average from play,

how the selection committy picked him over Paul O'Shea 2 year's ago íl never know, they mustn't have watched any kerry minor games that year.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/01/2020 12:21:08    2260433

Replying To HEREBENJI:  "I'd be hopeful that Peadar Mogan could make an impact for Donegal this year."
super footballer, have watched him a few teams for club last season, he plays with maturity well above his age and seems pretty versatile in terms of playing position too. I will be excited to see how he fairs if he does make the step up

boman11 (Antrim) - Posts: 237 - 17/01/2020 12:48:17    2260440

Replying To panamasam:  "Looking like Peader Mogan is ready to make the step up for Donegal this year. Had an excellent run with the club and has sprung physically over the past few months. Can play in numerous positions and is a very intelligent footballer. Another to mention from Donegal is Paddy Dolan. Very strong and athletic can play on either half lines. Might be a year or two too soon but no doubting his talent. As already mentioned expect Niall O'Donnell to really establish himself this year again. Hopefully along with Oisin Gallen if he recovers from injury. Donegal have a talented under 20 side this year who went under the radar at under 17. They pushed the eventual all Ireland winners all the way even missing some of their best players who were controversially taken away by the minor management the same year. Unfortunately injury will deny them Gallen and one Connor O'Donnell who is an exceptionally talented player. They do have Aaron Doherty who is certainly one to watch out for maybe more so next year."
I used the word sprung describing Peader's physical development. I think filled out better description as he is not the tallest of lads. Anyways certainly one who can make a real impact.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2781 - 17/01/2020 15:27:36    2260474

Replying To TheUsername:  "I saw a lad play for Louth last season at minor, he was incredible, i cant remember his name but he was honestly one of the best minors i had ever seen, small sample mind.

Thats really unhelpful i know, maybe one of the Louth lads can clear it up.I presume he must be touching under 20 grade, if he was Dub or any of the other S8 counties im sure there would be a big fuss about him.

Anyway a lad from Louth! ;)"
Think I saw somewhere else people talking about the same lad. Connall McCaul is the name I think.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 958 - 17/01/2020 20:55:17    2260530

Replying To Kerry15:  "Think I saw somewhere else people talking about the same lad. Connall McCaul is the name I think."
That's the lad, fair play.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 17/01/2020 22:29:09    2260538

Shane walsh will hopefully build on his remarkable debut season when as a leaving cert student he was tremendous

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/01/2020 09:02:54    2260555

The sample size might be smaller as the local championship wouldn't be the strongest, but there is a young midfielder coming through in Wexford that has all the tools to make it at the top level. Liam Coleman. He was the most consistent player on the U20 team last year that surprised a few with their displays, and dominated midfield with Rory Heffernan as Castletown won the senior championship. Tall, athletic, able to take a score and field kick-outs, at only 19 he is an exciting prospect, although this year may be too soon for him. Has suffered a couple of shoulder injuries already in his nascent career so may need to fill out first. The aforementioned Heffernan is good too, with one of the best engines I have seen coming through in years and only 20.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1416 - 18/01/2020 10:45:08    2260563

Young Players to watch out for

1 Cian Johnston Offaly - Offaly have a great tradition of inside forwards eg Tony McTeague, Matt Connor, Peter Brady, Vinny Claffey, Niall McNamee. Johnston looks like a player to carry on that tradition. A serious talent. That will be huge player for Offaly in coming years.
2 Ciaran Archer Dublin, I think he scored 9-9 from play in under 20 championship. He looks a serious talent. Could be the next quality forward Dublin produce
3 Daragh Cavanan Tyrone. His father is one of the greatest forwards of all time. But he also look quality. Another huge talent to watch out for
4 Damien Gore Cork. Cork have some good players coming through. But this guy looks a serious footballer. He scored 3-5 v kerry in McGrath cup recently. He looks a serious prospect
5 Paudie Clifford Kerry Hes David brother, but I know in kerry they r expecting big things from Paudie. Also a player to look out for 2020. Was excellent in Kerry county final
6 Shane Walsh Meath and Matthew Costello Meath

I know more about Walsh then the above.
Shane Walsh , joined the Meath panel last year after his leaving Cert in July and started his first ever game for Meath v Kerry in super 8 last August, scored 6 points , 3 from play and the kerry full back line couldnt deal with him at all. Hes 18 and the best full forward in Meath. Meath havent had a proper target man , modern full forward since Geraghty retired in 2011. Walsh is strong powerful, athletic, great finisher and freetaker , great hands and very pacey for a big guy. He will be Meaths freetaker this year and full forward and he is still only a teenager. He is a player Meath having been crying out for a long time, a proper full forward.

Meath have a few good young players, especially forwards coming through, Meath had youngest set of forwards in the super 8s with 5 forwards who were 18 or 19 or 20 years old.And when Meath played louth in the Byrne cup this year Meath had 4 forwards playing who were 19 years old. James Conlon (20), Dara Campion (20), Thomas McGovern ( 19) Ethan Devine (20) and Shane Walsh ( 18) all played in super 8s in the forwards last year and played well. But two players I think could be to watch for this year along with Shane Walsh and all 3 will probaly start v Tyrone with all the injuries Meath have currently.They are Jack O Connor at 19 years old who was top scorer in Meath club football last year and Matthew Costello.

Matthew Costello was young Meath footballer of the year last year. He captained Meath minors to leinster title. Hes only 18 , he played for Meath seniors v laois in Byrne cup last week and was man of the match. An old style centre forward , in that he has real vision. You dont see centre forwards anymore similar to Trevour Giles, Brian McGuigan and Greg Blaney, playmaking centre forwards. Im not saying he is as good them , he only 18. Im saying he similar type of centre forward style wise, has vision and is a playmaker centre forward. Another player to watch out for also in the coming years is Jordan Morris who was excellent in Meaths victory v Dublin Underr 20s last week, is serious prospect and also on the senior panel, and eveytime I see him he reminds me of Ollie Murphy. Time will tell. You never know with young players, injuries , loss of form etc. we will have to be patient with them.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 19/01/2020 06:52:14    2260699

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Young Players to watch out for

1 Cian Johnston Offaly - Offaly have a great tradition of inside forwards eg Tony McTeague, Matt Connor, Peter Brady, Vinny Claffey, Niall McNamee. Johnston looks like a player to carry on that tradition. A serious talent. That will be huge player for Offaly in coming years.
2 Ciaran Archer Dublin, I think he scored 9-9 from play in under 20 championship. He looks a serious talent. Could be the next quality forward Dublin produce
3 Daragh Cavanan Tyrone. His father is one of the greatest forwards of all time. But he also look quality. Another huge talent to watch out for
4 Damien Gore Cork. Cork have some good players coming through. But this guy looks a serious footballer. He scored 3-5 v kerry in McGrath cup recently. He looks a serious prospect
5 Paudie Clifford Kerry Hes David brother, but I know in kerry they r expecting big things from Paudie. Also a player to look out for 2020. Was excellent in Kerry county final

Shane Walsh , joined the Meath panel last year after his leaving Cert in July and started his first ever game for Meath v Kerry in super 8 last August, scored 6 points , 3 from play and the kerry full back line couldnt deal with him at all. Hes 18 and the best full forward in Meath. Meath havent had a proper target man , modern full forward since Geraghty retired in 2011. Walsh is strong powerful, athletic, great finisher and freetaker , great hands and very pacey for a big guy. He will be Meaths freetaker this year and full forward and he is still only a teenager. He is a player Meath having been crying out for a long time, a proper full forward.

Meath have a few good young players, especially forwards coming through, Meath had youngest set of forwards in the super 8s with 5 forwards who were 18 or 19 or 20 years old.And when Meath played louth in the Byrne cup this year Meath had 4 forwards playing who were 19 years old. James Conlon (20), Dara Campion (20), Thomas McGovern ( 19) Ethan Devine (20) and Shane Walsh ( 18) all played in super 8s in the forwards last year and played well. But two players I think could be to watch for this year along with Shane Walsh and all 3 will probaly start v Tyrone with all the injuries Meath have currently.They are Jack O Connor at 19 years old who was top scorer in Meath club football last year and Matthew Costello.

Matthew Costello was young Meath footballer of the year last year. He captained Meath minors to leinster title. Hes only 18 , he played for Meath seniors v laois in Byrne cup last week and was man of the match. An old style centre forward , in that he has real vision. You dont see centre forwards anymore similar to Trevour Giles, Brian McGuigan and Greg Blaney, playmaking centre forwards. Im not saying he is as good them , he only 18. Im saying he similar type of centre forward style wise, has vision and is a playmaker centre forward. Another player to watch out for also in the coming years is Jordan Morris who was excellent in Meaths victory v Dublin Underr 20s last week, is serious prospect and also on the senior panel, and eveytime I see him he reminds me of Ollie Murphy. Time will tell. You never know with young players, injuries , loss of form etc. we will have to be patient with them."
Excellent analysis as per usual furlong

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/01/2020 10:25:36    2260710

Replying To royaldunne:  "Excellent analysis as per usual furlong"
Thanks Royaldunne I appreciate it.
Offalys Johnston , Corks Gore and Dublins Archer are all serious talents to look out for. And Meaths Shane Walsh also is a serious talent. I have seen him play since he was 15 and from a young age he stood out as a player to watch out for Meath. A player we have been crying out for years. A proper modern full forward. It looks like he will be our freetaker this year also.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 19/01/2020 20:11:22    2260899

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Thanks Royaldunne I appreciate it.
Offalys Johnston , Corks Gore and Dublins Archer are all serious talents to look out for. And Meaths Shane Walsh also is a serious talent. I have seen him play since he was 15 and from a young age he stood out as a player to watch out for Meath. A player we have been crying out for years. A proper modern full forward. It looks like he will be our freetaker this year also."
If you are mentioning those 3 in particular Furlong all pretty well known and not under the radar then Oisin Gallen has to be close to top of any of those lists. Under twenty this year but will probably miss that championship through injury which is a shame. Could not play in it last year either cause of that ridiculous rule.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2781 - 20/01/2020 02:14:07    2260982

Replying To Kerry15:  "Think I saw somewhere else people talking about the same lad. Connall McCaul is the name I think."
I have seen that McCaul lad a few times - a serious talent with a maturity on the pitch that belies his age.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 20/01/2020 21:45:30    2261221

Oisin Mullin the standout youngster so far, sounds like he'll be off to Australia though later on this year.

Finnerty done ok and think there's more to come from him, Tierney doesn't look physically ready just yet.

TheBishop (Galway) - Posts: 260 - 03/03/2020 17:14:48    2272012

Well you can add Cathal Sweeney from Salthill to that list
A modern attacking wing back regularly scores
He Iis on the U20 Galway team

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 03/03/2020 17:27:01    2272016

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Thanks Royaldunne I appreciate it.
Offalys Johnston , Corks Gore and Dublins Archer are all serious talents to look out for. And Meaths Shane Walsh also is a serious talent. I have seen him play since he was 15 and from a young age he stood out as a player to watch out for Meath. A player we have been crying out for years. A proper modern full forward. It looks like he will be our freetaker this year also."
Furlong, , Cian Johnson was replaced v Cork, and was a sub in the last 4 Offaly games. I would like to see him get more game time, as he is a talented footballer. His namesake Cian Farrell, is injured at the moment, he was a key member of the Carlow IT team beaten in the Sigerson Cup Final.
Both of them will be a huge addition to John Maughan and Offaly, we could do with a few scoring forwards.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1740 - 03/03/2020 19:14:03    2272038

Replying To TheBishop:  "Oisin Mullin the standout youngster so far, sounds like he'll be off to Australia though later on this year.

Finnerty done ok and think there's more to come from him, Tierney doesn't look physically ready just yet."
It'd be an awful loss to Mayo if they lost to Mullin. He looks to be a fantastic footballer, did as good as anyone could on Clifford on Sunday.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 958 - 03/03/2020 22:49:02    2272082

Replying To rhudson:  "Well you can add Cathal Sweeney from Salthill to that list
A modern attacking wing back regularly scores
He Iis on the U20 Galway team"
Wonderful talent and probably one of the best 4 or 5 players I've seen at minor level the last 2 years but he's not going to be involved with Galway this year and is still underage for the 20's next year.

TheBishop (Galway) - Posts: 260 - 04/03/2020 09:08:57    2272114

From Monaghan - it's Aaron Mulligan. He's still 18 I think. But one of the best attacking talents to emerge from Monaghan in a very long time. Not the tallest or quickest and at this moment still quite slight. I seen someone describe him as looking like he's just done his confirmation ! Instead he gets by using his razor sharp football brain. The lad's positional sense, decision making and ability to think one step ahead of his opponents is amazing. He's also very accurate.As a minor in 2018 (when Mongahan won the ulster title and came very close to beating Kerry) he scored 3-24 from 6 games, but only 7 of those scores were frees. He's already scored against Galway and Tyrone in the NFL. Just a phenomenal talent.

sleater (Monaghan) - Posts: 151 - 04/03/2020 09:35:57    2272119

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Young Players to watch out for

Matthew Costello was young Meath footballer of the year last year. He captained Meath minors to leinster title. Hes only 18 , he played for Meath seniors v laois in Byrne cup last week and was man of the match. An old style centre forward , in that he has real vision. You dont see centre forwards anymore similar to Trevour Giles, Brian McGuigan and Greg Blaney, playmaking centre forwards. Im not saying he is as good them , he only 18. Im saying he similar type of centre forward style wise, has vision and is a playmaker centre forward. Another player to watch out for also in the coming years is Jordan Morris who was excellent in Meaths victory v Dublin Underr 20s last week, is serious prospect and also on the senior panel, and eveytime I see him he reminds me of Ollie Murphy. Time will tell. You never know with young players, injuries , loss of form etc. we will have to be patient with them."
Johnson of Offaly is injured?

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 04/03/2020 09:55:17    2272124