Government Sport Funding

Replying To Soma:  "The IRFU refused to meet with a group of politicians from the West who wanted to discuss the Sportsground development. Worked out well for them in the end as the taxpayer is now funding 2/3 of the cost of the redevelopment, which is a far greater percentage than any other similar development I can think of, but that seems to me to be the IRFU showing contempt for the people of Connacht and the general taxpayer."
Lack of specifics there, what group of politicians & when.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 15/01/2020 20:00:36    2260077

Replying To MesAmis:  "The real issue for me is the amount of money given to Horse Racing and Greyhound Racing over the years.

Never understood it."
I often wondered this myself until I started reading a couple of articles on it. The HRI supports a huge amount of jobs in Ireland and generates a lot of money for the economy too. It's something that we are naturally good at in this country.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/racing-industry-worth-over-18bn-to-economy-report-458568.html

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 15/01/2020 20:06:56    2260078

Replying To MesAmis:  "The real issue for me is the amount of money given to Horse Racing and Greyhound Racing over the years.

Never understood it."
Even worse all the tax breaks it gets despite being a huge moneymaker that does little or nothing in terms of promoting fitness or underage sports

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 15/01/2020 20:07:21    2260079

Replying To moc.dna:  "Lack of specifics there, what group of politicians & when."
Sean Kyne the Chief Whip and Galway West TD was on the radio today justifying such a large % of the development being funded by the taxpayer and it was he who confirmed this. According to Kyne the IRFU CEO refused to meet himself and other TDs from the West to discuss the development, or to give assurances that the IRFU would provide the funding needed for the development. Thankfully the government have now stumped up €20m for the development by the Connacht branch, which works out at about €1m per rugby club in Connacht. With all the businessmen you know also pumping money into rugby in Connacht there could be some superstar signings on the way there.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 15/01/2020 21:01:38    2260084

Replying To moc.dna:  "In fairness to Connacht Rugby, the professional way they went about their business in announcing, planning, consultations with the local community & business, their financial plan, their approach to Govt was very very professional. They did their homework well. Connacht Rugby have harnessed massive funding from the Galway & Connacht business community as they are seen to be accountable & doing things well by the business community. I know many business people who are all from big GAA backgrounds who no longer have any involvement with local GAA as they have experienced the rot that is there & they are now involved in going to & funding Connacht Rugby. Contrast this to events in Galway GAA where financial irregularities, which still hasn't seen the full exposure & numerous bad news stories within the organisation are the norm. Galway GAA's first approach to seeking planning for floodlighting at Pearse Stadium was a classic example of the difference in organisation, look it up online, it beggared belief at the time. Add in the whole Pairc Ui Chaoimh fiasco where three different final figures were given & the recent reports that the full figures in Cork weren't presented to the delegates, GAA people have to acknowledge that there is total incompetence in the way they approach planning, launching, funding & most of all controlling financing of capital infrastructure projects within the GAA. There are so many stories currently around GAA, the whole fiasco in Mayo with the sponsors money, Mc Hale Park redevelopment, the mess in Galway, Pairc Ui Chaoimh, Casement Park, it's endless. If an organisation comes in & approaches Govt or local authorities & is professional in the way they carry out their due diligence then they deserve the money. The GAA deserve nothing at present as they aren't capable of running capital infrastructural projects. As for whose the most deserving volunteers, come on your a smart guy & good poster, that is just deflection. You should be pointing your finger at those in Croke Park who are responsible, they wouldn't even concede to ye playing your games in Nowlan Park or nearby & made your supporters travel all over the country, that decision showed contempt for the people of Waterford, they are the people you need to direct your ire towards."
Well said. I wish I could give two 'thumbs up'.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2458 - 15/01/2020 21:35:48    2260091

Replying To Wally:  "We get ol Lizzy to pay for ours up here."
Gawd bless 'er.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2458 - 15/01/2020 21:38:05    2260092

Replying To Wally:  "We get ol Lizzy to pay for ours up here."
Well she'll have a few quid to spare now that one of the freeloadin grandkids has gone off to Canada to get a bit of work

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 15/01/2020 21:52:47    2260093

Replying To Soma:  "Sean Kyne the Chief Whip and Galway West TD was on the radio today justifying such a large % of the development being funded by the taxpayer and it was he who confirmed this. According to Kyne the IRFU CEO refused to meet himself and other TDs from the West to discuss the development, or to give assurances that the IRFU would provide the funding needed for the development. Thankfully the government have now stumped up €20m for the development by the Connacht branch, which works out at about €1m per rugby club in Connacht. With all the businessmen you know also pumping money into rugby in Connacht there could be some superstar signings on the way there."
The number of clubs in connacht has nothing to do with this funding. It's completely irrelevant.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3509 - 15/01/2020 22:35:41    2260104

Replying To Hawkeye9212:  "Walsh Park is not more important."
Your opinion.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 16/01/2020 00:27:15    2260113

Replying To cavanman47:  "And Meath have just magic'd up the money for Pairc Tailteann I suppose??"
And I hope they do not change their name to Kingspan!.. Lots of county venue changing their county ground names for a few bob

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 16/01/2020 00:30:38    2260114

Replying To Canuck:  "Like I said not defending the CB totally and have no time for the east west separate boards. However there as many people as any other county who have diligently served the CB and the sport. The reality is there and has been limited funds available to do improvements with the emphasis on keep head above water. Walsh Park is tired now but has been refurbished twice in my life time. It is one of the best playing surfaces in the country. Its remains to be seen if that will be the same after renovation. It would not surprise me if many who comment on it have never been inside the gates. It is easy throe stones. When we were growing up playing juvenile getting to play a county final there was like going to Croke Park. You are correct to the people of Waterford there is no comparison between the Showgrounds and Walsh Park. Good luck to the Showgrounds but no apologies here for which one is more important.
With regards funding, may be all funding (tax payers money) should be suspending until people living and dying on the streets stop. No beds in hospitals and staffing shortages fixed. All this money would put many people in homes and take care of health. These are the important things in life and once corrected star funding other non essential projects."
Maybe if we had more people playing sport we would ned less garda on the streets, less prisons and less hospital care as exercise and fresh are two of the most important aspect of good health- a very significant saving. You need to look outside the box!! And the extra 1.5billion being spent/wasted on a hospital in a brown-filed site which is difficult to access and exit would solve a lot of the problems you have listed.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 16/01/2020 00:37:20    2260117

Replying To moc.dna:  "In fairness to Connacht Rugby, the professional way they went about their business in announcing, planning, consultations with the local community & business, their financial plan, their approach to Govt was very very professional. They did their homework well. Connacht Rugby have harnessed massive funding from the Galway & Connacht business community as they are seen to be accountable & doing things well by the business community. I know many business people who are all from big GAA backgrounds who no longer have any involvement with local GAA as they have experienced the rot that is there & they are now involved in going to & funding Connacht Rugby. Contrast this to events in Galway GAA where financial irregularities, which still hasn't seen the full exposure & numerous bad news stories within the organisation are the norm. Galway GAA's first approach to seeking planning for floodlighting at Pearse Stadium was a classic example of the difference in organisation, look it up online, it beggared belief at the time. Add in the whole Pairc Ui Chaoimh fiasco where three different final figures were given & the recent reports that the full figures in Cork weren't presented to the delegates, GAA people have to acknowledge that there is total incompetence in the way they approach planning, launching, funding & most of all controlling financing of capital infrastructure projects within the GAA. There are so many stories currently around GAA, the whole fiasco in Mayo with the sponsors money, Mc Hale Park redevelopment, the mess in Galway, Pairc Ui Chaoimh, Casement Park, it's endless. If an organisation comes in & approaches Govt or local authorities & is professional in the way they carry out their due diligence then they deserve the money. The GAA deserve nothing at present as they aren't capable of running capital infrastructural projects. As for whose the most deserving volunteers, come on your a smart guy & good poster, that is just deflection. You should be pointing your finger at those in Croke Park who are responsible, they wouldn't even concede to ye playing your games in Nowlan Park or nearby & made your supporters travel all over the country, that decision showed contempt for the people of Waterford, they are the people you need to direct your ire towards."
The Munster council blocked the playing of our games in Nowlan Park. With Kerry voting against despite not been involved in the Munster championship. Limerick and Clare also. Cork and Tip in fairness voted in favour. The council leaders I believe also had a vote so in essence some counties had two votes.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 16/01/2020 00:38:19    2260118

Replying To Breezy:  "Well she'll have a few quid to spare now that one of the freeloadin grandkids has gone off to Canada to get a bit of work"
You're right. We will make the most of it until a united Ireland happens.

Then I assume you guys down there know the craic. You have to fund our free loading asses until the end of time?

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 16/01/2020 07:26:24    2260124

At the end of the day there are more than enough GAA stadiums in this country, the majority of which lie idle most of the time, and will rarely if ever be filled. To pick on Connacht rugby is pathetic, and what Connacht rugby have achieved over the last ten or 15 years is staggering, particularly when one considers that the IRFU were looking to shut down Connacht rugby in 2003. So personally I was delighted to see Connacht Rugby get their grant, not to mention that unlike most GAA grounds, the Sportsground will be used for other sports.

gilly1910 (Galway) - Posts: 170 - 16/01/2020 09:38:21    2260134

I just wonder would it be more sensible for Connacht Rugby and Galway share Pearse Stadium, it would benefit Galway with Connacht paying rent

DuhallowRed (Cork) - Posts: 268 - 16/01/2020 11:12:25    2260155

I've often wondered why we have not invested in an indoor stadium or 2 in this country....the weather is absolute crap most of the year.

And before someone mentions the Prenty Bowel in Bekan which is currently being built, vanity project yes and money would have been better spent elsewhere but it will be interesting to see it in operation.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 16/01/2020 12:05:41    2260168

Replying To DuhallowRed:  "I just wonder would it be more sensible for Connacht Rugby and Galway share Pearse Stadium, it would benefit Galway with Connacht paying rent"
The Sportsground is a great location and gets plenty of use. IMO (and I am a dreamer) I would have loved to see a roof on it and it being used for even more stuff. I hope it doesn't lose its atmosphere..... even though it is a bit of a kip it is great craic and u are right on the pitch. Delighted the re development is only to 12000 capacity. Nothing like a full stadium.

Pearse stadium could learn a bit about match day experience from them. Easy get food, coffee, a pint etc. Good day out.

I agree with sharing facilities where possible but i don't think it is viable in Galway. In any case we should probably be selling Pearse (can of worms just opened!) and re investing in Tuam. What are the dimensions of a GAA pitch v a rugby pitch. Could you play GAA in the Sportsground i.e. would it fit?

On the general topic, sport is way underfunded in this country. Sport addresses so many of society's ills before they become ills. But i think that is the problem, too many uneducated key board warriors make statements like why are u spending on sport when we have crime or homelessness etc. Money spent on sport helps avoid issues into the future..... but from a political point of view it is much more advantageous to be seen putting a fire out than doing the boring stuff like proper integrated planning for society into the future.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 16/01/2020 12:18:02    2260172

There is a good atmosphere at the sportsground to be fair, I was there a month ago when Munster were facing Connacht

DuhallowRed (Cork) - Posts: 268 - 16/01/2020 17:06:11    2260266

Replying To Mayonman:  "The Sportsground is a great location and gets plenty of use. IMO (and I am a dreamer) I would have loved to see a roof on it and it being used for even more stuff. I hope it doesn't lose its atmosphere..... even though it is a bit of a kip it is great craic and u are right on the pitch. Delighted the re development is only to 12000 capacity. Nothing like a full stadium.

Pearse stadium could learn a bit about match day experience from them. Easy get food, coffee, a pint etc. Good day out.

I agree with sharing facilities where possible but i don't think it is viable in Galway. In any case we should probably be selling Pearse (can of worms just opened!) and re investing in Tuam. What are the dimensions of a GAA pitch v a rugby pitch. Could you play GAA in the Sportsground i.e. would it fit?

On the general topic, sport is way underfunded in this country. Sport addresses so many of society's ills before they become ills. But i think that is the problem, too many uneducated key board warriors make statements like why are u spending on sport when we have crime or homelessness etc. Money spent on sport helps avoid issues into the future..... but from a political point of view it is much more advantageous to be seen putting a fire out than doing the boring stuff like proper integrated planning for society into the future."
I love my sport and a key board warrior who would suggest that funding our sport is the answer to them loosing their job, sleeping in a card board box and and eating in a soup kitchen is ridiculous. All funding for any project is politically motivated. Those unfortunates are not in a position to avail of these facilities. Try asking them how they think this funding will help them ?
I am pleased Walsh Park is getting refurbished but do not see it as a priority over what is going on with the Hospital in Waterford.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 16/01/2020 18:20:05    2260281

Replying To DuhallowRed:  "There is a good atmosphere at the sportsground to be fair, I was there a month ago when Munster were facing Connacht"
Yes & you can walk down the town in 5 mins & have your choice of car parks, cafes, pubs, restaurants, hotels, night life, shopping, public transport & many of these places are sponsoring Connacht Rugby or the players, so they are unlikely to upset them & move. It wouldn't suit them to move to Pearse Stadium, no floodlights (look that one up & the history of planning cock ups) It had been floated many times but there are a lot of very bitter people who would die if they saw Rugby or Soccer in Pearse Stadium ( look up An Ceathru Rua hosting a European game & why) & of course it came to nothing. When they sold five year tickets for Pearse Stadium after its last refurbishment they promised clubs & supporters lots of things that never materialised. I bought two & yet we couldn't even get to play club finals in the ground. I now spend my money on a rugby season ticket & the difference is massive. You get what they say you get, I would never again invest my money in anything involving the GAA, riddled with politics & liars.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 16/01/2020 18:28:52    2260282