Iconic Scores

Gooch's goal against Cork in the 2007 allireland final.

Stars 2 goals against Cork in the 2007 allireland final.

Stars goal against Armagh in 2006 allireland quarter final.

jOD's goal in the 2014 drawn semifinal against Mayo.

king David's goal v Monaghan in last years super 8s.

Stars goal v Donegal in the 14 final .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/11/2019 10:07:27    2248717

Replying To Galwaymaster9:  "Noel lanes goal in the 88 all Ireland final v Tipp
Ja Fallon's super sidelined bomb v Kildare 1998
Derek Savage top corner goal v Mayo in 1998.
Padhraig Brogans goal top corner v Dublin in 199?"
I remember Lane's goal so well. I was at that game, and had a great view of it.

We'd an AI man living in the parish at the time. He was a proud Tipp man, but great craic. AI for the benefit of those who may not know is a farming term meaning artificial insemination. Back then, you'd leave a note at the creamery for the AI man to collect, and he'd go to your farm and bull the cow; not personally, but artificially!

The Monday afternoon after the 1988 final, he arrived into my place, and showing me a note says, see what some quick-wit left me this morning: "Three cows bulling, the fields of Athenry, Noel Lane."

He was a great Tipp man, with a great attitude. God rest him now.

shoulderghost (Limerick) - Posts: 863 - 09/11/2019 11:13:51    2248733

From a Dublin Perspective:

1. Stephen Cluxtons winning point Kerry 2011 - Have a framed blown up picture of this above my bed at home. On of the most iconic Irish sporting moments of all time.
2. Kevin Mc's goal v Kerry 2011 - The ground shook!!!!!
3. Kevin Mcs goal v Kerry 2013 - He's only gone and done it again!!!
4. Diarmuid Connollys point v Kerry 2016 - A thing of beauty, outrageous score. Took the ball on the run and curved it over with his ''weak foot'' all in one move. Poetry in motion.
5. Dean Rock winning point v Mayo 2017 - Even the GPS couldn't stop him.
6. Dean Rock equalizing point v Kerry (drawn final 2019) - Possible the most important point ever taken, the Drive for Five was still alive!!
7. Alan Brogan point v Kerry 2015 Final - What a way to finish his career.

Against Dublin

1. Maurice Fitz sideline point QF 2001 - one of the best points you'll ever see.
2. Ciaran McDonalds winning point SF 2006 - I cried that day
3. Owen Mulligans goal QF 2005 - Arguably the best goal ever witnessed in Croke Park.
4. Gooch's first minute goal QF 2009 - The feeling i got when went the ball hit the back of the net. I knew that was that.
5. Ray Cosgrove Hitting the bar with last minute free v Armagh SF 2002 - Ok its not a ''score'' but an ''iconic moment'' etched in the memory. Heart breaking stuff

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 09/11/2019 11:32:39    2248739

In no particular order:
Maurice Fitz's sideline
David Clifford's goal vs Monaghan
James O'Donoghue's goal drawn game 2014
Mikey Sheehy's lob

Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 957 - 09/11/2019 12:23:59    2248745

Replying To Kerry15:  "In no particular order:
Maurice Fitz's sideline
David Clifford's goal vs Monaghan
James O'Donoghue's goal drawn game 2014
Mikey Sheehy's lob"
Forgot Sheehy's goal I was only 3 at the time but it was s classic for sure.

Not many people will remember this but Marc O' Sé's equalising point In the Munster semifinal replay in PUC in 2010 was savage, it took the game to extra time which we won by a point , that was one of the greatest games of football Iv ever seen.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/11/2019 13:31:07    2248756

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "From a Dublin Perspective:

1. Stephen Cluxtons winning point Kerry 2011 - Have a framed blown up picture of this above my bed at home. On of the most iconic Irish sporting moments of all time.
4. Diarmuid Connollys point v Kerry 2016 - A thing of beauty, outrageous score. Took the ball on the run and curved it over with his ''weak foot'' all in one move. Poetry in motion.
6. Dean Rock equalizing point v Kerry (drawn final 2019) - Possible the most important point ever taken, the Drive for Five was still alive!!

Against Dublin

1. Maurice Fitz sideline point QF 2001 - one of the best points you'll ever see.
3. Owen Mulligans goal QF 2005 - Arguably the best goal ever witnessed in Croke Park.
4. Gooch's first minute goal QF 2009 - The feeling i got when went the ball hit the back of the net. I knew that was that.
5. Ray Cosgrove Hitting the bar with last minute free v Armagh SF 2002 - Ok its not a ''score'' but an ''iconic moment'' etched in the memory. Heart breaking stuff"
Forgot about Gooch's 2009 goal. Defo an iconic score against the Dubs.

A lot of people were tipping us to beat Kerry that day but that goal was such a slap down and assertion of Kerry's dominance!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 09/11/2019 14:29:50    2248764

Brian Murphy's goal versus Meath in 98 leinster final.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 09/11/2019 14:59:23    2248770

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "From a Dublin Perspective:

Against Dublin

5. Ray Cosgrove Hitting the bar with last minute free v Armagh SF 2002 - Ok its not a ''score'' but an ''iconic moment'' etched in the memory. Heart breaking stuff"
What he said! Nothing will ever surpass Kev Mcs goal v Kerry in 2011. I've never experienced anything like it. A pure sickner for Kerry. We've had plenty of them ourselves down the years. That day was special.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 09/11/2019 15:11:24    2248771

1. Seamus Darby v Kerry 1982. (Iconic goal that will be remembered forever.)
2. Johnny Flaherty v Galway 1981. (hand passed goal that helped Offaly with their first hurling All Ireland)
3. Johnny Dooley v Limerick 1984. (His goal from a free saw the start of a miraculous comeback.)
4. John Troy v Antrim 1998. (Amazing piece of skill.)
5. John Troy v Cork 1999, (With Brian Corcoran about to drive the sliothar down the field, Troy plucked the sliothar from the air and scored a point.)

Goatsucker (Offaly) - Posts: 265 - 09/11/2019 15:47:34    2248778

Wouldn't call these iconic Meath scores but just one's I personally enjoyed and my not be as well remembered:

1. Graham Geraghty's point v Dublin 05 - the great man got the ball on the end line at the canal end, turned, took on the shot from a near impossible angle on his weaker left foot and put the ball over the bar, outstanding score.

2. Joe Sheridan point v Westmeath 09 - I'd say not many people know about this score. We were playing Westmeath in the Qualifiers in Cusack Park, the ball broke around the Westmeath 45m line and Joe just let rip at the ball on the ground and drove it over the bar. Ok so bascially it was like a 45, but the difference wad it was scored from open play which you don't see too often especially from that distance.

3. Ollie Murphy's equalizing goal v Westmeath 01 (AI QF) - he'd broken Westmeath hearts with a goal in the Leinster championship 2 months prior, then he done it again in the All-Ireland QF to draw the match. Westmeath had led the whole way through, at one point 1-3 to 0-0, and 3-7 to 1-6 at HT. With only a few minutes remaining Westmeath were holding on 3-9 to 1-12, Geraghty passed the ball to Murphy near the edge of the square, Ollie turned and falling over managed to swing a left boot at it to hit the net and draw the game.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 09/11/2019 16:17:08    2248788

Replying To Goatsucker:  "1. Seamus Darby v Kerry 1982. (Iconic goal that will be remembered forever.)
2. Johnny Flaherty v Galway 1981. (hand passed goal that helped Offaly with their first hurling All Ireland)
3. Johnny Dooley v Limerick 1984. (His goal from a free saw the start of a miraculous comeback.)
4. John Troy v Antrim 1998. (Amazing piece of skill.)
5. John Troy v Cork 1999, (With Brian Corcoran about to drive the sliothar down the field, Troy plucked the sliothar from the air and scored a point.)"
Johnny Dooley 1994

Goatsucker (Offaly) - Posts: 265 - 09/11/2019 16:45:34    2248794

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Gooch's goal against Cork in the 2007 allireland final.

Stars 2 goals against Cork in the 2007 allireland final.

Stars goal against Armagh in 2006 allireland quarter final.

jOD's goal in the 2014 drawn semifinal against Mayo.

king David's goal v Monaghan in last years super 8s.

Stars goal v Donegal in the 14 final ."
Donaghy's goal in the 2014 final haunts me to this day. I've never watched that final back in its entirety. I tried to one evening, got as far as Papa's unfortunate kick out and just had to switch it off.

Sickening.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 09/11/2019 19:30:48    2248817

Replying To Goatsucker:  "Johnny Dooley 1994"
Ciaran Carey's point V Clare '96

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 09/11/2019 20:22:54    2248822

Paul Flynn's goal from 45 yds out against Cork. The goal was lined and Donal Og could only look at it sail into the top corner. Flynn could put the ball in your ear.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 09/11/2019 23:06:12    2248834

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Ciaran Carey's point V Clare '96"
I've been trying to think of an iconic Limerick score from 2018 but can't think of of an individual one that stands out. Maybe the 3 against Kilkenny after the late goal or Dowling putting a bit of breathing space between usthe final but the big moments that come to mind for me were 2 almost scores Quiads stealing the sliotar straight off Kingston's Hurley and Joe dropping it short with the last play in the final

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 10/11/2019 00:18:08    2248838

Replying To Htaem:  "Wouldn't call these iconic Meath scores but just one's I personally enjoyed and my not be as well remembered:

1. Graham Geraghty's point v Dublin 05 - the great man got the ball on the end line at the canal end, turned, took on the shot from a near impossible angle on his weaker left foot and put the ball over the bar, outstanding score.

2. Joe Sheridan point v Westmeath 09 - I'd say not many people know about this score. We were playing Westmeath in the Qualifiers in Cusack Park, the ball broke around the Westmeath 45m line and Joe just let rip at the ball on the ground and drove it over the bar. Ok so bascially it was like a 45, but the difference wad it was scored from open play which you don't see too often especially from that distance.

3. Ollie Murphy's equalizing goal v Westmeath 01 (AI QF) - he'd broken Westmeath hearts with a goal in the Leinster championship 2 months prior, then he done it again in the All-Ireland QF to draw the match. Westmeath had led the whole way through, at one point 1-3 to 0-0, and 3-7 to 1-6 at HT. With only a few minutes remaining Westmeath were holding on 3-9 to 1-12, Geraghty passed the ball to Murphy near the edge of the square, Ollie turned and falling over managed to swing a left boot at it to hit the net and draw the game."
Jesus I remember them all. Fantastic scores as I remember. Sherridans in particular as it was a downpour and the ball was skipping off the water on the ground. And it was near the sideline on stand side. (I remember it so clearly as that's where I was sitting geraghty point was one of the best scores in Croke park ever, Never got the recognition it deserved.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/11/2019 09:31:59    2248847

1. Cluxton's winning point against Kerry in 2011. The 'kick'. The score that started a dynasty.

2. Connolly's go ahead point against Kerry in 2016 semi. Pure class off his left foot.

3. Dean Rock's equilizer against Kerry in 1st final this year. The most important score in GAA history. The score that kept the 5 alive.

4. Jack McCaffrey's goal in 1st final this year. Summed up all that makes this Dublin team the greatest in GAA history. Pin point accurate kick from Cluxton. Great catch from Howard. Perfect passes from Kilkenny and Scully and a sublime finish from Jack. Pure class.

fingalman (Dublin) - Posts: 233 - 10/11/2019 10:37:05    2248848

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Donaghy's goal in the 2014 final haunts me to this day. I've never watched that final back in its entirety. I tried to one evening, got as far as Papa's unfortunate kick out and just had to switch it off.

Sickening."
Sorry to bring that one up lock jaw but it was such a big goal for us, we were never going to score 12/13 points against that Donegal defense so goals were going to be crucial and thankfully from our point of view we managed to get 2 .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/11/2019 11:15:20    2248851

Replying To royaldunne:  "Jesus I remember them all. Fantastic scores as I remember. Sherridans in particular as it was a downpour and the ball was skipping off the water on the ground. And it was near the sideline on stand side. (I remember it so clearly as that's where I was sitting geraghty point was one of the best scores in Croke park ever, Never got the recognition it deserved."
Ye Sheridan's point was unique, I honestly haven't seen anything like it before or since, but given it happened in a low key qualifier it's not well known at all.

It's amazing Westmeath didn't beat us in 2001, they had us badly on the ropes in Leinster and the All-Ireland QF only for Ollie Murphy to break their hearts on both occasions. We were actually 2-6 to 0-3 down at one stage in the AI QF, but that was a great Meath team, loaded with talent and character, very hard to beat. Of course Westmeath would get their revenge in 2015 amd fairplay to them, it was long overdue.

We'll save the fine wine till last, Graham Geraghty, what a player, not a lot needs to be said, if only we had him now!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 10/11/2019 16:05:00    2248882

Replying To Htaem:  "Ye Sheridan's point was unique, I honestly haven't seen anything like it before or since, but given it happened in a low key qualifier it's not well known at all.

It's amazing Westmeath didn't beat us in 2001, they had us badly on the ropes in Leinster and the All-Ireland QF only for Ollie Murphy to break their hearts on both occasions. We were actually 2-6 to 0-3 down at one stage in the AI QF, but that was a great Meath team, loaded with talent and character, very hard to beat. Of course Westmeath would get their revenge in 2015 amd fairplay to them, it was long overdue.

We'll save the fine wine till last, Graham Geraghty, what a player, not a lot needs to be said, if only we had him now!"
If only we could clone him. Lol

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/11/2019 16:59:55    2248890