Munster SFC draw 2020: Kerry v Cork in the semi-final!

Munster fairness! Kerry and Cork receive a bye to the semi-finals as 2019 finalists but can draw each other at that stage. So it transpires, Munster 2020:

QF. Waterford v Limerick
QF. Clare v Tipperary

SF. Waterford/Limerick v Clare/Tipperary
SF. Kerry v Cork.

Reminder: Kerry won the 2019 Munster Championship without any game in Killarney!

PS. The loser of Kerry v Cork will start out in the 2021 Munster Quarter-finals. Fairness all around.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7842 - 08/10/2019 08:31:46    2241971

Replying To legendzxix:  "Munster fairness! Kerry and Cork receive a bye to the semi-finals as 2019 finalists but can draw each other at that stage. So it transpires, Munster 2020:

QF. Waterford v Limerick
QF. Clare v Tipperary

SF. Kerry v Cork.

Reminder: Kerry won the 2019 Munster Championship without any game in Killarney!

PS. The loser of Kerry v Cork will start out in the 2021 Munster Quarter-finals. Fairness all around."
Yah, that'll make for an unpredictable outcome again.
That's fair all round lad alright.You keep telling yourself that and It'll all be grand.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 08/10/2019 10:59:46    2242006

Replying To catch22:  "Yah, that'll make for an unpredictable outcome again.
That's fair all round lad alright.You keep telling yourself that and It'll all be grand."
So what is your solution??

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 263 - 08/10/2019 11:54:10    2242023

Replying To Aibrean:  "So what is your solution??"
Let you start by stopping to pretend that there is any real competition to be won. There isn't and rarely has been. Ye are kidding nobody lad.
Getting rid of this provincial joke would be a start and the sooner the better than this constant farce .

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 08/10/2019 12:59:19    2242037

82 Munster titles coming up!! Calling it a championship or even a competition is farcical. There's as much interest in the big ball in Munster as there is in water polo in the Sahara. Disband the Munster Football Championship and merge it with Connaught. Call it the South West Championship or something. These strolls to facile victories year after year have damaged football irreparably in that region. Kerry won't complain of course as it has always been the easy path to AI gold but for the sake of the sport something has to be done and merging these provinces makes sense.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 08/10/2019 13:16:32    2242041

He doesn't do solutions bud.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/10/2019 14:39:04    2242063

Replying To legendzxix:  "Munster fairness! Kerry and Cork receive a bye to the semi-finals as 2019 finalists but can draw each other at that stage. So it transpires, Munster 2020:

QF. Waterford v Limerick
QF. Clare v Tipperary

SF. Kerry v Cork.

PS. The loser of Kerry v Cork will start out in the 2021 Munster Quarter-finals. Fairness all around."
Stop your nonsense , Waterford , Tipp , Limerick havnt won a Munster in over a 100 years , fairness whats fair in 81 Munsters titles for Kerry , scrap this farce of Munster it's gone on for far to long .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 08/10/2019 17:08:13    2242108

Replying To superbluedub:  "Stop your nonsense , Waterford , Tipp , Limerick havnt won a Munster in over a 100 years , fairness whats fair in 81 Munsters titles for Kerry , scrap this farce of Munster it's gone on for far to long ."
Kerry won the Munster Championship without a game in Killarney. Former Dublin players say the dogs on the street understand Dublin's Croke Park advantage.
Kerry 1/8 games in Killarney.
Dublin 7/9 games in Croke Park.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7842 - 08/10/2019 17:53:17    2242121

Replying To legendzxix:  "Kerry won the Munster Championship without a game in Killarney. Former Dublin players say the dogs on the street understand Dublin's Croke Park advantage.
Dublin 7/9 games in Croke Park."
And have still won 81 Munster Football titles in a Hurling province, yet Kerry claim it is a competitive football province. Ye are embarrassing yourselves lads. Go and grab a kit kat.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 08/10/2019 18:41:59    2242140

Replying To legendzxix:  "Kerry won the Munster Championship without a game in Killarney. Former Dublin players say the dogs on the street understand Dublin's Croke Park advantage.
That's it exactly, in every sport in the world home advantage is massive but people on here still try to dispute it or brush it under the carpet.

And then if you add to that the population advantages and 18 times more money then the next nearest big county you see what everyone else is up against.

Maybe we need a top economist to come on here and explain this, maybe then it'l catch on.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/10/2019 18:48:32    2242142

The reality is two many inferior teams and will become more inferior as the money is taking over. Counties wasting their money and players not interested in representing. The big counties can support both.
Scrap the useless league and provincial championships. Make two equal groups with the top two going to semi finals. The counties who do not have football or hurling teams allow them to play in inter county club championship.
Football: Kerry, Cork, Dublin Meath, Kildare, Galway, Roscommon, Mayo, Sligo, Leitrim,Donegal, Longford, Louth, Wicklow, Down, Derry, Armagh, Tyrone, Fermanagh, Monaghan, Cavan.
Hurling: Dublin,Wexford,Kilkenny, Galway,Tiperary, Waterford, Cork, Clare, Limerick, Antrim.
Optional choice: Carlow, Laois, Westhmeath, Offaly, London, New York.
I am feeling the knives already.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 08/10/2019 19:10:18    2242146

Fair play for making the case against the competition in Munster. Really highlights just how much hurling is the real game there.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 08/10/2019 19:11:34    2242147

Replying To Joxer:  "82 Munster titles coming up!! Calling it a championship or even a competition is farcical. There's as much interest in the big ball in Munster as there is in water polo in the Sahara. Disband the Munster Football Championship and merge it with Connaught. Call it the South West Championship or something. These strolls to facile victories year after year have damaged football irreparably in that region. Kerry won't complain of course as it has always been the easy path to AI gold but for the sake of the sport something has to be done and merging these provinces makes sense."
But of course nothing wrong at Leinster or All Ireland level?
As the OP said at least Kerry are drawn away from home in our province.
And there's hardly a world of difference in terms of what the likes of the Kerry GAA the Cork GAA, the TIPP and Limerick GAA have in the warchest.

But no sure we're the big danger for the future viability of inter county football :D

P.S you obviously know nothing about the interest in football in plenty of Munster by your comments. You'd be well to remember that just because a place doesn't have too much of a winning tradition, it doesn't mean it doesn't have A TRADITION.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 08/10/2019 19:27:43    2242153

Replying To Fionn:  "And have still won 81 Munster Football titles in a Hurling province, yet Kerry claim it is a competitive football province. Ye are embarrassing yourselves lads. Go and grab a kit kat."
Tipperary have made the All-Ireland semi-finals. Clare and Limerick have made the All-Ireland quarter-finals.

Kerry and Dublin both have good provincial records. Kerry win with fair venue equity.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7842 - 08/10/2019 19:49:31    2242156

QF. Waterford v Limerick
QF. Clare v Tipperary

SF. Kerry v Cork.

Fairness for whom? It just means that Waterford/Limerick/Clare/Tipp will get a pasting in the Munster final as opposed to the semi final of the the "competition" that is the Munster Championship.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 08/10/2019 21:07:51    2242179

Replying To legendzxix:  "Tipperary have made the All-Ireland semi-finals. Clare and Limerick have made the All-Ireland quarter-finals.

Kerry and Dublin both have good provincial records. Kerry win with fair venue equity."
All fine achievements no doubt, still doesn't change the fact about them not having a cat in hells chance of winning Munster.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 08/10/2019 21:11:46    2242180

Very underrated stat. Just shows another reason why the championship is so lob sided towards Dublin.

I'm glad to see this draw. There will be some battle on both sides. Hopefully cork beat kerry and Clare come through the other side and rattle cork.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 08/10/2019 21:18:23    2242183

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "That's it exactly, in every sport in the world home advantage is massive but people on here still try to dispute it or brush it under the carpet.

And then if you add to that the population advantages and 18 times more money then the next nearest big county you see what everyone else is up against.

Maybe we need a top economist to come on here and explain this, maybe then it'l catch on."
Did I disappoint you ?
Or leave a bad taste in your mouth ?
You act like you never had none
And want me to go without.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 10/10/2019 08:22:26    2242489

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Did I disappoint you ?
Or leave a bad taste in your mouth ?
You act like you never had none
And want me to go without."
Boats and hoe's boats and hoe's ,
I've got to have me some boats and hoe's.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/10/2019 10:12:15    2242510

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "All fine achievements no doubt, still doesn't change the fact about them not having a cat in hells chance of winning Munster."
Sure but Dublin and Kerry set a high standard in their respective provinces. Kerry do it with both fixture equity and venue equity.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7842 - 10/10/2019 11:16:09    2242525