Kerry 4 In A Row V Dublin 5 In A Row

Replying To Fionn:  "
Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=Joxer:  "[quote=KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=Dubh_linn:  "[quote=slayer:  "I'd actually put Kilkenny's 4 in a row & 11 All Ireland's in 16 years (2000-2016) ahead of anything seen in Gaelic Football to date. Seven different counties beaten in finals during that spell & in the 5 years they didn't win they were runners up in 2 of the finals, semi finalists in 2 other years and quarter finalists in 2013.

Dublin's 7 titles in a decade were won beating 3 different sides which suggests a small competitive group of football teams vying for the top honour. This century so far hurling has become more competitive and football less.

Both great achievements as were the previous Kilkenny, Kerry and Wexford ones. Still, I know which one I'd prefer and the history books will record as the greatest."
Kilkennys wins were indeed great achievements and funny thing is when they were going for the 5, I remember plenty of hurling people wanted nothing more than to see them lose.That's only natural I suppose.
What I would say in relation to Dublin making history is that , the fact that Kilkenny for all that dominance and the amount of titles in that period, couldn't seal the 5th victory and that in itself demonstrates just how difficult it is to do and that's why it's special. Also, the margins by which they won and the amount of replays Dublin won for those All Irelands is evidence of this and further enhances it .
Whatever about this or that, it still hadn't been done in the history of the GAA so I'm just delighted we done it and the rest is history."
Ya but Kilkenny didn't play all their games at home bud."]I suppose at least Kilkenny managed to play some games at home. The Dubs are only allowed to play at home in the O'Byrne Cup these days bud."]31 out of 36 games played at home jock boy, at least ye'l Have to comedown and play us in thurles next summer."]Plans are already afoot to bring a carnival 5-in-a-Row atmosphere down to ye. There won't be a 5 balloon or banner left in the shops. Can't wait. Should be fun. All meant in the best possible taste of course. See you all then. #bringing5inarowcelebrationsdowntokerry"]I hope we get to bring the beautiful game to Munster, the Pairc needs the Dubs so I wouldn't be surprised and hopeful the game would be Cork. We are the champions of the whole of Ireland and I think it's only fair every province gets to see this team.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/09/2019 04:53:48    2237734

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "
Replying To Joxer:  "[quote=KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=Dubh_linn:  "[quote=slayer:  "I'd actually put Kilkenny's 4 in a row & 11 All Ireland's in 16 years (2000-2016) ahead of anything seen in Gaelic Football to date. Seven different counties beaten in finals during that spell & in the 5 years they didn't win they were runners up in 2 of the finals, semi finalists in 2 other years and quarter finalists in 2013.

Dublin's 7 titles in a decade were won beating 3 different sides which suggests a small competitive group of football teams vying for the top honour. This century so far hurling has become more competitive and football less.

Both great achievements as were the previous Kilkenny, Kerry and Wexford ones. Still, I know which one I'd prefer and the history books will record as the greatest."
Kilkennys wins were indeed great achievements and funny thing is when they were going for the 5, I remember plenty of hurling people wanted nothing more than to see them lose.That's only natural I suppose.
What I would say in relation to Dublin making history is that , the fact that Kilkenny for all that dominance and the amount of titles in that period, couldn't seal the 5th victory and that in itself demonstrates just how difficult it is to do and that's why it's special. Also, the margins by which they won and the amount of replays Dublin won for those All Irelands is evidence of this and further enhances it .
Whatever about this or that, it still hadn't been done in the history of the GAA so I'm just delighted we done it and the rest is history."
Ya but Kilkenny didn't play all their games at home bud."]I suppose at least Kilkenny managed to play some games at home. The Dubs are only allowed to play at home in the O'Byrne Cup these days bud."]31 out of 36 games played at home jock boy, at least ye'l Have to comedown and play us in thurles next summer."]Ah ya, and where was it ye won yer titles.
There was a time when Kerry were delighted to be going up there. Not anymore.
How the mighty have fallen indeed.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 20/09/2019 07:45:21    2237743

Yet another atrocious attempt by some Kerry folk to belittle Dublin's achievements. Maybe the passage of time will ease the obvious seething from some in the south west. Maybe not, we'll still have the 5-in-a-row regardless.

dubdec99 (Dublin) - Posts: 180 - 20/09/2019 10:25:33    2237774

Replying To catch22:  "
Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=Joxer:  "[quote=KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=Dubh_linn:  "[quote=slayer:  "I'd actually put Kilkenny's 4 in a row & 11 All Ireland's in 16 years (2000-2016) ahead of anything seen in Gaelic Football to date. Seven different counties beaten in finals during that spell & in the 5 years they didn't win they were runners up in 2 of the finals, semi finalists in 2 other years and quarter finalists in 2013.

Ya but Kilkenny didn't play all their games at home bud."]I suppose at least Kilkenny managed to play some games at home. The Dubs are only allowed to play at home in the O'Byrne Cup these days bud."]31 out of 36 games played at home jock boy, at least ye'l Have to comedown and play us in thurles next summer."]Ah ya, and where was it ye won yer titles.
How the mighty have fallen indeed."]Lad you are so jealous. We get to a final every second year and we show no fear for we are the green and gold. 37 all Ireland's you'll never sing that. P.S there's more coming soon.

Kerrymanlegend (Kerry) - Posts: 31 - 20/09/2019 10:54:12    2237784

Us Dubs are all looking forward to a possible game in kerry next year.
Plans are already afoot to bring a carnival 5-in-a-Row atmosphere down to ye.
There won't be a 5 balloon or banner left in the shops. Can't wait. Should be fun.
All meant in the best possible taste of course. See you all then.
#bringing5inarowcelebrationsdowntokerry

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 20/09/2019 11:44:34    2237799

Replying To Kerrymanlegend:  "
Replying To catch22:  "[quote=KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=Joxer:  "[quote=KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=Dubh_linn:  "[quote=slayer:  "I'd actually put Kilkenny's 4 in a row & 11 All Ireland's in 16 years (2000-2016) ahead of anything seen in Gaelic Football to date. Seven different counties beaten in finals during that spell & in the 5 years they didn't win they were runners up in 2 of the finals, semi finalists in 2 other years and quarter finalists in 2013.

How the mighty have fallen indeed."]Lad you are so jealous. We get to a final every second year and we show no fear for we are the green and gold. 37 all Ireland's you'll never sing that. P.S there's more coming soon."]These kerry boys are gracious in defeat as ever I see.... ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 20/09/2019 11:45:43    2237801

5 beats 4. Legends lads it's in the history books. The best team of all time. Winter well lads...

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 20/09/2019 12:09:14    2237807

Replying To Fionn:  "Us Dubs are all looking forward to a possible game in kerry next year.
Plans are already afoot to bring a carnival 5-in-a-Row atmosphere down to ye.
There won't be a 5 balloon or banner left in the shops. Can't wait. Should be fun.
All meant in the best possible taste of course. See you all then.
#bringing5inarowcelebrationsdowntokerry"
It wont happen so long as you both keep winning provincials. Prov winners only meet in the so called 'croke park' game. Bring balloons a plenty to Tralee for the league game though.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 20/09/2019 12:25:58    2237808

Replying To Donegalman:  "It wont happen so long as you both keep winning provincials. Prov winners only meet in the so called 'croke park' game. Bring balloons a plenty to Tralee for the league game though."
The Croke Park games will be no more.... these are to be moved to provincial grounds.
Dubs will then only have 1 game in Croker for Super 8's.

League game it will have to be so.... ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 20/09/2019 12:34:43    2237811

Replying To Fionn:  "The Croke Park games will be no more.... these are to be moved to provincial grounds.
Dubs will then only have 1 game in Croker for Super 8's.

League game it will have to be so.... ;o)"
I didn't hear this. That is very interesting news!

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 20/09/2019 12:42:32    2237815

Replying To Fionn:  "
Replying To Kerrymanlegend:  "[quote=catch22:  "[quote=KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=Joxer:  "[quote=KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=Dubh_linn:  "[quote=slayer:  "I'd actually put Kilkenny's 4 in a row & 11 All Ireland's in 16 years (2000-2016) ahead of anything seen in Gaelic Football to date. Seven different counties beaten in finals during that spell & in the 5 years they didn't win they were runners up in 2 of the finals, semi finalists in 2 other years and quarter finalists in 2013.

How the mighty have fallen indeed."]Lad you are so jealous. We get to a final every second year and we show no fear for we are the green and gold. 37 all Ireland's you'll never sing that. P.S there's more coming soon."]These kerry boys are gracious in defeat as ever I see.... ;o)"]Christ, you must be another unemployed Jackeen with all the time you have to research these forums!

LimerickKid84 (Limerick) - Posts: 28 - 20/09/2019 13:23:14    2237822

Replying To Donegalman:  "I didn't hear this. That is very interesting news!"
Yep its true, the GAA couldn't do anything while the dubs were going for the 5 but it's ok now .

But in fairness it should have been done from the start.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/09/2019 14:36:17    2237836

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Yep its true, the GAA couldn't do anything while the dubs were going for the 5 but it's ok now .

But in fairness it should have been done from the start."
Yes it should make a huge difference alright. Dubs have a 100% record in away games in Super 8s. It's hard to see their neutral game stats being much less inferior. The business end games will still be in Croker and sure Croker has to be somewhere. Any truth in the rumour that Kerry will get a bye to the Super 8s next year? After 81 titles in a hurling province it looks as though the penny is finally dropping with HQ. Munster football is a write off.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/09/2019 15:29:04    2237852

Replying To Joxer:  "Yes it should make a huge difference alright. Dubs have a 100% record in away games in Super 8s. It's hard to see their neutral game stats being much less inferior. The business end games will still be in Croker and sure Croker has to be somewhere. Any truth in the rumour that Kerry will get a bye to the Super 8s next year? After 81 titles in a hurling province it looks as though the penny is finally dropping with HQ. Munster football is a write off."
Munster football has been a right off like forever
Kerry 81 Munster titles

Limerick last Munster title 1896
Waterford last Munster title 1898
TIPP last Munster title 1935
Clare last Munster title 1992

Something needs to be done to sort out this Kerry dominace .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 20/09/2019 22:26:32    2237957

By jaysus these Dubs make a valiant attempt to defend the indefensible, you'd have to admire their googling ability, discovering how many Al titles and Munster titles the Kingdom have and then copy and repeat, copy and repeat.
I'm sure the Cork, Tipp, Clare, Limerick and Waterford footballing communities are touched by your sudden concern for their plight - sure we've destroyed football down here alright.
Those secret dossiers about our covert-op night raids to puncher every football across the county bounds must have been leaked up to the Dubs propaganda bureau, plenty of their agents posting on here sure ;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 20/09/2019 23:39:57    2237971

Replying To superbluedub:  "Munster football has been a right off like forever
Kerry 81 Munster titles

Something needs to be done to sort out this Kerry dominace ."
These counties need to boycott Munster, simple as.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 21/09/2019 00:30:37    2237976

Kerry 81 Munster titles

Got a chip on your shoulder, boy.

LimerickKid84 (Limerick) - Posts: 28 - 21/09/2019 01:10:21    2237980

First off, as a singular achievement, 5 in a row beats 4 in a row. Let's get that argument out of the way.

My observations of the Kerry 4 in a row team is that it was more a freakish collection of players that happened to come along at the same time (I'm not just counting the 4 in a row years, but from 75-86).

The Dublin success is not so much that, but rather the most efficient conveyor belt of talent ever seen in GAA. Players like Bernard Brogan, Philly McMahon, Kevin McMenamin, who were instrumental in Dublin's early success this decade, can barely get a look in now such is the talent coming through. Brilliant players like McCaffrey and Connolly can afford to dip in and out of the panel with little or no noticable impact to the performance or success of the team.

Whereas the players who came through with Kerry in the mid 70s were still carrying the team in the mid 80s, and when they all retired, Kerry fell off a cliff for the next decade. I can't see that happening with Dublin, good players will keep coming through and what's more, they're coming into a set up which is pumped and primed to keep winning All Irelands on an "industrial" scale (I was reluctant to use the word industrial as it conjures images of an armaments factory in wartime, but that's what Dublin are producing - weapons of mass destruction!)

It's an interesting argument. I think a better debate would be to pick Kerry's best 15 (75-86) versus Dublin's best 15 (11-19) and compare both teams.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 21/09/2019 06:13:42    2237983

Kerry 81 Munster titles

Galway and Antrim hurlers were straight into allireland semifinals for years upon years no provincial challengers at all and how many allirelands did they amas between them in that time?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/09/2019 08:04:58    2237990

Replying To ballydalane:  "First off, as a singular achievement, 5 in a row beats 4 in a row. Let's get that argument out of the way.

My observations of the Kerry 4 in a row team is that it was more a freakish collection of players that happened to come along at the same time (I'm not just counting the 4 in a row years, but from 75-86).

The Dublin success is not so much that, but rather the most efficient conveyor belt of talent ever seen in GAA. Players like Bernard Brogan, Philly McMahon, Kevin McMenamin, who were instrumental in Dublin's early success this decade, can barely get a look in now such is the talent coming through. Brilliant players like McCaffrey and Connolly can afford to dip in and out of the panel with little or no noticable impact to the performance or success of the team.

Whereas the players who came through with Kerry in the mid 70s were still carrying the team in the mid 80s, and when they all retired, Kerry fell off a cliff for the next decade. I can't see that happening with Dublin, good players will keep coming through and what's more, they're coming into a set up which is pumped and primed to keep winning All Irelands on an "industrial" scale (I was reluctant to use the word industrial as it conjures images of an armaments factory in wartime, but that's what Dublin are producing - weapons of mass destruction!)

It's an interesting argument. I think a better debate would be to pick Kerry's best 15 (75-86) versus Dublin's best 15 (11-19) and compare both teams."
What i love about the two finals this year, despite developing weapons of mass destruction, it was the smallest and slightest man on the man on the pitch who cut Kerry to shreds, both is his cameo in the first game and in the second game. Step forward Eoin Murchen or Munchkin as hes affectionately known in in the home of five in a row.

One of the abiding memories and an M.O. of this Dublin team will be one of the biggest men of the pitch in David Moran, hanging out of the smallest and Munchkin just burying it so skillfully with a sweet volley into the hill end, with David Moran hanging out of him.

Weapons of mass destruction indeed.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 21/09/2019 10:13:32    2238001