Is Ashbourne The New Ballaghaderreen? :)

Replying To royaldunne:  "
Replying To MesAmis:  "Where was there congratulations to the Meath ladies from ashbourne? Or the Meath senior team?. Btw stop with the rock been from Dublin, he doesn't live anywhere near ballymun, he has lived all his life in Meath. Not a problem with him playing for dub but stop the yerra bs.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 15985 - 17/09/2019 20:45:44

I never said Rock was from Ballymun.

He is from Ballymadun. Which is just outside Ashbourne but in North County Dublin. About a 2 minute drive but over the border. There is a lovely country pub out there called the Foxes. Call in and have a pint or a coffee next time your in the area, you'll enjoy yourself."
Sorry to burst ur bubble mes. Dean rock lives in garristown. Not ballymun. He has never lived a day in Dublin all his life. Garristown is in Meath. Geography and all that. Garristown is NOT in ballymun."
He's from Ballymadun. Slow down your reading there. You're getting excited in your want to claim the great Deano I think!

Ballymadun is in Dublin.

As is the lovely village of Garristown. Right on the Meath border but in Co. Dublin.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 17/09/2019 23:15:46    2236911

Replying To sam1884:  "Ballaghaderreen part of County Roscommon but part of Mayo GAA. Is Ashbourne the next area to move into a different GAA county from where it belongs and have the Dubs successfully invaded it? :-)"
Ballaghdereen was part of Mayo when the GAA was formed?
Wikipedia:
Prior to 1898 the town and parish of Ballaghaderreen and Edmonstown was located in the eastern part of County Mayo until its transfer to County Roscommon under the Local Government Act 1898 by the Parliament of the United Kingdom. This has led to some anomalies, for example the local Gaelic Athletic Association team, Ballaghaderreen GAA plays in the Mayo championship and its players represent County Mayo.

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 17/09/2019 23:43:18    2236919

That a boy Menton, get stuck into those foreign invaders!!

In all honesty though, people often criticize Meath for under performing given our large population and that is fair to a point. But don't forget that we also have a huge population of Dubs and they aren't exactly overly interested in the future success of Meath Gaa and by and large neither are their children, many of whom have lived most if not all of their lives in Meath.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 17/09/2019 23:49:36    2236922

Replying To MesAmis:  "Menton came across a little silly and petty to be fair.

The Credit Union is a community based organisation that put up a post congratulating the Dubs because they know that a lot of their members are Dubs living in the locality.

Also I'm sure that the Ashbourne Credit Union's catchment area extends into North County Dublin as well to around the Rock's homeplace in Ballymadun, Co. Dublin, so Menton's rant looks fairly ill-informed for a man from the locality."
His issue wasn't with congratulating dean rock or indeed any of the ashbourne credit union members that are from dublin, his issue was quotes like sam is coming home, which I wish was actually the case but we are very far away from that......and also questioning why they lend their support to dean rock and dublin and not Meath mens and womans teams .....thats all. He was right to call them out on it, and it mirrors what alot of ashbourne ratoath dunboyne are feeling these days......yes your more then welcome to move out to meath, but realise that it is meath, that you now live in meath and that your kids are born and bred in meath...... Sure the blow ins tried to put Dublin bunting up in ratoath for the all Ireland final and they were told immediately.... NO..... and they couldn't understand this........this is what your up against

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 885 - 17/09/2019 23:50:56    2236923

Wind up artists at the best here.

Silly thread

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 18/09/2019 00:06:16    2236928

Replying To MesAmis:  "
Replying To royaldunne:  "[quote=MesAmis:  "Where was there congratulations to the Meath ladies from ashbourne? Or the Meath senior team?. Btw stop with the rock been from Dublin, he doesn't live anywhere near ballymun, he has lived all his life in Meath. Not a problem with him playing for dub but stop the yerra bs.

He is from Ballymadun. Which is just outside Ashbourne but in North County Dublin. About a 2 minute drive but over the border. There is a lovely country pub out there called the Foxes. Call in and have a pint or a coffee next time your in the area, you'll enjoy yourself."
Sorry to burst ur bubble mes. Dean rock lives in garristown. Not ballymun. He has never lived a day in Dublin all his life. Garristown is in Meath. Geography and all that. Garristown is NOT in ballymun."
He's from Ballymadun. Slow down your reading there. You're getting excited in your want to claim the great Deano I think!

Ballymadun is in Dublin.

As is the lovely village of Garristown. Right on the Meath border but in Co. Dublin."]I'm amazed this has to be pointed out to people, not for the first time on this thread and actually the same posters on more than one occasion.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 18/09/2019 00:17:01    2236932

Replying To MesAmis:  "Where was there congratulations to the Meath ladies from ashbourne? Or the Meath senior team?. Btw stop with the rock been from Dublin, he doesn't live anywhere near ballymun, he has lived all his life in Meath. Not a problem with him playing for dub but stop the yerra bs.

Bet the pub is full of Blow in's, Blow outs and my own pub favourite the Blowhard. BTW that whole area is full of strangeness but it is a beautiful underrated part of the country, happy to claim it.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 18/09/2019 01:03:08    2236941

Replying To MesAmis:  "Menton came across a little silly and petty to be fair.

The Credit Union is a community based organisation that put up a post congratulating the Dubs because they know that a lot of their members are Dubs living in the locality.

Also I'm sure that the Ashbourne Credit Union's catchment area extends into North County Dublin as well to around the Rock's homeplace in Ballymadun, Co. Dublin, so Menton's rant looks fairly ill-informed for a man from the locality."
Honestly I don't think he was petty at all and in his role as joint captain of our senior team I'm delighted to see him wear his heart on his sleeve on this matter. Congratulating the Dubs wasn't the issue at all here, some are misreading the situation, last Sunday Meath we're competing in the ladies intermediate All Ireland Final and they had a strong Ashbourne representation on the team, including the captain, but not a mention of that on the Facebook page at all just photos of a smiling Dean Rock. Yes a lot of the members of said Credit Union are Dubs but a lot are staunch Meath people including members of my own family and that Credit Union was established and maintained by local Meath people long before the population boom came to Ashbourne, not to mention that fact that it is in Meath!!!! A simple acknowledgement of Meath teams and of local players on Meath teams would have solved all problems but that wasn't done and unsurprisingly it raised the ire of many including Menton who is a proud Ashbourne man and a proud Meath man, Rock's homeplace or where he lives now is irrelevant to the argument it's about a crucial local financial and community institution ignoring not just its location but it's roots and history and certainly I was angry over it and I applaud our joint captain in saying what he did, if we allow things like this to go unchecked then we may throw in the towel altogether.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 18/09/2019 01:03:13    2236942

Replying To endgame:  "We want Ballaghaderreen playing in Roscommon.We're not worried about Ashbourne at all.Both Meath and Dublin are populous enough to compete at the top.Meath just don't seem to have their structures right.Roscommon only has a population of 65000 so we can't afford to be without Ballaghaderreen.I think Mayo's population is around 130000,twice ours."
We dont want them leave them where they have always been

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 18/09/2019 09:15:03    2236965

Could you blame Meath people for hoping that Dean is from Meath. I for one couldnt, 7 time All Ireland winner who wouldn't want him.

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 18/09/2019 10:00:41    2236979

Replying To dubshurling7:  "Could you blame Meath people for hoping that Dean is from Meath. I for one couldnt, 7 time All Ireland winner who wouldn't want him."
Has he not only won the 6?

Dean is a good player but a brilliant free taker, in fairness though Meath has produced their fair share of brilliant free takers, Dean is no exception.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 18/09/2019 10:55:47    2236997

Replying To Richieq:  "Honestly I don't think he was petty at all and in his role as joint captain of our senior team I'm delighted to see him wear his heart on his sleeve on this matter. Congratulating the Dubs wasn't the issue at all here, some are misreading the situation, last Sunday Meath we're competing in the ladies intermediate All Ireland Final and they had a strong Ashbourne representation on the team, including the captain, but not a mention of that on the Facebook page at all just photos of a smiling Dean Rock. Yes a lot of the members of said Credit Union are Dubs but a lot are staunch Meath people including members of my own family and that Credit Union was established and maintained by local Meath people long before the population boom came to Ashbourne, not to mention that fact that it is in Meath!!!! A simple acknowledgement of Meath teams and of local players on Meath teams would have solved all problems but that wasn't done and unsurprisingly it raised the ire of many including Menton who is a proud Ashbourne man and a proud Meath man, Rock's homeplace or where he lives now is irrelevant to the argument it's about a crucial local financial and community institution ignoring not just its location but it's roots and history and certainly I was angry over it and I applaud our joint captain in saying what he did, if we allow things like this to go unchecked then we may throw in the towel altogether."
Well said Richie. It's easy for Dubs to say it's petty....some will probably say it's petty for me to say I was angry at my local pub flying both Kildare & Dublin flags before the last Leinster final we were in.....but I was.
Fair play to the Dubs, this team is amazing....but let their own communities & businesses rejoice in their victories; if everyone else is doing the same then as you say we might as well give up altogether.

KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 18/09/2019 11:07:07    2237003

Replying To Htaem:  "Has he not only won the 6?

Dean is a good player but a brilliant free taker, in fairness though Meath has produced their fair share of brilliant free takers, Dean is no exception."
With the possible exception being that he's from Dublin. .

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 18/09/2019 11:21:43    2237016

Replying To realdub:  "No division, only expansion, Dunboyne is next :D"
Thanks, I was not sure which town it was. I did know that ye had the finance in place (courtesy of Croke Park) for an expansion!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 18/09/2019 11:22:33    2237017

Replying To KildareKelly:  "Well said Richie. It's easy for Dubs to say it's petty....some will probably say it's petty for me to say I was angry at my local pub flying both Kildare & Dublin flags before the last Leinster final we were in.....but I was.
Fair play to the Dubs, this team is amazing....but let their own communities & businesses rejoice in their victories; if everyone else is doing the same then as you say we might as well give up altogether."
First of all there is a point to be made and it is made well, Credit Union should have acknowledged their local hero's first. In relation to flags flying outside pub most pubs will fly flags of participating teams especially if they on a main route or roadway. I certainly wouldn't get upset if my local flew a Kerry flag alongside a Dublin one, all its saying is all are welcome here which is the true legal definition of a public house.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 18/09/2019 11:39:20    2237028

Replying To Htaem:  "Has he not only won the 6?

Dean is a good player but a brilliant free taker, in fairness though Meath has produced their fair share of brilliant free takers, Dean is no exception."
Dean has won 6 senior All Irelands and 1 u21 All Ireland so that to me is 7

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 18/09/2019 11:43:36    2237031

Replying To cavanman47:  "With the possible exception being that he's from Dublin. ."
Ah not atall, sure Ashbourne is in Meath, although you could be forgiven for thinking otherwise with all the blue bandwagoners who moved in over the last 20 years.

And if they're not wearing blue you can easily spot them ranting about the smell of slurry this time of year. These city folk are terrible soft!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 18/09/2019 11:47:34    2237036

Replying To KildareKelly:  "Well said Richie. It's easy for Dubs to say it's petty....some will probably say it's petty for me to say I was angry at my local pub flying both Kildare & Dublin flags before the last Leinster final we were in.....but I was.
Fair play to the Dubs, this team is amazing....but let their own communities & businesses rejoice in their victories; if everyone else is doing the same then as you say we might as well give up altogether."
You were angry at your local pub flying both flags before the Leinster Final?

Nearly all pubs in Dublin that take an interest in GAA would have had the Dublin and Kerry flags flying before the final. The same as any other game involving Dublin, 2 flags will always be flown. It is about being a welcoming place for their customers, most of whom are Dubs but some of whom may be from the county Dublin are playing.

Same as your local in Kildare I presume, they were being a welcoming place to all in their community.

It's amazing that this is only an issue outside Dublin when in Dublin no one bats an eyelid when opposition flags and colours are flown. Even Dublin City Council put up Kerry and Galway flags along the quays in the run up to the men's and women's finals. Just like there were Tyrone flags up last year along the quays, and Mayo the year before.

Why do some outside of Dublin take such exception to the flying of opposition colours in the run up to matches when people in Dublin see no problem with business' and our councils regularly flying our oppositions colours?

It makes yous sound real petty to be honest.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 18/09/2019 12:03:14    2237046

Replying To Richieq:  "Honestly I don't think he was petty at all and in his role as joint captain of our senior team I'm delighted to see him wear his heart on his sleeve on this matter. Congratulating the Dubs wasn't the issue at all here, some are misreading the situation, last Sunday Meath we're competing in the ladies intermediate All Ireland Final and they had a strong Ashbourne representation on the team, including the captain, but not a mention of that on the Facebook page at all just photos of a smiling Dean Rock. Yes a lot of the members of said Credit Union are Dubs but a lot are staunch Meath people including members of my own family and that Credit Union was established and maintained by local Meath people long before the population boom came to Ashbourne, not to mention that fact that it is in Meath!!!! A simple acknowledgement of Meath teams and of local players on Meath teams would have solved all problems but that wasn't done and unsurprisingly it raised the ire of many including Menton who is a proud Ashbourne man and a proud Meath man, Rock's homeplace or where he lives now is irrelevant to the argument it's about a crucial local financial and community institution ignoring not just its location but it's roots and history and certainly I was angry over it and I applaud our joint captain in saying what he did, if we allow things like this to go unchecked then we may throw in the towel altogether."
I don't know Richie, I think it comes across petty and that Menton read far too much into a simple post about a football match.

I don't think Ashbourne Credit Union acknowledging those new to their community is the same thing ignoring their location or past. I think you're reaching a wee bit there. The 2 aren't mutually exclusive.

Had Meath won the All-Ireland (men's or ladies) I'm sure they would have been all over congratulating them but neither team did, so saying there was no acknowledgement of them is a false equivalent and irrelevant.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 18/09/2019 12:08:45    2237048

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "
Replying To MesAmis:  "[quote=royaldunne:  "[quote=MesAmis:  "Where was there congratulations to the Meath ladies from ashbourne? Or the Meath senior team?. Btw stop with the rock been from Dublin, he doesn't live anywhere near ballymun, he has lived all his life in Meath. Not a problem with him playing for dub but stop the yerra bs.

Ballymadun is in Dublin.

As is the lovely village of Garristown. Right on the Meath border but in Co. Dublin."]I'm amazed this has to be pointed out to people, not for the first time on this thread and actually the same posters on more than one occasion."]It's amazing how some of the Meath lads are so ignorant of their own county boundaries. Quite strange.

It'd be like us claiming Brian Menton as a Dub because he's from the part of Meath that is very close to Dublin.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 18/09/2019 12:11:27    2237051