Hoganstand To Go Into Meltdown!

Replying To whiterbannnas:  "And what about the other 0.90% of the crowd? No mention of them"
Ha, good spot ... I didn't notice the 0.9 deficit.
Go easy lads .. this thread is getting a bit nasty.
It's been a historic and sporting week end.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 16/09/2019 23:09:17    2236412

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Iv said it before and il say it again, the hill is a kip and should seated.

2 weeks ago a couple of Kerry young lads were in the hill for the minor game ( cork and Galway) and they situated them selves behind the goals when the stewards came down to them and told them move up to the back corner, when the 2 lads asked why they had to move they were told it was for their own safety.

And if ye don't believe me then check it out on the Kerry forum where I mentioned this about 10 days ago."
I witnessed the behaviour of a group of Kerry lads going onto the Hill singing "F**k the Dubs". They were throwing bottles and coins down at Dubs on the lower tiers.Their attitude was aggressive and they were well up for any trouble that was going. The Dubs were no saints either.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 16/09/2019 23:15:44    2236414

Replying To Joxer:  "What was the point to the story again?"
The point of the story is that Hill 16 when the dubs are playing is the only time in any GAA game where opposition fans are separated. That says something about the aggressive tendencies of Dubs fans on the hill, especially in behind the goal

jonjon (Mayo) - Posts: 99 - 17/09/2019 00:23:55    2236429

Give over lads. There's a lot of slabbering goin on here now :)

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 17/09/2019 00:25:52    2236430

Replying To TheUsername:  "They've nothing left a chara, small wins are needed the far side of Lucan post haste.

Sure everyone knows the 1916 rising was fought on the streets of Portlaoise.

No need to thank us lads, it's our way. But enjoy none the less."
The first act of the rising was in Laois. Then again history isn't your strong point, you only county all irelands in the present. Dublin have one and everyone else is on zero.

What would you know about 1916 anyway? Serious question.

Defaulter1831 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 40 - 17/09/2019 01:29:00    2236440

Replying To avonali:  "Joyce was Anglo-Irish Ascendancy???? Why am I even responding to you???? Learn about your culture. You come in here with your Union Jack nonsense speaking English. You studied Dublin's history in the 1913 Lockout. Why would you choose to study that if you held Dublin in such contempt? You are indeed a conundrum. But you can';t resist taking the bait can you. You and your Pale. Sure ye Queen's County lads scattered to the bogs and hills and let the Planters walk all over ye."
You called me the 'Queens County troll' and yet reply to a post of mine with 2 of your own. What does that say about you? You have absolutely no self control and are prone to knee jerk posting without engaging with your brain. You can't even see when your being wound up. But it says a lot about you that you went for Wilde, Yeats etc to define yor heritage. Luke Kelly, James Connolly, Eamonn MacThomais, none of those lads worth a mention? Eamonn MacThomais and his son Shane, RIP, now they were true Dubliners I'd listen to all day.

Defaulter1831 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 40 - 17/09/2019 01:36:57    2236441

Lads whatever happened on the Hill is debatable but it is worrying to see what happened in the Clonliffe House . I worked in a bar around Croker while in College during the Pillar Caffrey days and we dreaded the Dublin match days. I could tell some stories and back then the only match day there was multiple rows was when Dublin were playing.

When Gilroy took over the attitude of the team and supporters seemed to change but I am hearing there was a lot of scuffles in bars again after the game. Let's hope this nonsense doesn't start again.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7891 - 17/09/2019 03:00:10    2236444

Replying To Donegalman:  "Not by what was up on social media they weren't. Grey haired guy throws first punch.

Unless you want to go by anecdotal evidence on events leading up to the footage - which we can't really, the video is clear that there were middle aged men involved in this that should no better and not get involved."
That's a very important point. The video is a screen recording of the playback of another video. We really need to see the whole, original thing.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1030 - 17/09/2019 08:03:14    2236465

Funny all the same how a small group of drunken eejits can attract so much attention on such a great weekend for football.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 17/09/2019 08:21:42    2236468

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Give over lads. There's a lot of slabbering goin on here now :)"
You're right Seanie.

These lads need to catch themselves on.

Its getting embarrassing now.

But you and I both know that they are prone to a bit of wild exaggeration.

Could you imagine what this thread would be like if Tyrone had of been involved :-)

I still find it shocking though that RTE have not featured this story anywhere.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 17/09/2019 08:34:00    2236472

Replying To jonjon:  "The point of the story is that Hill 16 when the dubs are playing is the only time in any GAA game where opposition fans are separated. That says something about the aggressive tendencies of Dubs fans on the hill, especially in behind the goal"
Really? Evidence? Some Kerry guy spitting on a Dublin fan and getting a smack for it is your evidence? I've seen worse in Castlebar between Mayo fans and certainly worse between Mayo and Kerry.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 17/09/2019 08:42:59    2236474

Replying To Wally:  "I am just waiting patiently for hoganstand to go into meltdown due to the disgusting and disgraceful scenes in the hill at the end of the all Ireland.

The usual suspects are sure to ride in on their high horse anytime now condemning these two sets of fans and calling for further matches between these two teams to be played behind closed doors."
So by you waiting patiently for the hoganstand meltdown you decided you would start it yourself well done you have succeded. You are going to let a couple of kerry and dublin outliers take the limelight away from the all ireland final. again i congratulate you wally a job well done.

all the individuals involved are as much to blame as the next move on.

Well done to dublin comserations to Kerry see ye all next year where we will do it all again. God you have to love the GAA.

Wally you stay home be best for everyone then we wouldnt have sill threads

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 17/09/2019 09:14:38    2236489

Replying To Joxer:  "Really? Evidence? Some Kerry guy spitting on a Dublin fan and getting a smack for it is your evidence? I've seen worse in Castlebar between Mayo fans and certainly worse between Mayo and Kerry."
You have seen worse in Castlebar? Joxer I am not sure what happened in the Hill but to mention Casltebar? You have seen something like this in McHale Park?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7891 - 17/09/2019 09:41:23    2236501

Replying To TheHermit:  "Horrible to see, I'm sure those Kerry young lads were asking for it, but not great seeing grown men from Dublin throwing punches at them.
This stuff has to stop, we've seen a bit of it in recent times in Thurles at hurling games too.
It's going to get to a stage where segregation might be introduced and what a horrible horrible thought that would be.
In saying that I was in the Lower Cusack and there was a bit of a cruffle just at start of second half involving two Dubs, think one must have said something pretty objectionable to the other and a steward quickly threw on of them out.

Like the 6pm thrown in has to be looked at, there was two premiership matches involving Liverpool and Man U playing before, many people were probably in the pubs from noon or after. Lots of lads very under the influence and things like this are probably to be expected.

The GAA should endevour to ensure replays happen at a half 3 or 4pm thrown in in future."
Agree with all points, a ridiculous time to hold a game, especially given distance involved for Kerry fans. And we saw something similar in Thurles. The Hill is always fairly crowed, go to the loo and you loose your spot, fans are on top of each other and tribalism, drink do their worse and we end up with this messing.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 17/09/2019 10:05:34    2236513

Replying To avonali:  "I witnessed the behaviour of a group of Kerry lads going onto the Hill singing "F**k the Dubs". They were throwing bottles and coins down at Dubs on the lower tiers.Their attitude was aggressive and they were well up for any trouble that was going. The Dubs were no saints either."
ah come on this can't be true, no culchie would ever throw money away.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 17/09/2019 10:19:51    2236519

Replying To Joxer:  "Really? Evidence? Some Kerry guy spitting on a Dublin fan and getting a smack for it is your evidence? I've seen worse in Castlebar between Mayo fans and certainly worse between Mayo and Kerry."
Ironic that you ask for evidence in your post and then write a bare faced lie about Mayo and Kerry fans.

Why would you think I have evidence? Do you think I go into the hill when Dublin play and take footage of certain fans behaviour?

The reality is no where in any other ground in the country are fans separated, and in no other ground would you be fearful of your personal safety and have to avoid certain areas of the ground.

Why do you think they started separating fans when Dublin play?

We've all heard the stories of opposition fans getting in early and standing behind the goal, only for a certain type of Dubs fan to arrive shortly before throw in and become aggressive telling them that their standing in their spot.

I was on the Hill for the 13 final, up on the top corner of it near the cusack stand, and we were discussing the break down of Mayo to Dublin fans in the hill with a Dublin family beside us. Even they said that Mayo fans wouldn't want to be standing behind the goal before throw in because of certain Dubs fans who will be arriving.

That is a Hill-16 only thing when Dublin play.

jonjon (Mayo) - Posts: 99 - 17/09/2019 10:44:52    2236529

Replying To TheFlaker:  "You have seen worse in Castlebar? Joxer I am not sure what happened in the Hill but to mention Casltebar? You have seen something like this in McHale Park?"
It's actually a laughable claim, and a clear attempt to deflect from the nasty element of Dublins supporters in the hill. Just going to add that it's obviously a minority so as not to tar all fans with the same brush, but the reality is it's an element that is not found in any other ground in Ireland.

jonjon (Mayo) - Posts: 99 - 17/09/2019 10:49:03    2236530

What evidence do you have to back that up?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 17/09/2019 10:57:05    2236533

Replying To Defaulter1831:  "You called me the 'Queens County troll' and yet reply to a post of mine with 2 of your own. What does that say about you? You have absolutely no self control and are prone to knee jerk posting without engaging with your brain. You can't even see when your being wound up. But it says a lot about you that you went for Wilde, Yeats etc to define yor heritage. Luke Kelly, James Connolly, Eamonn MacThomais, none of those lads worth a mention? Eamonn MacThomais and his son Shane, RIP, now they were true Dubliners I'd listen to all day."
Well, well, well. So you're from Kilkenny and you're posting here under an assortment of names. What does that say about you? Caught out because you were in such a rage you forgot to change aliases Hahahaha. You have zero credibility.
You haven't the courage to post under one name but you have to pretend you're from another county. Pathetic childish carry on.

But you know what. You let yourself down badly when you purporting to quote me and altered my words a while back.The post was taken down because you amended my words to mean something disgusingt. You sir are a troll. No credibility and no class.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 17/09/2019 11:15:57    2236542

Replying To jonjon:  "The point of the story is that Hill 16 when the dubs are playing is the only time in any GAA game where opposition fans are separated. That says something about the aggressive tendencies of Dubs fans on the hill, especially in behind the goal"
But opposition fans are not segregated on the Hill when Dublin play.

Why are you making up lies? I'd genuinely be interested to know why you like to lie.

I watch most games from the hill and have seen very few incidents over the years. I was there on Saturday with my teenage daughter, and there was a a Kerry father and son beside us, not a bother.

The incident that happened was deplorable from all concerned but let's not pretend it is a regular occurrence.

Again I've no idea why you'd decide to lie like above, especially when it is such an obvious lie that everyone knows isn't true! Very strange behaviour from you to be honest.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 17/09/2019 12:06:57    2236559