Dublin 2015 - 2019

Replying To bennybunny:  "JP signs a blank cheque every year for Limerick. None of the other Munster hurling counties have such a deal."
Exactly and thats why Tomas Mulcahy, Kingston ( I think) and other business people in Cork are pulling together a group of business leaders in the county to raise cash for the Cork teams.

We are doing something similar in Tipp and have Alan Quinlan, Nicky English and others were involved with fundraising night at the Mansion House earlier this year.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 17/09/2019 10:15:18    2236517

Replying To avonali:  "Where will I find this asterisk may I ask? Will they engrave an asterisk onto the trophy itself ?
I think perhaps it exists only in your head.
I have to laugh at posts like this. Have you been to your centre of Excellence out in Currans. It's like a luxury hotel compared to the facilities the Dubs use at DCU. Built on an eminence no less so that no tree dwelling spies can observe the top secret preparations going on within.
The money that pours into Kerry Gas from Kerry Group, overseas investors etc is staggering. There is no lack of money down in Kerry. Dublin footballers go out and do a days work unlike some of your recent retirees who cold afford to dedicate themselves to their football careers,, FULLTIME.
Ex-Kerry footballers still dine out on their halcyon days as they drive luxury cars like Audis pour of garage forecourts.
So give over with your oil whingin' and take your beating like a man and stop playing the poor mouth. Pathetic.."
I can think of at least 2 - 3 and possibly 4 of the recently retired Kerry players who were full-time athletes at one point or other during their Kerry careers :)

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 17/09/2019 10:19:58    2236520

Replying To qwerty368:  "I said that they were not directly comparable and I was making a general point in relation to money being a big factor in sporting success. (Some people on here ludicrously claim that money plays no part in sporting success.)

Are you telling me that the 25m or so pumped in didn't play a big part in the development of the current Dublin senior team?"
25m or so is not pumped into the Dublin Senior Football team. Yes there is money to coach GAA in our largest populated city. This current Dublin team were well into the system before a significant increase in funding. Money spent on the actual Dublin Senior Football team is not much more than what the other wealthly counties spend. Yes the point holds true when questioning how the likes of Roscommon, Cavan etc's bridge the gap at the top when 3 or 4 counties including Dublin are spending around €1million on their actual senior team. Dublin and it's main challengers are on a different level but at the business end of the Championship money isn't an issue amongst it's competitors because they're all spending huge sums.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 17/09/2019 10:23:53    2236522

Replying To tiobraid:  "Lads will ye stop embarrassing yourselves! This is a fantastic Dublin team and expertly managed but the best part of them is their humility. They come across better than any team to have won an all Ireland.
What are people going to say about money when Kerry take over? It'll soon be forgotten. When kk were winning all Ireland's people said sure they don't play any other sport why wouldn't they win. Some teams stay longer at the top than others but eventually all teams in all sports come back to the pack again. Dublin could possibly lose 6/7/8 players and a management team after this year and it mightn't be far away where the begrudgers won't be able to complain about money anymore so appreciate these players for what they are.

On a side note- it's remarkable how tipp won that minor final in 2011 - on paper Dublin had arguably the greatest minor side of all time. Half of that team now has multiple all Ireland medals. Kilkenny has 5 or 6 alone."
Every time I watch this Dublin team play I think back to that 2011 minor final. It is one of the greatest achievements ever by a Tipp team if not the greatest.

Spot on Tiobraid, Dublin's era of dominance will come to pass when the key men retire and if Kerry can find 26 players from the 75 - 100 under 23/24 with at least one minor medal they will take over football in the new decade.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 17/09/2019 10:25:18    2236523

Very well done to the dubs.....outstanding team. Its just such a pity it is being tarnished. I can see why with the inequality of funding but they're are still a fantastic team.

Tizcold (Galway) - Posts: 239 - 17/09/2019 12:00:09    2236556

Replying To ThyKingdomComeThyWillBeDone:  "Manchester City's success is hollow. It comes with an asterisk against any achievements. They deny this like flat earthers arguing the world is not round. Dublin fans do the same. Probably understandable. Bias and all. They hate to admit and there's none so blind as those who will not see
They like to live in an echo chamber where they worked harder and Jim the Messiahs system works and if only Carlow would work harder

But the rest of the country and Dublin based media geneflecting at the altar of Dublin AIG is worrisome."
When bringing soccer into the debate Kerry would be the Manchester United. A team who for years had all the advantages, finance and history. Manchester United were able to spend more money than their rivals and to be fair used it wisely. To be fair when Chelsea and Manchester City came on the scene, they tried for a few years to counteract it with youth. My point is Kerry are in the same boat; the 37 All Ireland's would not have been won without ex pat organisations and Kerry group's finance. Now another county can compete financially with Kerry, like Tyrone could in the 00's and surprise surprise they don't like it. Lets cut out all this nonsense that Kerry are not and have not been for years very well financed. It's embarassing by a great county - thankfully high ranking Kerry GAA people don't say a lot about it in the same way Tyrone stay quiet. Look at Hoganstand's main headline today and tell me other top counties don't have money to spend.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 17/09/2019 12:39:59    2236578

no need for ground gaelic comparisons, brutal sport

boman11 (Antrim) - Posts: 237 - 17/09/2019 14:03:46    2236607

Replying To sam1884:  "When bringing soccer into the debate Kerry would be the Manchester United. A team who for years had all the advantages, finance and history. Manchester United were able to spend more money than their rivals and to be fair used it wisely. To be fair when Chelsea and Manchester City came on the scene, they tried for a few years to counteract it with youth. My point is Kerry are in the same boat; the 37 All Ireland's would not have been won without ex pat organisations and Kerry group's finance. Now another county can compete financially with Kerry, like Tyrone could in the 00's and surprise surprise they don't like it. Lets cut out all this nonsense that Kerry are not and have not been for years very well financed. It's embarassing by a great county - thankfully high ranking Kerry GAA people don't say a lot about it in the same way Tyrone stay quiet. Look at Hoganstand's main headline today and tell me other top counties don't have money to spend."
Kerry Group were formed in 1972, and began sponsoring Kerry in the early 1990's. Kerry had about 30 of their all Irelands won before Kerry Group Started sponsoring them. I find it hard to believe that Kerry Groups sponsorship is directly linked to all their 37 all Irelands.

On the funding received from Ex Pats, that is more a recent thing, but do agree its a great income generator for the kerry County Board. Counties on the west coast were hit by emigration the most. Kerry are lucky that the people who had to emigrate to places like NY and Boston are willing to be patrons of the county board. These guys have the connection to the county and if they feel willing to donate to the Kerry county Board because they are from Kerry I don't see what the issue is.

I know guys from other Counties who would contribute as well if they were approached by the County Boards, and I think we will see more of it.

Steelfixer (USA) - Posts: 41 - 17/09/2019 14:42:16    2236628

Replying To Steelfixer:  "Kerry Group were formed in 1972, and began sponsoring Kerry in the early 1990's. Kerry had about 30 of their all Irelands won before Kerry Group Started sponsoring them. I find it hard to believe that Kerry Groups sponsorship is directly linked to all their 37 all Irelands.

On the funding received from Ex Pats, that is more a recent thing, but do agree its a great income generator for the kerry County Board. Counties on the west coast were hit by emigration the most. Kerry are lucky that the people who had to emigrate to places like NY and Boston are willing to be patrons of the county board. These guys have the connection to the county and if they feel willing to donate to the Kerry county Board because they are from Kerry I don't see what the issue is.

I know guys from other Counties who would contribute as well if they were approached by the County Boards, and I think we will see more of it."
COngrats to Dublin on the 5 and a row by the way. I came home for both games. The 10 minute spell at the end of the first game, when Dublin pressed so hard, with a man down, and the game in the melting pot was one the most impressive game situation I have ever seen. It had all the hallmarks of a great team, with true leaders.

Steelfixer (USA) - Posts: 41 - 17/09/2019 14:48:23    2236635

Replying To Steelfixer:  "Kerry Group were formed in 1972, and began sponsoring Kerry in the early 1990's. Kerry had about 30 of their all Irelands won before Kerry Group Started sponsoring them. I find it hard to believe that Kerry Groups sponsorship is directly linked to all their 37 all Irelands.

I know guys from other Counties who would contribute as well if they were approached by the County Boards, and I think we will see more of it."
I agree it's great ex pats want to invest their wealth at home especially into the GAA. There isn't an issue with it at all and I like the way they stay connected to their roots. The problem is this type of funding which the likes of Kerry have benefited from for decades is suspiciously forgotten about when people are having a pop at Dublin. People in Kerry and other western counties and counties like Tyrone want their finance pushed under the carpet whilst screaming from the rooftops about Dublin's unfair advantage. Kerry Group became involved in 1992 and started investing heavily in Kerry GAA - little coincidence they started producing semi professional teams from around 1996. Dublin were slow to the table which is probably why they had 16 years without an All Ireland.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 17/09/2019 15:20:11    2236657

Replying To sam1884:  "When bringing soccer into the debate Kerry would be the Manchester United. A team who for years had all the advantages, finance and history. Manchester United were able to spend more money than their rivals and to be fair used it wisely. To be fair when Chelsea and Manchester City came on the scene, they tried for a few years to counteract it with youth. My point is Kerry are in the same boat; the 37 All Ireland's would not have been won without ex pat organisations and Kerry group's finance. Now another county can compete financially with Kerry, like Tyrone could in the 00's and surprise surprise they don't like it. Lets cut out all this nonsense that Kerry are not and have not been for years very well financed. It's embarassing by a great county - thankfully high ranking Kerry GAA people don't say a lot about it in the same way Tyrone stay quiet. Look at Hoganstand's main headline today and tell me other top counties don't have money to spend."
''Tis only too true for you.
The posters who want to deflect attention from their own affairs focus on Dublin whenever possible.
Several counties for years have had big money put their way and want nothing said about it. The wiser heads keep quiet but the empty cans rattle on here at the drop of a hat day after day.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 17/09/2019 15:50:50    2236676

Replying To sam1884:  "I agree it's great ex pats want to invest their wealth at home especially into the GAA. There isn't an issue with it at all and I like the way they stay connected to their roots. The problem is this type of funding which the likes of Kerry have benefited from for decades is suspiciously forgotten about when people are having a pop at Dublin. People in Kerry and other western counties and counties like Tyrone want their finance pushed under the carpet whilst screaming from the rooftops about Dublin's unfair advantage. Kerry Group became involved in 1992 and started investing heavily in Kerry GAA - little coincidence they started producing semi professional teams from around 1996. Dublin were slow to the table which is probably why they had 16 years without an All Ireland."
I don't think Dublin were that far behind as you make it sound. Dublin were the first county to make the push to bring sponsors onto jerseys back in the early 90's. I have read before that it is the Dublin County board who had brought that motion and it eventually got passed.

I don't think that has any relevance to commitment, skill and tenacity shown by this Dublin team. Similarly I don't think the good Kerry and Tyrone teams were good because of Finances either.

Steelfixer (USA) - Posts: 41 - 17/09/2019 16:18:56    2236688

Replying To Steelfixer:  "I don't think Dublin were that far behind as you make it sound. Dublin were the first county to make the push to bring sponsors onto jerseys back in the early 90's. I have read before that it is the Dublin County board who had brought that motion and it eventually got passed.

I don't think that has any relevance to commitment, skill and tenacity shown by this Dublin team. Similarly I don't think the good Kerry and Tyrone teams were good because of Finances either."
I agree these teams weren't good solely because of finance as all the top counties are well financed. The problem is not many people acknowledge this and make it sound like counties are poor whilst Dublin are rich when giving reasons for 5 in a row. It's more of a level playing field amongst the top counties than what some people want to admit.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 17/09/2019 16:43:44    2236702

Replying To Joxer:  "How much funding do you lads need in Leitrim, Legend, to compete with Dublin do you think? You are saying that money buys AI's so how much money do you need?"
Ask Darcy

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 17/09/2019 17:04:15    2236712

Replying To Tizcold:  "Very well done to the dubs.....outstanding team. Its just such a pity it is being tarnished. I can see why with the inequality of funding but they're are still a fantastic team."
Does papa john not give ye enough?

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 17/09/2019 18:33:57    2236756

Replying To Tizcold:  "Very well done to the dubs.....outstanding team. Its just such a pity it is being tarnished. I can see why with the inequality of funding but they're are still a fantastic team."
We get 5% of total GAA funding...remember they hand out 40M € per year!!!!

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 18/09/2019 09:23:30    2236971

The Man City of the Gaa.....

Tizcold (Galway) - Posts: 239 - 18/09/2019 11:02:20    2237001

Replying To Tizcold:  "The Man City of the Gaa....."
Man City are winners. I'll take that thank you very much.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 18/09/2019 11:14:11    2237007

If Man City got to play all their games at home

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 18/09/2019 11:15:25    2237009

Please, they wish, There is a Dubs poster up in their dressing room.

The Al Blacks watched the game at the weekend for inspiration for Japan apparently, Kiwis are huge fans of Dublin's psychological approach to risk and playing the game expansively.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/09/2019 11:16:00    2237011