Dublin 2015 - 2019

Replying To MesAmis:  "Calling out an idiotic comment is upsetting?"
No you're right. Dublin were always there or thereabouts in Leinster. Lost by 2 points to KK, AI finalists in 1991. Lost by 6 or so to All Ireland winners Wexford in 1996.

Lost by a couple of points in the 1961 final to Tipp. I don't think, as I've said previously, money has as big an effect on hurling.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 16/09/2019 01:54:24    2235902

When you have the incredible team that Dublin have, AI'S are inevitable, but the massive disparity in funding means the likelihood of winning is far greater. Not only are Dublin winning AI'S but they are doing so by having 1 or 2 tough games a year. Going into the final this year, if you discount the dead-rubber in Omagh, their lowest winning margin was 10 points, that's how far ahead they are. Pre- funding, Dublin couldn't reach a final after 95, yet have now won 7 of the last 9 AI'S on offer, does anyone think that is simply down to having a great team or does funding not have a part to play? One of the most used arguments on here is to reference Dublin's hurlers and Dublin's underage teams as proof that funding has no bearing on success, but any reasonable person would admit that funding isn't the only reason for success but it takes an already great team and further increases their chances of winning. Why can't certain posters accept that funding might not be the sole reason for success but it has a part to play.

PK57 (Louth) - Posts: 1653 - 16/09/2019 07:39:21    2235907

Replying To LimerickKid84:  "I'm amazed the other counties haven't threaten to boycott. I wonder if it's just that old Irish attitude of 'oh, it'll be grand!" If the French for instance had an equivalent of the GAA and the disparity in funding, they'd be out on strike en masse. Strange."
JP signs a blank cheque every year for Limerick. None of the other Munster hurling counties have such a deal.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 16/09/2019 07:41:00    2235908

Replying To Crinigan:  "Not jealous at all. Would rather win non tainted All Ireland's. You probably have great admiration for the achievements of Man City and PSG no doubt."
The last refuge of the GAA whine is to bring soccer into it. Great teams dominate their sport in certain eras. Accept it. You say no one cares - any idea of the the viewing figures for the two games? Have you checked the comments on social media? I say plenty of interest but got with the 'no one cares' view if it works for ye.

Dinosbar&grill (Dublin) - Posts: 23 - 16/09/2019 08:27:24    2235918

This argument will continue for decades. Dublin fans see no problem in the current funding disparity. Other county boards are happy to go along with it. Until people vote with their feet and not attend games nothing will change. The one positive thing is local club games may be better attended as the competition is a more level playing field.

Halfdinnerandraspberrycheesecake (Leitrim) - Posts: 48 - 16/09/2019 08:39:46    2235919

Just looking through the ages of the players for next year. I count 15 lads who will be 30+. Going to be an interesting transition in the next couple of years. Sure some say our bench is already weaker than Kerry's. We'll soon be the plucky underdogs ; )

A bunch of lads with 7 winners medals in their pockets. Getting that 8th could be the motivation to stay on.

Pantani (Dublin) - Posts: 48 - 16/09/2019 09:22:50    2235933

Replying To cavanman47:  "The current Celtic team will do the 10 in a row next season. .

Poor era. Same as the current decade in Gaelic football"
Not a great analogy Cavanman unless your intention is to show how having financial muscle leads to dominance :-)

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 16/09/2019 09:40:03    2235943

Some achievement and well deserved. By far the best team i have ever seen. Kerry also did themselves proud and will be back stronger next year.

SheridansTry (Meath) - Posts: 180 - 16/09/2019 10:01:50    2235951

Replying To letterkennyGuy:  "In fairness NO County need complain you all had your chance last year when Donegal tabled the motion of the Dublin bias and no-one backed them so good luck to Dublin you all had your chance!"
That is a fair point.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 16/09/2019 10:47:22    2235978

Replying To PatdeVerse:  "I'm sorry.....Am I missing something here? What has two Professional Association Football teams that play almost annually in the European Champions League got to do with Dublin winning a fifth All-Ireland Gaelic football title in a row? I mean you are talking about two soccer teams whose superstars are paid thousands of pounds/euros per week to play professionally in comparison to GAA players who put their personal lives or careers on hold during the years they continue to play inter-county Gaelic football. As they say in the 'wee six counties'...…"catch yerself on"!!!!!"
Crikey.

PSG were a mid table club until the Qatari government decided to launder their reputation through football and pumped billions into the club leading to unprecedented success. They essentially bought the league.

Similarly Man City, also bought success with benefactor pumping millions and millions into the club.

Only thing is that, unlike with Dublin and the GAA, it wasn't the French FA or English FA who handed the money to them and decided to make their competition a compete farce. This Dublin team's success is even more tainted and fake than that of PSG or Man City. Also these big money soccer clubs don't play every game at home and have whole terraces reserved for them by their governing body.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 16/09/2019 10:57:09    2235985

Replying To cuttothebone:  "Do you really think "Bon" and "lillylanger" are kildare people?? Their both living here but are the type of Dub fan you see in your local that are wearing the XXXL Dublin jersey (but the belly still sticks out) while Dublin are playing on 1 TV but their watching Man U on another.. And as soon as the soccer is over their gone even if the Dublin match is still on.. When they leave the whole bar laughs and shakes their heads in unison! This has happened more than once i can tell ya.."
As a teacher, your post hurts my eyes.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 16/09/2019 11:00:45    2235986

Replying To cuttothebone:  "Do you really think "Bon" and "lillylanger" are kildare people?? Their both living here but are the type of Dub fan you see in your local that are wearing the XXXL Dublin jersey (but the belly still sticks out) while Dublin are playing on 1 TV but their watching Man U on another.. And as soon as the soccer is over their gone even if the Dublin match is still on.. When they leave the whole bar laughs and shakes their heads in unison! This has happened more than once i can tell ya.."
You can keep your opinions about me to yourself please.
I am born and bred in Kildare, but still open minded enough to admire what the Dubs have achieved unlike yourself and all the other begrudgers on this forum. Do yourself a favour and try be bigger than that.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 16/09/2019 11:36:27    2236011

Replying To Bon:  "You can keep your opinions about me to yourself please.
I am born and bred in Kildare, but still open minded enough to admire what the Dubs have achieved unlike yourself and all the other begrudgers on this forum. Do yourself a favour and try be bigger than that."
Lol.. I doubt you very much..

cuttothebone (Kildare) - Posts: 163 - 16/09/2019 12:47:52    2236058

Replying To cuttothebone:  "Lol.. I doubt you very much.."
Well doubt no more, heaven forbid people can't think outside the box. Have you been in the horrors since Saturday evening?

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 16/09/2019 13:50:20    2236090

Ewan McKenna with a classic line on twitter
An element of truth too lol

Just thinking about today and the #5inarow from Dublin.

It's genuinely a bit like a guy thinking he's a ladies man because he paid a prostitute. #GAA

ThyKingdomComeThyWillBeDone (Kerry) - Posts: 26 - 16/09/2019 14:39:13    2236116

Here's a good article about Kerry Group's long association with Kerry GAA:

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/columnists/the-bottom-line-is-all-about-kerry-947162.html

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 16/09/2019 15:16:28    2236143

Replying To ThyKingdomComeThyWillBeDone:  "Ewan McKenna with a classic line on twitter

It's genuinely a bit like a guy thinking he's a ladies man because he paid a prostitute. #GAA"
I'd say he'd know all about that alright.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 16/09/2019 15:34:03    2236158

Replying To Halfdinnerandraspberrycheesecake:  "This argument will continue for decades. Dublin fans see no problem in the current funding disparity. Other county boards are happy to go along with it. Until people vote with their feet and not attend games nothing will change. The one positive thing is local club games may be better attended as the competition is a more level playing field."
How much funding do you lads need in Leitrim, Legend, to compete with Dublin do you think? You are saying that money buys AI's so how much money do you need?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 16/09/2019 15:36:49    2236161

Replying To ThyKingdomComeThyWillBeDone:  "Ewan McKenna with a classic line on twitter

It's genuinely a bit like a guy thinking he's a ladies man because he paid a prostitute. #GAA"
I nearly spit out my coffee reading that. Brilliant!

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 16/09/2019 15:40:34    2236163

Replying To Joxer:  "How much funding do you lads need in Leitrim, Legend, to compete with Dublin do you think? You are saying that money buys AI's so how much money do you need?"
Well, Dublin have received in or around 18 million from 2007-2018 plus the 5 million or whatever it was from the Bertie grant. God almighty, if Leitrim got even just half of that, it'd be some boost.

23 million!! When you say it out loud. All you can do is laugh!

LimerickKid84 (Limerick) - Posts: 28 - 16/09/2019 15:57:13    2236175