Dublin 2015 - 2019

Replying To LimerickKid84:  "I'm amazed the other counties haven't threaten to boycott. I wonder if it's just that old Irish attitude of 'oh, it'll be grand!" If the French for instance had an equivalent of the GAA and the disparity in funding, they'd be out on strike en masse. Strange."
Why don't Limerick boycott Munster? I mean Kerry stroll to titles every year, have massive sponsorship deals, money flowing in from the US, Kerry minister, Brendan Griffin, has secured €3m for Kerry clubs over the past 18 months. What about poor old Limerick? I mean surely Limerick should boycott the Munster championship.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 15/09/2019 22:20:00    2235846

Replying To LimerickKid84:  "I'm amazed the other counties haven't threaten to boycott. I wonder if it's just that old Irish attitude of 'oh, it'll be grand!" If the French for instance had an equivalent of the GAA and the disparity in funding, they'd be out on strike en masse. Strange."
Where are the other 19 French clubs boycotting Ligue 1 because of PSG so?

eoghan6688 (Galway) - Posts: 154 - 15/09/2019 22:25:34    2235851

Replying To eoghan6688:  "Where are the other 19 French clubs boycotting Ligue 1 because of PSG so?"
I said an equivalent to the GAA. Amateur organisation so to speak.

LimerickKid84 (Limerick) - Posts: 28 - 15/09/2019 22:31:48    2235852

Replying To eoghan6688:  "Where are the other 19 French clubs boycotting Ligue 1 because of PSG so?"
They would if PSG played every match at home and if it was the French FA giving them the money!

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 15/09/2019 22:38:22    2235855

Replying To LimerickKid84:  "Think about it. They fail to win an all Ireland from the mid nineties, then the big money starts rolling in in 2007. Four years later, they make the big breakthrough! It's not rocket science to work out the coincidence. I haven't mentioned the Bertie grant up to now!

That said, it's not Dublin GAA's fault. Their hardly going to turn the money down. I just don't know how you fix it, it's a monster now. The Dubs might seem happy on the outside but they know that of this keeps going, there will inevitably be a split in the county to even it up, otherwise the other counties will simply give up. The attendances apart from the final are falling away."
I take your point and central funding needs to be looked at and distributed equally but JP McManus has pumped plenty into Limerick Hurling for years and only last year ye won the all Ireland...why? Because a group of talented players came along....

Every county would love a JP.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 15/09/2019 22:43:00    2235857

Replying To Crinigan:  "Not jealous at all. Would rather win non tainted All Ireland's. You probably have great admiration for the achievements of Man City and PSG no doubt."
I'm sorry.....Am I missing something here? What has two Professional Association Football teams that play almost annually in the European Champions League got to do with Dublin winning a fifth All-Ireland Gaelic football title in a row? I mean you are talking about two soccer teams whose superstars are paid thousands of pounds/euros per week to play professionally in comparison to GAA players who put their personal lives or careers on hold during the years they continue to play inter-county Gaelic football. As they say in the 'wee six counties'...…"catch yerself on"!!!!!

PatdeVerse (Dublin) - Posts: 107 - 15/09/2019 22:45:54    2235860

Replying To hipster:  "I wonder what you would know about funding, comments like yours and others are a disgrace,you know nothing about the gaa"
It is common knowledge that there is a huge funding imbalance in favour of Dublin. It's well documented and I think that it shows immense stupidity on the part of other counties to participate in something as toxic as that. Boycott is the only solution. Of course they would never have the guts to do it but they really should.

qwerty368 (Kildare) - Posts: 69 - 15/09/2019 22:51:17    2235862

Absolutely, I completely agree.

But look, we had a number of counties voting to keep them in croke park not so long ago when donegal rightly proposed a level playing field. Turkeys voting for Christmas essentially and voting against the interests of their very own players. You couldn't make it up. The gaa is full of that sort of gombeenism, hard to take it seriously.

qwerty368 (Kildare) - Posts: 69 - 15/09/2019 22:56:47    2235864

Replying To hipster:  "I wonder what you would know about funding, comments like yours and others are a disgrace,you know nothing about the gaa"
He, she may know as much as you. And anyone who follows GAA reasonably closely now know about the strategic funding that Dublin received. It's a fact, it has been received and in the millions. Comparisons with Tyrone and Kerry are nonsense. Garavghy cost Tyrone €3m, at the expense of a lot of other areas of Tyrone football. That's a fraction of the funding Dublin got. So too what Kerry Group contributes to Kerry. As for someone putting Donegal into the mix on an earlier thread, utter nonsense. We live on scraps compared to Dublin, but as a county we're used to fending for ourselves, including the many people who work in NI or get on a plane on a Sunday Evening to go to work in London or Glasgow over the decades. Elverys got mentioned also - they went into financial administration, bankruptcy during the downturn.

DonegalAtlantic (Donegal) - Posts: 111 - 15/09/2019 23:05:36    2235866

Replying To Halfdinnerandraspberrycheesecake:  "The ironic thing is not one of these Dublin players would be able to lace Colm O'Rourke's boots in his heyday. He was out on his own in a star studded Meath team. Even with the knee strapped up he'd be better than Dublin's best forward in 2019, and that was with more aggressive tackling and more physical games than we have nowadays. And constant fast ball coming towards him. None of this tappy solo stuff and pass back to a lad 20 yards behind you like Dublin indulge in now.

This athleticism argument is painful now. Easy to be constantly in the gym when you don't have four hour round trips to training."
Easy to be constantly in the gym when you don't have four hour round trips to training????

……….Yeah, ever try getting from one side of Dublin to the other in rush hr traffic. It takes me two hrs to get home after work most days, and I live with 15 miles of my workplace. Many of my rural dwelling colleagues are home an hr before me!!!!!

PatdeVerse (Dublin) - Posts: 107 - 15/09/2019 23:05:47    2235867

Dublin2015-2019
1 word - IMMORTALS

Thank you and Goodnight..!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3720 - 15/09/2019 23:11:27    2235873

Replying To sam1884:  "We have seen good football teams in the past from Cavan and Wexford back in the day. The Dubs of the 70's, Down in the 60's and of course the Kerry 4 in a row team. However there can now be no debate to who is the best football team to ever play the game.

For a team to win 5 senior All Ireland's in a row is something we're unlikely to see again. It looks from the celebrations this was a target from a few years back - never seen Gavin smile as much. With the social media age this achievement will see Dublin GAA and this group of players rise to a new level and they're made for life after this.

They are now the powerhouse of football and their next target will be Kerry's 37. Also don't underestimate how much this will hurt Kerry - they have still a great tradition but can no longer claim to have produced the best team to play the game. This hurt almost brought Kerry to this All Ireland and I have no doubt Sam will head to the kingdom in the next year or two.

Congratulations to Dublin footballers and people should be prepared for films, books, documentaries for decades to come about Dublin 2015 - 2019 - the best ever!"
I think there still can be a debate over who is the greatest team of all time. Yes Dublin are the first team to do 5 but remember the Kerry team that did 4 came back and then won a 3 in a row. They also tended to win their finals by bigger scores (2 of Dublin's 5 went to replays). In the 9 years the 2 championship games Kerry lost were to last minute goals. None of this is to lessen what Dublin did. In a few years I think there will be no debate as I certainly don't think this Dublin are near the end of their cycle (before the drawn All final Dublin were shorter odds to win 8 in a row than Kerry were to beat Dublin in this final). But for me AS OF Yet I don't think winning 5 automatically makes them better than Kerry's 4 in a row team considering that basically that same Kerry team subsequently won a 3 in a row in 84/ 85/ 86. Its also hard to compare Kerry's team back then to Dublin now as while Kerry basically had the same players in their run this Dublin group has a bigger turn over of players and has changed quiet a bit from when they started winning.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1333 - 15/09/2019 23:23:24    2235876

Replying To Joxer:  "Why don't Limerick boycott Munster? I mean Kerry stroll to titles every year, have massive sponsorship deals, money flowing in from the US, Kerry minister, Brendan Griffin, has secured €3m for Kerry clubs over the past 18 months. What about poor old Limerick? I mean surely Limerick should boycott the Munster championship."
Lads, go and enjoy the celebrations, why bother with Hoganstand. Switch off for a while and live in the moment

PointRoad (Louth) - Posts: 111 - 15/09/2019 23:52:32    2235880

Replying To LimerickKid84:  "Think about it. They fail to win an all Ireland from the mid nineties, then the big money starts rolling in in 2007. Four years later, they make the big breakthrough! It's not rocket science to work out the coincidence. I haven't mentioned the Bertie grant up to now!

That said, it's not Dublin GAA's fault. Their hardly going to turn the money down. I just don't know how you fix it, it's a monster now. The Dubs might seem happy on the outside but they know that of this keeps going, there will inevitably be a split in the county to even it up, otherwise the other counties will simply give up. The attendances apart from the final are falling away."
Pat Gilroy had a huge impact aswell they had a lot of poor management teams before him.

i agree though the the funding needs to be brought up at congress funding needs to be at least level per capita. also need to go back to 15 + 3 subs

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 15/09/2019 23:58:44    2235882

This Dublin team are an excellent side and their success should be celebrated, I would never deny or begrudge them that one bit. Take a bow lads and soak up all the plaudits and praise as you deserve it. Stephen Cluxton particularly is a man and player I believe should be singled out. He took a right few sore results in his early Dublin career but stayed the course and in my opinion IS the BEST Gaelic football keeper the game has seen. In fact I believe this has been one of his best years form wise and think he's a stand out for Player Of The Year.
My only concern is the wider picture. The media and many within the GAA seem to be in awe of the Dubs, worship at their altar and can't see the damage the annual coronation of Dublin is doing to Gaelic football across the island. Dublin are a professional outfit in an amateur game and there is NO level playing field whatsoever. If they want they can do 10/20/30 in a row but there WILL come a time when the rest of us will eventually ALL walk away in disinterest. Sadly I believe the GAA and media don't care about that and will then propose that Dublin split into 2 or 4 teams. Gaelic football is dying in many parts of the island but those with power, influence and money don't care; the Dubs are winning and that's ALL that matters!

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9693 - 16/09/2019 00:54:23    2235888

Replying To Crinigan:  "Have you been hiding under a rock for the past 15 years. Get with it lad.

It's not about sponsorship.Nobody cares about the AIG funding - it's the 18 million handed to them by the GAA between 2007 and 2018. 18 million!!! (Nearest beneficiaries are Cork with 1.4 million in this period).... this is on top of the 5 million of public money given by Bertie Ahern just before this period.

Wake up."
Do you really think "Bon" and "lillylanger" are kildare people?? Their both living here but are the type of Dub fan you see in your local that are wearing the XXXL Dublin jersey (but the belly still sticks out) while Dublin are playing on 1 TV but their watching Man U on another.. And as soon as the soccer is over their gone even if the Dublin match is still on.. When they leave the whole bar laughs and shakes their heads in unison! This has happened more than once i can tell ya..

cuttothebone (Kildare) - Posts: 163 - 16/09/2019 01:12:15    2235892

Replying To Fionn:  "Kerry Group are not short of a bob or two.... ;o)"
You can't compare Kerry group with AIG. Huge international group, sponsors of the all blacks.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 16/09/2019 01:27:20    2235897

In fairness NO County need complain you all had your chance last year when Donegal tabled the motion of the Dublin bias and no-one backed them so good luck to Dublin you all had your chance!

letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 153 - 16/09/2019 01:31:04    2235898

Replying To Fionn:  "Good post - people in glasshouses, come to mind...."
Kerry Group 540 million euro turnover in 2018.
AIG 14.5 billion euro turnover in 2018.

So 28 times the profits of Kerry Group. Again the financial imbalance is there.

Congrats to Dublin yesterday on their 5 in a row. But I wouldn't be honest if I didn't mention the caveat of funding. Kerry were as good as 14 Dublin men for 40 odd minutes in the drawn game. They held 15 Dublin men for the replay for the first half. Kerry were out on their feet by 55 min. This supreme conditioning is bringing Dublin home.

Now the usual thing expected in Ireland is to be a Patsy, bite your tongue, and congratulate the winner. But there are advantages that can't be overlooked.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 16/09/2019 01:41:20    2235900

Replying To Fionn:  "Ah so that is the reason the Dublin Hurlers have been so successful and won so much recently...

Thank you for the clarification on that.

Good man Cringe"
You see money and gym work won't work aswell in hurling. It's skills are more from background, carrying the hurl as soon as you can walk. Harder to buy success in hurling.

A light team like Laois could out hurl a 'gym' team like Dublin this year as they were more natural hurlers with better stick work.

Also your best hurler by a mile is Con O'C. Keaney gave his best years to the footballers too. Now at 36/37 his best years behind him.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 16/09/2019 01:47:23    2235901