Dublin Vs Kerry Replay

Replying To woops:  "I was on holidays last few weeks so just want to congratulate the Dubs on achieving the historic 5 in a row.
In the 5 finals they were beatable in 4 of them apart from last year and they always found a way to overcome the opposition.
The Dubs got the break with the goal with all those steps taken but to be honest I didnt even notice that until after the game so not going to blame the ref on that .We got some handyish frees to keep us in the game in the first half too. The Dubs were much the better team in the replay and I think the Kerry management blew it big time on the sideline with the tactics and timing of subs etc.

Anyway fair play to the Dubs and congrats to the main Dubs posters on here such as Liam etc"
Well , that's very sporting and gracious from you. It's refreshing to read a post from a Kerry supporter with those sentiments.
Fair play to you.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 27/09/2019 17:35:39    2239687

Replying To Fionn:  "Where did you come across this JacktheDub ?"
https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/columnists/eamonn-fitzmaurice/the-scary-bit-is-that-the-champs-are-far-from-finished-950944.html

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 27/09/2019 18:16:59    2239696

Replying To jacktheDub:  "https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/columnists/eamonn-fitzmaurice/the-scary-bit-is-that-the-champs-are-far-from-finished-950944.html"
Thanks Jack.

Nice to see some acknowledgment coming from him and some kerry posters at last.
If Fitzmaurice says it, then that is all that needs to be said.

The thing about this Dublin team and achieving the fabled Five In A Row is that they have done it with some of the best players Dublin and others have ever seen. Some greats on that team who will go down as Gaelic Football legends:
Especially the likes of Cluxton McCaffrey McCarthy Fenton Kilkenny Mannion Connolly Rock and Con.
With some still having their best years ahead of them.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 27/09/2019 22:06:28    2239743

I've enough of the whole Dublin thing, the success, the interviews, the awards, could emigrate I suppose.

gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 636 - 27/09/2019 23:32:47    2239765

Replying To TheHermit:  "Amazing how in the light of siring questions and the full glare of public opinion turning on D-GAA and by extension Dublin, the climate change deniers turn to googling provincial records of other counties or insinuating that people asking honest and hard questions are not "genuine" GAA people.
I've seen it over on the Kerry forum by "guests" coming in to "commensurate" with us.
Apparently if we point to the well know facts and figures we are dismissed as being "obsessed" with Dublin and are probably an "embarrassment" to genuine GAA people in our county.

It's very interesting seeing how the arguments, deflections and rhetoric of Dublin supporters on places like this and on social media are evolving. One thing is for sure, it's getting more aggressive, more defensive and by implication they know public opinion has well and truly shifted and they can't hide behind words like volunteerism and once in a generation any longer. The horse has bolted.

Also of course this isn't some reaction to the 5 in a row, for several years now people have rightly been asking questions about what has been allowed go on with Dublin by the GAA.
We have the GPA, every major media outlet, every second poster on here and the majority of GAA supporters up and down the country raising these issues now. Are we all paranoid or obsessed or can Dublin supporters finally concide the simple premise that where there's smoke there's a fire.

What's beyond doubt for me is that there's a semi-professional team playing 31 other counties and playing all but 1 or 2 of their games in their own ground. They are a talented, truly excellent group of players with an incredible manager but don't tell me or anyone else their dominance hasn't been greatly aided. In the past week we have heard how the Dublin senior team is able to engage in high-altitude training, no wonder they can keep running while other teams are out on their feet when the clock hits 70l!

I'm sure the Dubs have enjoyed the 5 in a row, personally I don't think they being first to do it negates the wonderful tradition and history of my own county.

History will judge this decade in the long run and the contexts of what went on will be set out.

Looking forward to 2020 and also to the GAA (rightly) getting it in the neck all winter."
Opinion hasn't shifted 30% of the country lives in Dublin so the only opinion that matters is Dublins.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 28/09/2019 00:42:09    2239775

Replying To arock:  "Opinion hasn't shifted 30% of the country lives in Dublin so the only opinion that matters is Dublins."
I could see Dublin doing six in a row. But they will be caught for the lucky 7...just, maybe just like Darby breaking the back of the Kerry net.

Gavin's ingenuity is that he has no favorites, and over the years that he's been in charge, he's realized the need for new blood. That was where Mick O'Dwyer fell down. He failed to evolve the team.

In my reading of things, Micko would still have Paul Flynn playing in 2019. That was his way. Flynn, while one of my favorite players and named on my best 15 of the Kerry 4-in-a-row and Dublin 5-in-row eras, was well past his best by 2017. His greatest days were from 2011-2015. Gavin sussed this. But I don't think Micko would have!

shoulderghost (Limerick) - Posts: 863 - 28/09/2019 11:07:40    2239801

Replying To shoulderghost:  "I could see Dublin doing six in a row. But they will be caught for the lucky 7...just, maybe just like Darby breaking the back of the Kerry net.

Gavin's ingenuity is that he has no favorites, and over the years that he's been in charge, he's realized the need for new blood. That was where Mick O'Dwyer fell down. He failed to evolve the team.

In my reading of things, Micko would still have Paul Flynn playing in 2019. That was his way. Flynn, while one of my favorite players and named on my best 15 of the Kerry 4-in-a-row and Dublin 5-in-row eras, was well past his best by 2017. His greatest days were from 2011-2015. Gavin sussed this. But I don't think Micko would have!"
Jim Gavin had four U21 winning teams to supplement an already brilliant squad of players throughout his run as manager. That's a luxury Micko didn't have so I am not sure it is fair to say that he didn't understand the need for new blood. I don't think the necessary talent was coming in behind that Kerry team to allow him to keep reloading in the way Gavin has been able to.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 28/09/2019 16:59:38    2239848

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Jim Gavin had four U21 winning teams to supplement an already brilliant squad of players throughout his run as manager. That's a luxury Micko didn't have so I am not sure it is fair to say that he didn't understand the need for new blood. I don't think the necessary talent was coming in behind that Kerry team to allow him to keep reloading in the way Gavin has been able to."
To be fair Gavin managed some of those teams and developed many of those players himself, he has 3 U 21 titles as a manager with his management team, so arguably much is the fruit of his own labor. It was interesting to hear Bernard during the week say he was involved in his development at under age and he's in mid 30's now. Jim I think has had one year away from the Dublin coaching set up since his own playing retirement.

Given his success, 3 U21 All Ireland's and 6 Senior titles it's quite remarkable he's only gone 48 himself, very you g in managerial terms, it's not something often mentioned.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 28/09/2019 17:53:38    2239855

Replying To TheUsername:  "To be fair Gavin managed some of those teams and developed many of those players himself, he has 3 U 21 titles as a manager with his management team, so arguably much is the fruit of his own labor. It was interesting to hear Bernard during the week say he was involved in his development at under age and he's in mid 30's now. Jim I think has had one year away from the Dublin coaching set up since his own playing retirement.

Given his success, 3 U21 All Ireland's and 6 Senior titles it's quite remarkable he's only gone 48 himself, very you g in managerial terms, it's not something often mentioned."
Not to mention 7 Leinster titles and 5 League titles also.

It is a remarkable record by Jim

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 28/09/2019 19:05:37    2239868

Replying To TheUsername:  "To be fair Gavin managed some of those teams and developed many of those players himself, he has 3 U 21 titles as a manager with his management team, so arguably much is the fruit of his own labor. It was interesting to hear Bernard during the week say he was involved in his development at under age and he's in mid 30's now. Jim I think has had one year away from the Dublin coaching set up since his own playing retirement.

Given his success, 3 U21 All Ireland's and 6 Senior titles it's quite remarkable he's only gone 48 himself, very you g in managerial terms, it's not something often mentioned."
Not trying to take anything away from Gavin. I was merely remarking that it is harsh to say Micko mismanaged Kerry by not bringing in younger players. It was a once in a lifetime group of players he had and the success was always going to come to an end when they got older.

The Dub U21/U20 teams have been doing just fine since Gavin left them btw. It might be a stretch to say he is solely responsible for those players development, although I'm sure he played a part.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 29/09/2019 00:18:05    2239928

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Not trying to take anything away from Gavin. I was merely remarking that it is harsh to say Micko mismanaged Kerry by not bringing in younger players. It was a once in a lifetime group of players he had and the success was always going to come to an end when they got older.

The Dub U21/U20 teams have been doing just fine since Gavin left them btw. It might be a stretch to say he is solely responsible for those players development, although I'm sure he played a part."
Ah i know that Gerry, just hopped on the soap box, i think its incredible the success he had at underage and senior and i was honestly shocked to hear he had been so involved when Bernard was underage given Berards age. it gives a sense of his longevity and the value of continuity, hes still very young in managerial at 48, 41 when he won his first senior ALL Ireland.

I know most of the country will only be aware of Gavins senior senior success, but he is probably the pivotal figure still in Dublin underage development that has led to this period of success so there is a strong argument to be made he is reeeping the benefit of what he sewed, not that you were saying it but he just hasnt walked into the dressing room and managed these "conveyor belt" players that is often the assumption, he was very involved in coaching them.

Kerry have probably looked at it and hoped for the same with bringing in Keane and his team.

I agree incidentally on Mick O Dwyer, its a harsh point above, one of the hardest thing to do is add to an already successful team who have hit a top standard, it takes ruthlessness, and tremendous bravery. I dont think the Kerry team was as static as is sometimes made out, certainly during the 70's lads were added, the bomber for example wasn't involved early doors. Any how different era and different demands and it will be debated on for years.

Both trail blazers of their day.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 29/09/2019 10:26:28    2239970

Hopep all involved have a great night for the Dubs "homecoming " but where are they coming home from? Seriously?

NewyorkNewyork (Kildare) - Posts: 12 - 29/09/2019 20:21:42    2240105

It's being posted on another website that Donie Buckley has left the Kerry management set up.Does anybody know if this is the case.?

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2154 - 06/10/2019 13:13:10    2241589

Replying To NewyorkNewyork:  "Hopep all involved have a great night for the Dubs "homecoming " but where are they coming home from? Seriously?"
I was thinking the same thing, sure they never leave to come home :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/10/2019 15:13:24    2241602

Replying To endgame:  "It's being posted on another website that Donie Buckley has left the Kerry management set up.Does anybody know if this is the case.?"
I haven't heard anything about that and I was in Tralee last night at a match and usually you'd hear those kind of rumbling if they're about.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/10/2019 15:15:04    2241603

Replying To endgame:  "It's being posted on another website that Donie Buckley has left the Kerry management set up.Does anybody know if this is the case.?"
That was on gaaboard. Wouldn't believe anything from that page. Full of trolls

hamsterdean (Limerick) - Posts: 223 - 06/10/2019 15:39:59    2241606

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I was thinking the same thing, sure they never leave to come home :-)"
ya you poor thing , still obsessed as ever with Anything to do with Dublin , winter well kid -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 06/10/2019 22:03:21    2241674

Donie must be coming back to Dublin. Sure didn't he play in Dublin a lot years ago and then tog out with Castleisland when not needed in Dublin.

BlueBeret (Dublin) - Posts: 54 - 06/10/2019 23:40:39    2241688

Replying To BlueBeret:  "Donie must be coming back to Dublin. Sure didn't he play in Dublin a lot years ago and then tog out with Castleisland when not needed in Dublin."
I'd say Buckley is just sick of them at this stage. He knows he'll never make defenders out of them and that that team will never win Sam. They might eek out a league title or struggle past Cork in Munster, but that's about the measure of Kerry.

shoulderghost (Limerick) - Posts: 863 - 07/10/2019 10:55:08    2241752

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I was thinking the same thing, sure they never leave to come home :-)"
What is the capacity of Fitzgerald stadium??

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 07/10/2019 11:48:50    2241764