Dublin Vs Kerry Replay

Replying To moc.dna:  "David Clifford is a super player who I enjoy watching, but his elbow on Murchan was nasty."
It was particularly nasty and extremely dangerous. GAA will need to have a look at it.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 15/09/2019 14:40:24    2235615

Replying To MesAmis:  "Moran's has no questions to answer. Had a great year for Kerry this year and deserves more respect than Kingdomboy is showing.

He should have caught the throw in yeah but its not like he punched the ball into Murchan's hands when he was 14 yards from goal."
Whilst no player should be beyond criticism Moran has nothing to answer for there, a split second to either catch or punch and with the benefit of hindsight etc. He was excellent yesterday as he has been all summer.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 15/09/2019 14:42:46    2235616

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "At the start of the first half, Kerry started lobbing balls into the square, where the Dublin defence gratefully gobbled them up and started movements that ended up in Dublin points. I was worried early on that a rout might take place, but then Kerry found their groove, and Dublin started to make the occasional mistake (they are only human after all), ensuring the game remained competitive at half time. I thought too some decisions went the way of Kerry when maybe they shouldn't.

Kerry hit too many wides. You could argue that even one wide is too many against this current Dublin team, but while Dublin were 100% accurate between the posts in the first half (apart from there balls that fell short), Kerry had three, and went on to have seven more in the second half compared to Dublin's four.

Murchan's goal was like a bolt from the blue, but not entirely so. Dublin blitzed Mayo at the start of the second half of their semifinal, so it wasn't to be unexpected that they might try a similar sudden stunt to break the deadlock after half time.

The the game in the last few minutes, Dublin expertly retained possession in Kerry's half and kept Kerry off the scoreboard. The audience got the hump with this, but remember, any team can do whatever they want with the ball within the rules, and it was up to Kerry to dispossess them, same as in any other game, or even any other part of this game. If Dublin choose to decline a scoring opportunity (and obviously the chances of their possession ending in a turnover can only increase as the seconds tick on), that's their gamble to take."
A rule that should be changed. Either limit the number of back passes (hard to monitor) or the ball has to go forward between certain lines. This is why I am hesitant to declare Dublin being the greatest team of all time. Certainly the greatest team of athletes to play gaelic football. I would hold judgment on the greatest footballers of all time. If wanting to see a soccer match or basket ball one can go to those games. Yesterday was an exciting game for us the fans until Dublin started playing the possession game. Over and back and back further. Like you said within the rules. Change it, change the number of hand passes to if you get one you can not give one. This will restore the game to its greatest and even better that before with the athletes of today.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 15/09/2019 14:45:33    2235620

Replying To avonali:  "
Replying To BliainanÁir:  "[quote=Fionn:  "A bit of help from the ref in the 1st half... Under statement of the century

We couldnt buy a free in that 1st half."
Ye couldn't 'buy' a free. Just burst out laughing at that. The irony, when ye can buy most other things in GAA."
NIce to see the Queen's County troll still going about his business."]And you bit as usual Avon ;) The fella trying a dig on Queen's county with the anglicised name. More irony!

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 15/09/2019 14:45:38    2235621

Replying To Canuck:  "A rule that should be changed. Either limit the number of back passes (hard to monitor) or the ball has to go forward between certain lines. This is why I am hesitant to declare Dublin being the greatest team of all time. Certainly the greatest team of athletes to play gaelic football. I would hold judgment on the greatest footballers of all time. If wanting to see a soccer match or basket ball one can go to those games. Yesterday was an exciting game for us the fans until Dublin started playing the possession game. Over and back and back further. Like you said within the rules. Change it, change the number of hand passes to if you get one you can not give one. This will restore the game to its greatest and even better that before with the athletes of today."
You're addressing the symptom but not the cause.

Why were Dublin holding onto possession?

You want to take away the best way to remedy the blanket defence because you think the blanket being more effective will lead to better football? Bizarre.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 15/09/2019 14:56:45    2235627

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "Fair play Hermit. I know there is stuff said here but at the end of the day we love the game and two teams gave everything and went at it for over 140 minutes. This Kerry team is only getting started and will be back again for another shot next year, that's for sure."
Please God, anyway it's yer day today so hope yer all out and about celebrating in yer own way. Still in the Kerry jersey nursing a hangover, drinking Brandy till 5am with the father, Dubs were good craic last night and yeah I know we drive each other mad on here as we have different views but when it comes to meeting in person there's always great fun.
Ugghhhh it's going to be a long winter now, but it's been a great year following this young exciting and talented bunch of men from the Kingdom.
The futures bright and hopefully last night was the turning of the tide :)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 15/09/2019 15:06:46    2235631

Dublin had another gear in them I feel...It was a brilliant first half from both sides but you always have that feeling Dublin can push on.

Kerry shot selection was very poor in the second half. Tommy Walsh should have been on sooner..

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11229 - 15/09/2019 15:08:11    2235632

Replying To Canuck:  "A rule that should be changed. Either limit the number of back passes (hard to monitor) or the ball has to go forward between certain lines. This is why I am hesitant to declare Dublin being the greatest team of all time. Certainly the greatest team of athletes to play gaelic football. I would hold judgment on the greatest footballers of all time. If wanting to see a soccer match or basket ball one can go to those games. Yesterday was an exciting game for us the fans until Dublin started playing the possession game. Over and back and back further. Like you said within the rules. Change it, change the number of hand passes to if you get one you can not give one. This will restore the game to its greatest and even better that before with the athletes of today."
If athletes can take scores like that then Usain Bolt must be some baller. You've nothing to say about the tactic of Kerry putting 14 men in their own 45 yet Dublin are not great footballers because they didn't rush headlong into a Kerry wall risking turnovers when 3 points up. Crazy analysis. Tell me what would your own greatest team of all time, whoever that is, have done in the same circumstance?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 15/09/2019 15:22:37    2235639

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "
Replying To avonali:  "[quote=BliainanÁir:  "[quote=Fionn:  "A bit of help from the ref in the 1st half... Under statement of the century

Ye couldn't 'buy' a free. Just burst out laughing at that. The irony, when ye can buy most other things in GAA."
NIce to see the Queen's County troll still going about his business."]And you bit as usual Avon ;) The fella trying a dig on Queen's county with the anglicised name. More irony!"]ha. No avonali is Ila Nova backwards. It's not an Anglicised version of Abhainn. Silly boy.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 15/09/2019 15:28:23    2235642

Replying To MesAmis:  "You're addressing the symptom but not the cause.

You want to take away the best way to remedy the blanket defence because you think the blanket being more effective will lead to better football? Bizarre."
You think that a combination of soccer and basket ball is the best form of gaelic football ? Bizarre.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 15/09/2019 15:39:55    2235649

Replying To yew_tree:  "Dublin had another gear in them I feel...It was a brilliant first half from both sides but you always have that feeling Dublin can push on.

Kerry shot selection was very poor in the second half. Tommy Walsh should have been on sooner.."
Two obvious turning points, the Murchan goal and that Cluxton save. A 6 point swing, the winning margin. Dublin's forward stepped up yesterday in a game where we couldn't buy a free and our FB line who everyone thought would be our weakness, was actually our core strength. Again Kerry seemed to be out on their feet with 10-15 to go. They are short a midfielder and a couple of backs IMO. No doubting their forwards' ability although they kicked 6+ wides yesterday albeit that the Dublin backs had them under pressure. Kerry the team to watch next year though.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 15/09/2019 15:44:49    2235651

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "
Replying To Fionn:  "A bit of help from the ref in the 1st half... Under statement of the century

Haha very good. I supposed when you get used to buying everything you expect it.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 15/09/2019 15:46:53    2235652

Replying To Joxer:  "If athletes can take scores like that then Usain Bolt must be some baller. You've nothing to say about the tactic of Kerry putting 14 men in their own 45 yet Dublin are not great footballers because they didn't rush headlong into a Kerry wall risking turnovers when 3 points up. Crazy analysis. Tell me what would your own greatest team of all time, whoever that is, have done in the same circumstance?"
Never said Dublin were not good footballers. Their achievement is fantastic. I said may be not the greatest FOOTBALL team of all time. After all that the game is FOOTBALL. Neither do I approve of Kerry putting 14 men behind their 45. Guess what they will never erase that 3 point difference back there. In fact they went further behind because Dublin had all the time in the world with possession to set up for more scores. The game has evolved to this style. Not just Dublin and Kerry but all teams. In my opinion this has taken from the game. There are changes that have added to the game also like the fitness and athleticism of the players. It will evolve again. Hopefully along the lines of 30 to 40 meters accurate passes (take a risk). A few rule changes would help. The long pass Connolly sent yesterday was a hi-light of the game and in my opinion the teams who can prefect it will unhinge blanket defence.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 15/09/2019 16:04:50    2235656

Replying To MesAmis:  "You're addressing the symptom but not the cause.

You want to take away the best way to remedy the blanket defence because you think the blanket being more effective will lead to better football? Bizarre."
You think that a combination of soccer and basket ball is the best form of gaelic football ? Bizarre.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 15/09/2019 16:06:28    2235657

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "
Replying To BliainanÁir:  "[quote=Fionn:  "A bit of help from the ref in the 1st half... Under statement of the century

Haha very good. I supposed when you get used to buying everything you expect it."]You are a gas man - you slate Dublin at every opportunity yet reside on the Dublin pages most days with fake praise..

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3727 - 15/09/2019 16:11:27    2235661

Replying To Canuck:  "You think that a combination of soccer and basket ball is the best form of gaelic football ? Bizarre."
Never said that.

Address the point I made if you're capable.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 15/09/2019 16:14:38    2235666

Replying To Canuck:  "Never said Dublin were not good footballers. Their achievement is fantastic. I said may be not the greatest FOOTBALL team of all time. After all that the game is FOOTBALL. Neither do I approve of Kerry putting 14 men behind their 45. Guess what they will never erase that 3 point difference back there. In fact they went further behind because Dublin had all the time in the world with possession to set up for more scores. The game has evolved to this style. Not just Dublin and Kerry but all teams. In my opinion this has taken from the game. There are changes that have added to the game also like the fitness and athleticism of the players. It will evolve again. Hopefully along the lines of 30 to 40 meters accurate passes (take a risk). A few rule changes would help. The long pass Connolly sent yesterday was a hi-light of the game and in my opinion the teams who can prefect it will unhinge blanket defence."
Well I guess you will have to let us know who you think is the greatest FOOTball team of all time if not this 5 in a row winning Dublin team famed for their positive brand of football and only defeated in 1 championship game since 2014. The Connolly pass was exquisite but very high risk. He gave the ball away 3 times trying Hollywood passes when Dublin needed to obtain possession. He gave it aeay twice more with intercepted hand-passes. He was desperate to light the stage up but a dodgy performance from him IMO. Mannion, Con, Kilkenny were the star forwards yesterday.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 15/09/2019 16:26:18    2235673

It's a good day

Great day/night and looking forward to Monday night and carrying the county colors into town.

It was an excellent Dublin performance and a very enjoyable game. Hard fought, hugely competitive with high skill levels on show.

Incredible atmosphere.

It was a very picturesque evening with the sun setting giving us a vivid purple and orange sky, quite a beautiful back drop to the greatest achievement ever witnessed in the history of our games.

Quite a fitting setting indeed.

A night to be remembered and two games that paid tribute to the accolade collected.

Very happy for all the Dub fans on here.

Very proud of our players and management and of course this could be expanded on but it was a team effort and I won't point out individuals.

The drive for 5 has been parked, Sam is sitting in the front seat with his belt on. Safe and sound and enjoying his unique view.

He's seen some sights in his time but this one is all new to him.

Enjoy the view boys and girls. It's a vantage point that only you can enjoy.

Now let's paint the city blue tomorrow night

Up The Dubs 15,16,17,18,19

Liking the bookends wha ;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 15/09/2019 16:28:06    2235675

All kickouts should have to go beyond the 45 meter line and kick outs taken from the small square as well.

Once you go past the opposing 65 the attacking team can't take the ball back outside it.

Then again the reffs can't even count 4 steps these days so how would those rules be enforced .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/09/2019 16:36:21    2235681

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "All kickouts should have to go beyond the 45 meter line and kick outs taken from the small square as well.

Once you go past the opposing 65 the attacking team can't take the ball back outside it.

Then again the reffs can't even count 4 steps these days so how would those rules be enforced ."
Or see dangerous elbows put into players ala Clifford on Murchan

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3727 - 15/09/2019 16:42:34    2235683