O'Callaghan V Clifford

Just read Eamonn Sweeney's back page Independent article on Clifford and O'Callaghan. He compares them Messi and Ronaldo, not in direct comparison but lists traits the two gaelic lads have like the two soccer players. Fair enough.

However he goes on to say that in terms of strength Con is like Messi and Cliffors Ronaldo. Is he for real.Does he not know how strong Con is? He then goes on to say Con has great athletic ability and pace but Clifford doesn't. Give me a break, has he not seen Cliffords pace in that minor goal v Galway from halfway a few years back.

Earlier in the year he said Kilkenny (the hurling team) had lost their 'Kilkennyness' and were 3rd or 4th in Leinster and going nowhere. After beating Cork and Limerick there wasn't a word out of him. He was a journalist I often read but he's turned into a waffler and bluffer of the highest order.

Anyone who criticises his viewpoint is 'a clown on social media' now too. Bizarre stuff.

Good look to the two young men today.

Defaulter1831 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 40 - 01/09/2019 12:14:03    2231144

Con is a machine physically compared to 2017 when he faced us but he has not lost any of his pace or class. Con has more experienced, hardened and a better team around him than Clifford right now though which is the main difference. That will likely change in the future but right now it's Con that is sitting in a better place.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 01/09/2019 12:36:25    2231152

I don't understand why the media do these types of debates over players who are playing on different sides of the pitch and not marking each other, a better debate would be who will win the battle between Moran and Fenton at midfield where they are marking each other

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 04/09/2019 09:28:37    2232638

Con Vs O Shea, i think is a better comparison. id find that tougher to call.

Young David is doing and will be fine, he might not be the player that dominated minor to the same extent he will at senior but hes a good player at 20. I like how he impacted the game on Sunday it shows development as Jonny got the better of him in 2018 in the league and he bet Jonny out the gate on Sunday.

Hes doing grand at 20 and plenty of head room, give him time and space to develop as quick as people build him up there will be the same number to knock him dont if he not winning matches by himself by 23. I think before Sunday he was 17th in the list for scorers this year. Not sure what he is now.

Hes doing grand for a 20 year old in their second season, let him grow without the hype, im not sure its accurate or does the lad any favors at the moment.

Keane i think has handled him infinitely better this year that he was last year.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 04/09/2019 11:02:40    2232667

Con the better hurler in anyways ;)

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 04/09/2019 12:33:27    2232701

Clifford the better footballer. No comparison.

kerryforsam19 (Kerry) - Posts: 95 - 04/09/2019 20:25:13    2232864

i thin it should be sean oshea vs con

Dont get me wrong clifford is an unbelievable footballer but i would put sean and con slightly ahead thats not to say clifford wont go on to be the best but at this moment in time those two lads are ahead

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 05/09/2019 11:12:22    2232973

Replying To kerryforsam19:  "Clifford the better footballer. No comparison."
Clifford is not even the best on the Kerry team. There should be no comparisons though. Both huge talents.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 05/09/2019 12:22:21    2232998