Likely Football Allstars 2019...

Slow down lads. Time was that the NFL winners were guaranteed 2 All Stars, each of the the provincial champions were given at least one. Then an outstanding player from a perceived weaker county was also honoured, e.g. Paddy Moriarty, well before Armagh made the breakthrough in 77, also Kevin O'Brien of Wicklow and David Kilcoyne, Westmeath (hurling). Of course Roscommon can feel hard done by if they don't get one, likewise Cork who improved immeasurable for this championship. Gary Brennan and Donal Keoghan would also be in with a shout but in the days of "winner takes all" the great players among the lesser lights will probably again be ignored. But remember that preceding the great recent recession the brightest and most accurate economists were either ignored or threatened but were still correct. Today we know the price of everything and the value of nothing.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1062 - 16/08/2019 19:57:21    2226557

All stars a load of BS anyway.

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 16/08/2019 20:01:01    2226560

Replying To FootblockREF:  "Keoghan isn't getting an All Star. Just get used to the idea. He'll get Meath's only nomination. If Meath want All Stars then everyone, including Keoghan needs to play the full 70."
What are you even talking about?

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 508 - 16/08/2019 20:13:34    2226565

Replying To royaldunne:  "Wouldn't lace donals boots. But then no one would."
All this talk about clifford , coc and all is bullsh*t, donal is the greatest ever

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 561 - 16/08/2019 20:19:24    2226568

Yes Keoghan is as good or better than anyone playing in his role.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 16/08/2019 20:26:10    2226574

Replying To royaldunne:  "He would. And in fairness that's no disrespect to any player from that time, the job he done man marking this year was phenomenal, even on Kilkenny, one of the best half forwards of all time."
Royal, I disagree with you but we're both biased !

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7343 - 16/08/2019 20:34:41    2226577

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Moran is getting midfield with Fenton all day long."
How?
He only played 2 matches

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1106 - 16/08/2019 20:41:02    2226580

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Murphy had a good year alright but he may miss out on one. I also agree with above poster I taught he was very average against Mayo and kicked some poor wides at a vital time which cost Donegal."
Murphy is starting to remind me of Joe Canning in terms of people's perceptions, i.e. he's a victim of his own success and is definitely judged by higher standards than other players. My player of the decade, and he should be a definite all-star this year, but I couldn't say with any certainty that he will get one...

Bosco98 (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 16/08/2019 20:46:32    2226581

Replying To winatallcost:  "You must be joking with Byrne and Cooper in full backline. Cooper might with a man of the match display in final. Alot of good half back this year. I would personally put keogan into fullback line."
Sure Meath were the whipping boys of the super 8's. They won't, and shouldn't get any All-Star.
The unlucky ones to lose out on my team it are David Moran and Colm Boyle.
Looking at it again I would prob take out either Byrne/Cooper depending on who plays better in final and find a spot for Boyle.

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 377 - 16/08/2019 20:47:58    2226582

Replying To boman11:  "I could see Murphy not getting picked for an All star, although fair enough he probably deserves one this year but with Donegal exiting the super 8s I think there are still too many quality forwards having good years that will pip Murphy to it. Currently the 6 forwards I would have would be Howard, C O'C, S O'Brien, Clifford, McShane and Mannion"
Moran too inconsistent - quite likely to disappear in the final. Would be surprised if Howard gets an All-Star unless he has a stormer in the final.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 16/08/2019 20:57:29    2226587

Replying To royaldunne:  "Wouldn't lace donals boots. But then no one would."
Maybe if he asked him nicely!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 16/08/2019 21:02:50    2226590

Replying To realdub:  "Yes Keoghan is as good or better than anyone playing in his role."
Agree, look he is unlucky to be playing at a time when Meath were very much in transition, now that is bearing some fruit, I think he is in with a good shout of a all star. It would be warranted.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/08/2019 21:08:26    2226593

Replying To realdub:  "Yes Keoghan is as good or better than anyone playing in his role."
Agreed. I would nearly go as far to say as Keogan is the best all round footballing back in the country at the moment both in terms of defending and attacking.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 508 - 16/08/2019 21:20:35    2226596

Replying To hopballref:  "Sure Meath were the whipping boys of the super 8's. They won't, and shouldn't get any All-Star.
The unlucky ones to lose out on my team it are David Moran and Colm Boyle.
Looking at it again I would prob take out either Byrne/Cooper depending on who plays better in final and find a spot for Boyle."
Would have both Boyle and Keogan in the team ahead of Byrne and Cooper.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 508 - 16/08/2019 21:33:02    2226604

Replying To St.Conleth:  "Jack McCaffrey........(plays for Dublin)"
Keogan is a better defender than McCaffrey but doesn't have the speed of McCaffrey going forward. Keogan a better all round footballer.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 508 - 16/08/2019 21:36:40    2226607

Replying To royaldunne:  "Agree, look he is unlucky to be playing at a time when Meath were very much in transition, now that is bearing some fruit, I think he is in with a good shout of a all star. It would be warranted."
Fair play to him if he does, I personally don't put much value on them, the cross is all that matters!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 16/08/2019 22:10:58    2226622

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Maybe if he asked him nicely!"
Still not a better footballer though :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/08/2019 22:43:13    2226629

Replying To winatallcost:  "Keogan is a better defender than McCaffrey but doesn't have the speed of McCaffrey going forward. Keogan a better all round footballer."
Jack McCaffrey is the greatest wing back to ever play the game. There's never been a player like Jack never. The opposition's best player are marking McCaffrey in games now it's nuts, it's unfair to put Keoghan whose a great player in the same bracket as Jack cause it's not even close.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 16/08/2019 22:53:02    2226635

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Paddy Durcan."
Keogan is a better defender than Durcan.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 508 - 16/08/2019 23:20:42    2226647

Sad to see the amount of funny stuff floating around Meath. I was hoping the cops had greater control of it. But delusional is widespread seemingly. No way Meghan is getting all star and no way he deserves it. Ye beat laois ffs thays all. Hammered apart from that. Improvement yeah. Miles off it though

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 17/08/2019 01:30:37    2226663