Kerry V Dublin

Hearing Fenton was sick all last week and hadn't fully recovered but they went with him yesterday, explains a lot.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 02/09/2019 16:30:06    2231961

I would love to see how much ground Jack McCaffrey covered yesterday. The man has some engine, a dead cert for footballer of the year. In the replay Kerry better have some plan to slow him down.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 02/09/2019 17:30:22    2231994

Replying To Joxer:  "The Liam Hassett lookalike runner who spent more time on the pitch than Clifford. Looks like he inherited it from Hassett."
But he had nobody hanging on to him.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 02/09/2019 17:39:40    2231999

Replying To katser:  "Not at all..were you at the match!! Full back line was totally exposed as doggy.
1. Goal scored via full back line cut open
2.Penalty missed via full back line foul
3.ball scraped off the line via full back line mistake
4. Great save by Cluxton via full back line cut open again.
Kerry could have got 4 Goals all from kamikaze full back line defending, only for a Goalie & Wing Back the Dubs would have been beaten 10pts."
How many scores did the Kerry FF line get from play and that against a Dublin FB line missing it's pivotal player for 45m? Their average rating in the press is hovering around 6.25 while Dublin's is much higher. Regardless, I think the Dublin FBs did a decent job especially considering they were down to 2 for most of the game. Fitzy stifled Clifford when moved on to him. Great game management by them in the last 15m also to break up the Kerry attacks and build for the comeback.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 02/09/2019 17:53:15    2232007

Replying To TheUsername:  "Hearing Fenton was sick all last week and hadn't fully recovered but they went with him yesterday, explains a lot."
Was he not marked out if by Barry in the league as well to be fair.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 02/09/2019 18:03:08    2232011

Funny how those Kerry voices that were complaining about Goff are very quiet today.
'Tis ashamed of themselves they should be.
On a different note, I thought it was really unsportsmanlike of Kerry when they ran out and ruined the Cork minors acceptance ceremony and they had shag all time to enjoy their moment. Not surprising I suppose.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 02/09/2019 18:04:40    2232013

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Was he not marked out if by Barry in the league as well to be fair."
Big difference between League and championship.Fenton was poor yesterday.I'd say he'll be a lot better the next day whoever is marking him,

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2154 - 02/09/2019 18:48:54    2232035

Replying To neverright:  "But he had nobody hanging on to him."
Yeah for a 6'2" lad packing 86KGs he sure goes down easily does our David.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 02/09/2019 19:01:44    2232044

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Was he not marked out if by Barry in the league as well to be fair."
Moran marked him yesterday. I'm not sure it was the marking yesterday, Fenton wasn't fit clearly , wasn't making his usual runs, he looked at 60%.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 02/09/2019 19:37:31    2232060

Replying To Ciarrai Abu:  "A poor standard game yesterday, but exciting none-the-less, Kerry have had their chance i fear.

Fantastic to see Dublin "fans" showing their true colours both on here and in the stands yesterday, seeing as they seem to enjoy soccer chanting i think "you only sing when you're winnning" accurately sums it up.

Game refereed well yesterday, with Whelan ala Ferguson when Utd were at their peak and wanted a different set of rules for his team. Red Card, Penalty and two stone wall penalties that weren't given!

Anything other than Dublin by 7 in a replay would be a huge shock ... however their self proclaimed crown of the greatest team ever is in tatters regardless of the result in 2 weeks time."
They already are the greatest team ever regardless of next days result.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 02/09/2019 20:14:52    2232070

Replying To Joxer:  "How many scores did the Kerry FF line get from play and that against a Dublin FB line missing it's pivotal player for 45m? Their average rating in the press is hovering around 6.25 while Dublin's is much higher. Regardless, I think the Dublin FBs did a decent job especially considering they were down to 2 for most of the game. Fitzy stifled Clifford when moved on to him. Great game management by them in the last 15m also to break up the Kerry attacks and build for the comeback."
It's more the scoring opportunities they created and missed goal chances included, anytime the ball went into the Dubs FBs Kerry had the beating of them... why do you think Cooper was sent off? He wasn't able to hack it is why...persistent fouling from been constantly beaten. There is nothing pivotal about somebody who is a liability.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2192 - 02/09/2019 20:29:07    2232076

Replying To timmyhogan:  ""rub of the green" is a nice euphemism - had Dublin Mayo matches of recent years been reffed like that the Dubs would have been beaten out the gate and finished with 12/13 men.

Now this is not to revisit the past but merely to look at the upcoming replay. Paddy Power in their wisdom have Dublin at 2/9 to lift Sam - they seem to have priced in something that the TSG experts and posters here and elsewhere seem to have missed. What could that be.
Obviously Kerry left alot of early chances behind that might have won them the match and were closer than most expected but Dublin are still 2/9. It's a mystery!"
It's not a mystery. It simply means that the punters are piling in for Dublin. For every €9 bet on Dublin only €2 is bet on Kerry, approximately. And, with Dublin's huge population, that's not that surprising.

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 263 - 02/09/2019 20:33:13    2232079

Replying To TheUsername:  "Well now wasnt that an absolute treat. Two excellent teams going at it hammer and thongs, with some of the best players in the country showing exactly why they are considered some of the skill on display yesterday were just phenomenal to watch.

High drama, i think both teams will feel they left it behind them yesterday, but given the context i think we got out of jail a bit yesterday and Kerry really had a great opportunity to win it.

I deplore people making the ref an excuse for the game, but i will say im happy enough that their will be a different ref the next day. Finals are often about luck on the day and i think Kerry got most of it yesterday and really should of capitilised on it. The hawkeye one was fumy, i was amazed looked well over in real time and in the replay, but im sure the technology is infallible.

But we live to fight another day and can only be proud that 14 men from Dublin held their own against 15 Kerry men for over 42mins.

We can feel unlucky not to have snuck it in truth, but after the Kerry goal went in and the momentum swung i would have taken a draw as we entered injury time.

The sending off was a pity, but probably made a game of it, we looked really in the ascendancy and cruising to good win at 5 points up, up until the sending off. It really gave Kerry Oxygen as did the goal. And those two errors by Jonny and Davey really cost us.

But some of the Dublin lads put in some mountainous performances Cluxton, McCarthy, Howard, Con and POTY Jack McCaffery. Some lads just weren't on it yesterday, Mannon, Kilkenny, Fenton and the majority of the back line. But Kerry were very good so you have to say fair play.

But we live to fight another day, 15 Vs 15 you have to be confident and i have never seen some of the Dublin players who were off yesterday have two bad games in a row so we remain confident.

Lessons to be learned, Sean O Shea, kept Kerry in the game, what a super player i think we have to look of cutting off the oxygen supply to his free taking, we need to stand up the Kerry forwards forwards more, i haven't checked the stats but presume a good majority of their scores came from his free taking.

Secondly i thought we were very sloppy in possession, Kerry played the blanket for the majority of the game even a man up, we looked a bit rusty with our blanket plan in fact we ddint look prepared for it that served us well and we didnt use Kilkenny enough as point guard. That said we had to commit a forward player back to defense so we really had a man down offensively.

We can definitely improve our scoring out put, but we can definitely improve our defensive performance as well. lads will be going hammer and thongs in training this couple of weeks knowing their are shirts up for grabs, in the next couple of weeks. Its as furious as i have heard Jim Gavin after a match, in his own way and i expect big changes the next day.

So what a treat to enjoy this amazing journey a little while longer and great craic yesterday before and after the game we go again in a few weeks cant wait."
'Thongs' in Croke Park!!!

I remember in the old days when the loudspeaker system in CP would ask Mary Murphy from Dingle to meet Pat O Shea from New York at half-time under the Hogan Stand Con Houlihan wrote: 'I'd love to know what goes on under the Hogan Stand at half-time?'

But this is something new entirely!!

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 263 - 02/09/2019 20:40:57    2232082

Anyone time how long it took to take that final free from the moment it was given. It was like 2011 all over again

Thelonesomegoose (Leitrim) - Posts: 204 - 02/09/2019 20:42:09    2232083

Replying To TheUsername:  "Moran marked him yesterday. I'm not sure it was the marking yesterday, Fenton wasn't fit clearly , wasn't making his usual runs, he looked at 60%."
Moran was with him on kickouts but Barry had him a lot of the time in general play. He was way below his usual level it could have been injury as you say

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 02/09/2019 20:49:32    2232089

Replying To catch22:  "Funny how those Kerry voices that were complaining about Goff are very quiet today.
On a different note, I thought it was really unsportsmanlike of Kerry when they ran out and ruined the Cork minors acceptance ceremony and they had shag all time to enjoy their moment. Not surprising I suppose."
lol. Another anti KERRY post. Why do you HATE KERRY so much i ask?

GreenAndGold74 (Kerry) - Posts: 194 - 02/09/2019 20:52:33    2232091

Replying To catch22:  "Funny how those Kerry voices that were complaining about Goff are very quiet today.
On a different note, I thought it was really unsportsmanlike of Kerry when they ran out and ruined the Cork minors acceptance ceremony and they had shag all time to enjoy their moment. Not surprising I suppose."
Firstly, are you saying that Gough favoured Kerry?

Secondly, the teams do not decide when to come out. All such details are pre-determined and are even given in the match programme. Kerry were due out per the match programme at 15.01.

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 263 - 02/09/2019 20:53:16    2232092

Replying To TheUsername:  "Moran marked him yesterday. I'm not sure it was the marking yesterday, Fenton wasn't fit clearly , wasn't making his usual runs, he looked at 60%."
It doesn't say a lot about Dublins strength in depth if ye have to play a guy that's 60% fit if that was the problem. Could it maybe just be the fact that he met a better player on the day?

gallarus14 (Kerry) - Posts: 127 - 02/09/2019 20:58:15    2232095

Replying To gallarus14:  "It doesn't say a lot about Dublins strength in depth if ye have to play a guy that's 60% fit if that was the problem. Could it maybe just be the fact that he met a better player on the day?"
We're really hopeful of POCB a young prodigious talent in midfield, his year is next though. To answer your question, we've been light in midfield for a while, hence often using half backs in there over the years. MDM has a good year but thought he was out of his depth yesterday in my opinion, he's been a warrior for us, but doesn't have the recovery pace any more.

To answer your second question, no, it's becoming clearer up here Brian spent the best part of last week unwell, was largely out of most preparations, he wasn't himself yesterday.

People can choose to believe what they like really, Fenton owes is nothing and we have zero reasons to be making excuses for him.

When you look at it, 14 players and one of your stars carrying an illness, we did really well hang in there.

Can't wait for the next day.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 02/09/2019 21:12:14    2232100

Replying To katser:  "It's more the scoring opportunities they created and missed goal chances included, anytime the ball went into the Dubs FBs Kerry had the beating of them... why do you think Cooper was sent off? He wasn't able to hack it is why...persistent fouling from been constantly beaten. There is nothing pivotal about somebody who is a liability."
Actually if you look at those fouls he wasn't beaten once. He was goal side of his man on each occasion. He was man handling his man ahead of the ball arriving. Fitzy got an 8 rating, Byrne 6.5, McCarthy 7, Jack 9, Small 7. Not bad for a defensive unit that you say struggled. A Dublin half back scored more from play on his own than the Kerry FF line. Again a very good Dublin defensive performance when you consider that they were down a man.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 02/09/2019 21:15:46    2232102