Kerry V Dublin

All in all, a much better game than I expected. Well done to a wonderfully talented Dublin team for keeping their composure to equalise. I do think, Kerry should have won a free a few minutes before the final Dublin free. But, given the excellent saves by Cluxton and the magnificent goal by Caffrey I think the Dubs deserved a second bite at the cherry.

McCaffrey and Cluxton were exceptional for the Dubs, if I was a Dublin sub and saw a rusty Connolly coming on before me I would be p*ssed off.

Clifford, Tommy Walshe and the Kerry management played a stormer. Great timing when they brought on Tommy Walshe.

Kerry needed a goal or a sending off to stand a chance of beating the Dubs, they got the sending off but probably didn't really make the most of it. They should have bullied the Dubs a bit more and I think they may just have missed their chance. Although I hope not.

Hoofhearted (Australia) - Posts: 49 - 02/09/2019 01:50:50    2231648

Draw was the correct result and they go again. Both sides will feel they should have won it. I was sure Rock would nail that free at the end.
Credit to Dublin who refused to give in when down to fourteen men. I'd expect no less, but they actually looked the more likely to win in the end. Kerry left a lot of scores out there before that and will be disappointed they didn't finish the job.

The obvious conclusion is that with 15 for the full game Dublin will murder Kerry the next time but I'm hoping this game will bring our lads on another bit.

Well done to both sets of players today on a fantastically entertaining game. Was lucky to be there.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 02/09/2019 02:23:04    2231653

Replying To Dmck19:  "Still not a red card. That's the point ."
I never said it was a red card. In fact I said it wasn't a card of any kind for the first offense 2nd is yellow 3rd is off. Its written in black and white in 2 rules what you can and can not do. When JohnnyFox brought it up some on here said it wasn't a foul, 1 in particular claims we're trying to turn the game into tiddlywinks just because we can't smash a player in the ribs. I remember what we called it "A Softener" still against the rules.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 02/09/2019 04:34:31    2231657

David Gough was excellent. He and Lane are miles ahead of the other refs. Kerry missed a peno, had a goal attempt scrambled off the line and hit the crossbar. They looked the more likely team to score a goal. However, I think it will be hard for them mentally to bring this level of effort again the next day. Dublin have Cluxton to thank more than anyone, for the second chance. I think they will improve a great deal and go on to win it. Agree with Colm on Sunday game this was one of the few really good matches this year, Kerry v Mayo probably the only other really.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1222 - 02/09/2019 06:38:21    2231667

Well I'll just say that was a great game to watch. Some brilliant play from both teams and had me on the edge of my seat until the end. I can't be bothered goin over the dodgy refereeing decisions or what have ye cos there's another day out. Just hope the lads can give us another great game. Brilliant stuff from those lads today. Felt bad seeing Johnny get the line but he does play a certain way that it's likely to happen once in a while but for it to happen to him today I felt for him. I'm a Tyrone man and I shouldn't get wrapped up in the emotions of it all but I did! By the same token my heart literally broke for Seanie O' Shea when he realized he'd given Dean Rock the chance to steal it for Dublin at the death. Can't wait for the reply.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 02/09/2019 07:29:19    2231675

Everybody waxing lyrical about what a great game it was. It was a great game but everyone goes into overdrive with the effusive praise when it is Dublin and Kerry. Calling it a great day to be alive is typical of the guff. I am biased of course but Cork scored 3-18 from play yesterday against a very tough Galway defence... That, from a purely football perspective, was pwrforance of the day. Daniel Cox goal was score of the day.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 02/09/2019 07:37:57    2231677

Replying To tyroneed:  "Kerry have benefited from referees in the last 2 matches. Can't see them benefiting from that again.

The likes of Brian Fenton and Paul Mannion had poor performances by their own standards and can't see that happening again.

So I'd see Dublin winning the next match by quite a bit."
Ya we only beat tyrone coz of the ref. No other reason. Have another good suck on that lemon

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 665 - 02/09/2019 08:15:25    2231682

Congrats to both teams on serving up a very good final. Lots of shenanigans that you could write a thesis on if you wanted.
Couldn't believe some of the misses from Kerry in the first half.
Actually thought Dublin were a bit naive in the 2nd half when they were 5 up. Were caught badly at the back for the Kerry goal. Pretty much a carbon copy goal from Kerry-Tyrone match.
Kerry defence has come on hugely in the last couple of months.
Still fancy Dublin by 3-4 in the replay and expect to see plenty of changes.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 02/09/2019 08:33:08    2231688

Liam Hassett will be disappointed if he doesn't get a start the next day. He spent more time on the pitch than Clifford and actually ran across a Dublin attack at one stage.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 02/09/2019 08:37:03    2231691

Replying To Dmck19:  "A mayo man having a go at kerry not closing out a final. Are you being serious?"
So because he is from mayo means he can't have an opinion? Have you personally won an all Ireland? That's the arrogance towards Mayo people I've mentioned here in da past, not allows to have an opinion because our county looses so many finals .

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 02/09/2019 08:38:57    2231693

Great game total respect to Kerry they should have won it I was personally delighted to get out of there with a draw; roll on the replay can wait, young Spillane was unreal when he came on didn't realize he was that fast gave us big problems aswell as tommy Walsh , Clifford is class but the one short to Cluxton could be a big miss in two weeks time I'm hoping.

Jack mccaffrey the greatest half back to ever play the game there's never been anyone like this man kept us in the game when everyone else was struggling imo.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/09/2019 08:58:54    2231702

I got what I wanted anyway.

Great game and great excitement. Two fantastic teams and despite all the talk beforehand the ref and rest of the officials did a grand job.

The underdog rarely comes through on the second day so I would say its game over for the kingdom.

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 02/09/2019 09:10:42    2231708

Just watched whole game again and even though I thought he was motm at the time I didn't realise just how fecking good Jack McCaffrey was. Does just about everything faultlessly and at a pace most can only dream about. Best defender in the country and if Gavin moved him upfield he'd be the best forward.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 649 - 02/09/2019 09:16:57    2231710

Replying To realdub:  "Not at all I thought they did fine against a very dangerous forward line. Kerry's backs were also good. I thought our work rate was phenomenal in added time was superb and we could have sneaked it but a draw is a fair result!"
Some of the dubs top players just didn't get going or maybe it was a case of not been let. As a dub who's opinion I value, what do you think happened, I'm talking about particularly Fenton mdm , Kilkenny even mannion.
Btw Caffrey is one of best footballers I have seen in a long time. Also I felt towards the end Dublin needed brogan to come on, again hindsight is 20/20 though

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/09/2019 09:23:29    2231711

On reflection, I fear Kerrys chance is gone. They were more afraid of losing than pushing on and winning it in the last 12 minutes. 3 turnovers and the 14 men of Dublin dominated possession for that final 12 minutes. Only for 3 bad wides (Connolly, Costello and Howard) and a missed free in the last minute Kerry we're goosed. I was surprised Rock kicked it off the ground to be honest with very little grass behind him for his run up. No way he was going to have the legs for it. Should have given it to Connolly to take from the hands. Now wouldn't that have been a fairytale ending. I think what people are missing in their analysis of the game, especially their analysis of the second half, is that it was a remarkable achievement by Dublin to pull that game out of the fire with only 14 men. Their game is completely built around keeping possession and having a man running off the shoulder all the time. This was impossible to do with 14 men. See what happened to Dr. Crokes, (who play a similar possession type game) in the Club Final. They were annihilated. If the Dubs hold their discipline and manage to keep 15 on the field for the entire 70 -76 minutes, I can only see one outcome. Also, I think Howard has to start at midfield and Costello in the half forward line. MD Mc is a great option to bring on later with his direct running style.....not telling you how to do your job Mr. Gavin. :-)

JohnnyFox19 (Galway) - Posts: 8 - 02/09/2019 09:38:53    2231720

Replying To katser:  "Was Dublins doggy full back line exploited by the Kerry forwards?"
100%. And I think it will be even more so in 2 weeks, Kerry hit far too many wides, I definitely would expect more efficiency next time out.

will be interesting to see the match ups in the full back line next time

boman11 (Antrim) - Posts: 237 - 02/09/2019 09:39:24    2231721

A great game, wasnt expecting it to be honest.

Kerry could have been dead and buried in all honesty, missing easy scores, Dublin getting on top, missing the penalty, that would have killed the confidence of a lot of teams but they kept coming.

Dublin were steely, really really dug it out when they had to, down to 14 men (rightly) and Kerry coming at them in waves their tackle rate and workrate went through to roof an they controlled the end of the game.

Its actually great to have another day out and it would be easy for the Dubs to lay the blame at the foot of the ref etc even though i thought he had a good game but kudos to them for not taking the easy way out of blaming the ref cos they didnt win the final (perhaps a certain hurling county could take note?)

A great advertisement for the game and cant wait for the replay.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1337 - 02/09/2019 10:10:35    2231737

Replying To Joxer:  "Liam Hassett will be disappointed if he doesn't get a start the next day. He spent more time on the pitch than Clifford and actually ran across a Dublin attack at one stage."
Liam hassett isn't part of this current Kerry setup and he was sitting near me in the cussack stand. So what you on about?

gallarus14 (Kerry) - Posts: 127 - 02/09/2019 10:11:06    2231738

Replying To moc.dna:  "There is a lot of conspiracy theories about Hawkeye but that point today made my mind up on it, clearly a score."
The auld boys just can't understand technology.. sigh

dakid (Australia) - Posts: 284 - 02/09/2019 10:11:26    2231739

Its interesting ready so many negative comments. Everybody came into this game expecting dublin to win and dublin to win comfortably. What resulted was a Kerry team who came within a whisker or both winning and losing the final with the last kick.

Did everybody want to be proved right and get to talk about how dublin will go for 10 in a row and there is no competition anymore? Its actually sad reading all the BS people post on here. The hurling final was a huge disappointment this year. Yesterdays was an enthralling spectacle.

Lets remember if you put 100 euro on dublin to win yesterday you would have won 10 euro. Yet Kerry blew it? Kerry did exceptionally. We all know sending offs don't mean you win a game or lose it. Ask the Wexford hurlers.

Miami305 (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 02/09/2019 10:19:59    2231744