Kerry V Dublin

Replying To avonali:  "I got two messages re: the bottle from Kerry cousins. The burden of proof is with the accusers Hermit and if there is any truth in the alleged attempt to sicken players on the pitch I would have thought Kerry GAA would have been all over that like a light. The rumour hardly had its origins in another county surely?

I am no more unsettled or nervous before this Final than any other final. You lads seem to think you are bogey men. Far from it. If anything Mayo caused me more nervousness at this stage than Kerry. I thought the Gough affair was just another attempt to pre-empt critical decisions he may have to make on the day.

You know my views on financing and I believe Kerry Gaa lacks for nothing. It was your iconic leader Mick O who first challenged the amateur ethos of our sport and in doing that he let the genie out of the bottle. As for conspiracy theories. One might argue that the ref's decision to not award a red card to Tadgh Kennelly in the first seconds of the 2009 final was a shameful dereliction off duty. As for 2014. You could argue that the GAA did all in their power to help you there. Go to 2016 semi-final. Gough missed a serious challenge on Philly Mac by AOM. Yet a mob of Kerry fans subjected him to vile abuse from the stands. It was disgusting. This was a point openly admitted on your own Kerry GAA forum. Other posters reckoned Kerry were lucky not to get 3 black cards. Go back in time to our buddy Seamus Aldridge when he pen;lised Paddy Cullen for nothing - A decision around which a match hinged and he never explained why it was a free.

My point is everything is open to interpretation and I think it's Kerry folk like yourself who are deeply unsettled. The threat of the achievements of their iconic 4 in a row team could be eclipsed. You will kick and scream and smear and do anything to avert that possibility. Hence all the BS we've been getting lately. I used to believe Kerry was the most sporting county but not any more. Quite the reverse, sadly."
Don't judge all by the actions of the few I know several Kerry people admirers of this great Dublin group and with the advent of anti- social media any 'resentido' can spout ad nauseam Truth or logic don't count If Dublin win hats off to them BT I think they will know that they are in a game

37sowhat (Sligo) - Posts: 752 - 16/08/2019 16:38:02    2226490

Replying To jimbodub:  "I think Kerry will cause Dublin a lot of trouble

Dublin will be rightly favorites

But those thinking it'll be a one sided contest I just don't see that.

Kerry undoubtedly have the forwards to get the goals, it'll be goals that will beat this Dublin team. If Kerry can find their best defensive performance of the year to date and hold Dublin and break even on the matchups then they have every chance,

I think it'll come down to the wire, I see Kerry finding a peak performance and seeing the blue jerseys will bring out an additional 5-10%

Then it'll be up to Dublin to see if they are good enough to come through it.

Enjoy the build up."
Hopefuly, just hopefuly Dublin can get off to a good start in an All-Ireland Final. I can't recall this team ever imposing themselves right from the throw-in in an All-Ireland Final.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 16/08/2019 16:43:00    2226491

@avonali the 4/5 in a row is not a big deal for most Kerry fans. It was nearly forty years ago. I am too young to remember that team properly and I am certainly not going to get worked up about it, none of the players were even born then so I don't think it's even on their radar tbh.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 16/08/2019 16:44:29    2226492

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yerra sure where do I even begin with all that, I think I won't even bother. It's Friday after all and I've a train to catch.
Thanks for the pop physco-anaylisis too, you'll appreciate how much I heed the opinions of a stranger on an internet forum.
I'm sure my kicking, screaming and smearing, whatever that last one relates to, will heavily contribute to a Kerry victory.
Don't you know the Kerry team is told to scroll through the KerryGAA boards forum and the Kerry Hoganstand forum before each game.
I never knew there was so much interest in Kerry forum pages, it's almost like the rest of ye have none of them or something?"
I thought it was clear that I was referring to fans.
You were the man who is telling us we're all unsettled up here.
Safe travelling. Enjoy the weekend.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 16/08/2019 17:04:36    2226503

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "@avonali the 4/5 in a row is not a big deal for most Kerry fans. It was nearly forty years ago. I am too young to remember that team properly and I am certainly not going to get worked up about it, none of the players were even born then so I don't think it's even on their radar tbh."
I would have thought the achievements of that team had cast a long shadow. They had set the benchmark.
You read Paul Galvin's book and you will see how those players are revered in Kerry.
There is ample footage of their victories and I am sure the likes of Moran and young Spillane and Clifford are well aware of their heritage. If not they bloody well should be.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 16/08/2019 17:15:49    2226508

Replying To avonali:  "I thought it was clear that I was referring to fans.
You were the man who is telling us we're all unsettled up here.
Safe travelling. Enjoy the weekend."
You too

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 16/08/2019 17:31:42    2226516

Replying To avonali:  "Hopefuly, just hopefuly Dublin can get off to a good start in an All-Ireland Final. I can't recall this team ever imposing themselves right from the throw-in in an All-Ireland Final."
I find in most big games Dublin seem to start slow it's like they weight the opposition up or maybe just let them burn themselves out and blunt themselves on them then wham! You'd never feel comfortable even 7- 8 pts up on Dublin. Dublin 4 or 5 pts up you feel game over, other way it seems a fragile lead!!

reithi (Kerry) - Posts: 52 - 16/08/2019 18:15:11    2226530

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Well at least Donegal didn't have to rely on intimidation of the referee. Won fair and square. Awful pity ye can't say the same.
No class."
Holy Cow, turning an anecdote about a pint glass into another insult about Kerry takes a special kind of hatred!!
Sure go build a bonfire out the back and set light to a few Kerry flags and jerseys, it might calm you down :)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 16/08/2019 19:01:27    2226540

Replying To avonali:  "Do you mean the likes of this nonsense from Hermit over on the Kerry County forum???

"The GAA will do everything to ensure Dublin do their 5.
And watch this space, the O'Brien thing will drag on for the next 3 weeks just to try and distract Kerry more from their preparations.
D-GAA is alive and well :("

You have to laugh at the paranoia of certain Kerry posters. They like to call themselves the Aristocrats - maybe they were but now that they've known disappointment they have proven to be All-Ireland Champion Whingers. Not very noble or aristocratic. We've had Goughgate - then we had an attempt via social media to smear Tyrone over laxatives being put in water bottles. Not a word about that now.

Sick of them at this stage. I hope we knock 7 shades of crap out of them and send them home packing."
Reading a poster from another county's posts on their county forum.. then accusing them of paranoia. The irony!

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 16/08/2019 19:03:03    2226543

Replying To reithi:  "I find in most big games Dublin seem to start slow it's like they weight the opposition up or maybe just let them burn themselves out and blunt themselves on them then wham! You'd never feel comfortable even 7- 8 pts up on Dublin. Dublin 4 or 5 pts up you feel game over, other way it seems a fragile lead!!"
Believe you me I can well remember it being the reverse and it's not that long ago either.
That's why these days are cherished and I'll never tire of them.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 16/08/2019 19:03:29    2226544

Replying To TheHermit:  "Holy Cow, turning an anecdote about a pint glass into another insult about Kerry takes a special kind of hatred!!
Sure go build a bonfire out the back and set light to a few Kerry flags and jerseys, it might calm you down :)"
i don't do burning flags and jerseys or throwing programs thanks for the suggestion. I do however recognize a whiff of bullshi*e and there's a lot of it blowing from your direction.
Talk about the victim generation. You must be president.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 16/08/2019 19:48:35    2226554

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "Reading a poster from another county's posts on their county forum.. then accusing them of paranoia. The irony!"
You need to look up the definition of paranoia bud.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 16/08/2019 19:48:48    2226555

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "Reading a poster from another county's posts on their county forum.. then accusing them of paranoia. The irony!"
Irony indeed , Alanis Morissette could have written a few more verses for her song if she read this board :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/08/2019 19:52:05    2226556

Well if it isn't oul Beleena himself. Why oh why would that be a sign of paranoia. whar might I read there?? The masterplan to beat the Dubs?? You're a funny guy.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 16/08/2019 20:03:36    2226561

Replying To 37sowhat:  "A shame his (Fenton's) dad left Kerry. But on reflection a blessing that John O Leary (FF) RIP engineered the return of David Clifford' s dad to Fossa otherwise we could have David joining Cian O Sullivan and the sons of Mrs Brogan as FBKs (foreign born Kerrymen ) But nice to see Kerry blood pumping the heartbeat of the Pale in the drive for five . Hope Jim Gavins satnav points towards the Reeks ."
Hahaha give it up, most of us line culchies somewhere down the line. If O'Callaghan's great great great etc grandad hadn't left Norway back in 16 O' splash he'd be playing for Rosenborg!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 16/08/2019 20:10:55    2226564

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "i don't do burning flags and jerseys or throwing programs thanks for the suggestion. I do however recognize a whiff of bullshi*e and there's a lot of it blowing from your direction.
Talk about the victim generation. You must be president."
Well that pint glass does exist don't know what's BS about it or what the 'victim generation or whatever that is has to do with it.

You seem oddly upset over a simple post about a piece of sporting memorabilia.

Have you bought your 5 in a row t-shirt yet, might even pick one up myself when I'm in Dublin :)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 16/08/2019 20:34:38    2226576

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Irony indeed , Alanis Morissette could have written a few more verses for her song if she read this board :-)"
One hand in my pocket, and the other lifting the Sam :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 16/08/2019 20:37:29    2226579

It's begun!!!!!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=93&v=mlerN60zVPQ

In fairness Galleon's tune was a better effort than that :D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 16/08/2019 20:53:16    2226583

Replying To Joxer:  "You need to look up the definition of paranoia bud."
No Bud. You do.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 16/08/2019 20:54:05    2226586

Replying To avonali:  "Well if it isn't oul Beleena himself. Why oh why would that be a sign of paranoia. whar might I read there?? The masterplan to beat the Dubs?? You're a funny guy."
Who's Beelna? Are you having trouble with pronunciation of our native tongue? Pity I don't have some oul anglicised username, Stratford Upon Avonali or the like for Pale users like yourself. Excessive reading of posters from other counties on their forum.. You're a busy man.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 16/08/2019 20:59:22    2226589