Kerry V Tyrone

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Mask is slipping Dubh_linn, I have never read such pathetic deflection and waffle. There is spite towards Kerry in every line you write"
Look , I was replying to that particular post from a poster who is no slouch at complaining and giving out about anything and everything. I don't let them guys bother me as life is too short but you have to give it back with interest some times. Lighten up a bit. This isn't good for you.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 13/08/2019 22:17:50    2225323

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yep he's been long enough at it on here too, sure he was in full flow back after the League match in Feb with some nasty stuff along with a couple of his cronies (at least those posts were subsequently deleted).
Think this time though he might be a little spooked about what these young Kerry warriors could potentially do in 3 weeks :D"
Would you be able to back those allegations up or are you all bluff and bluster as always.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 13/08/2019 22:19:55    2225324

Replying To westkerry:  "There's a difference between a punch and making contact with a players eye prone on the ground... a big difference.
Cowardly act that's considered the lowest of the low.
You supported that action... So don't claim some higher moral ground lad."
Ye boys have ignoore morals when it suits ye and that's been proven over and over so don't start crying when you shortcomings are highlighted.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 13/08/2019 22:22:36    2225325

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Look , I was replying to that particular post from a poster who is no slouch at complaining and giving out about anything and everything. I don't let them guys bother me as life is too short but you have to give it back with interest some times. Lighten up a bit. This isn't good for you."
I'm perfectly fine thanks, won't lose a wink of sleep over anything on here. You really have nothing when you are called out on your trolling do you?

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 13/08/2019 22:38:38    2225338

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Would you be able to back those allegations up or are you all bluff and bluster as always."
You know well what you were writing after that game, lucky for you now the admins rightly took it down.
Good night to you.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 13/08/2019 22:51:58    2225341

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Ye boys have ignoore morals when it suits ye and that's been proven over and over so don't start crying when you shortcomings are highlighted."
Deliberate contact with a vulnerable area like the eye is abhorrent and reprehensible and you loose all high moral ground when you justified it.
Shows the type of person you are.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 13/08/2019 22:56:25    2225343

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Look , I was replying to that particular post from a poster who is no slouch at complaining and giving out about anything and everything. I don't let them guys bother me as life is too short but you have to give it back with interest some times. Lighten up a bit. This isn't good for you."
If it doesn't bother you then why keep responding to him??

The_Fonz (Westmeath) - Posts: 213 - 14/08/2019 01:52:06    2225374

Replying To westkerry:  "Deliberate contact with a vulnerable area like the eye is abhorrent and reprehensible and you loose all high moral ground when you justified it.
Shows the type of person you are."
Kerry can take no moral high ground niether after the cynicism shown last Sunday, few dives and play acting....yet you someone high think you are above a Dublin or Tyrone.

Dublin and Tyrone make no bones about how they play, Kerry still seem to have this Spillane mentality that you are sshow how gaurdians of the games.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 14/08/2019 04:57:25    2225386

Kerry propaganda machine out in force in relation to the ref...this could come back to haunt them..the auld refs union wont like one of there own integrity been questioned in such a orchestrated manner. Role on Sept 1.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 14/08/2019 07:42:22    2225394

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I'm perfectly fine thanks, won't lose a wink of sleep over anything on here. You really have nothing when you are called out on your trolling do you?"
There no trolling involved just pointing out some of the Less gentlemanly and sportsman's like aspects that can rear it's head when everything doesn't go the way it was supposed to. That's all GeniusGerry, now for Gods sake calm down will you. It's a long way to the 1st and this can't be good for a man.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 14/08/2019 08:23:11    2225402

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "There no trolling involved just pointing out some of the Less gentlemanly and sportsman's like aspects that can rear it's head when everything doesn't go the way it was supposed to. That's all GeniusGerry, now for Gods sake calm down will you. It's a long way to the 1st and this can't be good for a man."
You're the one that keeps digging, given you've zero else to contribute I suppose it's not a surprise. Will leave it there so. Thanks for your concern.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 14/08/2019 10:28:13    2225431

Replying To The_Fonz:  "If it doesn't bother you then why keep responding to him??"
Alright Fonz,
Ah sure it's just being mannerly and decent I suppose.
The lads are just a bit of entertainment.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 14/08/2019 11:07:39    2225450

The nonscence i've read in this Forum

Tyrone didn't deserve to win on Sunday. Peter Harte was well martialed throughout the game. On a different day the referee would have pulled it but if that was Tyrone on someone of the likes of Con O'Callaghan or Sean O'Se we'd be praising the marker.

Who Kieran McGeary thought he seen that gave away the goal was beyond me. He's had a great season but 1 lapse of concentration cost us that game.

Again no plan B. McAliskey came off the bench struck over a wonderful point from the Hogan side. Makes me wonder if we had more shooters on for longer to help McShane would we be looking forward to the 1st Sept.

Aw well thats the beauty of football. Well done to Kerry and Dublin. Just hope its a competitive final. What I seen over the weekend Dublin will have no problems.

Find_the_space (Tyrone) - Posts: 313 - 14/08/2019 11:25:41    2225455

Replying To TheHermit:  "I don't know. I tend to take a long term view of these things, perhaps it's the history student in me.
The media and many supporters are great at building up whatever is the narrative of one particular year or even one particular decade to be the most important thing ever in the sport etc etc
In the 2000s how much guff was written about Kerry never being able to beat Ulster opposition despite all the evidence to the contrary. How much paper was wasted arguing who was the team of the decade too. At this remove, Kerry winning 5 titles and getting to 6 finals in a row last decade was incredibly impressive stuff. It would have been nice to beat Tyrone in one of those finals and maybe do a 3/4 in a row but look I don't think it's really taken too much away from the legacy of what was a great Kerry team.

Looking back to 2007 and realizing that we were facing Cork in a first ever final meeting, what was at stake if we lost that day was unimaginable for Kerry people. You could say our whole tradition was one the line against our greatest rival and a damn good current incarnation of them.
People, and certainly the media, will make similar comparisons now with what's ahead in 3 weeks but given this is very much a new Kerry side in year 1 of their development and given Dublin's dominance and all the advantages they've been given etc I'm not sure it's fair.
At the end of the day how could Dublin not be in this position with what has gone on for the last 15 years?
Look if we pull off a miracle it will certainly be celebrated as one of our greatest victories, whether it will be the greatest I'm not sure.

1903 started it all off
1932 saw us claim our first four in a row
In 1955 Kerry football was seen as canon fodder for the Dubs 'machine' but catch and kick won out.
Going into 1969, Kerry football was declared obsolete and dead after what Down had done to us. Joe Lennon wrote a coaching manual the year before and declared Kerry would never win another title for 30 years, within half that time years we had won 10 more!
1997 ended the famine
2007 saw us crush Cork
2014 was very special to, one that came from nowhere

Like I said, taking the long view it's hard to be definitive on which would be the greatest but for me 2007 was certainly up there."
Well with 37 All Irelands you have lots to choose from. Kerry will always compete. Unfortunately for Down we are now struggling to compete although our under 20s side this year has some really good players.

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1617 - 14/08/2019 11:43:40    2225470

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Jesus you've hit the nail on the head! We made the mistake of meeting them again too soon after our first ever championship match in 2012. 2 years later they were still ****** at us, obviously.

1 win, 1 loss, 1 draw against Kerry for us in championship isn't the worst record but you Down boys take some beating once you get to Croke Park :)"
Donegal are doing really well the last few years. The future looks bright for Donegal as you have brought lots of talented players through.You are match for most teams in Ireland at the minute are likely to remain a consistent super 8 team. The way Dublin are going its looking increasingly difficult to see anyone beating them the next few years though. They seem to be a level about all the other teams currently. Down football has declined but the performances in the Championship this year showed promise and we have had some very good players at under 20 level this year.

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1617 - 14/08/2019 11:57:36    2225480

Anybody see the mad stuff on social media about dodgy. water bottles being offered to certain players??

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 14/08/2019 13:47:05    2225571

Replying To avonali:  "Anybody see the mad stuff on social media about dodgy. water bottles being offered to certain players??"
I doubt that there is any truth on this matter. I couldn't see the Tyrone team organising spiking a load of water bottles and offering them to the Kerry players. Tyrone were on top on the first half and convincingly we would have no need to do it. Credit to Kerry came out made the right changes at the right time.

If this does happen to be true I would not object to be thrown out of the 2020 championship season. That would be a new level of low and all involved to be heavily punished. Players health is always under risk when it comes to physical injury and could easily tear muscles or break bones but to go out and go as far to "poison" players would be completely unacceptable.

Find_the_space (Tyrone) - Posts: 313 - 14/08/2019 14:29:24    2225609

I wouldn't believe a word of that, it doesn't happen in Irish sport, that would be cheating and a stain on a person or team if such a thing did happen

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 14/08/2019 16:15:42    2225677

I also wouldn't believe that story.

The people coming up with it should be made either prove it or retract it and offer an apology.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 14/08/2019 18:18:27    2225740

Look, its on Facebook so it has to be true!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 14/08/2019 18:35:54    2225750