Hurling Team Of The Decade

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "Great debate on this thread so far.

Nash

Paul Murphy, Daithi Burke, JJ Delaney

Brendan Maher, Brian Hogan, Padraig Maher

Tony Kelly, David burke

King Henry, Canning, Reid

Richie Hogan, Callanan, Patrick Horgan"
JJ Delaney never played left corner back, that was Jackie Tyrell's position. I don't agree with this whole thing of moving players out of their positions just to fit them onto an All Star team or team of the decade. I always think, pick them in the position they played or don't pick them at all.

More leeway in the forwards as they tend to be moved around more, but a full back is a full back and a centre back is a centre back.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 25/07/2019 12:32:22    2216241

Replying To ballydalane:  "JJ Delaney never played left corner back, that was Jackie Tyrell's position. I don't agree with this whole thing of moving players out of their positions just to fit them onto an All Star team or team of the decade. I always think, pick them in the position they played or don't pick them at all.

More leeway in the forwards as they tend to be moved around more, but a full back is a full back and a centre back is a centre back."
I think for someone like JJ, it's fair enough to move him because he could play anywhere. He was a wing back originally.

And would it not be harsh on him or Daithi to drop one of them for Tyrell or another corner back just because both played at full back?

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 25/07/2019 14:02:48    2216297

Replying To ballydalane:  "Sean Finn? Cathal Barrett? Austin Gleeson? Seamus Harnedy? On team of the decade? Ah here!"
Would you not agree that Harnedy has been more consistent that Horgan. If we must have a Corkman,despite the fact that they really won absolutely nothing nationally in this decade, surely Seamus would be the man.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 25/07/2019 14:07:49    2216298

Replying To DUALSUPPORT:  "There are just my opinions Cathal Barrett and Sean Finn are the best 2 corner backs I have seen since 2010. Austin Gleeson is definately in the top 5 most talented hurlers in the country but has been messed around a bit by Waterford, he has been played in a host of different positions instead of nailing him down to his best position centre back, Limerick were doing the same with Declan Hannon until John Kiely picked a position for him and kept him there. Now forwards were the hardest I had to choose from, I thought of Walter Walsh, Tj Reid, Bonner Maher, Bubbles O'Dwyer, Conor McGrath and Alan Cadagan too but Seamus Harnedy most definitely shouldn't be questioned he is the complete forward he jumps like a salmon and wins his own ball, he can score goals and get points from difficult angles, he is extremely quick off the mark and himself and Horgan are the driving force behind Cork, a bad day for Harnedy he could still get you 2 or 3 points."
Is team of the decade not supposed to be a team based on performances over a decade though? Like the team of the century wouldve been filled with players who played in the 80s if that was the case. And the Millenium team 90s players. Austin Gleeson is certainly talented. But probably only played well for his Senior county team for a couple of seasons. Mick Fennelly and David Burke played consistently well for more of the decade. Harnedy a good player for sure. But Horgan is different class.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11841 - 25/07/2019 15:31:42    2216355

Replying To DUALSUPPORT:  "There are just my opinions Cathal Barrett and Sean Finn are the best 2 corner backs I have seen since 2010. Austin Gleeson is definately in the top 5 most talented hurlers in the country but has been messed around a bit by Waterford, he has been played in a host of different positions instead of nailing him down to his best position centre back, Limerick were doing the same with Declan Hannon until John Kiely picked a position for him and kept him there. Now forwards were the hardest I had to choose from, I thought of Walter Walsh, Tj Reid, Bonner Maher, Bubbles O'Dwyer, Conor McGrath and Alan Cadagan too but Seamus Harnedy most definitely shouldn't be questioned he is the complete forward he jumps like a salmon and wins his own ball, he can score goals and get points from difficult angles, he is extremely quick off the mark and himself and Horgan are the driving force behind Cork, a bad day for Harnedy he could still get you 2 or 3 points."
Sorry I see you have Mick Fennelly on the team and Ozzie centreback. My mistake. Brick Walsh a far more consistent top level performer though.....

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11841 - 25/07/2019 15:35:15    2216357

1 Eoin Murphy
2 JJ Delaney
3 Daithí Burke
4 Richie English
5 Tommy Walsh
6 Declan Hannon
7 Brendan Maher
8 Cian Lynch
9 David Burke
10 Henry Shefflen
11 Joe Canning
12 TJ Reid
13 Conor Whelan
14 Seamus Callanan
15 Patrick Horgan

Esco678 (Waterford) - Posts: 1 - 25/07/2019 16:15:35    2216386

É.Murphy
Paul Murphy Daithi Burke Jackie Tyrell
Tommy Walsh Padraig Maher JJ Delaney
Mick Fennelly. David Burke
Ritchie Hogan. J.Canning. TJ Reid
Eddie Brennan Seamus Callanan N.McGrath

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 25/07/2019 16:32:26    2216398

Replying To Esco678:  "1 Eoin Murphy
2 JJ Delaney
3 Daithí Burke
4 Richie English
5 Tommy Walsh
6 Declan Hannon
7 Brendan Maher
8 Cian Lynch
9 David Burke
10 Henry Shefflen
11 Joe Canning
12 TJ Reid
13 Conor Whelan
14 Seamus Callanan
15 Patrick Horgan"
I'd be moving daithi Burke into the corner to facilitate JJ .

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 25/07/2019 17:24:44    2216429

Replying To Esco678:  "1 Eoin Murphy
2 JJ Delaney
3 Daithí Burke
4 Richie English
5 Tommy Walsh
6 Declan Hannon
7 Brendan Maher
8 Cian Lynch
9 David Burke
10 Henry Shefflen
11 Joe Canning
12 TJ Reid
13 Conor Whelan
14 Seamus Callanan
15 Patrick Horgan"
I'd be moving daithi Burke into the corner to facilitate JJ .

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 25/07/2019 17:25:05    2216430

Replying To Viking66:  "Is team of the decade not supposed to be a team based on performances over a decade though? Like the team of the century wouldve been filled with players who played in the 80s if that was the case. And the Millenium team 90s players. Austin Gleeson is certainly talented. But probably only played well for his Senior county team for a couple of seasons. Mick Fennelly and David Burke played consistently well for more of the decade. Harnedy a good player for sure. But Horgan is different class."
I like Brick Walsh a very good hurler he could do a job anywhere on the field, I remember he was the winning of the game against us in 2011 when he was moved back full back on Kevin Downes and contained him after Downes getting 2 goals and you have to respect his longevity especially in the modern game, I just rate Austin Gleeson very highly and he needs to played centre back and he will reach his potential. David Burke is a good hurler too but i had to pick Tony Kelly fantastic talent but you could also make a case for Brendan Maher, Cian Lynch and Shane Fitzgibbon.

Seamus Harnedy is more than just good he is top class, a different style of hurler to Horgan. Horgan is the classy stick man and Harnedy is a ball winner and a link man in the forward line.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 25/07/2019 17:54:32    2216442

Replying To DUALSUPPORT:  "I like Brick Walsh a very good hurler he could do a job anywhere on the field, I remember he was the winning of the game against us in 2011 when he was moved back full back on Kevin Downes and contained him after Downes getting 2 goals and you have to respect his longevity especially in the modern game, I just rate Austin Gleeson very highly and he needs to played centre back and he will reach his potential. David Burke is a good hurler too but i had to pick Tony Kelly fantastic talent but you could also make a case for Brendan Maher, Cian Lynch and Shane Fitzgibbon.

Seamus Harnedy is more than just good he is top class, a different style of hurler to Horgan. Horgan is the classy stick man and Harnedy is a ball winner and a link man in the forward line."
Austin Gleeson is a fantastic hurler and if he played in a Wexford style system then yes centreback suits him best as it did under Mcgrath at Waterford. In a more orthodox set up I think hes better at centre forward. However he still only had a couple of truly outstanding seasons in the decade. I think Tony Kellys best position is somewhere in the half forwards too. Who do you drop out of TJ, Canning and Noel Mcgrath to get Ozzie or Tony Kelly in though? Cian Lynch will probably make the team of the next decade allowing for form and injuries. Did Shane Fitzgibbon not have his best years in the 90s? Harnedy is a brilliant player but Id still have Mullane Horgan and Callanan inside.....

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11841 - 25/07/2019 20:58:03    2216514

Any team of the decade has to include the following:
Tommy Walsh
JJ Delaney
Henry Shefflin

My team:
Eoin Murphy
Paul Murphy
JJ Delaney
Daithi Burke
Tommy Walsh
Padraig Maher
Kevin Moran
Brendan Maher
Tony Kelly
TJ Reid
Henry Shefflin
Joe Canning
Richie Hogan
Seamus Callanan
Patrick Horgan

I think it's very hard to argue with any of the 6 forwards

890202 (Wexford) - Posts: 1278 - 26/07/2019 01:00:15    2216603

Replying To 890202:  "Any team of the decade has to include the following:
Tommy Walsh
JJ Delaney
Henry Shefflin

My team:
Eoin Murphy
Paul Murphy
JJ Delaney
Daithi Burke
Tommy Walsh
Padraig Maher
Kevin Moran
Brendan Maher
Tony Kelly
TJ Reid
Henry Shefflin
Joe Canning
Richie Hogan
Seamus Callanan
Patrick Horgan

I think it's very hard to argue with any of the 6 forwards"
Agree with you 100%, Eoin Murphy is another I'd include in any team of the decade or any other team for that matter.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 26/07/2019 09:53:53    2216653

Replying To Viking66:  "Austin Gleeson is a fantastic hurler and if he played in a Wexford style system then yes centreback suits him best as it did under Mcgrath at Waterford. In a more orthodox set up I think hes better at centre forward. However he still only had a couple of truly outstanding seasons in the decade. I think Tony Kellys best position is somewhere in the half forwards too. Who do you drop out of TJ, Canning and Noel Mcgrath to get Ozzie or Tony Kelly in though? Cian Lynch will probably make the team of the next decade allowing for form and injuries. Did Shane Fitzgibbon not have his best years in the 90s? Harnedy is a brilliant player but Id still have Mullane Horgan and Callanan inside....."
Haha you caught me there I meant to say Darragh Fitzgibbon but I suppose he is not around long enough to be considered.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 26/07/2019 12:08:08    2216714

Replying To Bon:  "Agree with you 100%, Eoin Murphy is another I'd include in any team of the decade or any other team for that matter."
Mick fennelly another non negotiable an absolute powerhouse

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 26/07/2019 12:18:03    2216722

Replying To 890202:  "Any team of the decade has to include the following:
Tommy Walsh
JJ Delaney
Henry Shefflin

My team:
Eoin Murphy
Paul Murphy
JJ Delaney
Daithi Burke
Tommy Walsh
Padraig Maher
Kevin Moran
Brendan Maher
Tony Kelly
TJ Reid
Henry Shefflin
Joe Canning
Richie Hogan
Seamus Callanan
Patrick Horgan

I think it's very hard to argue with any of the 6 forwards"
The reason I didnt include Tommy Walsh JJ Delaney or Henry Shefflin was that I picked my team based on players who played most of the seasons this decade. At least 5 or 6. The 3 lads would be on my team of the noughties. Which would probably consist of mainly Kilkenny players with a few Cork lads. They would also be nearly certainly on my team of the century if I live to be 129!!!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11841 - 26/07/2019 15:24:57    2216809

Replying To DUALSUPPORT:  "Haha you caught me there I meant to say Darragh Fitzgibbon but I suppose he is not around long enough to be considered."
Very good young player. If he keeps improving he might be on the team of the next decade. Along with Meade, Kingston, and a host of other very good players Cork had last year u21 and this at u20. Time will tell.....

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11841 - 26/07/2019 15:27:34    2216811

Replying To Viking66:  "Very good young player. If he keeps improving he might be on the team of the next decade. Along with Meade, Kingston, and a host of other very good players Cork had last year u21 and this at u20. Time will tell....."
Ah I think Kingston has been found out now, another player not up to scratch.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 26/07/2019 16:47:20    2216839

Replying To Viking66:  "Very good young player. If he keeps improving he might be on the team of the next decade. Along with Meade, Kingston, and a host of other very good players Cork had last year u21 and this at u20. Time will tell....."
For God sake Kingston is on Cork teams for the past three years and he has shown very little improvement. I cannot see what people see in him and Darragh Fitzgibbon was desperately poor against KK last Sunday, although he is generally better than that. Apart from Allan Cadogan, Pat Horgan, Seamus Harnedy and Mark Coleman it was hard to make the case that any Cork player even held their own last Sunday. Every year, as in '10,'13, '14,'17, '18 and '19, among others, Cork give a big 'statement' in Munster but then collapse in Croke Park. I am, as they say, half a Corkman and I just cannot understand how this once proud hurling county is going so poorly. I just cannot understand how so many people confidently expected them to beat Kilkenny last Sunday with seven men on board who had played in the 2013 All Ireland. They had two chances to beat Clare that year for the ultimate prize and they failed to win in Croke Park, despite the fact that they have beaten Clare in almost every other match of note they played them during this decade. Including '13 every other team in Munster have beaten them in Croke Park on the big days since.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 26/07/2019 22:56:06    2216956

Replying To cavanman47:  "I think for someone like JJ, it's fair enough to move him because he could play anywhere. He was a wing back originally.

And would it not be harsh on him or Daithi to drop one of them for Tyrell or another corner back just because both played at full back?"
Yeah it would be harsh, in as much as dropping a good player is harsh. Just a bugbear of mine with all Star teams. I sometimes like to think if I played full back all year and was chosen right corner back on the team of the year, that I'd refuse the award in a fit of pique! Reality is, I'd probably quietly accept it but there'd be no denying that I was only considered second best full back that year.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 27/07/2019 13:56:55    2217088