Sean Cavanagh Kerry Fans Dogs/Animals

Cavanagh's article is an inside into Tyrone's mentality. Chip on shoulder springs to mind! Tyrone were blessed with their best and amongst the best GAA teams in the 00's. In place was a great manager and together they brought home three All Ireland Senior titles - people acknowledge this achievement - like or loate their style they were great for the GAA at the time.

Due to that decade of success Tyrone people don't like not being compared to Kerry and Dublin and believe everybody should roll the red carpet because they're Tyrone and should show some respect. Tyrone don't and will never have the history of Kerry GAA. Kerry have been winning All Ireland's since time began and you cannot wipe their amazing history because your county had a once in a lifetime team.

There is nothing wrong with cheering on your team at it's home ground and also nothing wrong with showing some respect when winning.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 11/07/2019 15:40:16    2209556

Sean is trying to make a name for himself, and he probably thinks the best way to do that is to go after the big dog in the yard.

Saying that, best of luck to Sean, Iv always been a big fan of his and Iv been lucky enough to get to meet the man in Omagh a few times, I just hope I didn't patronize him when I asked him for a photo.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/07/2019 15:42:04    2209557

Replying To sam1884:  "Cavanagh's article is an inside into Tyrone's mentality. Chip on shoulder springs to mind! Tyrone were blessed with their best and amongst the best GAA teams in the 00's. In place was a great manager and together they brought home three All Ireland Senior titles - people acknowledge this achievement - like or loate their style they were great for the GAA at the time.

Due to that decade of success Tyrone people don't like not being compared to Kerry and Dublin and believe everybody should roll the red carpet because they're Tyrone and should show some respect. Tyrone don't and will never have the history of Kerry GAA. Kerry have been winning All Ireland's since time began and you cannot wipe their amazing history because your county had a once in a lifetime team.

There is nothing wrong with cheering on your team at it's home ground and also nothing wrong with showing some respect when winning."
You could not be more wrong in what you are saying here. A sweeping statement regarding all Tyrone GAA people that is simply not true. Most Tyrone people have nothing but respect for great teams like Kerry and Dublin. I've been on here many times praising the current Dublin team and grew up in awe of Kerry teams of the past,And had great respect for their team of the noughties. It might be true there are a few eejits in Tyrone that think that way but sure ye have them types in Kerry and Dublin and other counties too. Doesn't mean all people are like that.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 11/07/2019 15:50:42    2209562

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Sean is trying to make a name for himself, and he probably thinks the best way to do that is to go after the big dog in the yard.

Saying that, best of luck to Sean, Iv always been a big fan of his and Iv been lucky enough to get to meet the man in Omagh a few times, I just hope I didn't patronize him when I asked him for a photo."
Surely he'd be going after Dublin so :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 11/07/2019 16:02:51    2209569

This is obviously going to turn into a "Tyrone fans did this during a league match, Tyrone fans did that at a match" then probably turn to the Kerry and Dublin ones on here stating the same so what's the point.

Might as well close it now

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 11/07/2019 16:20:01    2209579

Replying To TheHermit:  "Jimbo if you can find anytime I said anything on here even in the ball park of that guys comments then go ahead.

Not trying to turn this into a Dublin v Kerry: its your Dublin buddy who started that (as usual).

I've said my piece and I'm moving on..."
You gave me directions through a rough part of Tralee where I'd get my head kicked in ! lol

You've said plenty on here that you wouldn't say in the real world chief to a Dubs fan to their face

Now fair enough you've had your say but for Jaysus sake can you never just accept the odd thing..

You and a couple others are the main cause of an awful lot of negative buzz on this site yet you always point the finger..

I'm not the first to point out as much

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 11/07/2019 16:22:30    2209580

To call any GAA fans Dogs is disgraceful.
Not sure how you can allow a man on the Sunday Game or a national newspaper.
He should be sacked for calling Kerry people dogs.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 11/07/2019 16:27:16    2209582

Replying To jimbodub:  "You gave me directions through a rough part of Tralee where I'd get my head kicked in ! lol

You've said plenty on here that you wouldn't say in the real world chief to a Dubs fan to their face

Now fair enough you've had your say but for Jaysus sake can you never just accept the odd thing..

You and a couple others are the main cause of an awful lot of negative buzz on this site yet you always point the finger..

I'm not the first to point out as much"
He try sending you to the Bullring was it Jimbo?!?!

Hermit, far from the ol loveable cute kerry hoor that we all know and get on with, you are just nasty at times.

Westkerry my friend, just back from your part of the world again, the finest of people, the most beautiful of places. Ye are blessed

Regarding what SC said, I will say this; when Kerry fan's see you as beneath them, they are the nicest people in the world. When they see you as a threat, the mask slips on some of them

SOME

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 11/07/2019 16:36:38    2209586

Replying To The_Fridge:  "This is obviously going to turn into a "Tyrone fans did this during a league match, Tyrone fans did that at a match" then probably turn to the Kerry and Dublin ones on here stating the same so what's the point.

Might as well close it now"
It's already begun! Every thread is getting taken over by Dublin and Kerry posters having a slanging match.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 11/07/2019 16:38:27    2209587

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "He try sending you to the Bullring was it Jimbo?!?!

Hermit, far from the ol loveable cute kerry hoor that we all know and get on with, you are just nasty at times.

Westkerry my friend, just back from your part of the world again, the finest of people, the most beautiful of places. Ye are blessed

Regarding what SC said, I will say this; when Kerry fan's see you as beneath them, they are the nicest people in the world. When they see you as a threat, the mask slips on some of them

SOME"
Glad you enjoyed it Liam..

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 11/07/2019 16:55:58    2209594

Replying To seanie_boy:  "You could not be more wrong in what you are saying here. A sweeping statement regarding all Tyrone GAA people that is simply not true. Most Tyrone people have nothing but respect for great teams like Kerry and Dublin. I've been on here many times praising the current Dublin team and grew up in awe of Kerry teams of the past,And had great respect for their team of the noughties. It might be true there are a few eejits in Tyrone that think that way but sure ye have them types in Kerry and Dublin and other counties too. Doesn't mean all people are like that."
I respect your opinion and maybe some Tyrone people think like yourself. However the media is awash with Tyrone people and Cavanagh's views may be worded differently but the message is the same as it's been over the last number of years - I have also heard this chip on shoulder mentality at matches. It was an amazing team in the 00's and whilst MH has kept Tyrone competitive there is no need to disrespect other counties long successful history - Cavanagh's comments didn't surprise me to be honest as it's been the norm of Tyrone people in the media - sorry for highlighting it but I noticed it a long time ago.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 11/07/2019 17:10:26    2209597

Replying To HighKings:  "It's already begun! Every thread is getting taken over by Dublin and Kerry posters having a slanging match."
Yep. I pointed out the same thing on the Kerry/Mayo thread.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 648 - 11/07/2019 17:13:56    2209600

Sean is wrong and trying to be like Joe brolly
Kerry fans were showing respect to Mickey Harte for his daughter and staying on the field for hours after signing autographs

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 11/07/2019 17:16:40    2209603

Maybe the Tyrone lads could take this one. Has SC burned a few bridges in Tyrone?

I can't imagine he's seen now in the same light as Canavan, Dooher and O'Neill.

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 11/07/2019 17:46:43    2209615

Bizarre comments from Sean Cavanagh. I don't think anybody in Kerry will be particularly offended or anything but I don't see what the point of saying what he said. Very foolish.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 11/07/2019 18:23:19    2209625

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Sean is trying to make a name for himself, and he probably thinks the best way to do that is to go after the big dog in the yard.

Saying that, best of luck to Sean, Iv always been a big fan of his and Iv been lucky enough to get to meet the man in Omagh a few times, I just hope I didn't patronize him when I asked him for a photo."
Oh

I assume the big dog has gone for a walk when he arrives or something so and is going for the middle dog instead ?????

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 11/07/2019 18:24:06    2209626

Replying To westkerry:  "To call any GAA fans Dogs is disgraceful.
He should be sacked for calling Kerry people dogs."
Sacked from what and by whom? The publisher ran with this article very deliberately and it clearly worked. There's a bit of uproar from the Kingdom but all they have to do is reference what one of ye're own has said about Kerry fans in the past - and it is referenced. It does reflect the level of hatred that developed between the two teams at that time. Is it an insightful article - no. it's tabloid, hence the paper that published it. Is it intended to incite? Absolutely. It's the launch of a new column in a tabloid newspaper. And if ye happen to meet Tyrone in a semi-final this article will get referenced again and again. If not, ye meet them in the league next spring anyway. So it's a win-win scenario for the publisher. Will RTE sack him? It's got nothing to do with them. So who else is going to sack him?

offyertrolley (Leitrim) - Posts: 141 - 11/07/2019 18:33:26    2209628

Replying To westkerry:  "To call any GAA fans Dogs is disgraceful.
He should be sacked for calling Kerry people dogs."
Relax will ya. Get rid of Spillane while you're at it so

dublin5 (Dublin) - Posts: 30 - 11/07/2019 18:55:38    2209633

Replying To seanie_boy:  "You could not be more wrong in what you are saying here. A sweeping statement regarding all Tyrone GAA people that is simply not true. Most Tyrone people have nothing but respect for great teams like Kerry and Dublin. I've been on here many times praising the current Dublin team and grew up in awe of Kerry teams of the past,And had great respect for their team of the noughties. It might be true there are a few eejits in Tyrone that think that way but sure ye have them types in Kerry and Dublin and other counties too. Doesn't mean all people are like that."
Good post. Very much agree

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 11/07/2019 19:05:32    2209634

Replying To waynoI:  "Oh

I assume the big dog has gone for a walk when he arrives or something so and is going for the middle dog instead ?????"
Kerry still the Big Dog last time i checked the roll of honour.

GreenAndGold74 (Kerry) - Posts: 194 - 11/07/2019 19:26:03    2209641