Mayo V Galway

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "True for you, the impression I got down there was that they hate Galway especially or even Roscommon when they are having a bit of success, arrogant £$&*% is how they come across to me, both on and off the field, I've been at games against Mayo and I can tell you a lot of these Mayo fans are not nice people when the games on anyway, doubt a lot of them are much different away from the football pitch either."
Admin why are you allowing this constant crap tarring Mayo people by this clown? "Not nice Poole" come this is meant to be a sports forum.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11229 - 08/07/2019 09:31:25    2207604

Replying To yew_tree:  "Admin why are you allowing this constant crap tarring Mayo people by this clown? "Not nice Poole" come this is meant to be a sports forum."
Ha now you know what it's like being a Dub on here, if you were no good he wouldn't say these things cause he wouldn't care take it as a compliment.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/07/2019 09:47:27    2207614

Replying To Galwaymaster9:  "2000 possibly one of two.."
Don't think Kerry scored any goals that day??

Mfs (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 08/07/2019 10:03:24    2207623

Replying To togoutlads:  "Absolute tripe, Riverboys. I'm a Galway man but know Mayo very, very well, all my life, every corner of it. Anyway, Galway football supporters worth their salt will always give mayo a cheer if ye advance but that is almost never the case with mayo people. I know of a handful of mayo gaa people that would support our footballers if we go further. A lot more will wish us well in the hurling, but there's serious I'll will towards Galway in football and that became sadly apparent to many Galway kids alongside us in the North Stand in Limerick as the abuse being roared out by a very sizable cohort of mayo supporters towards Galway was so bad that it made a lot of families move away to other seats. Mayo guys literally roaring in our faces that 'this is not *expletive* hurling, this is Gaelic Football ye *multiple expletives*, with no decent supporter from Mayo asking them to back off or be decent. Then there's the sorry Mayo trend of at least thirty plus years of booing Galway players repeatedly and cheering wides. And thousands of mayo 'fans' do this. It's ugly and leaves neutrals and other supporters with a bitter taste. I'm not being a sore loser here, I'm hand on heart telling Mayo supporters that they can't act like complete partisans in a negative way, by all means cheer your own but quit the nasty stuff - it leaves other counties with no gra for ye. That said, I do wish Mayo every success and I will support ye but for God's sakes there's at least 15-20% of your supporters that really need to act decently and sportingly, they're dragging the rest down and making Mayo fans less and less likeable. This derby used to be a laugh and good craic, what we endured in the North Stand yesterday and in other recent outings against ye was toxic"
I plain don't believe this happened. Literally roaring in your face? You should have got the guards involved if that was the case! In all my time following Mayo all over the country I have never come across anything close to that, either from Mayo fans or opposition fans. I was roaring on Mayo the whole game in an area that was about 5:1 Mayo fans. I'd a Galway man with his teenage son shake my hand after the game and wished us the best of luck. Had about a 5 minute conversation with him. He didn't seem intimidated or upset in any way, shape or form.

As for the cheering wides thing, so what? I don't see what the issue is there, a wide for the opposition is essentially like a score for your team. Why wouldn't you cheer that and be happy about it?

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 08/07/2019 10:35:31    2207654

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "True for you, the impression I got down there was that they hate Galway especially or even Roscommon when they are having a bit of success, arrogant £$&*% is how they come across to me, both on and off the field, I've been at games against Mayo and I can tell you a lot of these Mayo fans are not nice people when the games on anyway, doubt a lot of them are much different away from the football pitch either."
Yeah you're right there, to a man, woman and child we are all absolutely horrible people simply by virtue of the part of Ireland we come from. Ridiculous post and you really need to take a look in the mirror.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 08/07/2019 10:42:23    2207659

Replying To yew_tree:  "And that folks is grade A deflection...right out of the politicians handbook."
And if a Mayo person were to make similar points we'd be told to stop whingeing, with our friend from Corofin among the first to stick the boot in.

Rank hypocrisy.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 08/07/2019 10:57:26    2207668

Replying To centerfield:  "Mayo missing Parsons/Ruane/DoConnor/SOS that's 4 midfielders. Counting Sos as he's obviously nowhere near fit.Also Keegan obviously not 100% when he didnt start

You said earlier in the week that Mayo shouldn't be making excuses of injuries"
This i think has been missed so much, they are doing terrifically well given the injuries they have had and the caliber of players out.

Really admirable stuff, most counties wouldn't be able to do what Mayo have done. Id give that group huge credit for what they have done in the championship to date given the context.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 08/07/2019 11:00:03    2207672

You need a good lie-down and a cold flannel.

What will you do when Donegal play in Castlebar in a few weeks? Listen to it on Highland Radio, I presume?

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 08/07/2019 11:02:10    2207674

Replying To the_walls:  "I plain don't believe this happened. Literally roaring in your face? You should have got the guards involved if that was the case! In all my time following Mayo all over the country I have never come across anything close to that, either from Mayo fans or opposition fans. I was roaring on Mayo the whole game in an area that was about 5:1 Mayo fans. I'd a Galway man with his teenage son shake my hand after the game and wished us the best of luck. Had about a 5 minute conversation with him. He didn't seem intimidated or upset in any way, shape or form.

As for the cheering wides thing, so what? I don't see what the issue is there, a wide for the opposition is essentially like a score for your team. Why wouldn't you cheer that and be happy about it?"
Yes this did happen @the_walls , I moved seats, I must have been close to this area. The mayo fans were like animals. Both women and men - the language and abuse was absolutely shocking, I moved my family further down the stand as I wanted to watch the match and not listen to "live commentary" from Mayo fans. Cheering and standing up for the Galway wides, grow up! That is not sportsmanship. Used to enjoy the Galway - Mayo rivalry but like an above comment said "This derby used to be a laugh and good craic, what we endured in the North Stand yesterday and in other recent outings against ye was toxic"
Mayo for Sandwiches

shemozzle (Galway) - Posts: 12 - 08/07/2019 12:18:44    2207734

There wasn't an ounce of trouble like this at the Connacht final between Ros and Galway. Both sets of supporters got on with it and after contesting and sharing the last Four Connacht finals we've built up a healthy respect for each other. As for Mayo ye do seem to have a disproportionate amount.of fools supporting yer team who lose the run of themselves at games. The majority of the Mayo fans are sound.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1079 - 08/07/2019 12:46:16    2207756

Replying To shemozzle:  "Yes this did happen @the_walls , I moved seats, I must have been close to this area. The mayo fans were like animals. Both women and men - the language and abuse was absolutely shocking, I moved my family further down the stand as I wanted to watch the match and not listen to "live commentary" from Mayo fans. Cheering and standing up for the Galway wides, grow up! That is not sportsmanship. Used to enjoy the Galway - Mayo rivalry but like an above comment said "This derby used to be a laugh and good craic, what we endured in the North Stand yesterday and in other recent outings against ye was toxic"
Mayo for Sandwiches"
Can confirm some of this was going on in the Mackey Stand too. I get that each county has their own bad eggs but it wasn't very enjoyable unfortunately.

Best of luck to Mayo in the Super 8's.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1571 - 08/07/2019 12:46:17    2207757

Couldn't dis-agree more. Mayo people are the nicest people you could meet, and I have met quite a few of them.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 274 - 08/07/2019 12:47:11    2207759

Replying To shemozzle:  "Yes this did happen @the_walls , I moved seats, I must have been close to this area. The mayo fans were like animals. Both women and men - the language and abuse was absolutely shocking, I moved my family further down the stand as I wanted to watch the match and not listen to "live commentary" from Mayo fans. Cheering and standing up for the Galway wides, grow up! That is not sportsmanship. Used to enjoy the Galway - Mayo rivalry but like an above comment said "This derby used to be a laugh and good craic, what we endured in the North Stand yesterday and in other recent outings against ye was toxic"
Mayo for Sandwiches"
This getting beyond ridiculous now, it really is

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 08/07/2019 12:58:54    2207766

Replying To the_walls:  "This getting beyond ridiculous now, it really is"
firstly, if someone says something happened you can't just say no i plainly don't believe it and completely dismiss it haha!

this forum is something else. no wonder nobody has any craic at the game, nobody can even have a joke on here without crying about what's been said. what's wrong with everyone?!

to everybody else, mayo beat galway. go and get on with your life and don't let it get you too low or too high. there's many more important things to worry about.

and people of galway.... we LUUFFFFF YOU!!!

Miami305 (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 08/07/2019 13:13:00    2207787

I was gonna go to the Mayo Meath game, not so sure now. What if i dont make it out alive?.

Dec82 (Clare) - Posts: 242 - 08/07/2019 13:30:49    2207805

Getting fierce salty in here think it's time to wrap this thread up!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 08/07/2019 13:34:06    2207812

Replying To Dec82:  "I was gonna go to the Mayo Meath game, not so sure now. What if i dont make it out alive?."
You'll be taking a massive chance right enough. I wouldn't be risking it if I was you.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 08/07/2019 13:34:37    2207815

Replying To Dec82:  "I was gonna go to the Mayo Meath game, not so sure now. What if i dont make it out alive?."
The last time they played a big championship game, they were killing each other on the pitch!!

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 08/07/2019 13:39:16    2207818

Replying To Belclare:  "The last time they played a big championship game, they were killing each other on the pitch!!"
No that was 1996...we met in 2009 quarter final and Meath beat us that day too...we owe them

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11229 - 08/07/2019 13:45:11    2207825

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "both teams were missing players.
The fact is Galway didn't take their chances (hit the upright with a free, missed a penalty etc), and they lost their discipline while chasing the game.
The exact same reasons why Mayo lost the last 6 meetings between the teams.
There isn't much between the teams. At the end of the day Mayo wanted it more.
This Galway team gave up v Roscommon, Dublin in last years semi, gave up v tipp in 2016. They didn't give up yesterday but they haven't the cahones to win when it counts."
LOL! A mayo man saying another team doesn't have the "Cahonas" to win when it counts. Do you know when it acually counts?? September, when the mayo "Cahonas" shrivel to the size of a pea! The only team to put it up to Dublin ye say, that on itself is a sign of Failure.

Blackberry (Galway) - Posts: 23 - 08/07/2019 14:00:54    2207850