The Dubs, The Monies & The Prejudices

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Former "Dublin manager" Lyons says its nothing to do with money. and has a dig at Kildare and Meath for been awful while he is atit.. Ah Jayus..... NEXT !!!"
Hes not wrong re Kildare & Meath though.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 06/07/2019 22:08:58    2206566

Replying To lilylanger:  "Hes not wrong re Kildare & Meath though."
Well done to Kildare for maintaining their underage superiority in Leinster

Current minor 2019 & U20 2018 Leinster/All Ireland Champs

Hats off. Outstanding. Top work being done.

But.. what I can't understand is..

But... we have the funding! How on earth haven't Dublin been able to buy all these titles!

It's disgraceful that Kildare are winning all this silverware!

How... how on earth is this possible !

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/07/2019 22:18:48    2206579

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Former "Dublin manager" Lyons says its nothing to do with money. and has a dig at Kildare and Meath for been awful while he is atit.. Ah Jayus..... NEXT !!!"
Ahh Jaysus, no need to be calling poor oul' Tommy a "tit".

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 06/07/2019 22:27:35    2206585

Replying To TheHermit:  "So Kerry are a single code county are we?
Stick to talking about what's inside the M50 lad. Your ignorance of anything outside it, particularly Munster GAA is embarrassing and painful to read.

P.S, Kerry Group were started from a small co-op in my village - a proud hurling village would you believe.
Kerry people's entrepreneurship and hard graft turned it into a billion euro company that still employees a hell of a lot of people in Kerry - and we certainly need that with every second job in this land seemingly ear-marked for Dublin.
Kerry Group keep their connection with their native place through their sponsorship of Kerry GAA teams.
Can you tell me lad what connection AIG or Vodafone before them have with Dublin??"
Kerry Grouo...a billion dollar industry...deep rooted in a Kerry village....loyal to it's people.... With billion dollar sponsors like this who needs GAA "financial doping". What's the population of Kerry again? 140K and BILLION DOLLAR Kerry Group backing their single code county competitors. I mean really. As if playing in a hurling province wasn't a big enough advantage. The GAA need to look into this urgently. Anyway how did Kildare minors get on against the financially doped state aided Dubs today? Anyone get the result? I presume that the "blue juggernaut" kept on trucking. Money = success after all.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 06/07/2019 22:50:28    2206605

Replying To jimbodub:  "Well done to Kildare for maintaining their underage superiority in Leinster

But... we have the funding! How on earth haven't Dublin been able to buy all these titles!

How... how on earth is this possible !"
Don't get your knickers in a twist, im quiet certain Leinster council are just as bewildered as your good self and id say tonight they are utterly sickened that despite all their money pumping into Dublin, Kildare are still competing underage. That and an absolute horrendous display from the officials at todays match (that really makes you wonder) and they still couldnt get Dublin over the line. I fully expect a neutral venue when Dublin reach a final to be done away with in the near future plus a few more tweaks to try and help ye out, so keep the faith, more advantages are coming to ye soon no doubt, no need for panic.

cuttothebone (Kildare) - Posts: 163 - 06/07/2019 23:02:34    2206624

Replying To cuttothebone:  "Don't get your knickers in a twist, im quiet certain Leinster council are just as bewildered as your good self and id say tonight they are utterly sickened that despite all their money pumping into Dublin, Kildare are still competing underage. That and an absolute horrendous display from the officials at todays match (that really makes you wonder) and they still couldnt get Dublin over the line. I fully expect a neutral venue when Dublin reach a final to be done away with in the near future plus a few more tweaks to try and help ye out, so keep the faith, more advantages are coming to ye soon no doubt, no need for panic."
Yes I mean the Leinster Council, packed full of Dubs, must be utterly sickened by Kildare's win today. I mean it stands to reason doesn't it when Leinster is under pressure for being uncompetitive at senior level. Leinster Council wants to see Dublin sweeping up at all levels and at both codes. Good God.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 06/07/2019 23:16:03    2206640

Replying To Joxer:  "Kerry Grouo...a billion dollar industry...deep rooted in a Kerry village....loyal to it's people.... With billion dollar sponsors like this who needs GAA "financial doping". What's the population of Kerry again? 140K and BILLION DOLLAR Kerry Group backing their single code county competitors. I mean really. As if playing in a hurling province wasn't a big enough advantage. The GAA need to look into this urgently. Anyway how did Kildare minors get on against the financially doped state aided Dubs today? Anyone get the result? I presume that the "blue juggernaut" kept on trucking. Money = success after all."
Yes Kerry Group give all their profits to Kerry GAA didn't you know that??!!!
Honestly admin if he disrespects Kerry's hurling one more time can he not be banned for ignorance and stupidity?

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/07/2019 23:19:34    2206643

Tommy says not the money so the money obviously not needed.
But he was wrong with the population explosion in Kildare and Meath. In them 2 counties young kids with Dublin parents are raised thinking they are Dubs. This is wrong in my opinion as it is totally against gaa ethos of your own club and county. You only have to look at minor and u 21 players this last ten years with Meath and Kildare clubs playing with Dublin.

tadghieboy (Cork) - Posts: 69 - 06/07/2019 23:39:15    2206657

Replying To jimbodub:  "Well done to Kildare for maintaining their underage superiority in Leinster

How... how on earth is this possible !"
Jimbo, since 2009 Dublin minors have won 5 Leinster titles and 1 All Ireland. Since 2009 Dublin's u20/21s have won 7 Leinster titles and 4 All Irelands . Since 2011 Dublin seniors have won 9 Leinster titles and 6 All Irelands. Note the progress and improvements in terms of titles won as Dublin's players go up the grades. €1.8 million a year which is 13 times what Cork get most certainly contributes to player development. Between 2009 and 2019 Dublin's minor, u20/21 and senior football teams have won 68% of all the Leinster titles and 39% of all the All Ireland titles available to them . That's a massive haul of titles . The funding is working !!!

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 07/07/2019 00:22:24    2206710

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yes Kerry Group give all their profits to Kerry GAA didn't you know that??!!!
Honestly admin if he disrespects Kerry's hurling one more time can he not be banned for ignorance and stupidity?"
They are investing a lot of money into Kerry GAA. There are legitimate concerns about Dublin's finances but other counties have lucrative deals. The GAA needs to take a look at sponsorship deals in general.

Hawkeye9212 (Donegal) - Posts: 266 - 07/07/2019 01:19:53    2206728

Replying To lilylanger:  "Hes not wrong re Kildare & Meath though."
He's spot on alright. But its easier to blame the dubs for our shortcomings rather than accept the fact how poor we are.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 07/07/2019 09:41:12    2206794

Replying To Greengrass:  "Jimbo, since 2009 Dublin minors have won 5 Leinster titles and 1 All Ireland. Since 2009 Dublin's u20/21s have won 7 Leinster titles and 4 All Irelands . Since 2011 Dublin seniors have won 9 Leinster titles and 6 All Irelands. Note the progress and improvements in terms of titles won as Dublin's players go up the grades. €1.8 million a year which is 13 times what Cork get most certainly contributes to player development. Between 2009 and 2019 Dublin's minor, u20/21 and senior football teams have won 68% of all the Leinster titles and 39% of all the All Ireland titles available to them . That's a massive haul of titles . The funding is working !!!"
Pile of nonsense and well you know it.

How does funding to school children explain the likes of

Cluxton, Nolan, Brennan, Fitzsimons, McCarthy, Cullen, Cahill, McMahon, Quinn, Fennell etc I could go on.. A Brogan, B Brogan, Flynn, MDMc, Kev Mc, D Daly, Dennis B, EOG, Connolly..

I've left out plenty

The likes of McCaffrey, Rock who's fathers represented Dublin and had it in their DNA

I've left out several more... lots of other panel players that played significant parts in the teams whose age profile matches the above players.

How on earth does funding to school children explain those lads when the said funding had zero significance in their development!

How does it explain Paddy Christie, Pat Gilroy, Mickey Whelan, Mick Deegan, Jason Sherlock, Declan Darcy and Jim Gavin

How much would Dublin have won without all those players and management teams that you seem to think GDF to school children is responsible for... lol

Pull the other one. Pure ignorance on your part.

Very easy sound bites with as much depth as saying "Dublin have 1.3 million people to pick from"

Dublin's success has very little to do with GDF to school children.

An inconvenient truth I know but it's all there in black and white.

GDF has done sod all in the last couple of seasons to our underage teams. The success before that had Jim Gavin at the helm. It's no use unless you have the talent. You can't coach a donkey into being a race horse.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 07/07/2019 13:29:43    2206966

Replying To Bon:  "He's spot on alright. But its easier to blame the dubs for our shortcomings rather than accept the fact how poor we are."
I agree. Lots of teams are beaten by the Dubs, even before they step out on the field. A team that has fear will be demolished . Jim Mcguinness and Donegal back in 2014, had the correct mindset.It is extremely difficult to beat Dubs now, as Jim Gavin has them well grounded, but the gap is closing.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 07/07/2019 13:35:15    2206971