Cavan In The Qualifiers/ Super 8S

Replying To Ned_Stormcrow:  "Madge, what I meant was we never get kind draws at later stages of the qualifiers.

Now the super 8s will have the likes of either Cork, Laois, Clare or Meath in it. Teams I'd consider weaker than us. It's very frustrating."
We never get kind draws later in the qualifiers because we are never in the later stages of the qualifiers!

Look, I just think Cavan need to stop feeling sorry for ourselves just because we drew Tyrone. They are the greatest self-promoters off them all, with former players all over the media constantly spinning the line of how brilliant they are. It has a lot of teams beaten before they take the field and we can't fall into that trap.
The cold facts are that they have won 2 Ulster titles in the last 10 years- not the powerhouse they once were. Granted we always struggle to beat them but the match last year was closer than a lot of people remember and we drew with them a couple of years back too. Are we better than then ? Yes. Are they? Probably not.

So its time to lift the heads and expect more from this team that we are supposed to SUPPORT and BELIEVE in.
The match will be in Clones on Saturday night, a huge championship game on a July evening in a great venue. What more could we want? Mickey Graham made a huge mistake by changing his forwards before the final now he has a chance to put it right and go for Tyrone from the off. Don't be giving these shapers the respect they crave, give them the beating they deserve.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 01/07/2019 10:19:12    2203334

Think Tyrone will be very happy with that draw. They don't rate us. They'll talk a lot in the media of a tough match and a great Cavan team and all that crap but they don't rate us and will be fully expecting to advance without too much fuss. Their eyes are at another crack at Donegal in a possible AI semi. They believe they are the kingpins in the province and will show them next time and restore proper order. Which would have me leaning a bit towards what Madge was saying above.
Look, Tyrone are better than us and it's a really big ask to beat them. Probably won't happen but there's a slight chance. I've always rated Donegal higher than this Tyrone team. They have much the better forwards and potentially the sky's the limit for them. Tyrone on the other hand have plateaued last few years and until they get some better forwards this is their level. We couldn't handle the pace and directness of Donegal but Tyrone are not at the same level up front. So if we can put the last day behind us, regroup, maybe add in a bit of Tyrone complacency and one or two of our forwards catch fire you never know. Good luck to the lads next week.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 01/07/2019 10:47:53    2203372

Replying To MadgeKing:  "We never get kind draws later in the qualifiers because we are never in the later stages of the qualifiers!

Look, I just think Cavan need to stop feeling sorry for ourselves just because we drew Tyrone. They are the greatest self-promoters off them all, with former players all over the media constantly spinning the line of how brilliant they are. It has a lot of teams beaten before they take the field and we can't fall into that trap.
The cold facts are that they have won 2 Ulster titles in the last 10 years- not the powerhouse they once were. Granted we always struggle to beat them but the match last year was closer than a lot of people remember and we drew with them a couple of years back too. Are we better than then ? Yes. Are they? Probably not.

So its time to lift the heads and expect more from this team that we are supposed to SUPPORT and BELIEVE in.
The match will be in Clones on Saturday night, a huge championship game on a July evening in a great venue. What more could we want? Mickey Graham made a huge mistake by changing his forwards before the final now he has a chance to put it right and go for Tyrone from the off. Don't be giving these shapers the respect they crave, give them the beating they deserve."
agreed on all points!!!!
Micky graham should put a photo of Mc Curry flexing his leg after scoring a goal against Derry up in the changing room and leave it there all week aswell

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 01/07/2019 10:48:21    2203376

Replying To kildare blue:  "Folks, It we are better than we were this time last year then we can prove it next weekend by taking care of them. It will be their third game in three weeks and they are reverting back to their failed methods of recent years with a packed defence and hitting teams on the break. It will be a similar test to Donegal, indeed it will show what we learnt from the Donegal clash as we can immediately put the lessons learnt into practice."
do you guys never learn. i was reading the same crap before the Donegal game. how we were going to beat them. forget it lads. Tyrone are a better team / squad than us, have been for years. There is no way we can beat them regardless of what style they or us play. We have no Colm Cavanagh, no Cathal McShane, no Peter Harte, no Niall Sludden, no Kieran McGeary, no Mcnamee, no Donnellys, and no McCanns. btw McCann will be back too. It's a simple fact of life. Dont get annoyed afterwards when we lose heavily and start slagging off all and sundry. It's pure back luck (or pre-ordained) that we drew Tyrone. We would probably have beaten Laois or Clare and we would have run Mayo close. getting to the Super-8s would have benefited us. aw well.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 01/07/2019 10:48:43    2203377

Replying To ballygowanwater:  "In some ways its the best draw to get. We get to really see where we are at. Win and its a statement with quality games to come. Lose and its a reality check for everyone that there is a-lot more serious work to be done before dining at a top table again. I hope its the former!"
we seen where we are at against Donegal. what we needed was a kinder draw to get us to the super-8 where we could get experience and improve but unfortunately that is not to be.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 01/07/2019 10:55:36    2203384

Replying To MadgeKing:  "We never get kind draws later in the qualifiers because we are never in the later stages of the qualifiers!

The match will be in Clones on Saturday night, a huge championship game on a July evening in a great venue. What more could we want? Mickey Graham made a huge mistake by changing his forwards before the final now he has a chance to put it right and go for Tyrone from the off. Don't be giving these shapers the respect they crave, give them the beating they deserve."
Just to be clear we have won 4 Ulster titles in the past 10 years- - not 2.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 01/07/2019 11:02:34    2203393

Replying To Wally:  "

Just to be clear we have won 4 Ulster titles in the past 10 years- - not 2."
Just to be clear ye won 3 Ulster titles in the past 10 years, not 4

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 01/07/2019 11:21:03    2203408

Replying To Wally:  "

Lets be honest with yourselves you have being blowing up the Cavan team as unbeatable and I suppose in most counties you will have those that will alway's do the same thing. Cavan have not the standards required for the top tier but they should be for hundreds of thousands is pumped into the development of the game here. Maybe a different route should be taken to develop the cream of the crop if they are lucky enough to be brought into the panel.

Personally this is probably the worst draw Cavan could have got as it's another Ulster team that play's ugly puke football. Maybe I should exclude Donegal now for they seem to have taken off the shackles and have a free flowing game but off course still defense minded.

If you believe that Tyrone are too good and there is no chance whats the point you are all ready beat.
I hope the players treat this as their all Ireland and really show if they have any quality on the panel and beat this Tyrone team with skill and passion. They are beatable you know.
Be positive be aggressive and please god Mickey will have the lads wound up for a thriller if it's in them.
Maybe it might be a double header with the U20 team it would be fair on the genuine supporters who would like to see both teams play. Maybe a double header in Clones or Armagh it would be nice.

But knowing the greed in the Ulster Council they will not dod that unfortunately I hope I am wrong.
Good luck next Saturday to all involved

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 01/07/2019 11:27:51    2203416

This will show how good we are and if there has been any improvement this year on previous years

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 01/07/2019 12:00:04    2203455

Replying To Hardtimes:  "
Replying To Wally:  "[quote=MadgeKing:  "We never get kind draws later in the qualifiers because we are never in the later stages of the qualifiers!

Just to be clear ye won 3 Ulster titles in the past 10 years, not 4"]See...what did I tell ya? Always talking themselves up!!

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 01/07/2019 12:21:02    2203468

Replying To MadgeKing:  "
Replying To Hardtimes:  "[quote=Wally:  "[quote=MadgeKing:  "We never get kind draws later in the qualifiers because we are never in the later stages of the qualifiers!

Just to be clear ye won 3 Ulster titles in the past 10 years, not 4"]See...what did I tell ya? Always talking themselves up!!"]U 21 Ulster titles since 2011 "4"

2011, 2012, 2013, '14

I hope that clears up the misunderstanding.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 01/07/2019 14:07:09    2203582

Galligan
Gunner. Clarke. Faulkner
M.Reilly. McVeety G.Smith
Argue. T. Galligan
Stephan Murray. McKiernan. Moynagh(sweeper)
C.Reilly. Madden. J.Galligan

I only left N.Murrary out because of injury

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 01/07/2019 14:16:21    2203591

Replying To goonie:  "Galligan
Gunner. Clarke. Faulkner
Argue. T. Galligan

I only left N.Murrary out because of injury"
Ah here..

Benjy1000 (Cavan) - Posts: 85 - 01/07/2019 14:34:18    2203611

Tyrone will have Tiernan McCann back after 2 game ban. It should have been longer, but he is a good attacking half back.

The u20s playing Tyrone too. Could it be a double header?

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 01/07/2019 14:38:32    2203618

Replying To Benjy1000:  "Ah here.."
The U20 game between Cavan and Tyrone is set for Clones at 2.45pm on Saturday, so with the TV rights for Sky for 2 Round 4 qualifiers on a Saturday, looks like the Senior game will be on at 5pm as part of a double header.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2378 - 01/07/2019 14:50:07    2203627

Replying To goonie:  "Galligan
Gunner. Clarke. Faulkner
Argue. T. Galligan

I only left N.Murrary out because of injury"
Have you ever seen Cavan play recently, or even understand positions?

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2378 - 01/07/2019 14:52:44    2203632

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Have you ever seen Cavan play recently, or even understand positions?"
Yea I rarely miss a game ,, why what's wrong with that team to play Tyrone .

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 01/07/2019 15:04:57    2203641

Peter Harte is the player who always destroys us. Shackle him and we are half way there

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 01/07/2019 15:14:54    2203651

Cavan V Tyrone 5pm Clones - Live on Sky also .. #Hon Cavan

indaknow2018 (Cavan) - Posts: 17 - 01/07/2019 15:26:41    2203667

Well I would say that this is the second worst draw for both counties.

We were glad not to get Galway as I'm sure you were not to get Mayo.

I would have definitely have wanted Meath or Cork over Cavan but what can you do.

Hopefully it is a good game

All the best lads.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 01/07/2019 15:49:06    2203684