Leinster Football The Reality

Replying To Joxer:  "James McCarthy started in midfield yesterday, not in the backs. You'd be hard pressed to drop any of those backs including Jack. They would all stroll onto any county starting 15 even though most are 30 or 31 years of age with their best years behind them. Says something about how good these lads really are though to be still at the very top after almost a decade of IC football."
And you listed Michael dara as a starter.

So Fenton gets dropped??

You've exaggerated to suit your argument.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 24/06/2019 22:32:01    2200344

Replying To realdub:  "Make sure you raise that white flag good and high me auld flower :D"
Hi something has to be done before ye destroy Gaelic football for everyone.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/06/2019 22:38:47    2200352

Replying To witnof:  "I think the reality is that Dublin are by far the best team in Leinster.

After that the 'cluchies' have no idea if what's going on in the ground so everything is but down to money as the easy option.

How much did Longford get....and do not tell me it wasn't Games Development money so doesn't count."
Ye would have no team without the cluchies!! and ye spend more money on your new vans taking the kit around than some counties spend on preparing their team.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 24/06/2019 22:48:48    2200358

Replying To Joxer:  "Astonishing that you completely misread my post and missed the point."
You're point is nonsense, once in a generation team carried by 8 players. Dublin have had 20 different all stars in the last 8 seasons.

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 214 - 24/06/2019 23:32:48    2200375

Money, population, etc had nothing to do with Meaths mingin chance conversion rate yesterday. Muck. That was their own problem.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 25/06/2019 00:37:21    2200390

Replying To realdub:  "Make sure you raise that white flag good and high me auld flower :D"
I have no idea who Declan Rowely is but neither Kildare or Meath will be calling for a boycott of the Leinster Championship despite been beaten well by Dublin.
Both counties have improved their underage structures. Kildare minors will play Dublin in Leinster final, Kildare sixth final in seven years.
I include both Kildare and Meath here because of the criticism that both get for not being able to challenge Dublin at senior level. Obviously we aren't alone in that nationally. But were both still in the championship along with our fellow Leinster teams, Offaly, Laois. Westmeath. Leinster football is far from dead as the critics like vultures hover a perceived dead carcass.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2989 - 25/06/2019 02:30:17    2200396

Replying To Joxer:  "Can you please list the superstars on this Dublin "conveyor belt" please as I'm sure that our 30 and 31 year olds 8 or 9 of whom are still the core of this Dublin team would love to give their names to Jim so that they can have a rest?"
The 2011/2013 all Ireland team was based on a random collection of special individuals- brogans, Flynn, Connolly, O Sullivan and those players are almost all gone now.

The Current Dublin team is based on a conveyor of All Ireland U21 winners

2010 - dean rock, Colm cooper, Rory o Carroll, James McCarthy
2012 - jack Mc Caffrey, Ciaran Kilkenny, Byrne, Mannion
2014 - fenton, Byrne, mannion, Kilkenny, small, lowndes, Costello
2017 - basquel, Howard, O Callaghan, Murchan

This is a direct product of the investment of the development funds specifically put into Dublin

Galway won in 11 and 13, with Roscommon losing finals in 12 and 14. Neither has anything to show for it so far because their structure isn't as good. That's down to lack of funding and/or emigration - neither of which Dublin have to deal with

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1105 - 25/06/2019 05:45:48    2200405

Replying To Jackeen:  "What professional structures? Tell me because as close as I am to the camp I dont even know what this means everytime it comes up but those outside the county seem to know!! Only 2 players on the current panel came from what you would call a super club...MDMA & Cian O'S. Ballymun Kickhams have the most players on the panel right now. Hardly a superclub. Barely a clubhouse there at all like a lot of other clubs around the country. Paddy Christie was the reason those players did as well as they have done. I would be all for doing whatever needs to be done to equal the playing field by the way but across the board. Not just with Dublin. Across all provinces."
Ballymun are not a good example for your point.
They have a serious amount of playing pitches, always have.
We don't even have one flat field in my parish, except for blanket bog.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1105 - 25/06/2019 05:56:24    2200406

The reality is that the Leinster championship is completely dead. Not only have Dublin won 14 of the last 15 on offer, they have done so for the best part of a decade without even facing a competitive match in the province. Including the 2013 championship, Dublin have won only 2 games in the province by less than 10 points - a 7 point win over Meath in 2013 and a 9 point win over Kildare in 2017. It's one thing for a team to dominate but when they aren't facing any tough games and every year is a stroll to another title, then why bother? In Hurling, they don't run the Connacht championship for obvious reasons yet we are persisting with a Leinster championship that should have been extinguished long ago. When Dublin have won 15 or 20 in a row maybe then the GAA will acknowledge the need for change.

PK57 (Louth) - Posts: 1653 - 25/06/2019 07:09:17    2200410

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Explain your comment."
I suggest you read Donnacha Boyles article in today's Indo.
Between 2007 and 2018 Dublin received 18 million in funding, next on the list is Cork with 1.4 million.
Let me see ... ah ya that's fair.. Carry on.

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 25/06/2019 08:11:44    2200413

Replying To browncows:  "Ye would have no team without the cluchies!! and ye spend more money on your new vans taking the kit around than some counties spend on preparing their team."
Utter drivel!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 25/06/2019 09:17:15    2200428

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "Ballymun are not a good example for your point.
They have a serious amount of playing pitches, always have.
We don't even have one flat field in my parish, except for blanket bog."
Serious amount of pitches?? They have one grass pitch and one all weather pitch. The grass pitch is divided in half and booked out that way. The point is however it's not a superclub.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 25/06/2019 09:29:30    2200436

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "
Replying To Joxer:  "[quote=Jack_Goff:  "link

If you think the outcrys are bad now they'll get far worse every year that goes by and Dublin have won another Leinster.

There is a huge aging Dublin support that will keep going to Dublin matches even if they are winning by 50. But they grew up in a time pre professional era when it was hard for Dublin to win and a big achievement. What about kids born after the year 2000. When we hit the year 2050 and any dub under 50 has known nothing but Dublin winning every year. The same crowds won't be attending, even though they're bad already.

If you'd a competitive situation you'd be getting a number of 80k crowds for Dublin matches. As a die hard GAA man it's sad to see the way things are going. It's like when you find out a loved one is terminally ill. They are still there but you know there's no hope.

If the GAA want to destroy football then so be it. We'll still have our club competitions in our respective counties. But I'd make a plea that they don't allow the same to happen in hurling.

I've more hope the county boards from the top 8 or 9 hurling counties would have the balls to challenge the funding when Dublin hurlers eventually rise to the top and stay there."
Lower the bar so that other counties in Leinster don't have to bother raising their standards. Punish successful teams. TBH I'd be more in favour of throwing Meath and Kildare into Ulster to see could they hack real provincial football. After 10 years with no Ulster final they will find something else to whinge about. Dublin haven't stifled Meath's development. Meath have stifled Meath's development. How much money and how many centres of excellence does Meath require to get better? Louth gave Dublin a much better game this year yet Meath have any number of advantages over Louth. How can this be when Money + Population = Success?"
Louth gave dublin a better test then meath? Are you for real? Meath competed very well against dublin every where apart from what really matters converting there chances, it was a freak day at the office for our forwards nothing went right for them and they kicked wide after wide very disheartening, dublin only started to pull away in the last 15 minutes and up to that point even if meath converted half there chances they would of been winning, meaths aim now should be to win our back door game and compete well in the super eights, something I think is achievable."]This level of denial is exactly what will bring you back after training all winter for another hammering by the dubs next year. In Front of 20000 most likely instead of 80000 like the 90s. 12000 if it's round 1.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 25/06/2019 10:07:24    2200459

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "The 2011/2013 all Ireland team was based on a random collection of special individuals- brogans, Flynn, Connolly, O Sullivan and those players are almost all gone now.

This is a direct product of the investment of the development funds specifically put into Dublin

Galway won in 11 and 13, with Roscommon losing finals in 12 and 14. Neither has anything to show for it so far because their structure isn't as good. That's down to lack of funding and/or emigration - neither of which Dublin have to deal with"
Good to see Colm Cooper finally fulfill his dream.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 25/06/2019 10:46:32    2200489

Replying To Belclare:  "I suggest you read Donnacha Boyles article in today's Indo.
Between 2007 and 2018 Dublin received 18 million in funding, next on the list is Cork with 1.4 million.
Let me see ... ah ya that's fair.. Carry on."
Rural counties are voting for crumbs from the urban table. The Railway Cup is the natural solution to the current evolution.

For now, the only solution for Leinster is to form a Leinster Counties Championship. The winner of that can take on Dublin in the Leinster final.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7823 - 25/06/2019 12:10:31    2200544

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "The 2011/2013 all Ireland team was based on a random collection of special individuals- brogans, Flynn, Connolly, O Sullivan and those players are almost all gone now.

Galway won in 11 and 13, with Roscommon losing finals in 12 and 14. Neither has anything to show for it so far because their structure isn't as good. That's down to lack of funding and/or emigration - neither of which Dublin have to deal with"
Excellent post. The 2019 u20 is starting up this week. It will be interesting to see how it pans out. Realistically we need at least 5 years of Dublin not winning the u20 Leinster to give the rest of us hope.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 25/06/2019 12:12:21    2200545

Replying To Donegalman:  "
Replying To Royal.Legend:  "[quote=Joxer:  "[quote=Jack_Goff:  "link

If you think the outcrys are bad now they'll get far worse every year that goes by and Dublin have won another Leinster.

There is a huge aging Dublin support that will keep going to Dublin matches even if they are winning by 50. But they grew up in a time pre professional era when it was hard for Dublin to win and a big achievement. What about kids born after the year 2000. When we hit the year 2050 and any dub under 50 has known nothing but Dublin winning every year. The same crowds won't be attending, even though they're bad already.

If you'd a competitive situation you'd be getting a number of 80k crowds for Dublin matches. As a die hard GAA man it's sad to see the way things are going. It's like when you find out a loved one is terminally ill. They are still there but you know there's no hope.

If the GAA want to destroy football then so be it. We'll still have our club competitions in our respective counties. But I'd make a plea that they don't allow the same to happen in hurling.

I've more hope the county boards from the top 8 or 9 hurling counties would have the balls to challenge the funding when Dublin hurlers eventually rise to the top and stay there."
Lower the bar so that other counties in Leinster don't have to bother raising their standards. Punish successful teams. TBH I'd be more in favour of throwing Meath and Kildare into Ulster to see could they hack real provincial football. After 10 years with no Ulster final they will find something else to whinge about. Dublin haven't stifled Meath's development. Meath have stifled Meath's development. How much money and how many centres of excellence does Meath require to get better? Louth gave Dublin a much better game this year yet Meath have any number of advantages over Louth. How can this be when Money + Population = Success?"
Louth gave dublin a better test then meath? Are you for real? Meath competed very well against dublin every where apart from what really matters converting there chances, it was a freak day at the office for our forwards nothing went right for them and they kicked wide after wide very disheartening, dublin only started to pull away in the last 15 minutes and up to that point even if meath converted half there chances they would of been winning, meaths aim now should be to win our back door game and compete well in the super eights, something I think is achievable."]This level of denial is exactly what will bring you back after training all winter for another hammering by the dubs next year. In Front of 20000 most likely instead of 80000 like the 90s. 12000 if it's round 1."]Denial? Ie you mean like donegal, as they will do the same to you. Also what part of his post was inaccurate???

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/06/2019 12:29:05    2200558

Replying To Belclare:  "I suggest you read Donnacha Boyles article in today's Indo.
18 million WOW
but it has nothing to do with money though , it's all down to their volunteers being better than ever other counties volunteers.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/06/2019 13:04:33    2200575

Royaldunne, if u want to feel good about a 1 17 to 0 4 hammering and call it a competitive performance, go ahead.

If the narrative has changed to how much less one county can avoid being hammered by the dubs than another, then I think our championship is in tatters.

The question is how this must change and when.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 25/06/2019 13:34:47    2200597

I asked you on Sunday to explain your comment and you reply two days later with no explanation to your comment but refer to an article published today?

A good article indeed but everyone knows the Dubs get extra funding. Not saying it's fair but they have a class team too. It won't be equal funding in 2019 so let's try and beat them in the next two months rather than feel sorry for ourselves. Horan says it won't change but sooner rather than later their funding will have to be reduced.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 25/06/2019 13:38:01    2200598