Leinster Football The Reality

Replying To Brian_Coyote:  "It is great to see Dublin playing entertaining football but it is time to look at spreading the money out to other counties for a period of 5-10 years to see if it would close the golf. Not sure it will, as.with Kk in hurling it isn't just money that makes them great."
A voice of reason at last. Some think that throwing millions at Meath, Kildare and Monaghan will make them AI champions. This Dublin panel has been 2 decades in the making. It's once in a generation stuff.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 24/06/2019 09:11:37    2199625

Replying To Donegalman:  "This is like politicians blaming journalists in 2008 for talking the country into a recession.

Donegal won 7 years ago, not exactly recently. Kerry won in 2014 most likely because they didn't have to play the dubs that year. Everything else you are trying to say is either irrelevant or clutching at straws."
Thankfully intercounty players relish a challenge and don't want to make excuses like some supporters.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 24/06/2019 09:14:29    2199628

Very decent chance now of 4 leinster teams being in round 4 of the qualifiers.

I'm happy with our draw but a shame one leinster team will have to lose out on a crack at the 8's.

tulachmhór (Offaly) - Posts: 145 - 24/06/2019 09:18:20    2199632

Replying To HighKings:  "Well if things did get bad enough in the All Ireland series that audiences aren't tuning in and fans aren't turning up then sponsors won't be interested in giving as much money. That's when it potentially creates more of an issue for Dublin. AIG aren't Dublin's sponsor out if some kinda love for the game. Don't forget AIG were one of the worse culprits in the Global Financial Crash, they would drop Dublin in a heartbeat should things change.

Another knock-on effect is that reduced revenue for the GAA means less central funding for Dublin too. So the games development money would have to be reduced.

In other words Dublin cannot insulate itself from the monetary effects of a reduced audience for the game."
Ah now don't be bringing common sense into the argument!!

jimski (Kildare) - Posts: 381 - 24/06/2019 09:24:11    2199635

Replying To tulachmhór:  "Very decent chance now of 4 leinster teams being in round 4 of the qualifiers.

I'm happy with our draw but a shame one leinster team will have to lose out on a crack at the 8's."
Spillane told the country last evening that there were 6 Leinster sides left in the last 12. Whelan told him there were 16 teams left in the competition. Spillane stopped scratching his head at the incredulity of it after that.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3421 - 24/06/2019 09:33:19    2199639

It has to be a joke that even Donegal are considered 2nd best in the country.

Sure even they conceded more than Meath.

Ibbecek (Meath) - Posts: 196 - 24/06/2019 09:34:55    2199641

Replying To Joxer:  "A voice of reason at last. Some think that throwing millions at Meath, Kildare and Monaghan will make them AI champions. This Dublin panel has been 2 decades in the making. It's once in a generation stuff."
You're right joxer millions a lone might not get those teams you mention over the line but if they got to play all their games at home and got home town reffs that might get them over the promise land.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/06/2019 09:35:56    2199642

Replying To Joxer:  "A voice of reason at last. Some think that throwing millions at Meath, Kildare and Monaghan will make them AI champions. This Dublin panel has been 2 decades in the making. It's once in a generation stuff."
It's not about throwing money but about distributing resources evenly & fairly so that each county can avail of the best coaches, facilities & expertise to suit their needs & to promote & develop gaelic games in the 32 counties. It's supposed to be an amateur game but in some of the top counties it's professional, with the veneer of amateurism masking it.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1794 - 24/06/2019 09:41:22    2199648

Replying To baire:  "It's not about throwing money but about distributing resources evenly & fairly so that each county can avail of the best coaches, facilities & expertise to suit their needs & to promote & develop gaelic games in the 32 counties. It's supposed to be an amateur game but in some of the top counties it's professional, with the veneer of amateurism masking it."
Don't think anyone would argue with that unless it is truly fair and all of the parameters are consider, dual code, population, schools, clubs and so on. Success should not be punished and there should be proper governance/regulation around fund distribution and usage.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 24/06/2019 09:56:20    2199664

Replying To Malonemagic:  "After Meaths hammering today people will be quick to put the boot in on Leinster. But of the 8 back door teams remaining , 4 are Leinster, 2 Ulster, 1 Munster and 1 connacht. Dublin have killed the Leinster championship itself , but the other teams in Leinster are a match for anyone. Kildare beat mayo last year. Meath almost beat Tyrone. Laois won away in derry yesterday. And on top of this many leinster teams are playing without key players due to the hopelesses of it all. If Dublin moved to any other province they would kill that province too. They are phenomenal."
I know where you are coming but the chasm is deeper between the first and second team in Leinster more than any other province, Way bigger. Its all very well listing out isolated achievements of other Leinster teams in the last few years but the cold hard reality is Dublin have killed that province off as a contest. The dubs have won 14/15 Leinsters, When was the last time a Leinster team made it an all ireland final that wasnt Dublin? The best of the other provinces are better than whatever else is in Leinster. If they get the 5 in a row and its easy won then I would agree its seeping over but I am eternal optimist and I think Donegal, Mayo and Kerry can hurt them. Maybe even the Rossies in the Hyde or Tyrone on a very good day could too,

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 24/06/2019 10:15:07    2199689

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "You're right joxer millions a lone might not get those teams you mention over the line but if they got to play all their games at home and got home town reffs that might get them over the promise land."
Home town refs :0. Sure ye beat Cork in Cork at the weekend. I didn't hear ye banging on about Cork's home town advantage. Why not? Nothing wrong with our away record lad. In fact it's better than our home one.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 24/06/2019 10:20:59    2199696

Replying To Greenfield:  "It's funny. When you speak to dubs and ask them do/did they play football 90% of the time the answer will be along the lines of "I used to when I was a kid or in school". They'll then lecture you on the game using all this expertise they picked up as children. So I can generally forgive their ignorance on stuff like this.

For Meath's shooting today, sometimes games go like that and the harder you try to force it the worse it gets. Playing against the top funded team in the country you need everything to go right for you and to take your chances. Today unfortunately everything our forwards did turned to junk. Some dubs may not have seen this in their careers as juvenile footballers.

Don't know much about Monaghan. Maybe their excellent team has just reached the end of the road. Hard to keep a squad going so long without a constant churn of talent from expensive academies."
So 90 percent of Dublin only played as kids. The playing population can't be that big of an advantage then.
As for meaths unlucky day in front of the posts. You could maybe chalk the first half down as unlucky or just" one of those days" as both teams dropped balls, slipped constantly and misfired really in front of goals. You'd have to hand to the lads in blue from the brave 10 percent who made it into adult football that they were able to change their game up and turn it around.

ctowers (Dublin) - Posts: 99 - 24/06/2019 10:22:12    2199697

Replying To Gator:  "I know where you are coming but the chasm is deeper between the first and second team in Leinster more than any other province, Way bigger. Its all very well listing out isolated achievements of other Leinster teams in the last few years but the cold hard reality is Dublin have killed that province off as a contest. The dubs have won 14/15 Leinsters, When was the last time a Leinster team made it an all ireland final that wasnt Dublin? The best of the other provinces are better than whatever else is in Leinster. If they get the 5 in a row and its easy won then I would agree its seeping over but I am eternal optimist and I think Donegal, Mayo and Kerry can hurt them. Maybe even the Rossies in the Hyde or Tyrone on a very good day could too,"
Leinster is a farce at this stage. So is Munster. Kerry have won 13 of the last 16 Munster titles.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/06/2019 10:27:02    2199704

Replying To Gator:  "I know where you are coming but the chasm is deeper between the first and second team in Leinster more than any other province, Way bigger. Its all very well listing out isolated achievements of other Leinster teams in the last few years but the cold hard reality is Dublin have killed that province off as a contest. The dubs have won 14/15 Leinsters, When was the last time a Leinster team made it an all ireland final that wasnt Dublin? The best of the other provinces are better than whatever else is in Leinster. If they get the 5 in a row and its easy won then I would agree its seeping over but I am eternal optimist and I think Donegal, Mayo and Kerry can hurt them. Maybe even the Rossies in the Hyde or Tyrone on a very good day could too,"
For info.
The last time a (non Dublin) Leinster team reached an all Ireland was 2001.
Connacht have had one county reach finals since then (Mayo)
Munster have had two (Cork and Kerry)
Ulster have had 4 (Down, Armagh, Tyrone and Donegal)
Down was a freak year, Armagh was in 2002 and nowhere near after 2003.

Hardly a great imbalance compared to others.

Bar Dublin and Meath Leinster has been crap since 1983.
That's no different to Connacht.
Bar Cork and Kerry Munster has been crap for 100 years or so.
Ulster was crap from 1949 to 1990.

The reality is it's always been Kerry or Dublin with the odd special team coming from elsewhere.

It will be nothing different for the next 20 yrs unless the GAA get serious about evening the standard

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1108 - 24/06/2019 10:30:43    2199709

Two chances of Ros beating Dublin in 2019 at 'the Hyde', or any place else. And slim is likely not a runner.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3421 - 24/06/2019 10:31:24    2199711

Even if Leinster Counties make a massive effort to reach Dublins standard do they have a chance, Even yesterday when the result was never in doubt home side refereeing was clear.
Soft cards given to away team.
Not even a free for similiar infringements by home team and no card for bringing down the forward through on goal inches outside penalty box.

Away team will not win a tight game

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 24/06/2019 10:44:39    2199723

I'm glad people have started to notice the Mayo Dublin love in that goes on here. Dublin people " oh mayo ye were so great and ye should have beat us, ye were the only team that could ever put it up to us"

Mayo people " lads leave dublin alone and forgot the financial help they have. they are the greatest team of all time and by virtue we were the second best team of all time but we have nothing to show for it unless you count moral victories!?"

Miami305 (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 24/06/2019 11:27:18    2199763

"Dublin received almost €18m in game development grants between 2007 and 2018, significantly more than Cork in second place with €1.4m. Last year Dublin received 22% of the Games Development Fund and in commercial revenue, earned €1.46m in 2017, more than twice that of their closest rival in the financial stakes."

Followed by:-

"Review of funding not on the GAA agenda - Horan"

Sorry John. Unless the GAA looks closely at the funding of Games development across the Association, we could be looking at the end of games, particularly hurling, in weaker Counties. And once that sets in, it will be hard to stop..

Compare the investment in Dublin to that of our next biggest City, Belfast, and its like night and day.

Sorry, the figures don't lie.

Glensboy (Antrim) - Posts: 287 - 24/06/2019 11:41:51    2199775

Replying To Miami305:  "I'm glad people have started to notice the Mayo Dublin love in that goes on here. Dublin people " oh mayo ye were so great and ye should have beat us, ye were the only team that could ever put it up to us"

Mayo people " lads leave dublin alone and forgot the financial help they have. they are the greatest team of all time and by virtue we were the second best team of all time but we have nothing to show for it unless you count moral victories!?""
You must be a new poster if that's what you think Haha!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/06/2019 12:02:55    2199798

By The Numbers: 21 - 21% - The cumulative attendance at this year's four provincial football finals (112,291) was 21 per cent lower than the cumulative attendance at the same four finals five years ago (142,338). source - the irish times

Miami305 (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 24/06/2019 12:10:01    2199802