Congrats Roscommon!

I know we've all been congratulating Roscommon on various threads but i think it deserves one of it's own.

Great achievement to win 2 Connaught titles in 3 years. Ye played great football. Always enjoyed watching ye play way back to Derek Duggan's monster point v Mayo in 1991 and Newton and Killoran playing midfield in the 1980s.

Ye're an inspiration to small counties. Also a great example of how much the provincial championship means to smaller counties. In all the talks of restructuring, the provincials have to be kept in any new format.

Was in Portlaoise when Laois and Roscommon met in the league in 2015. I couldn't believe the number of travelling Rossies. All knew their game and I enjoyed the craic with them. There's a kind of mad rebellious streak in ye!!

To Galway. I still think ye have a lot of talent, but change is needed. You are underperforming and Kevin Walsh's record as manager of both Sligo and Galway is mediocre at best. For a division 1 side ye are probably the poorest managed. 1 point in 35 min of the second half and another in injury time in that half is simply not good enough with the talent available. Ye'd surely attract a better manager from within or without the county.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 18/06/2019 16:44:30    2197179

There's a kind of mad rebellious streak in ye!!

It wasn't just Portlaoise that saw that in 2015!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 18/06/2019 17:05:59    2197194

Is it hard to get into Syria?

Ludovic_Giuly (Leitrim) - Posts: 111 - 18/06/2019 17:09:14    2197198

I think i said Roscommon would be a handful for anyone this year after our league game in Hyde and its proven to be the case.

Good mix now of skillful players, desire, good tactics and a touch as teak approach.

More dimensions to this Roscommon team then in any other year they have approached this same stage.

I think they will give us a game in the S8's and would be the peoples popular choice for a place in the Semi heading into S8's.

If you can do both Mayo and Galway, you shouldn't be afraid of anyone.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/06/2019 17:11:17    2197200

Replying To Ludovic_Giuly:  "Is it hard to get into Syria?"
You should have no problem getting in to Croatia Ludovic.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 18/06/2019 17:14:44    2197201

The bould Morgan Freeman was in Salthill!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 18/06/2019 20:38:07    2197307

Replying To Ludovic_Giuly:  "Is it hard to get into Syria?"
Crossing the bridge (carrick on shannon) into cortober must be a nightmare??!!!!!!!

Longfordbaz (Longford) - Posts: 145 - 18/06/2019 20:45:59    2197312

Congrats to our near neighbours. A real connacht won having beaten mayo and galway. People talk about galways (who i also have alot of respect for as a gaa county) second half collapse, but the rossies put in a serious shift in this period. Cunningham and players seemed to have gelled and have a good thing goin. Hope they can do themselves justice in super 8s, which i think they will. Well done!!

Longfordbaz (Longford) - Posts: 145 - 18/06/2019 20:56:46    2197317

Best of luck in the Super 8's, Connacht medals fully deserved, hope ye go all the way.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 18/06/2019 21:51:10    2197340

Replying To cavanman47:  "There's a kind of mad rebellious streak in ye!!

It wasn't just Portlaoise that saw that in 2015!"
Various snooker/pool rooms in hotels saw it in the mid 2000s!

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 18/06/2019 21:51:13    2197341

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "
Replying To cavanman47:  "There's a kind of mad rebellious streak in ye!!

Various snooker/pool rooms in hotels saw it in the mid 2000s!"
now now colm..

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 18/06/2019 22:24:49    2197356

Replying To BeJasus:  "
Replying To BliainanÁir:  "[quote=cavanman47:  "There's a kind of mad rebellious streak in ye!!

now now colm.."]Insults from a county that produced Parkinson.
And 1 is it provincial title ever.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 18/06/2019 22:34:44    2197366

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "
Replying To BeJasus:  "[quote=BliainanÁir:  "[quote=cavanman47:  "There's a kind of mad rebellious streak in ye!!

And 1 is it provincial title ever."]I apologise unequivocally for Parkinson!

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 18/06/2019 23:46:15    2197394

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "
Replying To BeJasus:  "[quote=BliainanÁir:  "[quote=cavanman47:  "There's a kind of mad rebellious streak in ye!!

And 1 is it provincial title ever."]Except it's not insults from the whole of Laois is it? It's an insult from one person who happens to be from Laois. Time after time lads on here take umbrage with something an individual poster has said and rather than just dealing with the comments, they see fit to return fire by insulting the entire county that the offending poster just happens to be from, like you've just done here!

It wasn't even really an insult anyway, particularly when taken in the context that the person who made the comments is the same person who started the thread congratulating Roscommon and singing your praises!

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 19/06/2019 08:31:00    2197437