Meath V Dublin Leinster Final.

Replying To royaldunne:  "Trust me the league final was a meaningless game, and still needed a disallowed goal to win it, along with dark arts and in the refs ear from Murphy. As the league standing shows Meath topped it. Enough said. I'd worry about Cavan more than this game. I haven't commented once on that game,"
You're free to comment on the Cavan game, sure who is stopping you? You probably can't find a spare minute as you're so busy putting Meath on a self-created pedestal.

The league final was meaningless because you lost it, if you won it you would be predicting Meath to win the next 3 Sam Maguires so just as well we did win that 'meaningless' game.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 20/06/2019 09:50:14    2197842

Meath lads trying to make out that they have the same chance of an upset against the dubs as donegal would.

Gas craic altogether.

Let me tell you lads us Dublin supporters know the difference.

We play Donegal, the nerves would be at us. Although id still fancy us to win, we know in a one off game Donegal are very capable of causing an upset. Any team with the likes of Michael Murphy, Paddy McBrearty and Ryan McHugh deserves respect. Some of the best footballers in the country. All Ireland Medals in their back pocket.

We play Meath, no nerves, no excitement. A forgone conclusion. A dublin win, no if, buts or maybes....

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 20/06/2019 10:02:23    2197850

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "Meath lads trying to make out that they have the same chance of an upset against the dubs as donegal would.

Gas craic altogether.

Let me tell you lads us Dublin supporters know the difference.

We play Donegal, the nerves would be at us. Although id still fancy us to win, we know in a one off game Donegal are very capable of causing an upset. Any team with the likes of Michael Murphy, Paddy McBrearty and Ryan McHugh deserves respect. Some of the best footballers in the country. All Ireland Medals in their back pocket.

We play Meath, no nerves, no excitement. A forgone conclusion. A dublin win, no if, buts or maybes...."
1 person is making us out to be on donegals level but look it dont let that get in the way of your chance to criticize meath fans. Quite amusing seeing the hatred on here for meath from all counties usually in a situation like this neutrals want the underdog to win not the team going for 9 in a row! Lads from cavan, kildare and louth seem extremely bitter for whatever reason

Northsidegaels (Meath) - Posts: 237 - 20/06/2019 10:48:59    2197864

Replying To Northsidegaels:  "1 person is making us out to be on donegals level but look it dont let that get in the way of your chance to criticize meath fans. Quite amusing seeing the hatred on here for meath from all counties usually in a situation like this neutrals want the underdog to win not the team going for 9 in a row! Lads from cavan, kildare and louth seem extremely bitter for whatever reason"
definitely more than one person

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 20/06/2019 11:06:02    2197872

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "definitely more than one person"
Saw the council out this morning, putting the Dublin and Meath colors on the lampposts up and down the quays.

Bit of Bluing up around Fairview with banners and the likes.

Its On.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/06/2019 11:14:41    2197877

Replying To Northsidegaels:  "1 person is making us out to be on donegals level but look it dont let that get in the way of your chance to criticize meath fans. Quite amusing seeing the hatred on here for meath from all counties usually in a situation like this neutrals want the underdog to win not the team going for 9 in a row! Lads from cavan, kildare and louth seem extremely bitter for whatever reason"
I wouldn't mind ConnollyDub, he likes to make mountains out of molehills, he rarely supports his argument with any valid points, let him at it though, he's having fun and entitles to post as he wants! Most of the Dubs posting here are good craic (Wayno and the Username in particular) and put their points across well without any personal insults or much belittling of others views.

Agree though, I'm surprised at the amount of fans from other counties hoping Meath get beat out the gate, they would be the same lads that would be giving out about how one sided Leinster is but yet want to see the Dubs continue to dish out hammerings. Bit contradictory!

Anyway, here's hoping for a decent game and some craic between both sets of supporters before during and after it!

Whyalwaysmeath (Meath) - Posts: 27 - 20/06/2019 11:15:47    2197879

The closer we get to the game , the more i fear for meath now, maybe i'm just panicking a bit..

I've staked the spread bet on a Down and meath double last Monday , and now i'm hearing Mayo have been in lockdown by horan over the past month in a training camp , and they are rumoured to be coming up to Newry with some fire in their bellies to set the record straight.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 20/06/2019 11:21:38    2197882

Damned if you do damned if you dont for meath fans.

If youre realistic and give your opinion that we havent much of a chance on sunday your chastised by your own fellow royals for not being true supporters and you may as well stay at home.

If your a dreamer and believe that we're gonna pull of a miracle. believe we're better than we are and are making giant strides of progress you are belittled and sneered at.

Its a forum lads you're gonna have opinions from both extremes. It would be boring if everyone was a realist and it would be tiresome if everyone was a dreamer.

Couldnt make a logical argument for meath on sunday but sure look i'll still enjoy the build up and enjoy the day and hope against hope we can pull of the biggest shock in a long time.

Meathmaverick (Meath) - Posts: 106 - 20/06/2019 11:48:38    2197892

Replying To Whyalwaysmeath:  "I wouldn't mind ConnollyDub, he likes to make mountains out of molehills, he rarely supports his argument with any valid points, let him at it though, he's having fun and entitles to post as he wants! Most of the Dubs posting here are good craic (Wayno and the Username in particular) and put their points across well without any personal insults or much belittling of others views.

Agree though, I'm surprised at the amount of fans from other counties hoping Meath get beat out the gate, they would be the same lads that would be giving out about how one sided Leinster is but yet want to see the Dubs continue to dish out hammerings. Bit contradictory!

Anyway, here's hoping for a decent game and some craic between both sets of supporters before during and after it!"
Listen pal i'm not here to have a love-in with Meath lads.

Leinster final with the old enemy on Sunday and i think we'll hammer yis. This wont Dublin domination over Meath wont last forever so I'm quite entitled to rub it in while it lasts. Thats what a rivalry is all about.

As for not backing up my arguments I think its quite clear I did. I simply stated Donegal have a chance of upsetting the Dubs whereas Meath dont. I gave my reasons why. Top class players, all ireland medals in their back pocket, not to mention their the only team to beat dublin in a championship match since 2012!!!

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 20/06/2019 11:48:49    2197893

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "Listen pal i'm not here to have a love-in with Meath lads.

Leinster final with the old enemy on Sunday and i think we'll hammer yis. This wont Dublin domination over Meath wont last forever so I'm quite entitled to rub it in while it lasts. Thats what a rivalry is all about.

As for not backing up my arguments I think its quite clear I did. I simply stated Donegal have a chance of upsetting the Dubs whereas Meath dont. I gave my reasons why. Top class players, all ireland medals in their back pocket, not to mention their the only team to beat dublin in a championship match since 2012!!!"
No problem chief, no one looking for a love in, I was only suggesting that lads don't get worked up about your posts!

We can agree to disagree, I'd be of the view that recent encounters would be more of a barometer than an AI medal from 7 years ago when comparing 2 teams and the likelihood of them putting it up to Dublin. Would also be of the view that Meath have some top ballers at the moment, albeit none of Murphy's ilk but not many counties do to be fair. Moot points though as while I obviously wish it were different, I just can't see either team beating Dublin this year.

Whyalwaysmeath (Meath) - Posts: 27 - 20/06/2019 12:09:30    2197909

20,000 tickets sold by Tuesday and at best they expect 45,000 to be in attendance. Still only tickets for the lower tiers and hill 16 isn't sold out. This may seem bad now but it Meath get a hiding and Dublin do the 5 in a row things will be far worse next year.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 20/06/2019 12:20:58    2197915

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "link

20,000 tickets sold by Tuesday and at best they expect 45,000 to be in attendance. Still only tickets for the lower tiers and hill 16 isn't sold out. This may seem bad now but it Meath get a hiding and Dublin do the 5 in a row things will be far worse next year."
by god will you ever give it a rest

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 20/06/2019 12:34:19    2197921

Replying To the_walls:  "This is one of the most ridiculous posts I've ever seen from you, and that's saying something because it has some very stiff competition.

If this is genuinely your attitude (rather than some ham fisted "wind up") then it is no wonder that you have complete tunnel vision and only see the GAA as a whole through the prism of Meath GAA and nothing else. Of course I'm more worried about the Down game than Dublin v Meath but guess what, I'm not a player or part of the backroom team, me talking about counties or other games or interacting with other county fans on an anonymous internet discussion board won't make the slightest bit of difference to Mayo's or Down's performance. It also won't in any way affect my support of Mayo on Saturday evening. Believe it or not the match won't be determined in the slightest on whether I have a 100%, 24 hour a day focus on it in the week leading up to it. I like seeing what fans of other counties have to say, what their point of view is and all that type of thing. If you don't have any interest in anything else other than your own parochial corner of the GAA that is entirely up to you. I think it's pretty sad but as I say, your choice, but to use the fact that someone else might have an interest in the GAA as a whole as a stick to beat them with is bizarre to say the least. Enjoy your echo chamber."
You ventured onto Meath homepage, I don't go near mayos. Now maybe that says something more about me than you. Should we play mayo this year. I'll be on your homepage, and by Jesus you will wish I wasn't
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/06/2019 12:49:11    2197932

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "You're free to comment on the Cavan game, sure who is stopping you? You probably can't find a spare minute as you're so busy putting Meath on a self-created pedestal.

The league final was meaningless because you lost it, if you won it you would be predicting Meath to win the next 3 Sam Maguires so just as well we did win that 'meaningless' game."
Wrong. But away you go. Enjoy the ulster final.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/06/2019 12:51:26    2197933

Replying To Thejoeshow:  "Meath have not gone man to man all summer or in the league and don't expect them to now. Don't confuse the hype on here with the professional management set up in Meath. Andy Mc has won an all Ireland club with perceived underdogs and certainly wont be naïve to go man on man and leave space in behind. Meath will use the same defensive system they have used all year which is 10-12 men behind the ball, 2 men inside and 1 man around the middle to break if we get a turnover.

How do you conclude they wont concede 3 goals when they gave kildare 3 massive openings that kildare wasted? Meath have been creating more goal chances than Kildare this summer and the league and taking them. Meath put up 2-12 vs the Fermanagh defence.

Meath have played Donegal twice and Tyrone once in last 3 years losing by a point twice and 2 points once. Only one of those games was in Navan.

Dublin are a special side and I fully expect them to win handily in the end but to think Meath will be caught like a deer in headlights and underestimate the Dubs and leave them 1-1 is absurd"
Agreed. Mcentee is a highly intelligent manager and will play to his team strength. That's what won Meath division two.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/06/2019 12:53:33    2197934

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "
Replying To Jack_Goff:  "link

20,000 tickets sold by Tuesday and at best they expect 45,000 to be in attendance. Still only tickets for the lower tiers and hill 16 isn't sold out. This may seem bad now but it Meath get a hiding and Dublin do the 5 in a row things will be far worse next year."
by god will you ever give it a rest"
Agreed! Couldn't give a rats if there are 100 people at it! I'll be there, I'll enjoy it and I'll have a few pints with my Dublin mates after it, can't wait!

Whyalwaysmeath (Meath) - Posts: 27 - 20/06/2019 12:54:25    2197935

Replying To Whyalwaysmeath:  "I wouldn't mind ConnollyDub, he likes to make mountains out of molehills, he rarely supports his argument with any valid points, let him at it though, he's having fun and entitles to post as he wants! Most of the Dubs posting here are good craic (Wayno and the Username in particular) and put their points across well without any personal insults or much belittling of others views.

Anyway, here's hoping for a decent game and some craic between both sets of supporters before during and after it!"
Well said

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/06/2019 12:56:39    2197937

Had a word there this morning with the Antrim Milkman, famous for his accurate weather predictions (has correctly predicted rain this last 40 years in the Glens). According to him he was down in the Capital the other day and saw 2 cats chasing a squirrel around Drumcondra which themselves were being verbally abused by a drunkard. A sure sign says he that it will be a dry day for the final on Sunday with the only showers being those taken by the teams after the final whistle. His prediction, a warm dry day with occasional sunshine and little wind. Oh, and a 7 point minimum win for the Dubs says he.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 20/06/2019 13:09:55    2197941

Replying To royaldunne:  "Agreed. Mcentee is a highly intelligent manager and will play to his team strength. That's what won Meath division two."
When did Meath win Division 2?

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 20/06/2019 13:17:24    2197945

Replying To Whyalwaysmeath:  "
Replying To ConnollyDub:  "[quote=Jack_Goff:  "link

by god will you ever give it a rest"
Agreed! Couldn't give a rats if there are 100 people at it! I'll be there, I'll enjoy it and I'll have a few pints with my Dublin mates after it, can't wait!"]It's tiresome at this stage.
Jack I admire your single mindedness of splitting Dublin in two. Go for it, but it won't happen this year. (Personally I don't think it ever will happen) you have said you not going to match so the gaa will change its mind if less people turn up. The fact is the Leinster council will look at the bottom line, and the bottom line is that if only 40k show up its still a bigger attendance than last year. So you effectively peeing against the wind.
If 50 people turn up I don't care. And anyone who is there won't care. Take up your grievances with Leinster council.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/06/2019 13:18:04    2197947