Kilkenny V Galway

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Kilkenny are whinging about every referee, every day.
Pay no heed to it. It can't always be the referee."
Thought he was fair if a bit picky. However the Kilkenny lads on this are 100% right there shouldve been at least 2 minutes extra time. Especially as it was the ref himself who used up the time. Although that wouldn't neccessarily have changed the result.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 12/06/2019 14:25:00    2193953

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "TJ wasted most of that time himself, spending 2mins or so placing the ball for his free. I thought KK were 2 points up at time, the carry on of him, and not two points down. Why didn't he clip it over quickly, instead of wasting 2mins at it."
The referee didnt blow the whistle for play to resume. He didnt even tell Reid where to take the free from.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 12/06/2019 14:27:24    2193954

Replying To Gowran_Yank:  "No it can't, but this time he blew over 2 minutes early. Complete BS."
Ref blew up the Dublin Wexford match 7mins into injury time after announcing 4 and there was very little said.
I also find the assumption that an extra play would have been all Kilkenny needed to get a draw or better to be arrogant and completely disrespectful to Galway. They had about 77mins to get ahead and they weren't able. Enough said.

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 409 - 12/06/2019 15:11:10    2193975

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "TJ wasted most of that time himself, spending 2mins or so placing the ball for his free. I thought KK were 2 points up at time, the carry on of him, and not two points down. Why didn't he clip it over quickly, instead of wasting 2mins at it."
Well that's a clueless post and not what happened at all

Heftydickonem (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 12/06/2019 15:38:48    2193985

Replying To Heftydickonem:  "Neutral commentators on various media have also questioned the referees time management at the end of the game and also highlighted the Galway cynicism, not as an attack on Galway in particular but that the punishment dished out to such cynicism often doesn't fit the crime."
Galway didn't invent cynicism. Nor did Tyrrell, who just so happened to write a book that included a lot of extracts laced with it. His account of the methodology deployed to 'mark' Corbett in the 2011 final was a classic example of the cynicism payoff, but the publication & glorification of these details really tore the hole out of it altogether. A kind of 'Jackie had balls, Lar had none' kind of narrative in these extracts, that no doubt a lot of the natives down in KK seemed to lap up with a fair degree of relish. Cynicism in GAA is grand it seems, as long as you're the one dishing it out, and not remotely as enjoyable, when on the receiving end.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 12/06/2019 16:48:05    2194020

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Galway didn't invent cynicism. Nor did Tyrrell, who just so happened to write a book that included a lot of extracts laced with it. His account of the methodology deployed to 'mark' Corbett in the 2011 final was a classic example of the cynicism payoff, but the publication & glorification of these details really tore the hole out of it altogether. A kind of 'Jackie had balls, Lar had none' kind of narrative in these extracts, that no doubt a lot of the natives down in KK seemed to lap up with a fair degree of relish. Cynicism in GAA is grand it seems, as long as you're the one dishing it out, and not remotely as enjoyable, when on the receiving end."
You seem to be arguing against some point that hasn't been made in the post you quoted. The quoted post was in response to a post that implied that Kilkenny people were not entitled to question the referee's handling of additional time, and I simply stated that many neutrals also questioned it and also discussed the relatively high number of cynical offences by Galway in the closing stages of the game.

No one has even suggested that Galway are more guilty than other teams in this regard or that they invented cynicism. It was just one of those games in which something becomes so prominent that it promotes discussion of what can be done about it, and in this case it was that the punishment for such cynicism often seems insufficient and should things like black card, sin bin etc.

Heftydickonem (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 12/06/2019 17:17:36    2194034

Replying To Heftydickonem:  "You seem to be arguing against some point that hasn't been made in the post you quoted. The quoted post was in response to a post that implied that Kilkenny people were not entitled to question the referee's handling of additional time, and I simply stated that many neutrals also questioned it and also discussed the relatively high number of cynical offences by Galway in the closing stages of the game.

No one has even suggested that Galway are more guilty than other teams in this regard or that they invented cynicism. It was just one of those games in which something becomes so prominent that it promotes discussion of what can be done about it, and in this case it was that the punishment for such cynicism often seems insufficient and should things like black card, sin bin etc."
There was certainly no mention of the need for black cards or sin bins coming from KK 1999-2015. Were you on here after the 2011 final. sympathizing with Lar Corbett, and looking for cards & a bin for Mister Warrior Code himself!

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 12/06/2019 17:30:41    2194042

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "There was certainly no mention of the need for black cards or sin bins coming from KK 1999-2015. Were you on here after the 2011 final. sympathizing with Lar Corbett, and looking for cards & a bin for Mister Warrior Code himself!"
"There was certainly no mention of the need for black cards or sin bins coming from KK 1999-2015" - no, there wasn't and there still isn't it.
It would helpful if you actually read the posts you're quoting

Heftydickonem (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 12/06/2019 17:43:04    2194049

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "There was certainly no mention of the need for black cards or sin bins coming from KK 1999-2015. Were you on here after the 2011 final. sympathizing with Lar Corbett, and looking for cards & a bin for Mister Warrior Code himself!"
can you name for me any player who went off injured because of a dirty stoke by a KK player? I can name KK players who were injured by dirty strokes,I repeat again no KK poster complained about the referee for his handling of the game,it just about the time,but its being brought back to Lar Corbett,no wonder KK posters dont post here anymore,I think I will join them

mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 533 - 12/06/2019 18:02:26    2194060

Replying To Heftydickonem:  ""There was certainly no mention of the need for black cards or sin bins coming from KK 1999-2015" - no, there wasn't and there still isn't it.
It would helpful if you actually read the posts you're quoting"
Ok, I get you now, 'a game like that' 'promotes discussion' on how to deal with cynicism, but only with 'neutral observers'. KK are happy enough with the current legislation on cynicism, and 'a game like that one' has not 'promoted such discussion' in Kilkenny at all. Are ye very bothered about 'neutral observers' in KK really?

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 12/06/2019 18:28:47    2194073

Replying To mooncat:  "can you name for me any player who went off injured because of a dirty stoke by a KK player? I can name KK players who were injured by dirty strokes,I repeat again no KK poster complained about the referee for his handling of the game,it just about the time,but its being brought back to Lar Corbett,no wonder KK posters dont post here anymore,I think I will join them"
It's gone back to Lar Corbett, because HeftyDick there chose to write a post about Galway & cynicism after last Sunday's game, but also to disown the slur, by attributing it to the concerns of 'neutral observers', as opposed to any hint of Kilkenny people taking ownership of the accusation.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 12/06/2019 18:40:22    2194079

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Ok, I get you now, 'a game like that' 'promotes discussion' on how to deal with cynicism, but only with 'neutral observers'. KK are happy enough with the current legislation on cynicism, and 'a game like that one' has not 'promoted such discussion' in Kilkenny at all. Are ye very bothered about 'neutral observers' in KK really?"
I never mentioned neutral observers

Here are the original quotes in question, as the thread progresses your deviating further and further from them

Kilkenny are whinging about every referee, every day.
Pay no heed to it. It can't always be the referee.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 322 - 11/06/2019 15:24:35

Neutral commentators on various media have also questioned the referees time management at the end of the game and also highlighted the Galway cynicism, not as an attack on Galway in particular but that the punishment dished out to such cynicism often doesn't fit the crime.
Heftydickonem (Kilkenny) - Posts: 80 - 11/06/2019 15:49:32

In the interim you've been fighting a battle with things I never stated. I mentioned what I had heard discussed on the GAA hour and Off the ball podcasts as a counter point to the statement "Kilkenny are whinging about every referee, every day" and to suggest that maybe Kilkenny fans could have reason to be aggrieved after the KK Galway game, since these ' neutral observers' that you refer to, thought the same.

Heftydickonem (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 12/06/2019 19:06:45    2194095

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "It's gone back to Lar Corbett, because HeftyDick there chose to write a post about Galway & cynicism after last Sunday's game, but also to disown the slur, by attributing it to the concerns of 'neutral observers', as opposed to any hint of Kilkenny people taking ownership of the accusation."
So despite your whining and the constant whining of posters from all around the country about Kilkenny over the last decade and half, you can't name an incident where a player left the pitch injured by Kilkenny player

Now, I didn't want to go down this road but you dragged us here, it is very easy to name multiple incidents involving players from your own county. Furthermore, for all your preaching about cynicism, you seem to have forgotten that one of the most cynical acts in injuring a player in recent hurling history was carried out by a player from your own county.

Heftydickonem (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 12/06/2019 19:11:12    2194099

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "It's gone back to Lar Corbett, because HeftyDick there chose to write a post about Galway & cynicism after last Sunday's game, but also to disown the slur, by attributing it to the concerns of 'neutral observers', as opposed to any hint of Kilkenny people taking ownership of the accusation."
you didnt answer my first question,if you want a neutral observation just read the Eamon Sweeney for one neutral,my last comment on this is again the time factor is what its all about,

mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 533 - 12/06/2019 19:19:51    2194104

I think this thread should be closed,I have been meeting Galway supporters since the seventies,we always got on and enjoyed each others company,I was in the Cusack stand supporting Galway the day of Joe Connollys speech,I am not going to largue with any more Galway posters

mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 533 - 12/06/2019 19:26:45    2194108

Replying To mooncat:  "you didnt answer my first question,if you want a neutral observation just read the Eamon Sweeney for one neutral,my last comment on this is again the time factor is what its all about,"
I gave up on that lad when he likened Katie Taylor's recent 'result' to the Michelle Smith saga. Sweeney is looking for notice in the last year or so, but has become outspoken to the point of being silly quite frequently. It's an aspiration for him maybe to be 'the new Eamonn Dunphy', but he doesn't write half as well imo, which is a significant drawback for him.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 12/06/2019 19:27:58    2194110

Replying To Heftydickonem:  "So despite your whining and the constant whining of posters from all around the country about Kilkenny over the last decade and half, you can't name an incident where a player left the pitch injured by Kilkenny player

Now, I didn't want to go down this road but you dragged us here, it is very easy to name multiple incidents involving players from your own county. Furthermore, for all your preaching about cynicism, you seem to have forgotten that one of the most cynical acts in injuring a player in recent hurling history was carried out by a player from your own county."
Apologies, I'm feeling thoroughly uninformed now. I can't recall any such incidents. Was it Pauric Maher smashed Rice's hand? That's the only one that springs to mind for me. Feel free to fill me in. I'm all ears.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 12/06/2019 19:30:31    2194112

Instead of a black card for a cynical foul. Which generates bad statistics. Why not give a penalty. That will solve the problem with good statistics.

You could make it more interesting by having the penalty from further out. I would suggest that for a foul 25 meters out it is taken from 25 meters but directly in front of the goal.

Imagine the drama at the end of a match when the team behind has to decide to go for a goal or a point from 30 meters out. In fact no need to imagine too hard. Think back to Sunday.

In field hockey a deliberate foul inside the 22 meter line is punished by a short corner. Basically deliberate fouls near your own goal attract extra punishment.

shaneShankill (Dublin) - Posts: 42 - 12/06/2019 19:31:49    2194114

Replying To ballydalane:  "Wexford fans going on about Kilkenny being the worst losers, and they've got the Ayatollah Khomeini of bad losers as their manager."
And Kilkenny have the Genghis Khan of bad losers in charge of them!
Firework display in Wexford Park guaranteed !

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 12/06/2019 20:02:01    2194128

Kilkenny have taken this loss very badly. Hopefully we meet later on this year and the ref only blows when Kilkenny draw or go ahead.

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 282 - 12/06/2019 20:02:03    2194129