Meath V Carlow

Replying To Evernal:  "Just home with the daughter after having a celebratory Supermacs. Great to get back to Croke Park. It will really suit this Meath team. Flanagan will enjoy the open spaces. My God he was fantastic once space opened up after the sending off. Croke Park will really suit him.
Worrying about Thomas O Reilly it must have been an injury because he was lording it about the field looked very impressive, great score too. Gallagher was unreal today.
Carlow very dirty from the first minute and deservedly finished with 14.
Coogan much improved with his knockouts great save too. Bryan McMahon failed a bit and Cillian O Sullivan too but he did get a bad knock to the head.
Great to be back in Croker....hon the Royal!"
Flanagan enjoying open space ?? Thomas reilly lording it??????????

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 885 - 26/05/2019 01:13:41    2187465

Replying To Royalio11:  "Eternal what game were you looking at? O'Reilly 'lording it'? The poor lad had a horrendous showing today where nothing came off for him after he scored his point early on. He gave away possession 3-4 times, got dispossessed a number of times and got blown for holding/overcarrying twice. It just wasnt his day and Andy was right to bring him off when he did.

Flanagan only came into it once his marker was red carded and Meath were 10 points up. I would think it would be unfair to say he was having a good game before the red card as his marker won almost every ball to him.

I think Meath did not play to their potential today. Backs were good although Carlow had not much to offer.

I was disappointed with Carlows attitude. They seemed more interested in playing the player rather than the ball. Dirty team with a dirty attitude. Meath did well to not get into a dogfight with them and the lads deserve great credit for that"
O Reilly was causing Carlow all sorts of problems. Yes he was dispossessed a few times but that just shows how much he was actually on the ball. He didn't hide once he got dispossessed unlike some. It's a wonderful trait to keep at it and if he was kept on I'm sure he would've ran riot. Especially against 14 men. Then yous would be all on here claiming he'd be deserving of an All Star..... such is the small margins!

Flanagan was doing monumental work in the middle of the field. Just because he didn't get on the scoresheet like Menton he tends to get overlooked. Like I alluded to in the Offaly game he hit one superb foot pass to the inside forward line but they weren't on his wavelength and were the other side. Croke Park will really suit him and his range of passing.

Evernal (Meath) - Posts: 74 - 26/05/2019 01:45:23    2187468

Got to agree with others. Carlow didn't come to play football they didn't even come to play puke football. They came to to play dirty, I don't understand it at all. Now it was cruel at times , before the game started the Carlow player was trying to get Ben into a row (fair play he kept his cool). I mean what was their game plan? Late hits, sly hits pulling and dragging off the ball, fair play to all the lads for keeping their cool in the face of such provocation.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/05/2019 07:00:09    2187482

Good win, never thought we looked in any real danger, Carlow are a pretty defensive outfit but we managed to get around that. We were looking good enough before Murphy was sent off but that finished the game altogether, crazy thing to do straight infront of the ref.

We now await the winners of Laois v Westmeath which is 50/50, and also I think our game against either of them is also 50/50.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 26/05/2019 09:16:37    2187506

Replying To royaldunne:  "Got to agree with others. Carlow didn't come to play football they didn't even come to play puke football. They came to to play dirty, I don't understand it at all. Now it was cruel at times , before the game started the Carlow player was trying to get Ben into a row (fair play he kept his cool). I mean what was their game plan? Late hits, sly hits pulling and dragging off the ball, fair play to all the lads for keeping their cool in the face of such provocation."
Ye they definitely tried to provoke our lads but fairplay to them for not reacting, and when it wasn't working Carlow got dirty. Murphy hitting Keogan in the face straight infront of the ref was completely stupid stuff and well done to Keogan for keeping his cool. If he reacted and got himself a red then he could well be missing for the next day and he's a player we can't do without.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 26/05/2019 09:57:40    2187519

Replying To Evernal:  "O Reilly was causing Carlow all sorts of problems. Yes he was dispossessed a few times but that just shows how much he was actually on the ball. He didn't hide once he got dispossessed unlike some. It's a wonderful trait to keep at it and if he was kept on I'm sure he would've ran riot. Especially against 14 men. Then yous would be all on here claiming he'd be deserving of an All Star..... such is the small margins!

Flanagan was doing monumental work in the middle of the field. Just because he didn't get on the scoresheet like Menton he tends to get overlooked. Like I alluded to in the Offaly game he hit one superb foot pass to the inside forward line but they weren't on his wavelength and were the other side. Croke Park will really suit him and his range of passing."
Yea thomas oreilly was getting an a savage amount of ball and giving it away every time, just one of those days, had a great league and worth his place in my opinion just had a bad day simple as.... if everyone is fit you won't see Flanagan in croke park I'm afraid, just not athletic enough and he def needs to be much sharper in possession. The carlow midfielder was far better.then him till he got the red

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 885 - 26/05/2019 09:59:50    2187521

As someone already said you can only beat what is in front of you, job done and we move on.

Anyone familiar with Carlow teams, whether it is football or hurling, inter county or club, will know that they play a hard physical game which sometimes can cross the line, and it's always been so, but Meath dealt with that aspect well.

I like Flanagan at midfield, he strikes me as someone who needs a run of games and he could develop into an important player for us. He is not there yet but I would give him time.

You would feel that whoever we play in the semi final will be a step up in opposition for us, but if we want to compete at the higher level, we need to be winning games like this.

The Dublin bandwagon has started in style, and they were impressive, I think we need to keep our heads down, deal with the semi final and play down expectations. Hopefully The Duns win their semi just as easily and we are written off as no hopers if we face them.

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 26/05/2019 10:23:20    2187527

As someone already said you can only beat what is in front of you, job done and we move on.

Anyone familiar with Carlow teams, whether it is football or hurling, inter county or club, will know that they play a hard physical game which sometimes can cross the line, and it's always been so, but Meath dealt with that aspect well.

I like Flanagan at midfield, he strikes me as someone who needs a run of games and he could develop into an important player for us. He is not there yet but I would give him time.

You would feel that whoever we play in the semi final will be a step up in opposition for us, but if we want to compete at the higher level, we need to be winning games like this.

The Dublin bandwagon has started in style, and they were impressive, I think we need to keep our heads down, deal with the semi final and play down expectations. Hopefully The Duns win their semi just as easily and we are written off as no hopers if we face them.

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 26/05/2019 10:23:20    2187528

I also think with everyone fit Flanagan won't start for us. Against a better team we would see what he is lacking.

Also think Thomas O'Reilly had a bad game but it was just one of them days that can sometimes happen. Still a definite starter for me in the next game. One trait I like to see with him is he keeps looking for the ball and trying things even if things are going wrong for him. A lot of lads would start hiding so they wouldn't be found out.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 26/05/2019 11:37:35    2187548

Replying To Evernal:  "Just home with the daughter after having a celebratory Supermacs. Great to get back to Croke Park. It will really suit this Meath team. Flanagan will enjoy the open spaces. My God he was fantastic once space opened up after the sending off. Croke Park will really suit him.
Worrying about Thomas O Reilly it must have been an injury because he was lording it about the field looked very impressive, great score too. Gallagher was unreal today.
Coogan much improved with his knockouts great save too. Bryan McMahon failed a bit and Cillian O Sullivan too but he did get a bad knock to the head.
What game were you at Thomas had a very poor game it didn't happen for the lad. There is some rubbish wrote on this

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 26/05/2019 11:44:49    2187550

O reilly lording it...... holy God I wonder about some people when they come out with statements like that . He's had an excellent year so far and deserved his place buy unfortunately yesterday juts didn't happen for him. No big deal it happens I'd still start him the next day but he had to be taken off . As for Flanagan enjoying the open spaces of croke park!! Where to start with that one. Again thought he was ok at best yesterday but the Carlow midfield had a handle on him. A mobile athletic midfielder would run him ragged in croker. Good to see biggy coming off the bench and chipping in with a couple of scores. 20/25 minute impact sub is the role for him now. As always keogan was brilliant.

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 26/05/2019 11:53:25    2187558

Agree biggy's role is the 20 minute impact sub but what an important role that is in close games so good to see him look so good yesterday, keoghan brilliant as you say but what a boost to have harnan back I'd say andy mcentee has to be delighted with how he went, the half back line really dominated, mccoy and gallagher impressed me too

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 402 - 26/05/2019 12:05:14    2187564

Leinster football is plain awful. Meath should be walking to Leinster final (if they miss DUBLIN) every year. Same at Minor it's just awful .

Talking_Sense (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 26/05/2019 20:02:25    2187775

A win by a decent margin and an improved, if not perfect, performance, I'll take that for now. Some very frustrating moments yesterday looking at possession been given away cheaply and the ball being carried into the tackle, young O'Reilly had a bad day, thought Cillian looked a bit off and Tobin gave everything but little worked, I think he was trying too hard at times. Plus points were Harnan who I thought was excellent, the two goals were well worked and well executed, more of that please, Keoghan was his usual class act, we kept out cool in the face of some intimidation and kept going and scoring to the end. Overall a good day and I think we will play better in Croke Park but Laois are on a roll and have good confidence and will relish this game, we must be careful

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 26/05/2019 21:19:59    2187829

Overall a good performance against very poor and limited opposition. Happy with the way we overcame our lull mid way through the first half when Carlow threatened to come back into it. The two goals came at a perfect time and from then on in we were always comfortable. Carlow's indiscipline was shocking and they deserved to lose by more.

Our defence was solid throughout, although not seriously tested. That said they dealt with everything that was thrown their way. Kickouts were improved on Offaly but are still a worry against higher quality opposition.

Some very good individual performances throughout - Keogan and Harnan in particular - and the management team's substitutions generally worked well, in particular the call to remove O'Reilly (who was clearly having an off day) before half time.

All in all, a good win and most importantly we have some momentum behind us now. A sterner test awaits in the semi-final but there's a lot to be said for the confidence a group can build up with a couple of championship wins.

men_of_49 (Meath) - Posts: 1987 - 27/05/2019 10:03:35    2187986

Replying To men_of_49:  "Overall a good performance against very poor and limited opposition. Happy with the way we overcame our lull mid way through the first half when Carlow threatened to come back into it. The two goals came at a perfect time and from then on in we were always comfortable. Carlow's indiscipline was shocking and they deserved to lose by more.

Our defence was solid throughout, although not seriously tested. That said they dealt with everything that was thrown their way. Kickouts were improved on Offaly but are still a worry against higher quality opposition.

Some very good individual performances throughout - Keogan and Harnan in particular - and the management team's substitutions generally worked well, in particular the call to remove O'Reilly (who was clearly having an off day) before half time.

All in all, a good win and most importantly we have some momentum behind us now. A sterner test awaits in the semi-final but there's a lot to be said for the confidence a group can build up with a couple of championship wins."
He wasn't having a great day, but I couldn't see the point in taking O'Reilly off before half time.
Winning comfortably, so it was a real kick in the backside for a young man. He also kicked a great point

Anmhi364 (Meath) - Posts: 65 - 27/05/2019 11:13:21    2188039

Great win. I taught before the game we might win by 6 to 10 points especially considering the suspensions. Turned out to be 15 but what a ridiculously stupid act byt Murphy to get a red card. What was he thinking ? He put pay to any type of close match. He was flying I have no clue what he was at there.

Straight away you could see Meath where a different team that played Offaly. Lavin bursting out of defense keoghan soloing forward etc. Seems like Meath where over cooked in the Offaly game. the look way fresher altogether.

Harnan at 6 frees up keoghan to do what he is very good at carrying the ball he is our best player and defender, but what we forget he actually our best ball carrier he created too goals. When Keoghan gets the ball I can relax he rarely gives the ball away and nearly always creates something.

I agree with a lot of people why sub Thomas O'reilly on the 34 minute when we are 9 points up ? It was very harsh on the young lad. Yes he did give the ball away cheaply a few times, but other players without naming names have done it in the past but where not treated this way. vary harsh.

There is a Flanagan Mc Entee debate for the next day. I am firmly on the Flanagan corner, and I think he needs time, he got precious little game time so far this year and it shows. It takes time to gel midfielders and time will be needed. I dont think flanagan is the answer long term but I prefer him than Mc Entee he has a bit more height and is more accurate in front of goal. Just offers slightly more. And dont forget as Haran approaches match fitness he could do a job Midfield. He has done it in the past.

Shane Gallagher, I am been honest I would not have started him against Carlow I see others in team selection taught the same, he was way off the pace against Offaly. But what a transformation he was my MOM he chipped in with a lovely point too when we needed in, some really clever defending also. Hopefully he can continue in this type of form. Other stand outs that I can think off was Harnan with his the goal and other goal disallowed for square ball,also as usual he wasn't afraid to put himself about. I taught Byran Mc Mahon had a good game and in first 20 especially minutes looked really sharp and he looked like the only one that could unlock that tight defense, he caused Carlow real trouble too.

I think it was job done against a weakened and poor enough Carlow side on the day. We kept or cool got the job done. Lads like Haran conlon Campion Ryan got a run so it was a positive day. But they will have to lift it another notch for Loais the next day.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 27/05/2019 15:51:11    2188185

Flanagan more accurate in front of the goal then Shane McEntee. Not sure about that one.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 27/05/2019 19:22:22    2188275

Even allowing for the fact that there's 3 divisions between Meath and Offaly Meath still beat them by a decent 0-02, Offaly were not in disarray going into the game like Carlow was, for example, we had no manager, no coach, no star midfielder as in Brendan Murphy, things went from bad to worse after 12 mins we lost our prolific scorer Paul Brodrick through injury, we then lost Sean Murphy for retaliation after the offender got brownie points, Carlow then lost Sean Gannon injured and that was hard to take, we also lost center back D. St Ledger along with Eoin Ruth (2 black cards)
It's anyone's guess why he dished out the black cards, as for the red card well I'll leave that one for you to decide.
Meath played a depleted Carlow team from the throw in, after 12 mins Carlow began to lose 4 quality players that they simply couldn't afford to lose but so be it.
I would question where Meath goes from here after failing to put Carlow away when they were gifted the conditions to do just that-
If the negative posts coming from the Meath camp is anything to go by, suggesting that Carlow played negative football, what will be their excuse when they play Leix.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 1890 - 27/05/2019 22:43:14 2188360

fullbach (Carlow) - Posts: 264 - 28/05/2019 09:18:46    2188403

Replying To fullbach:  "Even allowing for the fact that there's 3 divisions between Meath and Offaly Meath still beat them by a decent 0-02, Offaly were not in disarray going into the game like Carlow was, for example, we had no manager, no coach, no star midfielder as in Brendan Murphy, things went from bad to worse after 12 mins we lost our prolific scorer Paul Brodrick through injury, we then lost Sean Murphy for retaliation after the offender got brownie points, Carlow then lost Sean Gannon injured and that was hard to take, we also lost center back D. St Ledger along with Eoin Ruth (2 black cards)
It's anyone's guess why he dished out the black cards, as for the red card well I'll leave that one for you to decide.
Meath played a depleted Carlow team from the throw in, after 12 mins Carlow began to lose 4 quality players that they simply couldn't afford to lose but so be it.
I would question where Meath goes from here after failing to put Carlow away when they were gifted the conditions to do just that-
If the negative posts coming from the Meath camp is anything to go by, suggesting that Carlow played negative football, what will be their excuse when they play Leix.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 1890 - 27/05/2019 22:43:14 2188360"
But the important thing is your not bitter about it at all!!!!!!!

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 28/05/2019 10:22:32    2188423