Meath V Carlow

Replying To Barney123:  "Me and Royaldunne said something similar BEFORE the game and were abused for mentioning it. Good to see somebody noticed it.#"
Yep. Look now that's it all over, and in cold light of day, surely everyone can see our entire year was based on getting promotion, Meath were fit I mean unbelievable fit during league, championship fit, it paid off , when other teams were run out in last quarter we could keep going.
The players then go back to clubs and rightly take things a bit easy, Andy knows that he has to bring back up the fitness levels and organizes training camp in cork and challenge match v Kerry (apparently one which we competed in very well and goals cost us) the view that a few sore muscles wouldn't stop us getting over the line v Offaly nearly backfired, but those are the calls you have to make as a manager, the team obviously had a lot taken out of them, were flat , tired and actually could see that even the fastest players like mcentee and keoghan couldn't sprint (when is the last time donal played that bad?? ) him or james haven't become bad players in a month, same for Brennan, one of the players of the league for us, same can be applied to O'Sullivan who also had a bad game, now fitness levels will improve from the training camp and the continuing training, and the bodies will be able to endure it, it might not be completely settled come Carlow but it will be improved.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/05/2019 17:33:49    2184371

Anyone know about stand tickets

MeathOnHill16 (Meath) - Posts: 226 - 15/05/2019 17:40:38    2184373

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yep. That is it. Both me and Barney said as much before game and nearly got lynched over it"
I think to be fair to everyone who disagreed with you that it needs to be pointed out that this was not their bone of contention.

I think everyone accepts that Meath were not at 100% and because of this we nearly lost the game.

What people disagreed with was that the team could afford not to take the game seriously, not to prepare dilligently and take Offaly for granted and still expect to win. ( read your comments on the other thread about being out on the lash before the game etc)

The game proved your assertion to be wrong and people have come out and pointed out that Meath can not afford to do anything remotely like that and expect to win.

So The posters issue with you was legitimate and proved to be right given our performance.

The Offaly game and now the Carlow game was and is a potential banana skin and we need to ensure we are in the right frame of mind to give ourselves a chance to win.

Any argument to the contrary is just daft.

I believe Meath will win against Carlow and I believe our performance will improve. I also believe we will need to improve again to win our semi final and I believe we can do that. However I take none of these games for granted.

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 15/05/2019 18:12:20    2184374

How were we proven wrong?? We said Meath wouldn't be 100%. (And won't be for Carlow). The view was they wouldn't need to be to beat Offaly, and that is exactly what transpired. So in essence we were both absolutely correct. To say otherwise would be ludicrous. We were proven right.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/05/2019 18:59:43    2184379

There is so much nonsense being spoke here its ridiculous.

If the 'hard' training camp in Cork the weekend before was to blame for us being so flat then there has to be questions, were management taking Offaly serious because if not we were so flat that it nearly cost us. We're not at the level to go into a game not at 100%.
I said it on the Offaly thread before the game that we might have hit championship levels in the league which would mean there's not much more to give at this minute and that's acceptable. Problem is we didn't even give close to that.

On the goalkeeper situation, as poor as Colgan was the last day he had some very good moments during the league so I would give him another chance against Carlow. However the jury is still out on his future with Meath.
O Rourke would be a no go coming back in, especially not after what was said openly. That definitely did not sit right with some players.

Finally on the Carlow game, I wouldn'y make any changes. I think all lads deserve a second bite at the cherry given the performances during the league. Carlow shouldn't be a much bigger test than Offaly as they have multiple suspensions. They will be defensive and will bring us into a battle, it took Dublin 45 minutes to grind them down a couple of years ago.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 354 - 15/05/2019 19:35:31    2184385

What was the attendance at the Ofally match?

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 16/05/2019 03:43:46    2184459

Replying To royaldunne:  "Nonsense. We tired in second half v donegal, (or is it only Offaly that can tire??). WE are ahead of Roscommon to say otherwise is bs. We not that far off donegal (ulster champs) Tyrone (all ire finalists) results PROVE THIS , we are not at the level of Kerry mayo and certainly not dubs (but then is anyone??) we are in the top ten, but none and I mean no one is suggesting we can compete for all ire. Or Leinster due to dubs been in it."
A team doesnt tire after 15/20 minutes at that level, Donegal showed what this team are about, and how far we are off the top teams, if you cant see that then well say no more.

When is the last time that we beat any of these teams in a competitive game? Tyrone last year when they were in a bit of turmoil, Donegal in the league when they had half a team playing (think it was 7 changes to the league final and if you count McGee coming in after 15mins then 8). Donegal in league final see above.

I think youll find I never mentioned competing for a Leinster or All Ire, I simply said there is alot of improvement needed for this team to get to and compete in a Super 8s.

juicy (Meath) - Posts: 399 - 16/05/2019 09:12:36    2184479

Does any of ye know did the what was becoming an annual challenge between us and yourselves pre championship behind closed doors take place this year. Happened a few yrs running and recall often at a neutral/Midland/Ballinasloe venue. We played Tipp and Cork in challenges pre our London game but with some of our big names out until next month these games could have been curtailed.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 16/05/2019 09:21:11    2184481

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yep. That is it. Both me and Barney said as much before game and nearly got lynched over it"
Yep, I kinda agreed, But I dont think we took offaly lightly I think we might have messed up with conditioning and training on the weeks leading up to the game do to much. Its a worry we did something similar against Kildare in Tullamore doing crazy drills before the game on what was the hottest day of the year.It probably did'nt affect the outcome but it did'nt help crazy stuff. Its hard to explain why we where so off the mark. But that's what I think.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 16/05/2019 10:42:23    2184507

The performance against Offaly wasn't at all surprising. Our lads put in a massive effort to gain promotion and the feelgood factor was up to 100. Despite all the talk of one game at a time, the other objectives for the year are 1. Leinster final and 2. Super 8's. It's understandable that the team may have been subconsciously looking beyond Offaly. Offaly on the other hand were totally focussed on this match. As Andy said, we're not yet good enough to operate at less than 100%. I personally think the performance and result on Sunday were the ideal outcome for the management - gives them plenty of ammo to refocus the squad for the challenges ahead. It wouldn't have been any good to us if we beat Offaly by 15 points. This team is built on hard work and that's the only way we are going to continue to get results. Some of the commentary on the players has been OTT in recent times - talking about them as if they are All-Stars in the making. The reality is that they will only get to that level by outworking the opposition every time. They will not get to that level by matching the opposition's workrate as they are not naturally superior to other players in terms of skills or athleticism. I will be really impressed if we regroup and get to a Leinster final and achieve Super 8's. I expect there may be some soul searching going on right now to see if they have the stomach for the fight or whether the league promotion was the pinnacle for this year. I'd expect a largely unchanged team to go out against Carlow to put it to the test.

gwanyagudthing (Meath) - Posts: 88 - 16/05/2019 11:05:13    2184518

Replying To juicy:  "A team doesnt tire after 15/20 minutes at that level, Donegal showed what this team are about, and how far we are off the top teams, if you cant see that then well say no more.

When is the last time that we beat any of these teams in a competitive game? Tyrone last year when they were in a bit of turmoil, Donegal in the league when they had half a team playing (think it was 7 changes to the league final and if you count McGee coming in after 15mins then 8). Donegal in league final see above.

I think youll find I never mentioned competing for a Leinster or All Ire, I simply said there is alot of improvement needed for this team to get to and compete in a Super 8s."
But you seem to suggest that when we get close to any of the so called top teams it is cause they in turmoil (Tyrone and donegal). Let me turn that around for you, last year you say Tyrone were in turmoil, fair enough (I don't agree) but for argument sake I'll say ok, then what were Meath?? On a cusp of a wave?? Let's look at their 3 previous games had to beat both down and Louth to stay in division 2 , lost to longford, we were hardly in great shape, yet we should have beaten Tyrone, I'd argue we were in hell lot worse shape than Tyrone. Donegal this year , you rightly say they were missing a lot of players for first match, but you neglected to say that Meath had 7 (almost 50%) different players start that game than started the game v Tyrone the previous year, again why point out one and not the other. Meath lost by 2 points to donegal in league final, after missing one of the best goal chances I've seen and having a goal disallowed. Look if you want to be negative that's your business, however at least point out the other argument.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/05/2019 11:11:36    2184525

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "What was the attendance at the Ofally match?"
6;500 I heard

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 16/05/2019 11:13:33    2184527

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Yep, I kinda agreed, But I dont think we took offaly lightly I think we might have messed up with conditioning and training on the weeks leading up to the game do to much. Its a worry we did something similar against Kildare in Tullamore doing crazy drills before the game on what was the hottest day of the year.It probably did'nt affect the outcome but it did'nt help crazy stuff. Its hard to explain why we where so off the mark. But that's what I think."
I agree, that day in tullamore was criminal, also there was some serious drills going on in pitch behind stand before game, I parked in Omahony's and went in through them gates, the players were going through some serious paces.
Now as everyone knows I am a huge fan of mcentee, but I call out when he does something wrong, and I think he made mistake in this one, I know why he did it and I think we all would probably have done the same, but it did nearly backfire spectacularly. Also no one thought that McGee would have passed, and that Offaly team had a lot to play for. Lesson learned, we move on.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/05/2019 11:48:35    2184540

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "What was the attendance at the Ofally match?"
6500. Official number. But seemed more. I'd say you could add another 1000 to that.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/05/2019 11:50:28    2184541

Replying To royaldunne:  "But you seem to suggest that when we get close to any of the so called top teams it is cause they in turmoil (Tyrone and donegal). Let me turn that around for you, last year you say Tyrone were in turmoil, fair enough (I don't agree) but for argument sake I'll say ok, then what were Meath?? On a cusp of a wave?? Let's look at their 3 previous games had to beat both down and Louth to stay in division 2 , lost to longford, we were hardly in great shape, yet we should have beaten Tyrone, I'd argue we were in hell lot worse shape than Tyrone. Donegal this year , you rightly say they were missing a lot of players for first match, but you neglected to say that Meath had 7 (almost 50%) different players start that game than started the game v Tyrone the previous year, again why point out one and not the other. Meath lost by 2 points to donegal in league final, after missing one of the best goal chances I've seen and having a goal disallowed. Look if you want to be negative that's your business, however at least point out the other argument."
Because my comparisons are based on events in the same year which is the correct way to look at things!! Not Meath had this team last year and this team this year, thats irrelevant. The Meath team was in a better state last year than tyrone were coming down

I dont think Im being negitive, more realistic as to where we stand in my opinion. Each to there own as they say. And i made these points throughout the league.

And other thing about this 'training camp', lets not think that the players were not Training during the club month, they were with only with their club 6 days before each round i.e. the week of the matches. and they were doing collective gym sessions throughout the month as well. Its not as if the went off for the month sat on their arses and ate rubbish to undo all the work that had gone in before

juicy (Meath) - Posts: 399 - 16/05/2019 14:58:18    2184628

Any word on outcome of Brendan Murphy (Carlow) hearing? Meant to be last night.
With our problems at midfield the last day, this would be a huge boost..

Anmhi364 (Meath) - Posts: 65 - 16/05/2019 15:40:23    2184644

Replying To juicy:  "Because my comparisons are based on events in the same year which is the correct way to look at things!! Not Meath had this team last year and this team this year, thats irrelevant. The Meath team was in a better state last year than tyrone were coming down

I dont think Im being negitive, more realistic as to where we stand in my opinion. Each to there own as they say. And i made these points throughout the league.

And other thing about this 'training camp', lets not think that the players were not Training during the club month, they were with only with their club 6 days before each round i.e. the week of the matches. and they were doing collective gym sessions throughout the month as well. Its not as if the went off for the month sat on their arses and ate rubbish to undo all the work that had gone in before"
Im sorry if you say as you have that Tyrone were in worse shape going into last years game than Meath. Then I can't take you seriously. Honestly does anyone else think Tyrone were on a lower ebb than Meath prior to that game?? Come on.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/05/2019 15:57:22    2184650

I thought last Year that Meath put up a good performance against Tyrone. I was impressed with a lot of what we did not least coming back in extra time when we looked dead and buried.

I do think however that we also have to acknowledge that if you are going to play a big team in the qualifiers that the first round is the best time to play them. Tyrone would have had another Ulster title in their sights and prepared for the monaghan game all year, so it was always going to be hard for them in the first round of the qualifiers. The Tyrone team that played in the all Ireland final was a different animal to the team in Navan. That's not taking away from Meath's performance but being realistic.

We need to beat Carlow and set ourselves up for a Leinster semi final. If we reach the semi final that's when our performance levels will become critical and will tell us where we are this summer.
I think we can improve as the campaign goes on but it also may be that the league campaign has taken a lot out of us and we may not reach the level we exhibited during it.

Time will tell.

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 16/05/2019 16:02:04    2184654

https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2019/0514/1049468-leinster-venue-decision/ drop in attendance the reason for double header.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 16/05/2019 18:02:23    2184682

Replying To Anmhi364:  "Any word on outcome of Brendan Murphy (Carlow) hearing? Meant to be last night.
With our problems at midfield the last day, this would be a huge boost.."
The DRA sent it back to Central Appeals Committee as they said the appeal wasn't heard properly so decision put back to next week

runnerin (Meath) - Posts: 202 - 16/05/2019 18:43:27    2184688